Stats: 3,200,360 members, 7,974,501 topics. Date: Monday, 14 October 2024 at 06:19 AM

Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? - Religion (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? (14260 Views)

Should Christian Couples Confess Adultery To Their Partners? / Do Born Again Christians Need Deliverance? / Stephanie Otobo: "I Was Not Paid To Confess, I Will Name My Sponsors In Court" (2) (3) (4)

Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Ppp1p: 4:03pm On Jul 17, 2022
Depends
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 4:09pm On Jul 17, 2022
humberjade:
You just keep mixing everything together to satisfy your spiritual ego.

1. Calling other's opinion a lie is disrespectful and judgy, and what did the Bible say about that? Perhaps you don't know the meaning of opinion, you can consult your dictionary and other online sources to learn more about it.

2. Meaning when you confess your adultery to your partner, it will simply be washed away abi. Adultery can only hurt someone if they learn about it or maybe you impregnate or infect them with an STD. So let me put it across to you, if your partner cheats and she confesses to you, would you forgive and forget it? If you tell your partner, would she forgive and forget?

And again, since God didn't say or mention adultery in the verse, it simply means it is your opinion about the verses you are propagating, can we then assume they are lies? undecided

3. "Do not commit adultery", you commit it and ask God for forgiveness, shikena. Wisdom is profitable to direct in everything we do in life.

You are a cheap junkie like your moniker implies, hence, I don't argue with junkies, especially not the Holy book, read wider and consult your clergy
1. Again, an Opinion, regardless of whose It is, is considered a lie since it is not absolute. We all have opinions hence opinions can't be truths. Instead opinions are to instead be measured against Truth which is an absolute measure. undecided

2. Washed away by whom? undecided

Look, if your relationship with God concerns you in the least, what you would do is obey His commandment rather than look for silly ways to rationalize your disobedience .i.e. sin against Him.. undecided

3. Adultery is a separate sin entirely from what is stated in Matthew 5 vs 23 - 24 in which case you sin against God when you refuse to ask forgiveness for hurts you cause others. undecided
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 4:12pm On Jul 17, 2022
uncleck:

I know Jesus more than you. I know the scripture more than you. I strongly believe that you're a bandwagon Christian; a fair weather christian who lack convintion in what he professes
You do yet you made the claim you did earlier? undecided
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by humberjade: 4:17pm On Jul 17, 2022
Kobojunkie:
1. Again, an Opinion, regardless of whose It is, is considered a lie since it is not absolute. We all have opinions hence opinions can't be truths. Instead opinions are to instead be measured against Truth which is an absolute measure. undecided

2. Washed away by whom? undecided

Look, if your relationship with God concerns you in the least, what you would do is obey His commandment rather than look for silly ways to rationalize your disobedience .i.e. sin against Him.. undecided

3. Adultery is a separate sin entirely from what is stated in Matthew 5 vs 23 - 24 in which case you sin against God when you refuse to ask forgiveness for hurts you cause others. undecided

Leave story bro, wisdom is profitable to direct

I was scrolling through my FB and I saw this piece, exactly what happens when you confess your adultery to your partner
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 4:17pm On Jul 17, 2022
Lighthouse50:
Correct.. Still what i mean but possibly a change of word. A man wouldnt know his wife cheats unless she is caught in the act nr she confesses and ask for forgiveness.
Jesus Christ didn't state that the other must first know of the hurt before one should apologize and seek forgiveness though. Instead He made this about the person seeking forgiveness being aware of the hurt - Matthew 5 vs 23 - 24. We know when we hurt others even before they realize it, and so I believe what Jesus Christ said is particularly for such situations. undecided

Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 4:19pm On Jul 17, 2022
xpertoyin:
If the Bible is not explicit about a matter don't make a doctrine out of it.
Let the Spirit guide you as an individual. But remember it is only in the eyes of God that there is no big sin or small sin, in the eyes of men (especially women) there are many unpardonable sins.
Well, what Jesus Christ said in Matthew 5 vs 23 - 24 is explicit enough. lipsrsealed
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 4:25pm On Jul 17, 2022
OkodiDenzel:
Chief Justice of Heaven with the exclusive right to interpret God's laws.
God in fact demands you ask forgiveness from those whom you hurt before you approach Him - Matthew 5 vs 23 - 24 - and fornication, not adultery, is a breach of the marriage contract meaning a hurt against your partner. undecided
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 4:27pm On Jul 17, 2022
humberjade:
1. Leave story bro, wisdom is profitable to direct

2. I was scrolling through my FB and I saw this piece, exactly what happens when you confess your adultery to your partner
1. Last I checked, God is Wisdom and He has spoken. So it is left to you to obey Him or continue in sin against Him. undecided

2. God no send anyone check first that it will favor you before you do as commanded. What He demand is your obedience irrespective of consequences. So it is left to you, again, to decide if God is worth it or if He is not. undecided
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Nobody: 4:30pm On Jul 17, 2022
Kobojunkie:
Well, what Jesus Christ said in Matthew 5 vs 23 - 24 is explicit enough. lipsrsealed

Your dogmatic position is interesting. I'D LIKE TO KNOW THE CHURCH YOU ATTEND.
You just hold on to one scripture like that is what determines whether one makes heaven or hell, and you formed a doctrine around it.
Those that worship God must do so in spirit and in truth, meaning being led by the spirit, and with sincerity of your heart; not according to some "decree" that you're not 100% certain you're taking it in the right context.
Old testament people relied heavily on "decrees" and they failed God, don't do the same under the new covenant.
Let the Spirit lead you, and be sincere in your heart to God, you will be free indeed as the Son sets you free.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by humberjade: 4:40pm On Jul 17, 2022
Kobojunkie:
1. Last I checked, God is Wisdom and He has spoken. So it is left to you to obey Him or continue in sin against Him. undecided

2. God no send anyone check first that it will favor you before you do as commanded. What He demand is your obedience irrespective of consequences. So it is left to you, again, to decide if God is worth it or if He is not. undecided

Saint Kobojunkie, so what did He say about your moniker? grin
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 5:00pm On Jul 17, 2022
humberjade:
Saint Kobojunkie, so what did He say about your moniker? grin
My moniker is of this world and not of the Kingdom of God in much the same way that marriage, the food you eat, clothing I wear, car I drive etc., are also. undecided
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by humberjade: 5:10pm On Jul 17, 2022
Kobojunkie:
My moniker is of this world and not of the Kingdom of God in much the same way that marriage, the food you eat, clothing I wear, car I drive etc., are also. undecided

Issokay o grin grin
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by gannod(m): 5:11pm On Jul 17, 2022
cutecommend:
When a married Christian falls into adultery with a woman or a man, does he or she need to confess such to his or her spouse, or is repentance enough?

Yes. First of all, ask God for forgiveness, then confess to your partner and ask for forgiveness.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 5:25pm On Jul 17, 2022
crows2ravens:
1. Your dogmatic position is interesting. I'D LIKE TO KNOW THE CHURCH YOU ATTEND.

2. You just hold on to one scripture like that is what determines whether one makes heaven or hell, and you formed a doctrine around it.

3. Those that worship God must do so in spirit and in truth, meaning being led by the spirit, and with sincerity of your heart; not according to some "decree" that you're not 100% certain you're taking it in the right context.

4. Old testament people relied heavily on "decrees" and they failed God, don't do the same under the new covenant.

5. Let the Spirit lead you, and be sincere in your heart to God, you will be free indeed as the Son sets you free.
1. I attend non of your churches since God never commanded any of your churches nor what you do in them to begin with. undecided

2. I don't hold on to one scripture, I instead hold on to that which is the Word of God, Jesus Christ, the one who is God's New Covenant Law and Truth in the Kingdom of God. It is Him, the Law, that judges those who will either end up in Hell or Heaven at the end - Matthew 25 vs 31 - 46. . I formed no doctrine of my own since everything I have stated is as found written right there in the Gospels. undecided

3. What Jesus Christ said obviously refers instead to the fact that all those who are of Him have to be born of Spirit aka born-again- John 3 vs 5 - 8 - and also live in continuous submission to and obedience of His teachings and commandments, God's Truth, the Gospel and Law in the Kingdom of God - John 14 vs 6. Jesus Christ's Spirit, the Spirit of Truth, only leads those who are submitted to His Truth. undecided

4. Whoever told you that lie does not KNOW who God is or Jesus Christ for that matter. undecided

5. As Jesus Christ clearly explained to you, the Spirit of Truth, which is His own Spirit, would never lead you to contradicting any of that which He taught nor put you in conflict with God. So I suggest you tend to reason why you are against that decreed by God Himself through Jesus Christ, His Law. undecided
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 5:26pm On Jul 17, 2022
gannod:
Yes. First of all, ask God for forgiveness, then confess to your partner and ask for forgiveness.
According to Jesus Christ, the order should be the other way - Matthew 5 vs 23 - 24. undecided
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Nobody: 5:47pm On Jul 17, 2022
Kobojunkie:
1. I attend non of your churches since God never commanded any of your churches nor what you do in them to begin with. undecided

2. I don't hold on to one scripture, I instead hold on to that which is the Word of God, Jesus Christ, the one who is God's New Covenant Law and Truth in the Kingdom of God. It is Him, the Law, that judges those who will either end up in Hell or Heaven at the end - Matthew 25 vs 31 - 46. . I formed no doctrine of my own since everything I have stated is as found written right there in the Gospels. undecided

3. What Jesus Christ said obviously refers instead to the fact that all those who are of Him have to be born of Spirit aka born-again- John 3 vs 5 - 8 - and also live in continuous submission to and obedience of His teachings and commandments, God's Truth, the Gospel and Law in the Kingdom of God - John 14 vs 6. Jesus Christ's Spirit, the Spirit of Truth, only leads those who are submitted to His Truth. undecided

4. Whoever told you that lie does not KNOW who God is or Jesus Christ for that matter. undecided

5. As Jesus Christ clearly explained to you, the Spirit of Truth, which is His own Spirit, would never lead you to contradicting any of that which He taught nor put you in conflict with God. So I suggest you tend to reason why you are against that decreed by God Himself through Jesus Christ, His Law. undecided

Now I see you're not necessarily a Christian. I agree with those questioning your faith because you haven't said anything to prove you're really saved. Don't just sit on the fence and read the Bible, give your life to Jesus. Shalom.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Clementoons: 6:16pm On Jul 17, 2022
SenatePresdo:

If there is no God, there would be no sin.

And if there is no sin, there would be no hell fire.

If there is no God, why would I need to confess my sin to anybody when there would be no risk of hell fire?
what are you saying? Hell fire is real, Heaven is also real, why don't you repent and confess your sins to the Almighty GOD and accept his only begotten son JESUS. Who died on the cross for you and me.
THE FOOL HAS SAID IN HIS HEART, THERE IS NO GOD, BUT I PRAY FOR YOU TODAY, YOU WILL NOT BE A FOOL, AND WILL NOT PERISH IN THE LAKE OF FIRE.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 6:20pm On Jul 17, 2022
crows2ravens:
1. Now I see you're not necessarily a Christian.
2. I agree with those questioning your faith because you haven't said anything to prove you're really saved.

3. Don't just sit on the fence and read the Bible, give your life to Jesus. Shalom.
1. LOL... Jesus Christ, the Christ, in Christianity instead stipulates that those who are of Him are those who are born-again and live in obedience to His teachings(and commandments). So where you get this idea that it is by your mark is beyond me.

2. He made it clear that to know those who are of Him, you consider their fruits and so far, it ought to be clear that I bear fruits born of obedience of Jesus Christ Himself, and not of the doctrines and traditions of men which you instead cling to there. He more than made it clear to all His followers that in order to be saved one has to stand faithful - live in continuous submission to and obedience of His teachings(and commandments) - until the very end - Matthew 24 vs 12 - 13 and Mark 13 vs 13 - so I am not certain where you get the idea that it is by your opinion, and not that decreed by Jesus Christ's that Salvation is decided upon. undecided

3. I suggest you take your own advice and pay attention to the one who you claim to serve. undecided
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Dtruthspeaker: 6:48pm On Jul 17, 2022
Odetokun3:

Quote the area

1 Chronicles 22: 11 and 12 in confirmation of Proverbs.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Odetokun3(m): 6:53pm On Jul 17, 2022
Dtruthspeaker:

1 Chronicles 22: 11 and 12 in confirmation of Proverbs.

No. This was a charge not an instruction. Solomon is the wisest of all canals.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Dtruthspeaker: 6:55pm On Jul 17, 2022
Teymanhenry:
Does this relates to men alone?

I said the good woman's own.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Dtruthspeaker: 6:56pm On Jul 17, 2022
Odetokun3:

No. This was a charge not an instruction. Solomon is the wisest of all canals.

A charge is an instruction and a command.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Odetokun3(m): 7:06pm On Jul 17, 2022
Dtruthspeaker:

A charge is an instruction and a command.

Says who

And why did the Bible verse I quoted for you says nobody will be wiser than him even before him.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Dtruthspeaker: 7:12pm On Jul 17, 2022
HedwigesMaduro:

He didn't ask for the consequences of adultery, or whether adultery is a noble act. He asked a simple question: is it compulsory to confess adultery to one's partner? Geez!

Yes i am taking the opportunity to share and warn others about the great disaster and destruction which awaits them when they fall which I have been studying for years and years.

So don't be an ass simply because you did not have this warning before you fell.

There are others out there who like me, are seeking how to beat and overcome this great evil of adultery and I believe as it has guided me, it can help them too.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Dtruthspeaker: 7:20pm On Jul 17, 2022
Odetokun3:

Says who

And why did the Bible verse I quoted for you says nobody will be wiser than him even before him.

It is finished and there is no valid thing for you to say you just do not want to accept that after all the teachings you have heard for years that Solomon is the wisest man in the world, you just cannot believe that it was not True.

And secondly, you just cannot believe that you are not the first to notice this error, that is why you are still arguing.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Dtruthspeaker: 7:39pm On Jul 17, 2022
Mindlog:

For most schizophrenics who lean heavily on religion, anyone who don't align with their myopic reasoning is seen as Satan......I understand, it comes with the territory. cheesy cheesy

CHANGE OF POST AND PROOF OF NOTHING VALID TO SAY! cheesy
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Dtruthspeaker: 7:43pm On Jul 17, 2022
Odetokun3:

Read your Bible again please.

God asked him what he want in the dream. He mentioned wisdom. It's not David that told him to choose....

And this is even after you see that David had already told him what to ask for even before Solomon became King and this event happened.

So, you see, you are still proving my case.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Odetokun3(m): 8:00pm On Jul 17, 2022
Dtruthspeaker:

It is finished and there is no valid thing for you to say you just do not want to accept that after all the teachings you have heard for years that Solomon is the wisest man in the world, you just cannot believe that it was not True.

And secondly, you just cannot believe that you are not the first to notice this error, that is why you are still arguing.

God no dey make mistake bro. He said no one
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Nobody: 8:24pm On Jul 17, 2022
Dtruthspeaker:

Yes i am taking the opportunity to share and warn others about the great disaster and destruction which awaits them when they fall which I have been studying for years and years.

So don't be an ass simply because you did not have this warning before you fell.

There are others out there who like me, are seeking how to beat and overcome this great evil of adultery and I believe as it has guided me, it can help them too.

@the bolded makes me wonder the state of mind of some of you Pharisees on this sub. Now, switch on your brain (if you ever had one) aand read through my post all over again. Then point to where you fell there.
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by xproducer: 9:06pm On Jul 17, 2022
cutecommend:
When a married Christian falls into adultery with a woman or a man, does he or she need to confess such to his or her spouse, or is repentance enough?

+++

Ideally there should be confession to GOD first, then to one another and then forgiveness... ideally! By GOD's grace it is possible... for with GOD all things are possible (Matthew 19:26)

"Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much." - James 5:16

"And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ's sake hath forgiven you." - Ephesians 4:32 (Also Colossians 3:13)

Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 3:33am On Jul 18, 2022
President2001:
Depends but telling God should be the first
God instead says you should first apologize for the hurt you have caused before you come to Him - Matthew 5 vs 23 - 24 undecided
Re: Do Christians Need To Confess Adultery To Their Partners? by Kobojunkie: 3:40am On Jul 18, 2022
Whada:
1. If you're not married, you shouldn't even be commenting on this thread. When you get married you'll understand a lot of things better. Many married people didn't think marriage would be what they found it to be. Nobody tells you and you can keep arguing while single. Get in first.

2. Once you've cheated, confessing is another hurdle on its own. Those who have confessed will tell you their experience. It's usually not a pleasant one. You have to choose the possibility of crashing your marriage or keeping the secret and guilt tripping yourself for life. Whichever you choose, be ready for serious consequences. Go ask if you know anyone willing to tell you the truth about their cheating and confession experience. Just keep in mind that many people won't tell you the whole truth behind their marital experiences. Until you're inside it, you won't understand the importance of the statement "wisdom is profitable to direct. "
1. Excuses upon excuses is all many of you have to offer! undecided

2. So, never mind God then since your marriage is the be-all-end-all for you then, so why comment at all since the topic is instead about what Christians - those who believe in Jesus Christ - should do. undecided

Bishop Emma Isong To Buhari: "Confess Your Sins To Nigerians To Win Second Term" / Healings And The Gift Of Healing In The Church / Another Error Of Quran Or Muhammed

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 82