Stats: 3,205,579 members, 7,992,987 topics. Date: Sunday, 03 November 2024 at 10:31 PM

Doublekay's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Doublekay's Profile / Doublekay's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 18 pages)

Celebrities / Re: Is This Rihanna's New Man by doublekay: 2:28pm On Oct 11, 2011
Waiting 4 ur comments
Jokes Etc / Re: Joke: Religions Of The World by doublekay: 2:21pm On Oct 11, 2011
neo_welsh:

make i cover my nose, poo everywhere, c as d place dey smell tongue lol tongue
Crime / The Man That Duped 90 Home Seekers Of N20m by doublekay: 6:48am On Oct 11, 2011
Tajudeen Yusuf allegedly collected rent from numerous unsuspecting victims for a building that was under construction

The Lagos State Police Command, on Monday, paraded a man who claimed to be a developer for duping over 90 persons of over N20 million.

Police spokesperson, Samuel Jinadu, said that the alleged fraudster, Tajudeen Yusuf, 47, duped over 90 persons of N20 million with a property that was listed for rent. He said that the house has been sealed to keep away any occupants in order to conclude the investigations.

Yusuf, who confessed to the crime, however said that he collected money from about 50 people for two houses containing four self-contained apartments and three mini flats.

He said that he could not confirm the total amount of money he collected from the victims to construct the building at 38 Thomas Animashaun Street, Aguda, Surulere.

Asked how he would repay the victims of the scam, the father of 4, who lives at 21 Arowoyabuna, Ajegunle said: "I go hustle to get money pay them", explaining that he would put the house on lease to get money for his victims’ refund.

One of the victims, Bartholomew Ewa, a staff of Tantalizers, said that he saw a poster which advertised a vacant mini-flat and when he called, he was directed to 38 Animashaun Street, and on getting there, he found that the house was still under construction.

He said that he paid N360, 000 for a mini-flat on 19th of August, and was given two weeks to come for the key and so was visiting the place frequently to check developments.

He said he once tried to fix wires for his generator on one of such visits but Yusuf told him that he cannot do that because they were flooring the house. On his return some days later, he found many people in the place clamouring for their own apartment.

"That was when it downed on me that I have been duped by this man," he said.

A widow, Bimbo Achi, said she borrowed money from her church to pay the rent for a flat in the house. "The church agreed to pay on my behalf and the pastor came to check the place and spoke with them and paid them a cheque of N300, 000," she said. "Later, they asked me to come and collect my key on September 20 which was the date I agreed to pay them their balance of N60, 000, but on getting there, I saw a lot of people fighting."

Jinadu said that the matter has been transferred to State CID, Panti, for further investigations, and urged people to go to the right channel whenever they are seeking houses in the metropolis to avoid being duped.

Jokes Etc / Joke: Religions Of The World by doublekay: 3:30am On Oct 11, 2011
I will rather advice all readers not to take this joke personal even if it affects your religion, in the pics is a list of religions and what they funnily stand for

Sports / Osaze Angry With The Press As He Beckons On Thunder To Fire There Editors by doublekay: 3:16am On Oct 11, 2011
Following the 2-2 draw with Guinea that disqualified the Super Eagles from the African Nations Cup, Osaze Odemwingie was quoted by the press as saying that T.B Joshua's predictions affected their play.

Well, in reply to the above the young Nigerian forward defended himself and made a few tweets on sunday

as stated by his tweets Osaze condemned the attitude of some Nigerian Fans and the press he also went further to say that he didn't say anything against prophet TB Joshua

Sports / Re: AFCON Qualifier: Nigeria Vs Guinea Conakry (2 - 2) On 8th October 2011 by doublekay: 3:43pm On Oct 08, 2011
TB ooze off
Celebrities / Is This Rihanna's New Man by doublekay: 11:19am On Oct 08, 2011
It was just the other day that Rihanna said being single was a “pain in the ass.” Well, her butt should be getting some relief, because it looks like the singer is now hooking up with a new guy.

Rihanna has been spotted out and about with British boxer/model Dudley O’Shaughnessy. And either he’s a really crappy boxer or he’s not the best-looking model, because I don’t see how you can be successful with both. But to be honest, I would date this guy based on his name alone—Dudley O’Shaughnessy? He sounds like a character from a 50s spy movie.

The two met on the set of Rihanna’s latest music video, We Found Love. This might be love, but I think a more appropriate title would be, “I finally found guy to relieve my sexual frustrations.” Good forRihanna, though, good for her. The singer recently said that she’s been taking her time with dating because “it makes no sense starting something you are going to stop.”

“So I don't want to rush into anything,” Rihanna said. "I mean it is nice being single in one way, because a relationship can feel like a chore, and that's not good. That's not what I need."

Yeah, I don’t think dating anyone should be synonymous with taking out the garbage or cleaning the toilet. But so far, it doesn’t seem like this guy is a chore. Apparently,Rihanna's pretty into it. A source told The Sun:

“Rihanna was making no secret that she fancied the pants off Dudley.”

Which is probably meant literally. Rihanna reportedly hand-picked O’Shaughnessy to be in her video, and some have been drawing comparisons between him and Chris Brown, saying the two look eerily similar. I guess I see the comparison, but only because this dude has a semi shaved head and wears a leather jacket. I think I would be more convinced if I saw him throw a chair and walk the streets of NYC shirtless.

The source added: “Rihanna took every opportunity to get close to him and at one point she was sitting in his lap during a break from filming." Yep, that'll do it. Nothing says, "I fancy you" like putting your butt on a guy's crotch.

On Thursday, the couple was seen hanging out in London, where they spent time together after Rihanna’s concert and then hit up club Mahiki. After her night out with O’Shaughnessy, Rihanna Tweeted:

“Had the BEST time in London last night, LIVERPOOL!!! Your turn!! #LOUDtourUK"

Politics / Jonathan Is Clean, Honest – Wikileaks Quotes El-rufai by doublekay: 8:52am On Oct 08, 2011
Contrary to his scathing criticisms, former Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Mallam Nasir El-Rufai gave President Goodluck Jonathan a clean bill of health on financial accountability and transparency on the international front,a fresh report by Wikileaks has revealed.

In a United States diplomatic cable just made public by the whistle blowing organization, El-Rufai described President Jonathan as “ clean and honest”.

Details of the confidential cable with reference 07ABUJA77, show that the controversial politician gave the endorsement during an interactive session with the erstwhile American Ambassador to Nigeria, Mr John Campbell, in the build-up to the 2007 general elections.

Explaining the rationale behind the emergence of late President Umaru Yar Adua and Goodluck Jonathan as the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) candidates, El-Rufai informed the ambassador that “they were the only two Governors that could have cleared the EFCC hurdles”

The cable further reported El-Rufai as stating that in the contest for the Vice Presidency, “Governor Jonathan was the only candidate that met Obasanjo’s guidelines- honesty and Ijaw”

The Ambassador’s report disclosed that “the Minister said the PDP leadership pushed for Rivers Governor Peter Odili as the Vice Presidential candidate but that Odili along with Governors Markafi (Kaduna) and Mu’azu (Bauchi), face ‘integrity issues’ with the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC)”.

These disclosures are in sharp contrast to the virulent and disparaging attacks by former minister on President Jonathan whom he is accusing of corruption, profligacy and mismanagement of the nation’s resources.

In one of his recent tirades against the President, El-Rufai alleged that he used “crony capitalist and state funds – variously estimated at between 1 and 2 billion dollars to facilitate his election”

He also accused Jonathan of “practically sharing out the nation’s savings account to state governors, Party apparatchiks and traditional rulers to buy their support for his presidential bid”

According to the diplomatic cable, El-Rufai denied nursing any presidential ambition but stated that his rumoured interest was only being advanced by his admirers including Obasanjo.

“When President Obasanjo called me to ask about my intention, I told him that I would do it, but that I had not campaigned for the position” the report quoted El-Rufai. It added that “According to El-Rufai, the president agreed with him and told him that there were ‘other bridges’ to cross before EL-Rufai was ready “

In the report, The former Minister claimed to have known late President Yar Adua for about 25 years and described him as an “odd fellow”.

vanguard news
Sports / Re: AFCON Qualifier: Nigeria Vs Guinea Conakry (2 - 2) On 8th October 2011 by doublekay: 3:26pm On Oct 07, 2011
This tb joshua's prophecy is really bothering me
Sports / Re: I Won’t Pay Fine - John Obi Mikel by doublekay: 2:52pm On Oct 07, 2011
I can see prophet tb joshua's prophecy come to pass.
Celebrities / 9 Things You Didn’t Know About The Life Of Steve Jobs by doublekay: 9:03am On Oct 07, 2011
For all of his years in the spotlight at the helm of Apple, Steve Jobs in many ways remains an inscrutable figure — even in his death. Fiercely private, Jobs concealed most specifics about his personal life, from his curious family life to the details of his battle with pancreatic cancer — a disease that ultimately claimed him on Wednesday, at the age of 56.

While the CEO and co-founder of Apple steered most interviews away from the public fascination with his private life, there's plenty we know about Jobs the person, beyond the Mac and the iPhone. If anything, the obscure details of his interior life paint a subtler, more nuanced portrait of how one of the finest technology minds of our time grew into the dynamo that we remember him as today.

1. Early life and childhood
Jobs was born in San Francisco on February 24, 1955. He was adopted shortly after his birth and reared near Mountain View, California by a couple named Clara and Paul Jobs. His adoptive father — a term that Jobs openly objected to — was a machinist for a laser company and his mother worked as an accountant.

Later in life, Jobs discovered the identities of his estranged parents. His birth mother, Joanne Simpson, was a graduate student at the time and later a speech pathologist; his biological father, Abdulfattah John Jandali, was a Syrian Muslim who left the country at age 18 and reportedly now serves as the vice president of a Reno, Nevada casino. While Jobs reconnected with Simpson in later years, he and his biological father remained estranged.

Reed College
2. College dropout
The lead mind behind the most successful company on the planet never graduated from college, in fact, he didn't even get close. After graduating from high school in Cupertino, California — a town now synonymous with 1 Infinite Loop, Apple's headquarters — Jobs enrolled in Reed College in 1972. Jobs stayed at Reed (a liberal arts university in Portland, Oregon) for only one semester, dropping out quickly due to the financial burden the private school's steep tuition placed on his parents.

In his famous 2005 commencement speech to Stanford University, Jobs said of his time at Reed: "It wasn't all romantic. I didn't have a dorm room, so I slept on the floor in friends' rooms, I returned coke bottles for the 5 cent deposits to buy food with, and I would walk the seven miles across town every Sunday night to get one good meal a week at the Hare Krishna temple."

Breakout for the Atari
3. Fibbed to his Apple co-founder about a job at Atari
Jobs is well known for his innovations in personal computing, mobile tech, and software, but he also helped create one of the best known video games of all-time. In 1975, Jobs was tapped by Atari to work on the Pong-like game Breakout.

He was reportedly offered $750 for his development work, with the possibility of an extra $100 for each chip eliminated from the game's final design. Jobs recruited Steve Wozniak (later one of Apple's other founders) to help him with the challenge. Wozniak managed to whittle the prototype's design down so much that Atari paid out a $5,000 bonus — but Jobs kept the bonus for himself, and paid his unsuspecting friend only $375, according to Wozniak's own autobiography.

4. The wife he leaves behind
Like the rest of his family life, Jobs kept his marriage out of the public eye. Thinking back on his legacy conjures images of him commanding the stage in his trademark black turtleneck and jeans, and those solo moments are his most iconic. But at home in Palo Alto, Jobs was raising a family with his wife, Laurene, an entrepreneur who attended the University of Pennsylvania's prestigious Wharton business school and later received her MBA at Stanford, where she first met her future husband.

For all of his single-minded dedication to the company he built from the ground up, Jobs actually skipped a meeting to take Laurene on their first date: "I was in the parking lot with the key in the car, and I thought to myself, 'If this is my last night on earth, would I rather spend it at a business meeting or with this woman?' I ran across the parking lot, asked her if she'd have dinner with me. She said yes, we walked into town and we've been together ever since."

In 1991, Jobs and Powell were married in the Ahwahnee Hotel at Yosemite National Park, and the marriage was officiated by Kobin Chino, a Zen Buddhist monk.

5. His sister is a famous author
Later in his life, Jobs crossed paths with his biological sister while seeking the identity of his birth parents. His sister, Mona Simpson (born Mona Jandali), is the well-known author of Anywhere But Here — a story about a mother and daughter that was later adapted into a film starring Natalie Portman and Susan Sarandon.

After reuniting, Jobs and Simpson developed a close relationship. Of his sister, he told a New York Times interviewer: "We're family. She's one of my best friends in the world. I call her and talk to her every couple of days.'' Anywhere But Here is dedicated to "my brother Steve."

Joan Baez
6. Celebrity romances
In The Second Coming of Steve Jobs, an unauthorized biography, a friend from Reed reveals that Jobs had a brief fling with folk singer Joan Baez. Baez confirmed the the two were close "briefly," though her romantic connection with Bob Dylan is much better known (Dylan was the Apple icon's favorite musician). The biography also notes that Jobs went out with actress Diane Keaton briefly.

7. His first daughter
When he was 23, Jobs and his high school girlfriend Chris Ann Brennan conceived a daughter, Lisa Brennan Jobs. She was born in 1978, just as Apple began picking up steam in the tech world. He and Brennan never married, and Jobs reportedly denied paternity for some time, going as far as stating that he was sterile in court documents. He went on to father three more children with Laurene Powell. After later mending their relationship, Jobs paid for his first daughter's education at Harvard. She graduated in 2000 and now works as a magazine writer.

8. Alternative lifestyle
In a few interviews, Jobs hinted at his early experience with the psychedelic drug LSD. Of Microsoft founder Bill Gates, Jobs said: "I wish him the best, I really do. I just think he and Microsoft are a bit narrow. He'd be a broader guy if he had dropped acid once or gone off to an ashram when he was younger."

The connection has enough weight that Albert Hofmann, the Swiss scientist who first synthesized (and took) LSD, appealed to Jobs for funding for research about the drug's therapeutic use.

In a book interview, Jobs called his experience with the drug "one of the two or three most important things I have done in my life." As Jobs himself has suggested, LSD may have contributed to the "think different" approach that still puts Apple's designs a head above the competition.

Jobs will forever be a visionary, and his personal life also reflects the forward-thinking, alternative approach that vaulted Apple to success. During a trip to India, Jobs visited a well-known ashram and returned to the U.S. as a Zen Buddhist.

Jobs was also a pescetarian who didn't consume most animal products, and didn't eat meat other than fish. A strong believer in Eastern medicine, he sought to treat his own cancer through alternative approaches and specialized diets before reluctantly seeking his first surgery for a cancerous tumor in 2004.

9. His fortune
As the CEO of the world's most valuable brand, Jobs pulled in a comically low annual salary of just $1. While the gesture isn't unheard of in the corporate world — Google's Larry Page, Sergey Brin, and Eric Schmidt all pocketed the same 100 penny salary annually — Jobs has kept his salary at $1 since 1997, the year he became Apple's lead executive. Of his salary, Jobs joked in 2007: "I get 50 cents a year for showing up, and the other 50 cents is based on my performance."

In early 2011, Jobs owned 5.5 million shares of Apple. After his death, Apple shares were valued at $377.64 — a roughly 43-fold growth in valuation over the last 10 years that shows no signs of slowing down.

He may only have taken in a single dollar per year, but Jobs leaves behind a vast fortune. The largest chunk of that wealth is the roughly $7 billion from the sale of Pixar to Disney in 2006. In 2011, with an estimated net worth of $8.3 billion, he was the 110th richest person in the world, according to Forbes. If Jobs hadn't sold his shares upon leaving Apple in 1985 (before returning to the company in 1996), he would be the world's fifth richest individual.

While there's no word yet on plans for his estate, Jobs leaves behind three children from his marriage to Laurene Jobs (Reed, Erin, and Eve), as well as his first daughter, Lisa Brennan-Jobs.
Celebrities / Re: Why Would Lady Gaga Do A Music Video Without Panties On (photos) by doublekay: 8:54am On Oct 07, 2011
BootyOnMe:

You dey jealous? wink
Her business.
If e nor gree you look. . . .Pray to God to strike you with 'blindness'. kiss
i now see
Celebrities / Re: Lapd Detective Says Suge Knight And Diddy Killed Biggie And Tupac by doublekay: 8:34am On Oct 07, 2011
BootyOnMe:

Ok.
Soooooooooo, whadhyuuu wannus to do abourrrrrrit?
Abi are they Abia gang r-ape FACEBOOK suspects? grin

Fashion / Re: Sagging: Will It Ever Go Away? by doublekay: 8:29am On Oct 07, 2011
Mr, Cork:

Doublekay. bro So you drive a bus and you busy lookin at mens nyansh? Oh gosh!! undecided
where did you get that from, i guess u didnt read the post inbtw the lines

SAFO:

In Nigeria it's not sagging, them mofos just hungry and keep losing their waist line.
Celebrities / Re: Mobo Awards 2011 Highlights With Pics by doublekay: 5:11am On Oct 07, 2011
more pics

Celebrities / Re: Mobo Awards 2011 Highlights With Pics by doublekay: 4:56am On Oct 07, 2011
more pics

Celebrities / Mobo Awards 2011 Highlights With Pics by doublekay: 4:53am On Oct 07, 2011
Jessie J reigned supreme on the night, coming away from the ceremony with an admirable four awards including; Best UK Act, Best Newcomer, Best Song AND Best album. Not bad, eh?

Other notable winners included Tinie Tempah, Tinchy Stryder, Dappy and of course, Adele.

RnB royalty, Boyz II Men, were also awarded with the coveted, ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ to reward their longevity in the music industry over the past two decades.

During the course of the evening, the event paid tribute to the late Amy Winehouse; the tribute was led by the singer’s goddaughter, Dionne Bromfield.

Some controversy was aroused when Wretch 32 and other odds-on favourites failed to pick up an award; Twitter was awash with tweets from celebrities and onlookers watching the event, expressing their disappointment in the selection of some of the winners. Wretch simply posted “Speechless” after the show via his Twitter account.

Other MOBO 2011 highlights include a spectacular performance from Emeli Sandé and Professor Green, the two met on stage to perform their upcoming single, Read All About It (see here), as well as Emeli performing a rendition of her hit single, Heaven.

The full list of winners are as follows:

Best UK act: Jessie J
Best newcomer: Jessie J
Best hip hop/grime act: Tinie Tempah
Best video: Spaceship, Tinchy Stryder and Dappy
Best international act: Rihanna
Best song: Do it Like a Dude, Jessie J
Best album: Who You Are, Jessie J
Best reggae act: Alborosie
Best jazz act: Kairos 4Tet
Best African act: Wizkid
Best gospel act: Triple O
Best R&B/soul act: Adele
Outstanding contribution to music: Boyz II Men

What do you make of the list?

Fashion / Sagging: Will It Ever Go Away? by doublekay: 5:14pm On Oct 06, 2011
Who would have thought fashion trends would come to people pulling their pants and exposing their butts

This act of sagging is something that have eating deep into our community that even in cooperate organization people sag. I don't need to tell about some of my colleagues in the office that sags even their suits.

though before now this fashion trend have been known to be popular amongst the young ones but as it stands the older populace are begining to present a fair representation in the sagging world

something happened today that made me want to ask this question will sagging ever end

on my way back from work today i was driving right behind a commercial motor bike that had on it a fair, big, thick skinned, middle aged woman guess should be in her late 40s, she was putting on a navy blue tight jeans with spider colored short top. and between the top and the jeans was this visible space that you cant pass without wanting to know whats inside. i peeped tho, but i don't need to tell what i saw cos its one of the most disgusting sights you would want to behold (immagine a fat buttocks in a thorn it was white should i call it g string or an undersized normal pant) but that not withstanding i beheld the worst of sights was when the bike dropped her, i was expecting her to pull up her trousers the moment she dropped from the bike but instead a woman whom if care is not taken her first child might have graduated from the university placed her hand on her waist band noticed that her belt line was at the middle of her gluteal max (buttocks) turned back paid the bike guy turned back again this time at me in passing (guess her instinct told her i was looking) and smiled

its obvious that sagging has come to be a norm in our society but the question is will sagging ever go away?

Celebrities / Vybez Kartel Accused Of Murder by doublekay: 3:47pm On Oct 06, 2011
KINGSTON, Jamaica — Vybez Kartel, a popular Jamaican dancehall artist, has been charged with conspiracy to commit murder and illegal possession of a firearm, according to a police statement released Monday.

The singer, born Adijah Palmer, stands accused of murdering a promoter who was slain in Jamaica earlier this year.

Kartel made controversial headlines after bleaching his skin from brown to almost white—on purpose. In an interview with Rolling Out Magazine, Kartel claims that bleaching of the skin is just as acceptable as tanning:

“This is my new image,” Kartel said in the interview. “You can expect the unexpected. I feel comfortable with black people lightening their skin. They want a different look. It’s tantamount to white people getting a sun tan.”
A trial date has not been set.

Celebrities / Vybez Kartel Accused Of Murder by doublekay: 3:45pm On Oct 06, 2011
KINGSTON, Jamaica — Vybez Kartel, a popular Jamaican dancehall artist, has been charged with conspiracy to commit murder and illegal possession of a firearm, according to a police statement released Monday.

The singer, born Adijah Palmer, stands accused of murdering a promoter who was slain in Jamaica earlier this year.

Kartel made controversial headlines after bleaching his skin from brown to almost white—on purpose. In an interview with Rolling Out Magazine, Kartel claims that bleaching of the skin is just as acceptable as tanning:

“This is my new image,” Kartel said in the interview. “You can expect the unexpected. I feel comfortable with black people lightening their skin. They want a different look. It’s tantamount to white people getting a sun tan.”
A trial date has not been set.

Celebrities / Lapd Detective Says Suge Knight And Diddy Killed Biggie And Tupac by doublekay: 9:48pm On Oct 04, 2011
A former member of the Los Angeles Police Department says that not only did Suge Knight and Sean Diddy Combs kill the late Biggie Smalls and Tupac Shakur, but that the LAPD pulled the plug on the investigation.

In the book, “Murder Rap” written by former Los Angeles Police Department Detective Greg Kading, the detective says that many of the conspiracy theories about the murders of Tupac Shakur and Biggie (Christopher Wallace) hold true and were both gang-related. A Crip by the name of Keffe D says he was involved in the events that transpired:

In a taped confession fully reviewed by L.A. Weekly, Keffe D says, “[Combs] took me downstairs and he’s like, ‘Man, I want to get rid of them dudes.’ … I was like, ‘We’ll wipe their ass out, quick. It’s nothing.’ … We wanted a million.” In another stunning confession, detailed in LAPD documents reviewed by the Weekly, the mother of one of Knight’s children, identified in Kading’s book as “Theresa Swann,” breaks down in tears, stating that the former Death Row boss gave her the money to pay Wardell “Poochie” Fouse — Knight’s close associate and a fellow member of the Mob Piru Bloods — to kill Smalls.

Health / Re: First Black Child Diagnosed With Aging Disease by doublekay: 7:53am On Oct 04, 2011
richardoz:

This world is full of various problems.
true talk my brother.
Crime / Re: 9year Old Girl Battered By Her Madam, Raped On A Daily Basis By Grown Men by doublekay: 7:46am On Oct 04, 2011
Lets not leave out the biological parents of the child from the blames, because a good mother cant leave her kids to the care of another woman no matter the situation of things
Celebrities / Re: Most controversial female hair styles that nollywood has ever seen (photos) by doublekay: 7:12am On Oct 04, 2011
What is your say ?
Celebrities / Re: 14 Year-old George Stinney, Jr. Is Youngest Man To Be Executed by doublekay: 7:07am On Oct 04, 2011
Can you imagine they offered him things to eat while he was being detained and questioned. Is that not psychin the young man ?
Celebrities / Re: First African Woman To Win Nobel Peace Prize Dies by doublekay: 6:56am On Oct 04, 2011
BootyOnMe:

^^^
The first and the LAST.
Only by chance. cheesy

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 18 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 63