Stats: 3,201,125 members, 7,977,247 topics. Date: Wednesday, 16 October 2024 at 11:46 PM

How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? (7644 Views)

Landmark Demolition: I'm Glad I Left Nigeria - Tayo Aina / We’ve Moved On From Supreme Court Judgment – LP / Buhari: Foreign Groups Bent On Destroying Nigeria Behind Boko Haram (2) (3) (4)

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by rosinkkit: 7:44pm On Jul 25, 2021
mrvitalis:

Twitter realized their traffic from Nigeria didn't even drop ...as everyone who used Twitter then still use twitter now

So what's the point ?

NOT TRUE.

Use of Twitter is severely reduced in Nigeria since the ban on the platform.

Only hardcore twitter fans bother to get VPNs to access the site. Most folks have moved on from Twitter, just like the OP says they've moved on from us. Nothing spoil.

Instead of you useless Nigerian youths to capitalize on the twitter ban and build your own alternative platforms, una dey here dey play bodyguard for oyinbo.

Tufiakwa. Useless.

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by willybaby(m): 7:45pm On Jul 25, 2021
nairavsdollars:
why havent they negotiated with your almighty Buhari
how is it our business if they negotiate or not, if you were sensible instead of holding brief for twitter you will use the energy to maybe create your own social media platform.. Nigeria my nation is bigger than any social media platform that doesn't want to abide by our laws, register with our agencies and pay taxes to us like its done elsewhere

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by FarahAideed: 7:47pm On Jul 25, 2021
thebosstrevor1:
This one want to massage Twitter ego.

Twitter traffic from Nigeria are down, impression rates are down, infact many companies cant run ads on Twitter, influencers are getting broke.

Most of the people here dont use Twitter for business, they just comment.

Many shows on Nigerian tv aren't popular again on Twitter because of lack of ad, BBN hype is dead on Twitter.

What's twitter concern with influencer revenue ? That one is Nigerias economy problem
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by willybaby(m): 7:47pm On Jul 25, 2021
Demogorgon:
200million plus population as if it's everyone in Nigeria that uses Twitter. A platform that can't measure up to the likes of Facebook in terms of usage and popularity...

The number of users in Nigeria fall short of the number of users in other countries and Nigeria doesn't even rank in the top 10 countries with the most Twitter users according to statista.

Countries which are far better and advanced than Nigeria and you think Jack will lose sleep? because of what? Nigeria? Lol.. Have a rethink man..
please read my post well, I never said 200 million Nigerian twitter users, I said 200million Nigerians, and like I said to the other person who mentioned me also, if your sensible enough, you'd create your own social media platform instead of forming activist for twitter who according to you no send you or your country
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by rosinkkit: 7:50pm On Jul 25, 2021
willybaby:
how is it our business if they negotiate or not, if you were sensible instead of holding brief for twitter you will use the energy to maybe create your own social media platform.. Nigeria my nation is bigger than any social media platform that doesn't want to abide by our laws, register with our agencies and pay taxes to us like its done elsewhere

Honestly, these Nigerian youths are a disgrace.

India has a new platform out, called Kooo or something. Indian twitter rival. The Nigerian govt signed up to it. They couldn't find anyu of our blockhead youths with the drive or ambition to build a platform to compete with Twitter.

Their own is to cry over the loss of twitter, and play bodyguard for Jack whatever his name is. No shame.

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by FarahAideed: 7:50pm On Jul 25, 2021
willybaby:

Which Law ? cheesy. You are a clown ...Bandits are breaking your law with impunity and you can't even proscribe them grin

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by rosinkkit: 7:50pm On Jul 25, 2021
willybaby:

India has a new platform out, called Kooo or something. Indian twitter rival. A few young Indian guys just started the thing. Millions of Indians have signed up, and left Twitter. The Nigerian govt signed up to it. They couldn't find any of our blockhead youths with the drive or ambition to build a platform to compete with Twitter.

Their own is to cry over the loss of twitter, and play bodyguard for Jack whatever-his-name-is.

No shame.

You can go on YouTube now and learn for free, EVERYTHING you need to know to build a platform to rival Twitter. And how to market the platform on a shoestring budget, and scale up!!

So much free information out there on how to do anything and everything.

But they'd rather come in here to moan about Buhari and Fulanis. undecided

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by punisha: 8:24pm On Jul 25, 2021
favor914:
Let them go & register with CAC & start paying taxes in Nigeria, you Peasant wailers must cry about everything, enemies of your own progress, mumus because you think twitter cares about you black people in Africa?

Just shatttap already

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by Theunbothered: 8:59pm On Jul 25, 2021
favor914:
Let them go & register with CAC & start paying taxes in Nigeria, you Peasant wailers must cry about everything, enemies of your own progress, mumus because you think twitter cares about you black people in Africa?

Is nairaland paying taxes in Benin Republic?

Do any of you zombies understand how Internet businesses work at all?

If these dullards are Buhari's followers no wonder the man has no sound economic policy.

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by Theunbothered: 9:06pm On Jul 25, 2021
willybaby:
oga no social media company can leave a country of 200miliion plus population and move on, they are all in for the money and profit and in Nigeria they get both

How much money does Nigeria give to twitter?

On the other hand how much do you think the Nigerian advertising industry has been affected by the ban?

Don't overestimate Nigeria's importance on the global scale. Aside from oil nobody send us again. Twitter is banned in China but they didn't die, Chinese companies are even using VPN to bypass the ban and sell their products.
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by nairavsdollars(f): 9:23pm On Jul 25, 2021
Brilliant

Theunbothered:

How much money does Nigeria give to twitter?

On the other hand how much do you think the Nigerian advertising industry has been affected by the ban?

Don't overestimate Nigeria's importance on the global scale. Aside from oil nobody send us again. Twitter is banned in China but they didn't die, Chinese companies are even using VPN to bypass the ban and sell their products.

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by Demogorgon(m): 9:23pm On Jul 25, 2021
willybaby:
please read my post well, I never said 200 million Nigerian twitter users, I said 200million Nigerians, and like I said to the other person who mentioned me also, if your sensible enough, you'd create your own social media platform instead of forming activist for twitter who according to you no send you or your country
Reading through your first sentence, i thought you were making sense but disappointedly, you fell short. But I have a quick question for you;

What business does Twitter have with the the roughly 196 million Nigerians that don't use Twitter? I mean what do they stand to gain or lose from these people who are not active on their platform?
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by Demogorgon(m): 9:30pm On Jul 25, 2021
rosinkkit:

India has a new platform out, called Kooo or something. Indian twitter rival. A few young Indian guys just started the thing. Millions of Indians have signed up, and left Twitter. The Nigerian govt signed up to it. They couldn't find any of our blockhead youths with the drive or ambition to build a platform to compete with Twitter.

Their own is to cry over the loss of twitter, and play bodyguard for Jack whatever-his-name-is.

No shame.

You can go on YouTube now and learn for free, EVERYTHING you need to know to build a platform to rival Twitter. And how to market the platform on a shoestring budget, and scale up!!

And what's stopping you from becoming the next Mark, Jack, D'Angelo or Steve Huffman and co? undecided

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by DesChyko: 9:45pm On Jul 25, 2021
FarahAideed:

What's twitter concern with influencer revenue ? That one is Nigerias economy problem

Nah that one weak me pass.
Clutching at useless straws.
Twitter's quarterly reports show revenue growths and these ones are hiding behind copy and paste BMC propaganda.

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by joyandfaith: 10:31pm On Jul 25, 2021
joyairemiya:
They said Jack Dorsey will rush down to Nigeria to beg Buhari and Lai

FG even set committee of some agbayas to negotiate with twitter. The company does not even care.
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by willybaby(m): 10:33pm On Jul 25, 2021
Demogorgon:
Reading through your first sentence, i thought you were making sense but disappointedly, you fell short. But I have a quick question for you;

What business does Twitter have with the the roughly 196 million Nigerians that don't use Twitter? I mean what do they stand to gain or lose from these people who are not active on their platform?
oga what they stand to gain is expansion, if eg they have 4mil current Nigerian users what stops them from making it 10mil, 20mil even 40mil etc..
So I repeat any social media platform not serious about being in Nigeria it's it loss.. Gush Nigerians with low self esteem, twitter doesn't wanna negotiate so we should cry
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by joyandfaith: 10:34pm On Jul 25, 2021
rosinkkit:

No shame.

You can start your own Roskoo social media. Millions of cows would be happy to join. Indians still prefer Twitter to ko. in era of globalization , nobody wants to be isolated.

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by willybaby(m): 10:37pm On Jul 25, 2021
rosinkkit:

No shame.

God bless you so much, I can't agree more with you, low self esteem killing Nigerians, am glad finally our Government is waking up, any company making money from this nation even if it's just a dollar, needs to register, pay taxes and do business by our rules it's that simple..
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by willybaby(m): 10:42pm On Jul 25, 2021
FarahAideed:

Which Law ? cheesy. You are a clown ...Bandits are breaking your law with impunity and you can't even proscribe them grin
coming from a bandit sympathiser I laugh, it's your type who get orgasms from bad news, don't worry we don't need to proscribe nothing and please try understand the meaning of a word before you use it..
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by willybaby(m): 10:46pm On Jul 25, 2021
nairavsdollars:
why havent they negotiated with your almighty Buhari
you answered your question yourself our President aint there mate, Nigeria ain't any companies mate
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by joyandfaith: 10:49pm On Jul 25, 2021
thebosstrevor1:
This one want to massage Twitter ego.

Twitter traffic from Nigeria are down, impression rates are down, infact many companies cant run ads on Twitter, influencers are getting broke.

Most of the people here dont use Twitter for business, they just comment.

Many shows on Nigerian tv aren't popular again on Twitter because of lack of ad, BBN hype is dead on Twitter.

Twitter revenue is going up. Shares jump up. Twitter does not need Nigeria. It is nigerians that need Twitter to grow their businesses. FG is not hurting Twitter but Nigerians that are benefiting from twitter.
In era of globalization, nobody should be left out.

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by Kessythegeek(m): 12:42am On Jul 26, 2021
favor914:

Are you even reading what you wrote? A virtual global company should go register and start paying taxes... Smh.

Whether Nigeria is on twitter or they're aren't... Twitter has since moved on..

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by IGBOSON1: 1:20am On Jul 26, 2021
joyairemiya:
so what about the committee set up by the federal government to negotiate with twitter

Word has it they turned up for meeting with Twitter, but met an empty room! shocked

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by Ournolly: 1:30am On Jul 26, 2021
Most users will be on vpn.
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by lereinter(m): 3:29am On Jul 26, 2021
Amazon and eBay no consider, na twitter go consider nigeria

What nigerians have lost since ban ehnn
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by Nobody: 3:39am On Jul 26, 2021
thebosstrevor1:

You are hardly think or comprehend..
Stop being impulsive. Start thinking from today, it will help you.

1. The stats is to show you the effect of Twitter ban on Twitter traffic in Nigeria

2. There is what is called negotiation, each party come to the table and Nigeria will list their list of what they want, if Twitter doesn't like it, they can go their own way, the reality is that Twitter isnt interested in the Nigerian market because it is not lucrative, if they were interested, they would done a deal.

3. another instance is that we dont know if the Nigeria government are meeting with Twitter or not.

4. I dont give a damn, for all i am concerned, Twitter should be banned forever.

5. This is my last reply...no time to argue aimlessly

I agree, I’m a southerner and I want Twitter to be banned forever. Facebook too if possible. But back to Twitter, you all should be commending your government for taking a stand for once. These MNCs have looted us for years, it’s time they start paying their fair share, as a matter of fact Seun should invest in a Nigerian version of weChat, so we can full control of our own like China does. That will surely create jobs
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by weyreypey: 3:49am On Jul 26, 2021
Leaky brain detected.
DuwaRepublic:

I agree, I’m a southerner and I want Twitter to be banned forever. Facebook too if possible. But back to Twitter, you all should be commending your government for taking a stand for once. These MNCs have looted us for years, it’s time they start paying their fair share, as a matter of fact Seun should invest in a Nigerian version of weChat, so we can full control of our own like China does. That will surely create jobs

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by Ikinternational: 4:18am On Jul 26, 2021
rosinkkit:

No shame.

Why are you advising others? Being condescending?
Are you an alien?
Why are you typing like you're here visiting temporarily before rejoining your spaceship?

Some characters dey this nairaland

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by Nobody: 5:15am On Jul 26, 2021
lereinter:

Amazon and eBay no consider, na twitter go consider nigeria

What nigerians have lost since ban ehnn

What have Nigerians lost since ban, please educate us.
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by nku5: 5:54am On Jul 26, 2021
thebosstrevor1:

And then?

If the government is negotiating with Twitter, it is a plus for them, that means Twitter will have to obey their own rules.

This is Twitter traffic data for Nigeria.

Twitter isn't in the first 18 most popular sites in Nigeria and their traffic has gone down

The data of traffic gone down because people in Nigeria are using VPNs so you can't track the true figure. I am sure the number has even gone up
Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by Demogorgon(m): 6:01am On Jul 26, 2021
willybaby:
oga what they stand to gain is expansion, if eg they have 4mil current Nigerian users what stops them from making it 10mil, 20mil even 40mil etc..
So I repeat any social media platform not serious about being in Nigeria it's it loss.. Gush Nigerians with low self esteem, twitter doesn't wanna negotiate so we should cry
Who will want to negotiate with a Government that has a soft spot for terrorists and bandits? Who will want to negotiate with a Government that's so good at "gagging" media and suppressing freedom of speech? A Government that has succeeded in making our democracy a laughing stock to the outside world. Jack will not stoop so low. Little wonder why Jack established a regional headquarter in Ghana ahead of a country with a population of 200 million. Maybe he knows what we don't?

And yeah, Twitter will be unbanned in Nigeria which will be a win for this generation of youths but until then we just have to be patient until these terrorists posing as leaders are flushed out of the system and democracy restored back to it's former glory..

Re: How Many People Realised Twitter Has Left Nigeria Behind And Moved On? by babyfaceafrica: 6:38am On Jul 26, 2021
joyandfaith:

Twitter revenue is going up. Shares jump up. Twitter does not need Nigeria. [b]It is nigerians that need Twitter to grow their businesses. [/b]FG is not hurting Twitter but Nigerians that are benefiting from twitter.
In era of globalization, nobody should be left out.
This isn't true. Abeg leave twitter. China and India have issues with twitter, nobody is complaining, why should Nigerians? Facebook and YouTube is far more important to Nigerians than Twitter.. Abeg twitter can rest

Lagos Bans Hawking Of Drugs / Nobody Can Turn Buhari Against Me – Amosun / Tinubu Calls Igbo People "Awon Okoro" In Soon To Be Released Tapes

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 74