Stats: 3,197,287 members, 7,964,258 topics. Date: Wednesday, 02 October 2024 at 10:52 AM

Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD (736 Views)

Falana: It’s Dangerous To Sanction 165k Voters Over Electoral Officers’ Mistakes / FFK: Unongo's Suggestion To Protect Northerners In South West Is Dangerous / Edo 2020: Oshiomole Is Desperate And It Is Dangerous - Oke Umurhohwo (2) (3) (4)

Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Birdbyrde440: 6:40am On Jan 28
I started experimenting with cryptocurrencies as early as 2016 I was browsing one day and I saw a bitcoin add, it immediately rang a bell in my head I said to myself "this is the future " lol I dug in deeper only to find out that it was so expensive around 200k per bitcoin and I couldn't afford it but I kept checking it, reading about it I was in school so there was no way on earth I was going to risk money like 200k on bitcoin because what if it crashed? Long story short, I found ethereum and litecoin they were relatively cheaper. By the end of the semester of 2016 I bought 0.33 ethereum. I will never forget. It was like 1k or so. I left it till January of 2017 or 2018 when I came back to naija and casually checked my crypto account and voila! My 1k had risen to 33k! I taught it was a joke internet money, I converted it on my phone and drove to the bank gtbank atm and withdrew it. Right there in front of the bank the Holy ghost descended on me. I became a bitcoiner! Since then I have lost money(one time i sent $70 to the wrong address) , I have also gained millions(in 2021 my crypto holdings grew from $200+ to $18,000) I witnessed bitcoin drop from $15k to $3k. Ethereum dropped to 90$. That day I bought 1 full ethereum at the height of covid. I'm a cryptoMaster. You best believe it!

From my experience in watching crypto and what Tinubu did recently, he was able to crash the price of the naira from N1200 to N800. If you didn't learn something from that then you are dull. The LESSON THERE IS THAT TINUBU CONTROLS THE BLACK MARKET RATES. At any time he can cut that rate to match the official rate and you will see some speculators even bureau de change bosses crying that they lost money. They lost money because they are greedy, foolish and illiterate. If you don't have a degree in economics, finance, international economics and geo-politics or atleast have a deep understanding of these areas, don't speculate on anything because you will lose out. Be a good citizen and keep your money in the bank.

Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Oilwell(m): 6:48am On Jan 28
Its either you are dull or you are a type of person that sees the truth and looks the other way( A hypocrite).

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Birdbyrde440: 6:51am On Jan 28
Oilwell:
Its either you are dull or you are a type of person that sees the truth and looks the other way( A hypocrite).

(If I ask you why now you will fumble. Watch.)

Why do you say that?
Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Oilwell(m): 7:03am On Jan 28
Birdbyrde440:

(If I ask you why now you will fumble. Watch.)

Why do you say that?

Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Birdbyrde440: 7:09am On Jan 28
[quote author=Oilwell post=128161923][/quote]

Why is your life full of emotional sentiments?
I asked you to defend your position you are busy posting screen shots
Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Visocrate(m): 7:12am On Jan 28
So in essence now make we no look for money invest for crypto
Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Oilwell(m): 7:33am On Jan 28
Birdbyrde440:

Why is your life full of emotional sentiments?
I asked you to defend your position you are busy posting screen shots

My position is stack up enough dollars and invest in landed properties. A government way no fit control the regular market na black market them fit control?

One may have the political structure to win elections but does he have the Economic structure to handle the economy?
Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Offpointng: 7:45am On Jan 28
Oilwell:

My position is stack up enough dollars and invest in landed properties. A government way no fit control the regular market na black market them fit control?

One may have the political structure to win elections but does he have the Economic structure to handle the economy?

Bless me with potential alt coins for this April boss
Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Birdbyrde440: 7:47am On Jan 28
Visocrate:
So in essence now make we no look for money invest for crypto

Lol only beginners see cryptocurrency as an investment.
First of all understand the meaning of the words
"Crypto" and "currency"
If you don't understand the industry you are getting into omo you go lose your money.
Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Birdbyrde440: 7:53am On Jan 28
Oilwell:

Based on your advice to stack up on dollars and some average joe reads it and buys dollar at the current black market rates of 1450/$
And tomorrow Tinubu decides to clear all backlogs and floods the system with $20bn to banks to sell to people at 900/$... as a result more people go to the bank to get their dollars instead of black market and as a result bureau de change rates drops and aligns with the bank rate of 900/$
Based on your advice, that average joe has lost more than 1/3 of their money.
So understanding the system is crucial.

Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Oilwell(m): 9:19am On Jan 28
Birdbyrde440:

Based on your advice to stack up on dollars and some average joe reads it and buys dollar at the current black market rates of 1450/$
And tomorrow Tinubu decides to clear all backlogs and floods the system with $20bn to banks to sell to people at 900/$... as a result more people go to the bank to get their dollars instead of black market and as a result bureau de change rates drops and aligns with the bank rate of 900/$
Based on your advice, that average joe has lost more than 1/3 of their money.
So understanding the system is crucial.

If it goes down to $900. we will even buy more because like Garri it will surely rise again.

When nepotism and tribalism is the order of the day of any government, you can easily predict the economy.

Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Birdbyrde440: 9:42am On Jan 28
Oilwell:

If it goes down to $900. we will even buy more because like Garri it will surely rise again.

When nepotism and tribalism is the order of the day of any government, you can easily predict the economy.

Who is "we"?

You think the average joe will source more money to keep buying $?
What if he bought with his last money?
Or sold his home based on your advice just to buy $ and you come and tell him to buy more, from where will he get the money?

Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by 4Play(m): 10:05am On Jan 28
Birdbyrde440:

Who is "we"?

You think the average joe will source more money to keep buying $?
What if he bought with his last money?
Or sold his home based on your advice just to buy $ and you come and tell him to buy more, from where will he get the money?

With inflation as high as it is, the general trend for naira is downwards. You might have some temporary spikes in naira value whenever they complete one of these external loan deals but it's not going to be long lasting unless the policymakers tighten monetary policy (higher CBN interest rates) and tighten fiscal policy (a concerted effort by the FG to curb spending).

Nigerians are constantly deceived/manipulated with hope. Go back to July/August when the black market rate was N850 to $1, people were being told that any minute now, the naira will rally and those holding dollars will be severely punished. Check out this thread in August for instance: https://www.nairaland.com/7805012/huge-losses-speculators-dollars-crashed.

PS: Another hopium thread in November 2023: https://www.nairaland.com/7899830/nigeria-happening-those-hoarding-dollars.

Much of Nigerian politics is about maintaining support by feeding your supporters a steady diet of hope. I have seen this cycle repeat itself for decades.
Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by bnanny: 10:15am On Jan 28
Birdbyrde440:
I started experimenting with cryptocurrencies as early as 2016 I was browsing one day and I saw a bitcoin add, it immediately rang a bell in my head I said to myself "this is the future " lol I dug in deeper only to find out that it was so expensive around 200k per bitcoin and I couldn't afford it but I kept checking it, reading about it I was in school so there was no way on earth I was going to risk money like 200k on bitcoin because what if it crashed? Long story short, I found ethereum and litecoin they were relatively cheaper. By the end of the semester of 2016 I bought 0.33 ethereum. I will never forget. It was like 1k or so. I left it till January of 2017 or 2018 when I came back to naija and casually checked my crypto account and voila! My 1k had risen to 33k! I taught it was a joke internet money, I converted it on my phone and drove to the bank gtbank atm and withdrew it. Right there in front of the bank the Holy ghost descended on me. I became a bitcoiner! Since then I have lost money(one time i sent $70 to the wrong address) , I have also gained millions(in 2021 my crypto holdings grew from $200+ to $18,000) I witnessed bitcoin drop from $15k to $3k. Ethereum dropped to 90$. That day I bought 1 full ethereum at the height of covid. I'm a cryptoMaster. You best believe it!

From my experience in watching crypto and what Tinubu did recently, he was able to crash the price of the naira from N1200 to N800. If you didn't learn something from that then you are dull. The LESSON THERE IS THAT TINUBU CONTROLS THE BLACK MARKET RATES. At any time he can cut that rate to match the official rate and you will see some speculators even bureau de change bosses crying that they lost money. They lost money because they are greedy, foolish and illiterate. If you don't have a degree in economics, finance, international economics and geo-politics or atleast have a deep understanding of these areas, don't speculate on anything because you will lose out. Be a good citizen and keep your money in the bank.

How was it crashed? It was just a correction that was rectify. The upwards trend 📈 continues. $1 to #5000 coming Sooner. You can't crashed it. It will make corrections and continue uptrend. If you're in doubts check btc. Venezuela, Turkish, Indonesia and Naira are just another crypto in currency form.
Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by Russi: 11:52am On Jan 28
Let me as a Master of Finance help you! The Naira cannot be propped up with propaganda and threats from efcc. You should know that these Lagos boys are streetwise. So every time they give out threats, they are secretly shorting the market. Once dollar drops even 100naira they rush to buy up again. Within days the dollar bounces even higher, and they cash out and wait for another cycle.

Permanent improvement will take years of genuine productivity and exports. No country is bringing $billions as touted by the government! Tinubu cannot keep defending the naira with the few dollars available.

Finally, no investor will be comfortable with a developing economy that artificially manipulates their currency!

Birdbyrde440:

From my experience in watching crypto and what Tinubu did recently, he was able to crash the price of the naira from N1200 to N800. If you didn't learn something from that then you are dull. The LESSON THERE IS THAT TINUBU CONTROLS THE BLACK MARKET RATES. At any time he can cut that rate to match the official rate and you will see some speculators even bureau de change bosses crying that they lost money. They lost money because they are greedy, foolish and illiterate. If you don't have a degree in economics, finance, international economics and geo-politics or atleast have a deep understanding of these areas, don't speculate on anything because you will lose out. Be a good citizen and keep your money in the bank.[/b]

Re: Why It Is Dangerous To Speculate On NGN/USD by BadMaster: 12:43pm On Jan 28
OP, when Tinubu was sworn in, a lot of people actually thought he knew what he was doing. He promised to strengthen the naira, so some people were afraid of speculating.

However, it's obvious that he and his economic team don't have a clue on what to do regarding the naira depreciation. It's simply going down hill. Earlier this month, I told some that naira to dollar would get to N1,500 in 2 months, little did I know that it would happen earlier than that, given the rate it has been depreciating.

My point is that, nobody is afraid of hoarding dollars anymore, as it's glaringly clear that this government has no clue on what to do.

History And Cost Of Lagos Calabar Highway Since Obasanjo Regim, how they failed / Refute: Otti And His American Tales By Moonlight / Nigeria’s Economy Has Escaped The Phase Of Sabotage – Tinubu

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49