Stats: 3,199,000 members, 7,970,041 topics. Date: Tuesday, 08 October 2024 at 07:25 PM

Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried (17061 Views)

Taiwo Akinkunmi Buried (Photos) / Michael Taiwo Akinkunmi Is Dead. Nigerian Flag Designer Dies! / Michael Taiwo Akinkunmi's House: Where Man Who Designed Nigeria's Flag Lives (2) (3) (4)

Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by obedience4(m): 9:23am On Sep 04
The family of the man who designed Nigeria’s national flag have told the BBC they have given up waiting for a promised state funeral, a year after he died.

Instead Taiwo Michael Akinkunmi, who died a year ago aged 87, is going to be buried this week in Oyo state, where he lived. Akinkunmi, known by many as “Mr Flag Man” and whose house was painted in the distinctive green and white colours of the national flag, was a humble man

But his son hopes that during his send-off, which Oyo state has agreed to fund, he will be remembered for the design that became a symbol of a united Nigeria.

“We have to give him the befitting burial he deserves,” his son Akinwumi Akinkunmi told the BBC Focus on Africa podcast.
Taiwo Akinkunmi always said he was an unlikely flag designer. He entered a competition for a new design ahead of Nigeria’s independence from the UK in October 1960.
At the time he was studying electrical engineering in London and had spotted a newspaper advert about the competition.
According to flag expert Whitney Smith, 3,000 designs were submitted - “many of great complexity”.
But Akinkunmi’s was a simple affair, with equal green-white-green vertical stripes - and it replaced the colonial flag that had included the British union jack and a six-pointed green star under a red disk

Akinkunmi’s original design included at its centre a red sun surrounded by rays. This was intended as “as a symbol of divine protection and guidance”, Mr Smith wrote in the Encyclopaedia Britannica.
However the sun was omitted by the committee, which awarded the then 23-year-old £100 (then worth $280) for his winning design.

Akinkunmi always said his inspiration came from his childhood as he had travelled and lived in various parts of Nigeria.
Born in Ibadan in the south-west, now capital of Oyo state, he spent his early years in the north of the country because of his parents’ work. He grew up in what he said was a happy polygamous family and was one of his father’s 10 children.
He returned to Ibadan to finish his education. He once told ThisDay journalist Funke Olade that his secondary school was like a “mini-Nigeria” as it had students from all over the country.

Nigeria is home to more than 300 ethnic groups and while Africa’s most populous country has no official religion, the nation is roughly divided between the mainly Muslim north and the largely Christian south, though many communities are mixed.
For Akinkunmi the green in his flag symbolised the nation’s rich agricultural heritage, while the white represented peace and unity.
“It is typical that Nigeria, like many other culturally diverse countries, chose a simple flag design. A more complex design might have explicitly honoured some ethnic and religious groups while excluding others,” Mr Smith wrote.
Agriculture was always close to Akinkunmi’s heart and he was excited to return to Nigeria after independence to take up at a job with the Ministry of Agriculture, where he worked as a civil servant until he retired in 1994.
But for much of his life very few people knew about his contribution to the country, though wherever he lived he reportedly used to paint the outside of his house green and white.

It was not until Nigeria celebrated its 50th year of independence that he was recognised as one of 50 distinguished Nigerians.

His son says an Oyo state politician later lobbied for him to be given a national honour and pension - and in 2014 he was made an Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR), one of Nigeria’s highest awards

After Akinkunmi’s death last year, a senator sponsored a successful motion that he be given a state burial. However, no plans have ever been made and as they waited, Akinkunmi’s family have been paying 2,000 naira ($1.30; £1.00) a day to keep the body at a morgue.

The flag designer’s son said that in June they found out that the arts ministry’s National Institute for Cultural Orientation (Nico) had been directed to sort out the state funeral. But apart from one phone call, he said the institution had failed to communicate any further. He feels waiting any longer would just sully his father’s name.

This is when the Oyo state government decided to step in to fund the burial rites for the flag designer.
“My late father was an easy-going person who didn’t want anything to tarnish his image,” his son told the BBC.
“He was well brought up, he was a very intelligent man, and a good person that everyone wanted to associate with,” he added.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/clyn270xrj6o

7 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by digitaliz: 9:26am On Sep 04
Let's tell him the National Anthem has changed.

You all quoting me to correct me on flag and not anthem didn't get my drift.

Stay with your corrections, thanks for checking.

15 Likes

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by madridguy(m): 9:30am On Sep 04
He designed our National flag not anthem.

digitaliz:
Let's tell him the National Anthem has changed

67 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Ebubu: 9:31am On Sep 04
One year after death and not buried? Jesus christ can never be me shocked

They should add one year to his age for staying 1 year before burial shocked

32 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Beremx(f): 9:31am On Sep 04
Rest in peace flagman. I hope Tinubu will not change your legacy by giving us another flag.

23 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Ebubu: 9:32am On Sep 04
Beremx:
Make una tell am dem don change national anthem before una Bury am o.
Nigeria no send anybody

30 Likes

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Neduzoma123456: 9:32am On Sep 04
Rest in peace... To your dad.

But son, it time to move on and stop thinking the nation owes you or your family anything.

The country flag your father designed is a failed country ... NOBODY seem to be happy with the country right now.

You might not even get all the love from public at this point.

Country wey people dey wake up every morning, dey swear give...80% of Nigerians wish they were never born into this country

11 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Akwamkpuruamu: 9:33am On Sep 04
So his sons and entire yoruba nation couldn't bury him for over a year now.... Pukes!

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Eleph(m): 9:33am On Sep 04
It's well.
Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by okoliobinna84(m): 9:33am On Sep 04
W
Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by geoworldedu: 9:34am On Sep 04
If you wait for the government to do anything for you, for example, to bury your iconic relative, they will tell you to let the dead bury itself.
It's a good move that you want to do it eventually, because those who waited for the FG yesterday are now in their graves.

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by bobobenz: 9:35am On Sep 04
NIGERIA DOES NOT HONOUR ITS HEROES

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by tiswell(m): 9:35am On Sep 04
The useless flag he designed sad

My nursery school nephew would do better

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Neduzoma123456: 9:36am On Sep 04
Akwamkpuruamu:
So his sons and entire yoruba nation couldn't bury him for over a year now.... Pukes!
I just tire... That nigga thinks , the country owes him or his family ...

No one is buying that bull-crap... he should Go and bury his father and move on with life.

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Camprichie: 9:37am On Sep 04
Everything I read there is mostly entitlement from the family's end, and how much Nigeria doesn't appreciate it's heros.

Former governors and presidents are receiving millions in gratuity every month, but we can't bury a man that designed the national flag, spits!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hV0VWA7VvII

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Neduzoma123456: 9:37am On Sep 04
bobobenz:
NIGERIA DOES NOT HONOUR ITS HEROES
What hero ?
Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Kenobsky(m): 9:37am On Sep 04
Someone should let him know in the great beyond that the flag is updated.
We need a new one.
Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by nwirinedu(m): 9:37am On Sep 04
Why cant you guys learn, you are the one tarnishing you dad's image.

The man should have learned from Pa Tai Solarin, who made provisions for his own burial.

Waiting for the government to bury your dad is the height of irresponsibility, the people who truly valued your dad's work died long time ago.

Be responsible and bury him, if he were a Muslim you won't be waiting for government.

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by trevorlinda: 9:37am On Sep 04
I tink dis man should be inside N5000 note

Tinubu should do the doings to Honour him

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Fadakings(m): 9:38am On Sep 04
I hope someday, you will take your time to patiently read before commenting. The write up says national flag, all of You talking about national anthem change... where is the sense in that madness that y'all are practicing. Please
obedience4:

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/clyn270xrj6o

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Favoured99(m): 9:38am On Sep 04
Continue to rest in peace Sir

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by izzou(m): 9:39am On Sep 04
I don't understand

His children were waiting for the government to bury their father?

So if the government was not forthcoming, you people cannot organise and give YOUR OWN FATHER a befitting burial?

God forbid

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Charmingrascal(m): 9:39am On Sep 04
digitaliz:
Let's tell him the National Anthem has changed

But the National flag didn't
Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by okoliobinna84(m): 9:39am On Sep 04
Imagine waiting for Tinubu to come bury your papa, these Yoruba people always acting somehow. Make dem no bury am nah, him go dey for morgue tire.

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by sofeo(m): 9:40am On Sep 04
It's well with his soul
Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by GanagiBitrus: 9:40am On Sep 04
Instead of waiting for State Burial, they could have buried him first, then solicit from Govt for him to be immortalised by naming something after him.
Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Chukwukido: 9:43am On Sep 04
Green white Green - Very Simple unique flag

How to make Fire balls - video editing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wz6fy7I9KEQ
Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Lanretoye(m): 9:44am On Sep 04
He entered a competition and he won then he was rewarded,which one is waiting for state burial again,did he not collect money for the design.
okoliobinna84:
Imagine waiting for Tinubu to come bury your papa, these Yoruba people always acting somehow. Make dem no bury am nah, him go dey for morgue tire.
when ogun kill this one now people will not know that he has used his foolishness to incur wrath and death upon himself,one family get issue with their papa burial and he is attributing it to a whole race,Shay u see wetin you wan cause for your parent and family like this.
E no sure say you go die for where your cloth go dey,Aje

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by chukwuibuipob: 9:45am On Sep 04
sad
Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Elipsis: 9:46am On Sep 04
With the way Tinubu is going, we may hear that they are changing the National flag tomorrow.

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by Jayhome24: 9:47am On Sep 04
Akwamkpuruamu:

Another one talking from his anus. Did the family complain or ask for your help? If you have nothing good to say kindly f u c k the hell outta of here ok.

Re: Why Taiwo Akinkunmi Waited A Year To Be Buried by okomile(f): 9:47am On Sep 04
Family not serious
Waiting for which govt?
Are they blind to the situations in nigeria

They should bury their dead

RIP Paapa

Anas Abbas Donates N1million To Buhari's Campaign Group. Photos / Sagay: Only A Mad Person Will Say North Will Remain In Power For 100 Years / Nigeria Loses Billions Of Naira As Customs E-auction Platform Collapses

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35