Stats: 3,192,585 members, 7,948,265 topics. Date: Friday, 13 September 2024 at 05:15 PM

If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? - Religion (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? (4808 Views)

If God Creates Evil And Good; Why Should We Blame Satan For Any Evil? / If God Is Good, Why Am I Still Alive? / Jehovah's Witnesses: Why Are Blood Transfusions So Bad? (2) (3) (4)

Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by orunto27: 2:48am On Jun 06, 2021
HappyPagan:

No, he isn't. A God who fears questions is a bully and doesn't love you. You should learn to question God.... Sometimes he can think stupid things.

"ETA NTA GBA". NIGERIA IS A BRITISH EXPERIMENT TO KNOW LIFE.

BUHARI IS ALSO A BRITISH EXPERIMENT AT CREATION.

ONLY GOD(OLODUMARE) IS LIFE. HE IS SECURITY SAFETY AND SUCCESS IN HEAVEN AND ON EARTH.
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by orunto27: 2:51am On Jun 06, 2021
HappyPagan:

No, he isn't. A God who fears questions is a bully and doesn't love you. You should learn to question God.... Sometimes he can think stupid things.

"ETA NTA GBA". THAT'S IS THE ISSUE. NIGERIA IS A BRITISH EXPERIMENT TO KNOW LIFE.

BUHARI IS ALSO A BRITISH EXPERIMENT AT CREATION.

ONLY GOD(OLODUMARE) IS LIFE. HE IS SECURITY SAFETY AND SUCCESS IN HEAVEN AND ON EARTH.
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by Nobody: 9:55am On Jun 06, 2021
MightySparrow:
ALL Afrikans or all blacks? Are all people in africa blacks?

All blacks are not the same based on reasoning.
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by MightySparrow: 11:59am On Jun 06, 2021
HellVictorinho:

All blacks are not the same based on reasoning.
Let's have your analysis.
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by Nobody: 1:12pm On Jun 06, 2021
MightySparrow:

Let's have your analysis.

The way I think is different from the way you think.

What else?
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by MightySparrow: 3:25pm On Jun 06, 2021
HellVictorinho:

The way I think is different from the way you think.

What else?

I don't dispute your wisdom, just make a little analysis of your claim.
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by Nobody: 7:12pm On Jun 06, 2021
MightySparrow:

I don't dispute your wisdom, just make a little analysis of your claim.

Do all blacks think Buhari should be the president of Nigeria
Do all blacks think Ronaldo is as good as Messi in terms of football
Do all blacks think Jesus exists??
Do all blacks think Heaven exists?
Do all blacks think 2Pac was a great man?

Are you getting me now
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by iSpirit1(m): 11:18pm On Jun 06, 2021
1Sharon:
There is no freewill. Praising God eternally in heaven, does that sound like freewill?

And who says we're going to be singing praises 24/7? What kind of mediocre heaven is that? Wait! Where did you learn all these from?

The Bible says this about what Heaven is gonna be like, "eyes have not seen, ears have not heard, neither had it come into the heart of men what God hath prepared for those that love Him".

Heaven is going to have the best entertainment, the best of technology (even those that surpass human reasoning) - the best of everything. It's surely not going to be boring.

1Sharon:
God doesn't know the choices we make? So you're saying God isn't all-knowing?

What do you understand by being all-knowing? I said earlier, "know God first, before thinking of saying anything about His personality and attributes." God doesn't know the choices we will make. Examples abound in the Bible.

1Sharon:
I didn't attribute anything to God, Christians did.

If Christians who didn't know better attribute something to God wrongly, does that make it the truth? Your argument is too weak! Please, come to the light and be enlightened. Shalom!
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by HappyPagan: 9:27pm On Jul 18, 2021
Lalasticlala, Seun,
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by xproducer: 11:21pm On Jul 18, 2021
HappyPagan:
Have we tried the Gods of the Chinese? or the Indian Gods?

These Abrahamic Gods have only brought us strife and hatred.. MOre knights and imams yet as unholy as hell could be.

Our native Gods we have killed with our own hands... Gods depend on belief to exist after all... if their believers dwindle, they fade like old memory.

Speaking of memory, apart from the Abrahamic Gods, what other Gods do you know? Wetin dey your mind apart from the myths from Mecca and Jerusalem?
All that knowledge of Israel, and you know very little about the land your feet stand on....what a shame...

-----

There is only one GOD!

Thus says the Lord, the King of Israel, And his Redeemer, the Lord of hosts: ‘I am the First and I am the Last; Besides Me there is no God." - Isaiah 44:6

"You believe that there is one God. You do well. Even the demons believe—and tremble!" - James 2:19

The problems you see all around the world, and in Naija stem from sin from people - which began from the fall of mankind in Eden. Sin does not bring blessings, but rather a curse and death!

"Man's inhumanity to man" - “The heart is deceitful above all things, And desperately wicked; Who can know it?" - Jeremiah 17:9

"Then the Lord saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually." - Genesis 6:5

+++
Isaiah 64:5-7
"You meet him who rejoices and does righteousness,
Who remembers You in Your ways.
You are indeed angry, for we have sinned—
In these ways we continue;
And we need to be saved. ---> (John 3:16, Acts 4:12)

But we are all like an unclean thing,
And all our righteousnesses are like filthy rags;
We all fade as a leaf,
And our iniquities, like the wind,
Have taken us away.

And there is no one who calls on Your name,
Who stirs himself up to take hold of You;
For You have hidden Your face from us,
And have consumed us because of our iniquities."
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by Nobody: 11:35pm On Jul 18, 2021
iSpirit1:

And who says we're going to be singing praises 24/7? What kind of mediocre heaven is that? Wait! Where did you learn all these from?

The Bible says this about what Heaven is gonna be like, "eyes have not seen, ears have not heard, neither had it come into the heart of men what God hath prepared for those that love Him".

Heaven is going to have the best entertainment, the best of technology (even those that surpass human reasoning) - the best of everything. It's surely not going to be boring.

What do you understand by being all-knowing? I said earlier, "know God first, before thinking of saying anything about His personality and attributes." God doesn't know the choices we will make. Examples abound in the Bible.

If Christians who didn't know better attribute something to God wrongly, does that make it the truth? Your argument is too weak! Please, come to the light and be enlightened. Shalom!

Another person that claims to understand the Bible better than 1Sharon

To hell with your thoughts

Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by hupernikao: 12:00am On Jul 19, 2021
HappyPagan:

Your God is a terrible God - ask his enemies or even his son Jesus. Your God had anger issues... Couldn't forgive his creation until he killed his son.

I dont think you understand what you worship.

I am wondering where you get these you wrote from. Is it from the Bible or contemporary writings?
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by hupernikao: 12:04am On Jul 19, 2021
HappyPagan:
Have we tried the Gods of the Chinese? or the Indian Gods?

These Abrahamic Gods have only brought us strife and hatred.. MOre knights and imams yet as unholy as hell could be.

Our native Gods we have killed with our own hands... Gods depend on belief to exist after all... if their believers dwindle, they fade like old memory.

Speaking of memory, apart from the Abrahamic Gods, what other Gods do you know? Wetin dey your mind apart from the myths from Mecca and Jerusalem?
All that knowledge of Israel, and you know very little about the land your feet stand on....what a shame...

Your premise of argument is totally flawed from the start. Nigeria bad? In what sense. And how does that has to do with god of Chinese and whatever god you are crossed with.
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by HappyPagan: 6:36am On Oct 19, 2021
hupernikao:

Your premise of argument is totally flawed from the start. Nigeria bad? In what sense.
The quality of life of the average citizen is nothing to write home about.

hupernikao:

And how does that has to do with god of Chinese and whatever god you are crossed with.
Mosques and churches on every street haven't made us a great nation, or a nation to be envied. No one's gonna wake up on Jan 1 2050 and say 'ohh, Nigeria, what a great African country'... there's this general belief that it's God that makes nations great... maybe we are using the wrong Gods... maybe allah and yahweh realy dont like black africans.
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by MaxInDHouse(m): 7:00am On Oct 19, 2021
You need to know the true Christians first! smiley
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by hupernikao: 11:58am On Oct 19, 2021
HappyPagan:

The quality of life of the average citizen is nothing to write home about.

Mosques and churches on every street haven't made us a great nation, or a nation to be envied. No one's gonna wake up on Jan 1 2050 and say 'ohh, Nigeria, what a great African country'... there's this general belief that it's God that makes nations great... maybe we are using the wrong Gods... maybe allah and yahweh realy dont like black africans.

Nairaland writers and general belief sha.

Are we to hold one on general belief or to hold one on what he is responsible for.

Does the scriptures promise a "great" nation in your context? That should be your study not using general belief to judge. You are to get what was truly taught and use as platform of your knowledge, discussions and criticism. Not using general belief.

Now do the research yourself.
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by LordReed(m): 12:13pm On Oct 19, 2021
hupernikao:

Nairaland writers and general belief sha.

Are we to hold one on general belief or to hold one on what he is responsible for.

Does the scriptures promise a "great" nation in your context? That should be your study not using general belief to judge. You are to get what was truly taught and use as platform of your knowledge, discussions and criticism. Not using general belief.

Now do the research yourself.

Righteousness exalts a nation, but sin is a disgrace to any people. (Prov. 14:34)
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by hupernikao: 12:53pm On Oct 19, 2021
LordReed:

Righteousness exalts a nation, but sin is a disgrace to any people. (Prov. 14:34)

Okay. So your study should now start in asking what does it mean by.

1. Righteousness
2. Exalt
3. Nation

Then the phrase
1. Exalt a nation
2. Sin a disgrace.

Firstly, it you read a Bible text and take your meaning from non biblical knowledge or text, then you haven't gotten the meaning of the text.

You must draw your explanation from the same book. That is what is called context.

To reduce your burden of theological hermeneutics, I will give you a simple test of that text in the scriptures that will give you obvious reason why the text isn't referring to a country becoming rich or wealthy.

Look into the scriptures and examine persons, people or nations who walked righteously at a time and see if that translate to riches and wealth for them automatically.

Do righteous people in the scriptures become rich and wealth by their righteousness?

What example do we have in the scripture.

When you see this, you will see the right direction and interpretation.

God's exaltation was never in riches and wealth but in life eternal and dominion over evil. This is the reason the writer compared exaltation with reproach (shame). If exaltation is about riches or human greatness, then the contrast would be poverty not shame.

In a simple NT language, that text will simple reads: In righteousness is life eternal (exaltation), in sin is perishing (reproach, disgrace).

Righteousness was never taught as what will make one or a nation rich or wealthy.
Hardworking was taught by the scriptures for this.

Proverbs 13:4 - The soul of the sluggard desireth, and hath nothing: but the soul of the diligent shall be made fat

Proverbs 14:23 - In all labour there is profit: but the talk of the lips tendeth only to penury

Proverbs 12:24 - The hand of the diligent shall bear rule: but the slothful shall be under tribute

This is well taught and practices in the Bible. Hence interpreting the scriptural text outside the events and practices you see in the Bible is erroneous.

Lastly, when you understand that righteousness as taught all through the Bible starts from what God did in Christ which is imparted on man through faith, you will know that its exaltation also must be in Christ not in things or worldly riches, same as the reproach of sin.

Hence a rich nation isn't rich because it has no faith, neither is a poor nation poor because it has many in faith.

Taking chances and diligence are what built nations and this, God has left in the capacity of man to do. So when you see your nations not doing well, look towards your leadership, virtues and diligence among its people, not looking for excuses around faith.

Because God's exaltation is not in riches but in his work of salvation from sin for man.
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by orunto27: 7:06pm On Oct 19, 2021
Nigeria choose to go the way of Sodom and Gomorrah. Oduduiwa Olodumare is protecting Nigeria so far.
Re: If God Is Good, Why Is Nigeria So Bad? by HappyPagan: 9:06am On Aug 08, 2022
orunto27:
Nigeria choose to go the way of Sodom and Gomorrah. Oduduiwa Olodumare is protecting Nigeria so far.
Bump

Pa Oyakhilome Is Dead / 95-year-old Woman Gets Horn On Her Forehead / A Dinner With Pastor Chris Oyakhilome

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49