Stats: 3,170,079 members, 7,877,022 topics. Date: Monday, 01 July 2024 at 11:15 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (12540) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12010324 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (12537) (12538) (12539) (12540) (12541) (12542) (12543) ... (16402) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 5:41pm On Feb 02, 2022
Daninya33:

Wow,that's quite impressive. I am just hearing his name for the first time. At least he should have been given a chance too.
I believe and I know there are a lot of rare gems who can make us thick...

And since then,no one heard of him again?

Emmanuel Ebiede was a popular guy on the streets of Port Harcourt. Sharks FC played pure passing football, known as Tiki Taka. This was due to the revolutionary Coaching method of Sinclair.

When you watch Finidi George play, you see in depth tactical understanding. Ebiede as a young boy broke into Sharks team and played 10 for them. He worked long with Coach Monday Sinclair.

He later went on to play in Europe, I remember when he was at Herenveen but he never hit those heights.

He later joined one of the best teams I believe raised by the Super Eagles. The 2000 Olympics team aka Dream Team 2.

We had an array of stars at home and in Europe. Sunday Ibeji, Emma Isah, Agali, Yakubu, Azubike Oliseh, Egutu Oliseh, Bartholomew Ogbeche***, etc.

In the last Qualifiers game against Zimbabwe, coached by Clemens Westerhof, former Supervisor Eagles coach, we scored 4 goals and Ebiede scored 2.

Remains a mystery how Ebiede and Sunday Ibeji did not make that Olympics because they were both brilliant midfielders.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Daninya33: 5:44pm On Feb 02, 2022
TheGoodJoe:

Emmanuel Ebiede was a popular guy on the streets of Port Harcourt. Sharks FC played pure passing football, known as Tiki Taka. This was due to the revolutionary Coaching method of Sinclair.

When you watch Finidi George play, you see in depth tactical understanding. Ebiede as a young boy broke into Sharks team and played 10 for them. He worked long with Coach Monday Sinclair.

He later went on to play in Europe, I remember when he was at Herenveen but he never hit those heights.

He later joined one of the best teams I believe raised by the Super Eagles. The 2000 Olympics team aka Dream Team 2.

We had an array of stars at home and in Europe. Sunday Ibeji, Emma Isah, Agali, Yakubu, Azubike Oliseh, Egutu Oliseh, Bartholomew Ogbeche***, etc.

In the last Qualifiers game against Zimbabwe, coached by Clemens Westerhof, former Supervisor Eagles coach, we scored 4 goals and Ebiede scored 2.

Remains a mystery how Ebiede and Sunday Ibeji did not make that team because they were both brilliant midfielders.

Thanks for sharing sire.
I deeply appreciate for taking out time to share.
Na gode

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 5:47pm On Feb 02, 2022
Let me do a roll call of young Nigerian footballers of 2000 era.

Haruna Babangida
Pius Ikedia
Eddie Dombraye
Iyenemi Furo
Ikenna Eneh
Obinna Okpala
Joseph Yobo
Gbenga Okunowo
Julius Aghahowa
Aniele
Victor Agali
Yakubu Aiyegbeni
Sunday Ibeji
Emma Isah
Emmanuel Ebiede
Abubakar Musa
Melkam
Azubuike Oliseh
Egutu Oliseh
Greg Etafia
Bartholomew Ogbeche

Mad men.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero47: 5:55pm On Feb 02, 2022
Only the real ones remember

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 5:59pm On Feb 02, 2022
Daninya33:

Thanks for sharing sire.
I deeply appreciate for taking out time to share.
Na gode

Haruna Babangida remains the biggest disappointment in that era. By 99, he was rated a better talent than Ronaldinho, Xavi, and Forlan.

Younger brother of Tijani Babangida. His flop is not here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kg4t-wEKAdo

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 6:00pm On Feb 02, 2022
Subzero47:

What happened to him? He was the bomb.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 6:08pm On Feb 02, 2022
Give Eguavoen Super Eagles job – Izilein
BY BAYO MILLZ

Godwin Izilein, former coach of the Super Falcons, has said that Augustine Eguavoen should be given the chance of first refusal as the coach of the Super Eagles.

Izilein, who spoke with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Benin on Tuesday, said Eguavoen deserved the job.

He said that his performance shocked, impacted and impressed everybody at the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Cameroon.

The former chief handler of the senior female national team noted that Eguavoen was able to change the interest of the players and harnessed them into one entity.

Izilein stressed that the ex-Eagles player shocked his critics and was able to achieve the feat with the Super Eagles in Cameroon in spite of the time factor.

“This is the only way to pay him back. If he is willing to accept the job, give it to him; he will get the support of all the indigenous coaches.

“Giving him the position will motivate others that there is chance for the indigenous coaches.

“Eguavoen has reawakened the cradle of performance that the Eagles were known for; this was what placed us fifth in the world years ago,“ he said.

He said that what the team needed now was to be kept the players together for a longer period.

NAN reports that the Eagles lost 0-1 to Tunisia in the round of 16 in the ongoing AFCON tournament in Cameroon after a 100 per cent record in the group stage.

https://thenewsguru.com/sports/give-eguavoen-super-eagles-job-izilein/
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero47: 6:24pm On Feb 02, 2022
TheGoodJoe:

What happened to him? He was the bomb.

I don’t know I wish I could see a recent picture of him
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 6:25pm On Feb 02, 2022
Ishaq Kayode with a brace today giving him 9 goals in 10 matches

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Daninya33: 6:45pm On Feb 02, 2022
TheGoodJoe:

Haruna Babangida remains the biggest disappointment in that era. By 99, he was rated a better talent than Ronaldinho, Xavi, and Forlan.

Younger brother of Tijani Babangida. His flop is not here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kg4t-wEKAdo

Haruna Babangida didn't fulfill his potentials, what really went wrong with his career,sir?

Pius Ikedia
Master of the touchline
Okada wey no get brake
Lols

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 7:04pm On Feb 02, 2022
Rudiger with a birthday wish for Sadiq. I forgot they were teammates sef

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 7:06pm On Feb 02, 2022
CAF have rejected Ghana request to move the game from Gold Coast to Kumasi given that inspection and approval has already been done on the Gold Coast stadium last year...

Abuja or Lagos, I'm not sure there was any news report confirming where we will host our own leg..
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 7:09pm On Feb 02, 2022
Subzero47:
Mousa Dembele
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joezinho: 7:11pm On Feb 02, 2022
AndSunGorilla:

Good reflexes from the video compilation. I think he's short for a goalie though. Meanwhile I thought Onana wasn't tall too till I saw he is 6:3.

The immediate thing that springs to mind about Adeleye is his dicisiveness... Makes his mind up very quickly to close down space, come for crosses or launch attacks... very impressive...

https://twitter.com/SB_Mannah/status/1280981120071413760?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1280981120071413760%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_c10&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fforum.cybereagles.com%2Fviewtopic.php%3Ft%3D301006start%3D23

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chrisooblog: 7:34pm On Feb 02, 2022
Remo Stars doing well do you think they can pull a Leicester City and win the whole thing?

BascoVanVeli:
Ishaq Kayode with a brace today giving him 9 goals in 10 matches
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 7:50pm On Feb 02, 2022
Danielnino00:
CAF have rejected Ghana request to move the game from Gold Coast to Kumasi given that inspection and approval has already been done on the Gold Coast stadium last year...

Abuja or Lagos, I'm not sure there was any news report confirming where we will host our own leg..
based on the way sport journalists have been talking, it looks like its Abuja.

We don't want Lagos for the time being abeg.

I'll take Uyo over it for the meantime. But the way MAS has been looking, shows it will be our forte
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by lovewins: 8:10pm On Feb 02, 2022
TheGoodJoe:

Unfortunately, I did not watch Esin in his prime but when Coach Monday Sinclair became coach of Eagle cement FC (later named Dolphins), he signed an old Etim Esin. That is, around 2000 or 2001.

I am telling you, what Etim Esin did with the ball, I have never seen a player do it. It was completely unbelievable.

Etim Esin will dribble an opponent and the person will fall. That was not he height of it. His teammates will also fall. grin

That was how insane his tricks were. It happened repeatedly. However, he did not last in the game to compare with Okocha but the little I saw, made me acknowledge he was special.

Etim Esin was a fantastic player, some will say way better than Okocha. Sadly he let success get into his head and he self destruct. It was sad listening to him share his story years ago

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 8:15pm On Feb 02, 2022
TheGoodJoe:

Haruna Babangida
Pius Ikedia
Eddie Dombraye
Iyenemi Furo
Ikenna Eneh
Obinna Okpala
Joseph Yobo
Gbenga Okunowo
Julius Aghahowa
Aniele
Victor Agali
Yakubu Aiyegbeni
Sunday Ibeji
Emma Isah
Emmanuel Ebiede
Abubakar Musa
Melkam
Azubuike Oliseh
Egutu Oliseh
Greg Etafia
Bartholomew Ogbeche

Mad men.

Ogbonna Kanu

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 8:18pm On Feb 02, 2022
lovewins:

Etim Esin was a fantastic player, some will say way better than Okocha. Sadly he let success get into his head and he self destruct. It was sad listening to him share his story years ago
etim was no where close to jay jay skill wise but more direct and purposeful than jay jay when compared to the latter’s youthful age then

Etim na confirm gidigbo type of 10 with so much energy, stamina and strength to burn while jay jay was more stylish
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Daninya33: 8:19pm On Feb 02, 2022
Danielnino00:

M.k.o Abiola Stadium, Abuja.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 8:22pm On Feb 02, 2022
TheGoodJoe:

Haruna Babangida
Pius Ikedia
Eddie Dombraye
Iyenemi Furo
Ikenna Eneh
Obinna Okpala
Joseph Yobo
Gbenga Okunowo
Julius Aghahowa
Aniele
Victor Agali
Yakubu Aiyegbeni
Sunday Ibeji
Emma Isah
Emmanuel Ebiede
Abubakar Musa
Melkam
Azubuike Oliseh
Egutu Oliseh
Greg Etafia
Bartholomew Ogbeche

Mad men.
chai I remember Chibuzo melkam

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 8:24pm On Feb 02, 2022
TheGoodJoe:

Haruna Babangida
Pius Ikedia
Eddie Dombraye
Iyenemi Furo
Ikenna Eneh
Obinna Okpala
Joseph Yobo
Gbenga Okunowo
Julius Aghahowa
Aniele
Victor Agali
Yakubu Aiyegbeni
Sunday Ibeji
Emma Isah
Emmanuel Ebiede
Abubakar Musa
Melkam
Azubuike Oliseh
Egutu Oliseh
Greg Etafia
Bartholomew Ogbeche

Mad men.
rabiu afolabi robocop

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 8:29pm On Feb 02, 2022
Subzero47:

This Dude had everything ,what is about the name Dembele that they are always very good footballers.

This particular Dembele was skill plus technique plus class X class.

But he never got the recognition he deserved.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by EgusiShankly: 8:55pm On Feb 02, 2022
Subzero47:
You can't press this guy.
He would dribble his way out

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:00pm On Feb 02, 2022
charlesemeka85:
rabiu afolabi robocop

How did I forget him? Nice one
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:02pm On Feb 02, 2022
charlesemeka85:

Ogbonna Kanu

Yes. Ogbonna Kanu was with that set. Will we put Garba Ahmed (Yaro Yaro) in that set? I forgot Blessing Kaku.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 9:10pm On Feb 02, 2022
daveP:

I'll take Uyo over it for the meantime. But the way MAS has been looking, shows it will be our forte

Daninya33:

M.k.o Abiola Stadium, Abuja.
daveP:

MKO Abiola stadium... Excellent choice!

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by dozai: 9:14pm On Feb 02, 2022
How is that tackle not a red
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero47: 9:19pm On Feb 02, 2022
Currently watching Rangers vs Celtic right now and Bassey is a gem of a footballer

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero47: 9:21pm On Feb 02, 2022
komekn:

This Dude had everything ,what is about the name Dembele that they are always very good footballers.

This particular Dembele was skill plus technique plus class X class.

But he never got the recognition he deserved.

Not this Dembele, he is always a carpenter in my eyes

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 9:29pm On Feb 02, 2022
Daninya33:

Mad ooo

Nawa oh,the armed robbers didn't recognise him?

Do you think the coach would have axed him from the team as Christian Chukwu decamped Babayaro,Yakubu and Agali when they broke camp rules?

After the incidence, the robbers later came out to apologise. They regretted their actions...they claimed they couldn't recognize him since it happened at night. I didn't watch Etim Esin but I have read a lot about him. He was a national asset.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:31pm On Feb 02, 2022
BascoVanVeli:
Rudiger with a birthday wish for Sadiq. I forgot they were teammates sef

Better late than ever. Happy birthday Sadiq Umar. Many years of good health, long life, success, and goals.

(1) (2) (3) ... (12537) (12538) (12539) (12540) (12541) (12542) (12543) ... (16402) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: shawwal1(m) and 15 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44