Stats: 3,170,584 members, 7,878,654 topics. Date: Wednesday, 03 July 2024 at 12:17 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (13743) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12019256 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (13740) (13741) (13742) (13743) (13744) (13745) (13746) ... (16405) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 7:31pm On Oct 24, 2022
Samueltemi337:
what has dessers done to be ahead of Onuachu?
Onuachu not making the SE squad is mostly because of his playing style. Same reason he has not been able to move to a bigger league. Simy is also an example. So you people need to stop judging players based on goals only.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 7:31pm On Oct 24, 2022
yinkeys:

Goal output per season
Facts

Can you drop their stats here please. Their goal output per season specifically.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheLoneCitizen(m): 7:33pm On Oct 24, 2022
yinkeys:
We have in-form strikers
Sadiq
Onuachu
Awoniyi
Osimhen
Moffi

About time the super eagles coach start pursuing some players

Corrected that for you.

Dessers hasn't deserved an invite for a long time. His missed penalty has cost Cremonese this evening.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Emmy450(m): 7:35pm On Oct 24, 2022
andrewbaba44:

I will allow him rest soon .

But it’s annoying when someone is trying to be a neymar and ends up like a Brazilian poco lee dancing zanku
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by AndSunGorilla: 7:35pm On Oct 24, 2022
BascoVanVeli:
Hey u can check out some of Victor's performance on my website. I put it there cos of copyright. Just hit the link and it should be the first video u see

https://naijabiasfootball.com/
Thank you sir!!! My grandpa and dad used to tell me too about Baba Yekini, there was one crazy goal at the national stadium that Baba Yekini scored from a very tight angle too. Ceteris paribus, Victor should be able to surpass Baba Yekini's goal records and be our next striker to be APOTY or maybe even be the next African to succeed George Weah at some point.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by AndSunGorilla: 7:37pm On Oct 24, 2022
mostob:
Onuachu not making the SE squad is mostly because of his playing style. Same reason he has not been able to move to a bigger league. Simy is also an example. So you people need to stop judging players based on goals only.
Oga mi, has FIFA changed rules for how games are won?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 7:45pm On Oct 24, 2022
AndSunGorilla:

Oga mi, has FIFA changed rules for how games are won?
No... Your point sir?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by zuchyblink(m): 7:46pm On Oct 24, 2022
mostob:
his age and value is the reason why he has not moved to a bigger league
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 7:49pm On Oct 24, 2022
AndSunGorilla:

Thank you sir!!! My grandpa and dad used to tell me too about Baba Yekini, there was one crazy goal at the national stadium that Baba Yekini scored from a very tight angle too. Ceteris paribus, Victor should be able to surpass Baba Yekini's goal records and be our next striker to be APOTY or maybe even be the next African to succeed George Weah at some point.

Osimhen is definitely breaking Yekini's Goals Record.

Consider this perspective....

Yekini's first 22 NT Caps... He had 5 goals.

Osimhen's 22 NT Caps so far.. He has 15 goals.

Yekini, ofcos did something crazy from Cap 23. He went on to bag 32 more goals in his next 40 Caps to finish with 37 goals in 62 games.

As for APOTY, Osimhen will definitely win it someday. In fact, truth is if he can lead his in-form Napoli side to the Scudetto this season plus whatever they can achieve in the UCL, then watch out for the next APOTY. It would be just inevitable.

Osimhen is on course bruv. Time will eventually give us these moments.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 7:51pm On Oct 24, 2022
zuchyblink:
not at all, his style of play na wetin mk no big team don near am cheesy

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 7:52pm On Oct 24, 2022
zuchyblink:
Age ke? Onuachu is 28. Do you want me to give examples of players who moved despite being within 28 yeas old? Auba, Partey, Lewandowski, Balogun....
Age is not the reason he has not moved sir.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 7:53pm On Oct 24, 2022
mostob:
Age ke? Onuachu is 28. Do you want me to give examples of players who moved despite being within 28 yeas old? Auba, Partey, Lewandowski, Balogun....
mane nko wey join Bayern nko?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 7:54pm On Oct 24, 2022
charlesemeka85:
not at all, his style of play na wetin mk no big team don near am cheesy
Gbam!

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 7:55pm On Oct 24, 2022
charlesemeka85:
mane nko wey join Bayern nko?
I even forget that one. If you're 50 years and you have what most coaches needed in a player, Dem go dey rush you ni... cheesy

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 8:02pm On Oct 24, 2022
TheSuperNerd:
Unpopular Opinion: Alex Iwobi is currently good enough for Man City's midfield grin

Alex Iwobi: A Reminder cool

NB: It's beyond just the assists.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 8:04pm On Oct 24, 2022
The Midfield Sultan vs The Goals Lord of Belgium from yesterday's action.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 8:07pm On Oct 24, 2022
elyte89:

U av already pointed it out ...it’s too early to conclude on a player,Anthony will come good cool

Anthony hasn’t been bad either ,3 goals in 4 games
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by zuchyblink(m): 8:08pm On Oct 24, 2022
mostob:
Onuachu has not moved to a bigger league because of his place of birth,age and value. No club in Europe is ready to buy 28 year old Onuachu born in a country with negative reputation of age cheating at 20 to 30 million euros as he is rated.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 8:11pm On Oct 24, 2022
zuchyblink:
Onuachu has not moved to a bigger league because of his place of birth,age and value. No club in Europe is ready to buy 28 year old Onuachu born in a country with negative reputation of age cheating at 20 to 30 million euros as he is rated.
So it is no more his age, it is now his place of birth?
I'm done here man.
Peace

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 8:12pm On Oct 24, 2022
Lol. He already is THE TERROR.

'Doesn't have to join Simeone to establish what is already obvious.

AndSunGorilla:

So that we go begin dey call am Victor the TERROR!!!

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by zuchyblink(m): 8:16pm On Oct 24, 2022
mostob:
So it is no more his age, it is now his place of birth?
I'm done here man.
Peace
why I hate to comment on this section is because most of you argue too much. This comment is from Onuachu himself. I didn't read before my assertion,I just googled it now.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 8:20pm On Oct 24, 2022
TheSuperNerd:
Beautiful Basco. Beautiful. Been looking for the Osimhen Comps from Yesterday's game just for storage purposes. Well done.

First action of your compilations clip show Osimhen already bullying Smalling. Lol.

Infact the clips show a picture of Victor clearly getting the better of Smalling more than twice.

Smalling had a good game though but Osimhen was just in beastly mood.

Thanks Again, Marvellous Basco. And nice site for a start.

Smalling should be in the English squad IMO. He needs Mourinho to make small noise for him because I believe he is probably the best they have.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 8:27pm On Oct 24, 2022
I agree. Dude had a solid game on the overall I no go lie. Policed Osimhen for good parts even though our boy got away from him on a couple of occasions.

Smalling was almost always on Osimhen's heels everytime he (Osimhen) had to hold up plays before linking up with his nearest man.

Even for the goal, you could see Smalling did all he could with outstretched legs but Victor was just Faster after edging the duel strength-wise and balance-wise.

Smalling should get a shout for the English side if someone like Maguire is still being considered but that one dey up to Gareth Southgate and his "technical geng".

BascoVanVeli:

Smalling should be in the English squad IMO. He needs Mourinho to make small noise for him because I believe he is probably the best they have.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 8:28pm On Oct 24, 2022
AndSunGorilla:

I believe that was against Algeria in route to the 94 world cup. A beautifulfly taken goal, keeper was expecting a cross but Yekini was just a different type of guy.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 8:33pm On Oct 24, 2022
TheSuperNerd:
I agree. Dude had a solid game on the overall I no go lie. Policed Osimhen for good parts even though our boy got away from him on a couple of occasions.

Smalling was almost always on Osimhen's heels everytime he (Osimhen) had to hold up plays before linking up with his nearest man.

Even for the goal, you could see Smalling did all he could with outstretched legs but Victor was just Faster after edging the duel strength-wise and balance-wise.

Smalling should get a shout for the English side if someone like Maguire is still being considered but that one dey up to Gareth Southgate and his "technical geng".

The way he was handling my Faradona like he isn't one of the best wingers in the world this season. If not for Osimhen Napoli wouldn't have smelled anything like goal yesterday.

Yea Southgate and co will get them disgraced at the world cup. I also have a feeling Saka won't be a starter on the team. England has too much politics sha
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by yinkeys(m): 8:35pm On Oct 24, 2022
When will Osimhen & Iheanacho pair up for the Super Eagles ?

I can’t wait

I don’t think they’ve been paired in any competition

We now have competition in the SE

The coach needs to solve our defensive and goalie issues
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 8:37pm On Oct 24, 2022
zuchyblink:
why I hate to comment on this section is because most of you argue too much. This comment is from Onuachu himself. I didn't read before my assertion,I just googled it now.
But he isnt wrong...For a player like him that has spent his professional career in Denmark and Belgium, 25m is a lot of money... I don't agree with the age or location part...
How old was Ighalo when Man Utd signed him? How old was Enyeama when he joined Lille?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by AndSunGorilla: 8:37pm On Oct 24, 2022
mostob:
No... Your point sir?
Goals win games!!!! Therefore if goals win games, then we can infer that we can judge the quality of a striker by his ability to score goals qed.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by AndSunGorilla: 8:38pm On Oct 24, 2022
TheSuperNerd:
Lol. He already is THE TERROR.

'Doesn't have to join Simeone to establish what is already obvious.

Enhancement now, Terrible Terror.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 8:39pm On Oct 24, 2022
Karlovych:
While Iheanacho at 26 is stilling eating Eba and garri at Leicester, some players don't take their careers seriously

Make we just rest Iheanacho matter... Dude has made his choices...
6 years ago, he was in the same position as Osimhen,if not higher, cus he was younger then and scoring more....
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by AndSunGorilla: 8:40pm On Oct 24, 2022
BascoVanVeli:

I believe that was against Algeria in route to the 94 world cup. A beautifulfly taken goal, keeper was expecting a cross but Yekini was just a different type of guy.
You too sabi!!! I think Yekini came a bit too early, I dont think he got the recognition he deserves in world football.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Utonwanne(m): 8:45pm On Oct 24, 2022
zuchyblink:

His playing style is the major reason.

He can't really dribble in one-on-one situations, he's not fast and not too strong. Players like that are meant for average teams. Even when they are acquired by top teams, they don't last.

(1) (2) (3) ... (13740) (13741) (13742) (13743) (13744) (13745) (13746) ... (16405) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: 22 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 45