Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / NewStats: 3,205,479 members, 7,992,618 topics. Date: Sunday, 03 November 2024 at 11:55 AM |
Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? (1076 Views)
My Daughter Eyes Is Reddish In Color / Help! My Daughter's Incurable Skin Irritation ( Disturbing Images) / Is Glaucoma Hereditary? Can It Be Cured? (2) (3) (4)
Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by Gift150: 6:26am On Aug 09 |
Hello everyone, My 7-year old daughter's eyes are misaligned. It wasn't obvious at birth. It's becoming prominent as she grows older. I am not sure if it's curable. I am worried about her developing low self-esteem. Yesterday, she told me a classmate made an unfriendly remark about her eyes. Is this something that can be cured at this stage? She sees with both eyes, they are just misaligned. Please note: Her father has the same eyes so it's hereditary 1 Like |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by Karlman: 6:34am On Aug 09 |
Why are people so ungrateful to God? Her father even has same eye and you are here disturbing the peace over nothing. Please go and rest. Simply let a child understand that she is special and there is nothing wrong with her eyes There are mute or blind kids for God's sake. 6 Likes |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by Gift150: 6:42am On Aug 09 |
Karlman: Thank you. I just want to do my best as a mother. Her father battled low self-esteem growing up because of his eyes. Mokery from classmates and all that. If it's not curable, I will teach her to accept it. But if it is, why not? 9 Likes |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by Karlman: 7:00am On Aug 09 |
Gift150:Check tiktok Special people are the ones making waves now and raking in money with the Special ways God made them, even the deaf and dumb and also the blind Her fathers time is gone. This is a new age. Everybody is special now. I don't know if it's possible to change the way the eyes came but be careful not to blind the child in your quest for perfection. 5 Likes 1 Share |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by Denalarian: 7:02am On Aug 09 |
Teach her to be confident and self sufficient.. go to the eye clinic and present her to the doctor.. No one is a 100%, take my word on that! 2 Likes |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by dominique(f): 7:07am On Aug 09 |
Even if it can be cured, it's going to be through surgery. All surgeries come with risks, will you be willing to take that risk? 1 Like |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by sisqodean09(m): 7:21am On Aug 09 |
Let the poor girl breeeathe..... Teach her to care less bout what others think about her but more of what she thinks of herself. She gon be alright. 2 Likes |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by Mikespecialone(m): 7:37am On Aug 09 |
Gift150: You already got your answer 1 Like |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by OKOATA(m): 7:40am On Aug 09 |
It's called Exotropia. Cover the good eye with a pirate patch. The one Ruger the musical artist use, leave the nonaligned one eye to function. Do it like every 2hrs for the day and the non-aligned eye will realign till it's ok. Do it consistently and you will see changes. *Covering the good eye forces the brain to rely on the weak eye, which can help improve its vision and alignment. This is a common technique used in vision therapy to treat Exotropia and other eye alignment issues. So the best time to start is now because if she reaches 10yrs old it might be difficult. It's best from ages of 5-10yrs. Thanks. 15 Likes 3 Shares
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by OKOATA(m): 8:15am On Aug 09 |
dominique:At that age she doesn't need surgery. My younger bro had something like this has a child it was even my grandma that used eye patching for him and his eyes ever good now. 3 Likes 1 Share |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by heniford2: 9:04am On Aug 09 |
OKOATA:nice one |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by Gift150: 9:38am On Aug 09 |
OKOATA: This is a big relief to me. I'll try this out. Thank you |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by Switinthemiddle(m): 10:39am On Aug 09 |
OKOATA:This is the most useful advice i've seen on nairaland this year,not only did you provide needed solution but u also gave good insight and educated us at the same time. God bless you ma/sir 7 Likes |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by dominique(f): 11:53am On Aug 09 |
OKOATA: Ok. I hope it works for Op's daughter 1 Like |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by Vyzz: 12:10pm On Aug 09 |
Gift150: That eye is sexy... When it's not too much sha |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by ashawopikin(m): 12:42pm On Aug 09 |
Gift150:jist go to any general or university teaching hospital in your state, there is a way to correct it |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by BalticGold: 1:53pm On Aug 09 |
Like someone said up there, cover the good eye with an eye patch and the other will strengthen out. Or look for the book, Where there is no doctor. 2 Likes |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by 9jaBloke: 2:01pm On Aug 09 |
OKOATA: God bless! This is the kind of intelligent, knowledge-based response the OP was expecting, not some of the drivel I read earlier. 1 Like |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by whirlwind7(m): 2:14pm On Aug 09 |
Gift150: That advice by OKOATA is the best (non surgical) you might try at this time. However, IT WILL NOT BE ENOUGH! Reason? Because she is 7 years old already. At this age, most deviations are nearly permanent if untreated. Now, as someone who is experienced on this, here's what you need to do ASAP: take her to an eye clinic. Request that a CYCLOPLEGIC REFRACTION be done on her. It is a process where a certain eyedrop (1% cyclopentolate) is applied to both eyes, and then a test for glasses is done after about 30 to 40 minutes after 3 doses of the eyedrop has been applied to her eyes. This will give the result of the glasses she will need to use. After about 3 or more days later, the effect of the eye drops (blurred vision) will have worn out, and you take the child back to the eye clinic for a post-cycloplegic test. A good optometrist knows how to handle this. Your child will be prescribed the glasses that gives the best correction for her eyes, and she MUST wear the glasses everyday. You also need to patch or cover the good eye about 2 hours everyday (A MUST!!!) so that the weak and deviated eye will be forced to work harder and become straight. I must also say your hubby is careless and/or ignorant. He had same issue, and should have at least researched the cause of it. The moment it was noticed on your child, he would have sought for medical intervention immediately. What causes it is that one eye (the deviated one) is weak and does not see as good as the other eye. Because it is not properly aligned, it causes double vision. In other to see better, your child subconsciously suppresses it. As time goes by, the eye gets weaker and becomes redundant...and gets more deviated. Wish you and your child the best 🙏 3 Likes 2 Shares |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by comtem: 2:20pm On Aug 09 |
Gift150:The only thing you can do to help her is to build confidence in her. She didn't create herself. And pls, don't do anything that will blind that child. If any child bully her again, go and report to the school management so they can punish the person. Leave her alone, highest is get her glasses. My elder brothers eyes is like that, he was not born with it but something happened in the process of playing. He is living his life and 24/7 on glasses. Allow the girl to breathe abeg. Build self confidence in her. If you are complaining like this, those that can't see nko? Pls, let's appreciate God that she's seeing with both eyes. 1 Like |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by whirlwind7(m): 2:25pm On Aug 09 |
OKOATA: Thanks for that tip. However, depending on the direction of deviation (she didn't mention) it could be either exotropia (outwards) or esotropia (inwards) Patching alone can't solve the problem. Correcting the refractive error of the deviating eye via glasses MUST be done as well. 2 Likes |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by Gift150: 7:56pm On Aug 10 |
whirlwind7: Thank you very much. I will do this ASAP |
Re: Please Help Me. My Daughter Eyes Are Misaligned. Can It Be Cured? by dapotemi: 12:18pm On Aug 27 |
Gift150: I pray and hope you get all the help you needed.. |
Water For Life / Iron Deficiency / Lecithin" Improves Intelligence And Strong Memory
Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67 |