Stats: 3,205,823 members, 7,993,857 topics. Date: Monday, 04 November 2024 at 08:20 PM

Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God - Religion (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God (4447 Views)

Lady Visits Jahovah's Witness Hall, To Ask Why They Stopped Going Door To Door / Giving Your Tithe To The Church Or To The Needy: What The Bible Really Says / Questions For Budaatum: How Can You Follow Jesus Without Believing In Him? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (16) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Wainey: 10:10am On Sep 15
JovialJune:
Only on nairaland would you see atheists crying over religion more than the religious folks, nobody cares if you don't believe in anything, live your life as you see fit.
You religious folks think if someone is not in ur religion, the person is automatically evil and senseless
There is nothing to worry about when you are branded the senseless one this time.

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by kingxsamz(m): 10:28am On Sep 15
Wainey:
Without too much Grammer I'll give you points why God is actually the terrorist in his own story. The devil who was the bad guy has never killed a single person, but God has tortured and killed many just because he felt like it
I'll give few points to support my claim why he is not real and if he is, then there is a bigger problem.

Point 1 Reading down to the book of Job, I noticed God actually went to Satan who was just chilling, placed a bet with the devil and asked him to torture Job and kill his children, I discussed this with someone and the person answered... "but God gave him ten folds of whatever he lost"... Like seriously? Giving me 10 children will just make up for the one you killed? I was not comfortable with the whole thing and felt this biblical God is egocentric and can just torture you cos he is bored.

point2 God strategically planted a forbidden fruit in the middle of Eden and told his mindless creatures with no wisdom as of then not to eat of that fruit. I don't get it, why plant it in the first place? it's like keeping a yam in a house and tell ur brainless goats not to eat of it, sooner or later they will surely eat it especially when the omini-present God decides to remove his presence from them throughout the day.
I think God was waiting for them to eat it so he can unleash the curses he had wanted to pour on them and enjoy as they suffer.

Replace "God" with "Buhari" and watch most Christians agree with you.
Even Buhari wouldn't be as fuuIish and as barbaric as the Christian god if he had 5% of his power.
Most Nigerian Christians will agree that our politicians are wicked, evil and inhumane. But the one who gave someone else permission to murder another person's entire family just to win a bet is the good one.

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Lemos14: 10:31am On Sep 15
JovialJune:
Only on nairaland would you see atheists crying over religion more than the religious folks, nobody cares if you don't believe in anything, live your life as you see fit.

They are just looking for what will further justify and fan their foolishness. Like I said earlier, they are attention seeking

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Wainey: 10:32am On Sep 15
kingxsamz:

Replace "God" with "Buhari" and watch most Christians agree with you.
Even Buhari wouldn't be as fuuIish and as barbaric as the Christian god if he had 5% of his power.
Most Nigerian Christians will agree that our politicians are wicked, evil and inhumane. But the one who gave someone else permission to murder another person's entire family just to win a bet is the good one.
I actually thought the mods will move it to FP but they didnt, but I'll just replace God with politicians and move it to politics section
Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by kingxsamz(m): 10:33am On Sep 15
Lemos14:
You attention seeking so called atheits keep boring us with these threads. Nobody asked you nor cares whether you believe in God or not that’s your own business.

But you're here na. πŸ˜‚
You were scrolling through Nairaland, saw multiple threads and made up your mind to click this particular one just to tell the OP that you don't care. πŸ˜‚

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by kingxsamz(m): 10:37am On Sep 15
Wainey:
I actually thought the mods will move it to FP but they didnt, but I'll just replace God with politicians and move it to politics section

Lol, threads like this don't usually make FP.
Many atheists here don't even bother making threads for FP because it rarely gets posted there.

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by JovialJune(f): 10:47am On Sep 15
Wainey:
You religious folks think if someone is not in ur religion, the person is automatically evil and senseless
There is nothing to worry about when you are branded the senseless one this time.

All you can do is cry about religious people that don't affect your existence, you don't believe in God and so what? Must you justify your standpoint by denigrating religious people?

All I can deduce from you people is simply attention seeking and validations, you want us to see you and notice you but no one cares, do you bro and stop behaving like a child that isn't loved at home.

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by MaxInDHouse(m): 10:57am On Sep 15
So you need to open up by speaking with others not keeping it all to yourself!
Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by LtChisom: 11:30am On Sep 15
JovialJune:

All you can do is cry about religious people that don't affect your existence, you don't believe in God and so what? Must you justify your standpoint by denigrating religious people?

All I can deduce from you people is simply attention seeking and validations, you want us to see you and notice you but no one cares, do you bro and stop behaving like a child that isn't loved at home.

So after all these religion this and that, you weren't able to obey a simple God's rule to be submissive to your husband that led to you being a single mother and looking for handouts from your ex husband to feed you and your pikin?
Shame on you and religion.

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by StillDtruth: 11:57am On Sep 15
Wainey:
I am not even arguing, we learn everyday, and ur omini-present God does not exist

Who argues with mad people?

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by StillDtruth: 11:58am On Sep 15
JovialJune:

Exactly!

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by StillDtruth: 12:00pm On Sep 15
LtChisom:

So after all these religion this and that, you weren't able to obey a simple God's rule to be submissive to your husband that led to you being a single mother and looking for handouts from your ex husband to feed you and your pikin?
Shame on you and religion.

See it low blow and personal attack all because you had nothing valid to say and yet you wonder why the world see that you atheists are devils and demons who deserve to be killed by accidents, joblessness and all.

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Wainey: 12:21pm On Sep 15
StillDtruth:

See it low blow and personal attack all because you had nothing valid to say and yet you wonder why the world see that you atheists are devils and demons who deserve to be killed by accidents, joblessness and all.
Bro, there are 6points in FP that you could defend. You didn't defend any, rather u came here start attacking people, such a God fearing christian grin
Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by NNTR: 2:28pm On Sep 15
StillDtruth:

Wainey:
Bro, there are 6points in FP that you could defend.

You didn't defend any, rather u came here start attacking people, such a God fearing christian grin
Its because posters like him are not fooled by the 6 points in your OP nor are they taken in to want to give any defence of the 6 points.

They notice the subtle perversion of truth in the tone of your post, the misinterpretation and misrepresentation in your language. These all down to your OP being full of bad energy, negative bullshit, falsifying vibes and sneaky tricks

Now, before you play your favourite 'you didn't defend any of the 6 points' card with me, know that all the 6 points are tenable, however, it's one thing to explain each of the 6 points to you, and its another, for you to understand

You brought drama to the table and surprised that everyone gets up and leaves

Personal text: Jesus is not a theologian. He is God who told stories.
Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Lucifyre: 4:46pm On Sep 15
See how they are all foaming at the mouth like rabid dogs because you don't share in the same mental delusion as they do πŸ˜„. Funny thing is they themselves dont even agree with one another which is quite ironic and have got not a single shred of proof. They could have simply scrolled by your post but nah, the virus has eaten in too deep, so they need to bark.

You don't know how difficult what you've done is, but with time you might get it. To break free from indoctrination that most likely started from your first day on earth and to then free the mind from barbaric and archaic mental delusions is no small feat. Well done on freeing your mind and thinking outside the box. As you can already see, lots of people are not going to like it, crab mentality i guess.

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Lucifyre: 4:50pm On Sep 15
Wainey:
Bro, there are 6points in FP that you could defend. You didn't defend any, rather u came here start attacking people, such a God fearing christian grin

That's stilldfool, he's their M0ron In Chief, a true grade A m0ron. Careful, reasoning with him can drastically and negatively affect your brain cells.

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by world123: 6:13pm On Sep 15
Christianity is not what have read from the Bible or what we have had from preachers; rather it is an encounter with the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit plays a significant role in revealing Jesus to us; He makes everything real. Christianity is an encounter with Holy Spirit and the God Almighty through Jesus Christ.

It's normal for anyone to feel the way you feel because they have never had an encounter or revelation. This explains Apostle Paul's anger before he had an encounter with Jesus Christ on his way to Damascus. This singular experience changed his perspective about Christians.

God indeed is merciful, some day he will reveal to you the understanding you need concerning how he works through the Holy Spirit.

God bless you

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by safarifarms(m): 9:06pm On Sep 15
ReacherSaidNoth:
Coming from idiots like you that disturb public peace and force your brain dead beliefs down people's throat?

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by safarifarms(m): 9:11pm On Sep 15
Wainey:
That picture should be attributed to christians.
You people can't go three days without talking about God.
Today is Sunday, noise pollution go surplus. grin
You guys believe there's no God but can't just ignore those who believe there is. You keep trying to talk about the God that you claim does not exist. Looks like it eats you up and you must talk about it.
Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Kvarachi: 10:50pm On Sep 15
Man how can i like your post a million times, you just said my mind. Especially the pharaoh part. Imagine God hardening pharaohs mind just to prove a point I don't understand. That means pharaoh had the mind to have let the children of Israel go at the first signs and wonders of God.
I have been saying this things all along that that bible is a fictional story to scare some people.
Try go read my post: ANYBODY THAT SAYS THIS WORLD WILL END IS SELFISH AND WICKED. It's on religion section, thanks

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Kvarachi: 10:52pm On Sep 15
safarifarms:

You guys believe there's no God but can't just ignore those who believe there is. You keep trying to talk about the God that you claim does not exist. Looks like it eats you up and you must talk about it.
It's bcus you guys too almost at every giving opportunity wants to shove it down our throat by preaching at the market, public, inside bus, on the street especially very early in the morning when people are enjoying their sleep
Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by safarifarms(m): 11:05pm On Sep 15
Kvarachi:

It's bcus you guys too almost at every giving opportunity wants to shove it down our throat by preaching at the market, public, inside bus, on the street especially very early in the morning when people are enjoying their sleep
I won't blame those who have the courage to do so. They are actually moved by love and fear for you guys. How will you feel if you were to see someone ignorantly move dangerously close to a place that you believe is rigged with land mines. That's the way they feel and believe they are trying to save you from danger.

But Atheist, I'm yet to understand what drives them other than the common urge to ridicule people just because they feel they are smarter. If you truly believe God does not exist, why not just ignore the people you believe are wasting their time believing in what does not exist?

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Kvarachi: 11:13pm On Sep 15
obonujoker:
Look at the answer Jesus gave to someone like you πŸ‘‡

Matthew 25:24 Then he which had received the one talent came and said, Lord, I knew thee that thou art an hard man, reaping where thou hast not sown, and gathering where thou hast not strawed:
25 And I was afraid, and went and hid thy talent in the earth: lo, there thou hast that is thine.

You are exactly like this servant, accusing God πŸ™‚

See the end of the servant below πŸ‘‡

Matthew 25:26 His lord answered and said unto him, Thou wicked and slothful servant, thou knewest that I reap where I sowed not, and gather where I have not strawed:
25:27 Thou oughtest therefore to have put my money to the exchangers, and then at my coming I should have received mine own with usury.
25:28 Take therefore the talent from him, and give it unto him which hath ten talents.
25:29 For unto every one that hath shall be given, and he shall have abundance: but from him that hath not shall be taken away even that which he hath.
25:30 And cast ye the unprofitable servant into outer darkness: there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.

But God is merciful. He will bring as many as received him into His kingdom at last... So let's stop argument, and reverence God
You're still quoting from a literature/story book arranged to scare and keep you in check
Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Kvarachi: 11:17pm On Sep 15
MaxInDHouse:

So there's a time when you care about Jesus of Nazareth but things changed when you started having doubts due to what religionists are saying which negates what they are doing and what you can see around you.

Well you may be surprised that you never knew the truth about Jesus of Nazareth because many religionists you're seeing around you only does things that pleases them not what he taught in the Bible that's what makes life really hard these days:

But know this, that in the last days critical times hard to deal with will be here. For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, haughty, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, disloyal, having no natural affection, not open to any agreement, slanderers, without self-control, fierce, without love of goodness, betrayers, headstrong, puffed up with pride, lovers of pleasures rather than lovers of God, (those) having an appearance of godliness but proving false to its power; and from these turn away. 2Timothy 3:1-5

Highlighted in blue is enough reason for you to stop going to church or believing in God as any sane individual will turn away from all their nonsense and start seeking wisdom elsewhere!
Every time last days last days yen yen yen
When will this last days come.
My father told me his great grand father told him same thing about the last days.
And I'm 40+, that means in my own lineage it's over a 100yes they must have hearing the world is coming to an end

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Kvarachi: 11:22pm On Sep 15
Priapus69:
If anyone has seen The Matrix and read the Bible Objectively, I'm sure you can draw some similarities.
I say this because while I was reading the OP post I couldn't help but see that both works of fiction are all about control.

Control how the people think, control what they think, Control how they express themselves, control what they say. Control their very reality as it unfolds right in front of them.

Like Morpheus rightly said
FREE YOUR MIND
Let me add more to your post.
In the movie THE DEVILS ADVOCATE, Al Pacino the main character said: if truly there's a god up there then he must be arranging us like a card or chess game, playing us and laughing his head off.

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Kvarachi: 11:25pm On Sep 15
Priapus69:

God chose to harden Pharoah's heart because Pharoah being a human with Psuedo-Free will, for once actually wanted to exercise that freewill, and that decision wasn't in keeping with Gods already preferred version of events.

You know? Like puppets on a string God yanked on Pharaoh's, and took away that miniscule 'freewill' and imposed His own will. Because God always gets what he wants!

Kill and Pillage Pharoah and the Egyptian army in an awesome climax, with sick visual effects! Cmon! Parting the Red sea? Walking on dry land! Having the Egyptians follow them into a divided sea? Sounds like something out of a Zac Snyder film ( good visual effects with mediocre plot and story arcs, good action scenes though)

Point is God needs to hire a better script writer and Maybe just hire a new Director, cos God's directions are &hits!
Hahaha, try see this movie THE DEVILS ADVOCATE where the main villain talks about if truly there's a god up there, he must be arranging and playing us like a card and chess game and then laughing his head off
Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Kvarachi: 11:27pm On Sep 15
JovialJune:
Do you people live your lives as you see fit as you said rather than disturbing us with preaching every minutes and everyday

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by Kvarachi: 11:40pm On Sep 15
safarifarms:

I won't blame those who have the courage to do so. They are actually moved by love and fear for you guys. How will you feel if you were to see someone ignorantly move dangerously close to a place that you believe is rigged with land mines. That's the way they feel and believe they are trying to save you from danger.

But Atheist, I'm yet to understand what drives them other than the common urge to ridicule people just because they feel they are smarter. If you truly believe God does not exist, why not just ignore the people you believe are wasting their time believing in what does not exist?
Oh! We should ignore you people that believes in god, but you can't ignore us that doesn't believe bcus you think we're in danger or standing on a landmines and you need to save us. Just as you think you guys wants to save us by bombarding us with ur noise everyday, so as we too are trying to save you from the fear and grip the fictional bible had on you

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by safarifarms(m): 12:23am On Sep 16
Kvarachi:

Oh! We should ignore you people that believes in god, but you can't ignore us that doesn't believe bcus you think we're in danger or standing on a landmines and you need to save us. Just as you think you guys wants to save us by bombarding us with ur noise everyday, so as we too are trying to save you from the fear and grip the fictional bible had on you
Well, while there are some who don't understand the Bible very well and have given you guys what to make jest of by their wrong interpretations and their fear motivated actions. Those who do understand the Bible don't come to God because of fear but instead because of love. Those who understand the Bible are not judgmental and won't threaten anyone with hell as you are used to. Our method of sharing the good news is quite different and less dramatic. You will see someone like me being more lighthearted about the mockeries you guys love to do. And incidentally some of your guys loose their cool and get seriously irritated when they don't see the usual dramatic response and threat of hell. God loves you and I hope that you'll someday understand.
Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by jaephoenix(m): 2:25am On Sep 16
NeoWanZaeed:

Oh.. never knew you were one of em insanes..

I thought you were sane..

Have fun
And that is the only answer you have to counter him? By calling him insane? Whoa! Some Christians are wonderful
Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by jaephoenix(m): 2:28am On Sep 16
Lemos14:
You attention seeking so called atheits keep boring us with these threads. Nobody asked you nor cares whether you believe in God or not that’s your own business.
I don't remember any atheist calling a Christian or Muslim attention seekers when they recount their conversion stories. But when an atheist deconstructs, you hear christians moaning that the atheist is rubbing it on their face, attention seeking or forcing atheism down their throats.
Aint you guys wonderful? grin

Re: Why I Stopped Going To Church Or Believing In God by jaephoenix(m): 2:29am On Sep 16
Wainey:
Well, most of you force your God down our throats.
Some of you have made the conscious effort of walking down to us and preaching about this ur god, some of you disturb us with loudspeaker as early as 5am. But one thread that God doesn't exist is attention seeking?
U and ur god seems pretty straightforward to me
Also the fact, they stop you on the road and try to force tracts into your face or hands, or into your car. Ask him how many atheists he has even met offline

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (16) (Reply)

New Prelate For Methodist Church Nigeria / Selling 'annointing' Water At USD $360 A Bottle (FRAUD ALERT) / Kabbalah Invocation And Rituals

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 86