Stats: 3,201,316 members, 7,978,014 topics. Date: Thursday, 17 October 2024 at 05:20 PM

If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here - Business (5791) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here (5152192 Views)

If You Are (uber/Taxify (bolt) e-hailing Partner In Port Harcourt, Come In. / If You Are Uber Partner In Abuja, Please Share Your Experience Here / See How To Register As An Uber Partner In Lagos Or Abuja (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5788) (5789) (5790) (5791) (5792) (5793) (5794) ... (5837) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Conner44: 9:57pm On Sep 14
Barbiturate:

Bro, not like we don't want to convert, it's very expensive!

I understand the expense is much right now but let me make some few truths known to you tonight . . .

1. Ehailing will not end in nigeria, there will always be demand

2. Price of fuel will keep rising no matter how hard we pray

3. No matter how high the price of fuel gets per liter CNG's price (pound for pound) will never rise up to 30% of the price of fuel per liter

4. Conversion of engines from petrol to CNG is being regulated today both in installation and material standards by the federal government

5. As the price of fuel gets higher, my igbo brothers will later start importing their own conversion kits for sale in our open markets

6. Our 'kazeems' who feel adventurous will start offering their own conversion services soon

7. The combination of items 5 & 6 above will definitely lead to an increase in the risks associated with CNG use in our vehicles (engine deaths & explosions due to incompetency or substandard materials)

8. YOU DO NOT WANT TO GET CAUGHT IN THE CROSSFIRE AT THE LAST 3 POINTS LISTED ABOVE

so you see brotherly. It is best to bite the bullet now and save up/cough out the 1 million to do a conversion and keep using your full sized luxury sedan for family and business than to shell out above 5 million naira later to buy a vehicle akin to the Toyota starlet or suzuki espresso that can't even carry a family of 5 comfortably all in the name of reduced fuel consumption (while keeping in mind that the CNG conversion will make using and maintaining your present 2.4L camry MORE cost effective than using any other smaller vehicle)

Bros, advantages yampian shocked

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by pope191: 10:10pm On Sep 14
izzou:

I really can't say.

But i believe Nigeria is hard on everybody, including riders.

Which rider will see (for the same destination) 10k on Uber, 6k on Bolt and 4k on Indrive, and still choose Uber?

The whole thing is a mess

You ripped my mind out. I only choose not to say this, so it won’t seem as if I’m being an advocate. This has nothing to do with if driving is worth it or not. Whatever we are facing now in this country is a general thing for people that are mostly living honestly. Barbers no longer on gen at night, unless there’s a client. How many event did any witness today? What is the traffic situation like lately? Is there even anything such as peak hours at VI lately. Someone earning 150k and he’s spending 5k on transport everyday, what is left?

Economy ti da ru… Bolt increase price, but drivers are not loyal. Riders switch to Indrive and Drivers follow them. Price became poorer than it was before fuel increment. To the glory of God, I jejely drove my car back home and put energy into something else. Either indrive is working on price or they just don’t care. There’s no such thing as price threshold on Indrive right now and I can’t be using my eyes to see such nonsense. I picked one 2800 going to Surulere from Agege and told her what I saw is 28k, she screamed 😂 madness jam madness.

In a nutshell, drivers are way less compare to riders right now and the Suzuki boys are not helping (which is understandable). Some riders as well don’t even like the Suzuki and won’t ride on it (which is irrelevant). We human are social animals. The increment put people in tense and chokehold right now, but they can’t stay indoor for long before adjusting to their cravings and lifestyle. I think by next month, things will get much more better.

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Susantice: 10:29pm On Sep 14
Las las Everything will adjust.
Life will go back to normal
Fuel will hit 1700 per litter
It will become a normal lifestyle soon.

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by pope191: 10:35pm On Sep 14
Susantice:

PMs can’t hit 1700, unless dollar goes beyond 1600. Max is 1300 and if the government is ready to be responsible, they won’t increase it above 855. If Dangote fuel is enough to serve Nigeria, all they have to do is subsidize him and make sure subsidized products are not taken away from Nigeria.
Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Conner44: 10:43pm On Sep 14
Susantice:

Hmmm, very I like your belief but . . . Hmmmm

When minimum wage is 70k (which many states are still thinking of how to pay)

Just HMMMM undecided

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Conner44: 10:45pm On Sep 14
I really pity those who live outside lagos at this moment. If Fuel gets to N1,000 per liter here then it would surely be at least N1,500 in other states in the south and almost N1,800 in the north.

Many people ARE SOON TO BE FINISHED in this nigeria we are managing I swear cry

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Omoapena(m): 11:01pm On Sep 14
Conner44:
I really pity those who live outside lagos at this moment. If Fuel gets to N1,000 per liter here then it would surely be at least N1,500 in other states in the south and almost N1,800 in the north.

Many people ARE SOON TO BE FINISHED in this nigeria we are managing I swear cry

It is finished already, I just dey reason life today...

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by XGhost: 11:07pm On Sep 14
Barbiturate:

I guess you use bolt.
Bolt has lost a whole lot of riders. Imagine being on bolt for 20 mins and more and no request, even in a good area! Today no good at all!

Since the recent fuel increament, I buy 20/21k fuel and I make 55/60k, but today, with 20k fuel, I made 40k. It was Bolt's bonus that made it 46k, after completing 7 trips. Fuel don finish already. Time to sit down and have a rethink

I use Uber exclusively o, it's taken sheer willpower and patience to hit my target today
Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by XGhost: 12:06am On Sep 15
pope191:

You ripped my mind out. I only choose not to say this, so it won’t seem as if I’m being an advocate. This has nothing to do with if driving is worth it or not. Whatever we are facing now in this country is a general thing for people that are mostly living honestly. Barbers no longer on gen at night, unless there’s a client. How many event did any witness today? What is the traffic situation like lately? Is there even anything such as peak hours at VI lately. Someone earning 150k and he’s spending 5k on transport everyday, what is left?

Economy ti da ru… Bolt increase price, but drivers are not loyal. Riders switch to Indrive and Drivers follow them. Price became poorer than it was before fuel increment. To the glory of God, I jejely drove my car back home and put energy into something else. Either indrive is working on price or they just don’t care. There’s no such thing as price threshold on Indrive right now and I can’t be using my eyes to see such nonsense. I picked one 2800 going to Surulere from Agege and told her what I saw is 28k, she screamed 😂 madness jam madness.

In a nutshell, drivers are way less compare to riders right now and the Suzuki boys are not helping (which is understandable). Some riders as well don’t even like the Suzuki and won’t ride on it (which is irrelevant). We human are social animals. The increment put people in tense and chokehold right now, but they can’t stay indoor for long before adjusting to their cravings and lifestyle. I think by next month, things will get much more better.

While I agree with you generally, I still see e-hailing like a niche market and many of it's patrons will use it irrespective of the price, at least for now. It's like DSTV, those who will use it will use it no matter how much the sub costs, even when there are cheaper alternatives. I also think the rider pool IN LAGOS is sufficient enough to sustain the market.
It's also aspirational for a lot of riders, people who see themselves as upwardly mobile or social climbers don't want to the bus route so it's either they drive or they cab, bussing is a step down.
Same way some riders will never use indrive or even bolt no matter how expensive uber is, or how I as a driver have refused to use any other app besides uber
no matter how profitable the other apps may seem.
In the end, like many things in Nigeria the market will self regulate and as usual Naija people will somehow find a way.

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by donbrowser(m): 2:56am On Sep 15
komodapson:

There is an appointed time for everything, a time to live and a time to die...lol... Besides, it's been ages i contributed my few cents on this platform, but oftentimes I try to go through the comments to see if it's still what it use to be, with the likes of king of meme BAZOO, the Volvo guy and many more, Felicity, Barbiturate and so on.

But I'm thinking of an idea. I don't believe e-hailing biz can be like in the past anymore, we all know the reasons, which ranges from exchange rate, currency devaluation, inflation, price of petrol and many more.

My idea is this, I love when people test the waters... this e-hailing association set up in time past, with the pioneer always on Naija info radio complaining about price fares at all times. How about those who are still active in this hustle, to form a group and approach the chairman of the presidential initiative on CNG, at their warehouse in ibafo Lagos state and have a discussion with him on how he could use his influence, either to give a discount on the cost or proffer a workable plan, that will favour the drivers. The e-hailing apps too are not excluded. I believe most of drivers discussion should be centered around this initiative.

Out of curiosity, have visited Mobil filling station at agidingbi to find out more about this CNG and hoping to visit the ibafo center as well in no distant time.

I'm impressed how a driver narrated how he bought N18,000 worth of CNG and drove from Lagos to Abuja (source AriseTV)

Please, let us start looking for ways to stay afloat in this dire times.

Thank you&God bless

Those people you want to approach for help are APC and drivers here don't want to have anything to do with Lagos state and APC because they are all èvil.

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Pearl1910: 9:36am On Sep 15
donbrowser:

Those people you want to approach for help are APC and drivers here don't want to have anything to do with Lagos state and APC because they are all èvil.

The ehailing companies should be in the best position to subsidize CNG installation cost or provide easy payment program for it. Bolt and Uber should start working on something asap

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by mh53(m): 10:05am On Sep 15
pope191:

those Suzuki guys are a menace on indrive 😂😂😂,I wonder if they buy at 200naira per litre.
Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by pope191: 11:11am On Sep 15
mh53:
those Suzuki guys are a menace on indrive 😂😂😂,I wonder if they buy at 200naira per litre.

They are the ones caking up right now. Those trips people think is not making sense is perfectly ok for them.

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Conner44: 11:22am On Sep 15
pope191:

They are the ones caking up right now. Those trip people think is not making sense is perfectly ok for them.

And they will be the only ones to keep caking until fuel prices go lower OR men are able to 'downgrade' their current vehicles to those with smaller engines.

Anything apart from the above is just a pipe dream in today's nigeria .

Well, unless . . . you sabi every naw wink no need to trumpet it too much again at this point

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by izzou(m): 11:42am On Sep 15
The moment we have some clarity on what we would be paying truly for PMS,I'm sure ehailing companies and others will adjust their prices to the current reality.

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by donbrowser(m): 12:37pm On Sep 15
Pearl1910:

The ehailing companies should be in the best position to subsidize CNG installation cost or provide easy payment program for it. Bolt and Uber should start working on something asap
OK sir
Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Barbiturate(m): 4:15pm On Sep 15
Dangote sells to NNPC @ 766/ltr. Fuel go enter 900/1000
Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Conner44: 4:20pm On Sep 15
izzou:
The moment we have some clarity on what we would be paying truly for PMS, I'm sure ehailing companies and others will adjust their prices to the current reality.

If there's still no clarity on the wages workers will be receiving (minimum wage increase) at the same time then then I am afraid things will get worse.

It will bring a scenario where there would be more drivers (due to juicy fares) and less passengers (due to subpar salary increments)

The fastest fingers tappings that time ehn . . . Even HAMSTER KOMBAT Go dey learn work grin dem suzuki boys go just close eye dey collect every because their own bread go don dey buttered with enough milk and honey that time wink

It would be better yes, but you'd still be at a greater disadvantage compared to those guys who spend way less on fueling their vehicles cry
Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Conner44: 4:22pm On Sep 15
Barbiturate:

Just round it up to 1,000 wink

For easy recording to various people's expenses columns undecided
Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Itsrm(m): 4:24pm On Sep 15
Barbiturate:

766 with NNPC being the only off taker makes no sense since it's lower than current pump price. If that were the case, any marketer can buy and sell.

Vanguard is reporting 960/980 with NNPC subsidising it to current 855-870 depending on location. That looks more like it.
Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Kaymaxi2222(m): 4:25pm On Sep 15
Barbiturate:
it no fit reach that amount Na haba it fit come down self
Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Omoapena(m): 4:39pm On Sep 15
Barbiturate:

It is finished for Nigeria.

Ifrsh, pls can I dm you?

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Pearl1910: 5:30pm On Sep 15
izzou:
The moment we have some clarity on what we would be paying truly for PMS,I'm sure ehailing companies and others will adjust their prices to the current reality.

Prices cannot just continue to go higher arbitrarily without it affecting patronage. The more expensive the fares, d lesser the people that can afford it and as that group shrinks, so will the number of rides reduce.
Something needs to be done to reduce the running cost. It seems Bolt will rather die than reduce their commission. So they better come up with ideas or they are definitely going down.
The idea that people will still pay for the services, no matter the price isn't entirely correct.

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by pope191: 7:13pm On Sep 15
Pearl1910:

Prices cannot just continue to go higher arbitrarily without it affecting patronage. The more expensive the fares, d lesser the people that can afford it and as that group shrinks, so will the number of rides reduce.
Something needs to be done to reduce the running cost. It seems Bolt will rather die than reduce their commission. So they better come up with ideas or they are definitely going down.
The idea that people will still pay for the services, no matter the price isn't entirely correct.

I beg to differ with some of your points. While it’s ok for app company to reduce their commission, riders too have to bear slight increment. A trip that is usually 4k can shift to 4500 and any trip heading to island from mainland should bear 1k to 1.5k. It won’t kee riders. Even danfo has increased their price.

When Nigerians and Souty were doing this their online nonsense. I saw the spotless cars they were using. Imagine major problem on one’s car and it will eat 2 months savings 😂

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Omoapena(m): 8:06pm On Sep 15
Pearl1910:

Are you saying if inflation keeps going up, the apps company shouldn't increase price cox they might experience low patronage?

Seems you don't know the importance of transportation, even if this apps increases the price by 50% today, people will still patronize cox transportation is essential in the society.

I understand there will be a slight dip in patronage, but in the end, people will adjust coz they have to move. And for the fact we offer safety and not just comfort, they have no choice...

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Kaymaxi2222(m): 8:34pm On Sep 15
What I noticed now is if you are up to four going somewhere it is now cheap to order bolt/uber than to take normal buses/Keke ..

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Omoapena(m): 9:13pm On Sep 15
Kaymaxi2222:
What I noticed now is if you are up to four going somewhere it is now cheap to order bolt/uber than to take normal buses/Keke ..

You're so right,

Just like the trip I got from around four point in oniru to ebutte metta axis today, I offered 4600 which was the highest, and on getting to pickup, they were 4 in numbers with minor loads, in my mind, I was just calculating how much it will cost the four of them to move from that oniru to ebutte Metta, the exact place they are going. Pretty sure it will cost them more or around that 4600, couple with the inconvenience of carrying loads and jumping bus.

Our service is currently cheaper compared to commercial danfos.

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Muhammadson2020: 9:43pm On Sep 15
pope191:

. You are a good writer, you suppose dey write article for This day Newspaper

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Checkings: 10:03pm On Sep 15
May you live long brother 💯. You just said my mind. I've witnessed a lady almost kidnapped infront of me at elegushi bustop on lekki, the gaze from my headlights made them abort mission. The safety we cab drivers offer is even worth more than the comfort and a certain crown in Lagos understands that and wouldn't mind if the fares go up. Even though the patronage might reduce cos lately I don't get requests from random areas like before until I drive to popular places but with time people must adjust. Bolt should review their prices
Omoapena:

Are you saying if inflation keeps going up, the apps company shouldn't increase price cox they might experience low patronage?

Seems you don't know the importance of transportation, even if this apps increases the price by 50% today, people will still patronize cox transportation is essential in the society.

I understand there will be a slight dip in patronage, but in the end, people will adjust coz they have to move. And for the fact we offer safety and not just comfort, they have no choice...

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Itsrm(m): 10:06pm On Sep 15
Omoapena:

Water, food and life saving medicine are examples of products that have perfectly inelastic demand. They have no alternatives.

Transportation isn't and ehailing certainly is not. Even though transportation is essential, the number of trips people take reduces as the price increases. They also consider alternatives which includes walking.

When I renewed my license and was asked to come pick it up, I waited till I had something else to do around that area and used one stone for two birds.

Don't let anyone deceive you, pearl19 is absolutely right. Take us back to the days of 1.5m Tokunbo Corolla and see if you'll get one trip in 30 minutes at current prices.

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by vivalavida(m): 10:16pm On Sep 15
Ghen ghen

Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by Checkings: 10:23pm On Sep 15
Procuring our own crude in dollars and selling back to us in dollars again, a fuccin failed country😡😡

(1) (2) (3) ... (5788) (5789) (5790) (5791) (5792) (5793) (5794) ... (5837) (Reply)

Football (+Other Sports) Betting Season 12 / ➜ ➜ ➜Currency/E-currency Market Deals➜ ➜ ➜ / Bankers For Baba-Ijebu (Premier-Lotto).

Viewing this topic: northbird, ayoomo9(m), Glithronix, MacHerb

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 72