Stats: 3,191,243 members, 7,943,470 topics. Date: Sunday, 08 September 2024 at 04:20 PM

Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee (6113 Views)

Economy My Priority Now, Tinubu Tells Anyaoku, Others Seeking New Constitution / Asari Dokubo Asks Tinubu To Return NDDC To OMPADEC / It’s Unbearable’ — APC Youth Group Asks Tinubu To Address Rising Cost Of Living (2) (3) (4)

Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by gidgiddy: 9:22am On Aug 14
A group of Nigerian statesmen, The Patriots, has urged President Bola Tinubu to convene a constituent assembly to draft “a people democratic pluralistic constitution” for the country.

This came as the group, led by former Secretary-General of the Commonwealth, Emeka Anyaoku met with the president at the Aso Rock Villa, Abuja, on Friday.

Anyaoku, who addressed State House correspondents after Friday’s meeting, urged the president to forward an executive bill to the National Assembly to legislate on a national referendum that will approve the draft constitution.

He said the 109-member constituent assembly should be mandated to produce the draft constitution to be subjected to a referendum.

This referendum, he argued, will give legitimacy to the new constitution.

“We put some proposals to Mr. President and we urged him to send a president’s executive bill to the National Assembly, a bill that will call for two essential measures.

One, the convening of a National Constituent Assembly, to be mandated to produce a new draft constitution. We suggested that such a National Constituent Assembly should consist of individuals elected by the people on a non-party basis.

“Say, for example, three individuals per state, per each of the 36 states and one from the Federal Capital Territory and they should be mandated to produce a new draft constitution,” he explained.

Anyaoku premised this proposal on the argument that Nigeria needs a pluralistic constitution to tackle its development challenges.

Citing Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia and Sudan, he noted that countries that failed to manage their pluralism through a federal constitution are on course for eventual disintegration.

He said countries such as India and Canada, with pluralistic constitutions, have remained resilient.

The former Commonwealth helmsman explained, “Nigeria, we affirmed to Mr. President, is a pluralistic country. And you all know that pluralistic countries exist all over the world.

“Those of them who addressed their pluralism by having true federal constitutions have survived. An example is India and Canada.

“But pluralistic countries that failed to address their basic challenge of pluralism through a federal Constitution have ended up disintegrating. Examples of that are Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia, and Sudan, here in Africa.”

https://punchng.com/anyaoku-led-group-urges-tinubu-to-establish-new-constitution-drafting-committee/

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by RuggedBiafran: 9:33am On Aug 14
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by Bulldozer90: 9:47am On Aug 14
And Emeka Anyaoku too?
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by Biafrannuke: 9:57am On Aug 14
“But pluralistic countries that failed to address their basic challenge of pluralism through a federal Constitution have ended up disintegrating. Examples of that are Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia, and Sudan, here in Africa.”

Anyaoku already knows what's in the offing. He knows the man of lawlessness will toss his advice. It's just for the records.

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by stevnwigw1: 10:16am On Aug 14
Change the shit 1999 Constitution that empowers Fulanis to come into Nigeria from any part of the world.

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by Klington: 11:29am On Aug 14
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by PHIPEX(m): 11:29am On Aug 14
I thought Tinubu was serious about the regionalism thing.

They all champion RESTRUCTURING while in opposition, immediately they get power it becomes a different thing. If a Southern President can't restructure Nigeria, who then will?

20 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by NothingDoMe: 11:30am On Aug 14
Lol. The Nigerian Constitution is a fraudulent, antiquated document. Tinubu and majority of Nigerian politicians are steeped in fraud. There will be no constitutional review of any kind.
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by CrushObituaries: 11:31am On Aug 14
It is good to revisit our constitution, but what are the necessary things that need to change before spending scare resources on the committee
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by mytime24(f): 11:31am On Aug 14
Yawn
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by bigdammyj: 11:33am On Aug 14
Noted.
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by Michael547(m): 11:35am On Aug 14
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by unavailablecity: 11:37am On Aug 14
Regionalism Regionalism Regionalism is all we want best of it all YORUBAS NATION

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by Padipadi: 11:37am On Aug 14
What of those done before?
Confab of 2014 nko?
When ll it be enacted?
The country is dissolving gradually

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by Saao(m): 11:38am On Aug 14
DevilsEqual:
I learnt the first constitution was sole-written by Prof Ben Nwabueze and now another Emeka feels that constitution isnt cool cheesy

Emeka, most of your kinsmen already said they want Biafra, and that we are unity beggars, why dont u stop begging for unity and just allow the country disintegrate as per say na wetin una want

He should keep his opinion within the Ohaneze-Ndigbo crew

seriously, some of you are sick here. You called someone that can be your grandfather name without fear? My Bible talks about respecting your elders for your day to be long. We should be careful how we live our life

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by Akwamkpuruamu: 11:39am On Aug 14
The disintegration of this British business centre will be the best thing to happen to the black race

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by NSK4U(m): 11:39am On Aug 14
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by lexy2014: 11:44am On Aug 14
stevnwigw1:
Change the shit 1999 Constitution that empowers Fulanis to come into Nigeria from any part of the world.

what males 1999 constitution "shit"?

how does it empower fulanis to come into nigeria from any part of the world?

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by NSK4U(m): 11:44am On Aug 14
DevilsEqual:
I learnt the first constitution was sole-written by Prof Ben Nwabueze and now another Emeka feels that constitution isnt cool cheesy

Emeka, most of your kinsmen already said they want Biafra, and that we are unity beggars, why dont u stop begging for unity and just allow the country disintegrate as per say na wetin una want

He should keep his opinion within the Ohaneze-Ndigbo crew

Is it what they said or what you truly are?

Have you not been begging for unity right through your forefathers?
The north is not as scared as lots who would disown their son Igbogho for speaking up and asking for a country that would advocate yoruba interest. Own up to what you are which is unity beggers and stop shifting blames

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by lexy2014: 11:44am On Aug 14
unavailablecity:
Regionalism Regionalism Regionalism is all we want best of it all YORUBAS NATION

is nigeria not already practicing regionalism?
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by YelloweWest: 11:45am On Aug 14
PHIPEX:

They all champion RESTRUCTURING while in opposition, immediately they get power it becomes a different thing. If a Southern President can't restrure Nigeria, who then will?
Wait for 2nd term

Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by Pharaoh4rin(m): 11:45am On Aug 14
The second most prudent Nigerian I truly respect and love.
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by lexy2014: 11:45am On Aug 14
NothingDoMe:
Lol. The Nigerian Constitution is a fraudulent, antiquated document. Tinubu and majority of Nigerian politicians are steeped in fraud. There will be no constitutional review of any kind.

how is the nigerian constitution a fraudulent and antiquated document?
Re: Anyaoku Led Group Asks Tinubu To Establish New Constitution Drafting Committee by lexy2014: 11:47am On Aug 14
PHIPEX:

They all champion RESTRUCTURING while in opposition, immediately they get power it becomes a different thing. If a Southern President can't restrure Nigeria, who then will?

they championed it because they know many nigerians are ignorant and have no idea what the constitution says.

is nigeria not already practicing regionalism?

Obasanjo’s Wife, Major Moji Adekunle Obasanjo, Dies / Lagosians Have A Lot To Learn From The People Of Kano / These Five States Account For 87 % Of Nigeria’s VAT Revenue

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 23