Stats: 3,243,725 members, 8,125,541 topics. Date: Saturday, 05 April 2025 at 11:10 AM

Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation (16694 Views)

Idris Adanno: 'Sultan Of Shuwa Arabs Of Edo State' Coronation Sparks Outrage / Oba Of Benin, Ewuare 5 Wives At His 2nd Coronation Anniversary / Coronation Of Godwin Oguyenbo As The Pere Of Olodiama Kingdom Edo Causes Tension (2) (3) (4)

Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by TimeManager(m): 7:55pm On Apr 04
Former Canadian Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, four ambassadors from different countries, alongside over 200 Canada-based Oyo indigenes are among the dignitaries expected at the coronation of the 46th Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Akeem Owoade.

Other dignitaries are first-class traditional rulers, including the Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi; Oba of Benin, Omo N’Oba N’Edo, Uku Akpolokpolo; the Sultan of Sokoto, Sa’ad Abubakar III; Olu of Warri, Ogiame Atuwatse III, among others.

The Chairman of the Local Organising Committee for the coronation, Adekunle Ogunmola, announced this on Thursday during a press briefing, held at the Alaafin’s Palace in Oyo town.
Ogunmola said,

“Oba Owoade confirmed to the committee to prepare to host the former Canadian Prime Minister, Trudeau, and Ambassadors of Spain, Brazil, Colombia and Portugal are also coming.
“About 200 Oyo indigenes who are also based in Canada have signified their intentions to be part of epoch-making events.”

Ogunmola assured that adequate security measures were being planned to ensure safety of lives and property during the ceremony.

The coronation ceremony, which will hold on Saturday, April 5, 2025, will commence with a week-long activities beginning from Monday, March 31, 2025.

It will kick off with a cultural parade in the town on Monday, March 31 and end with a Christian thanksgiving service on Sunday, April 6.

There will be a public lecture/colloquium on Tuesday, which will be anchored by Prof. Anthony Asiwaju, Akin Alao and Siyan Oyeweso.

Thursday will witness command performance of Aremo Aderonmu (A stage play written by Gbemi Faleti) at Ajayi Crowther University.

While the actual coronation is slated for Saturday, there will be historic tree planting on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

Friday will be cultural heritage day while several projects will be inaugurated in honour of the new monarch.

https://punchng.com/ex-canadian-pm-trudeau-four-envoys-others-to-grace-alaafins-coronation/?utm_source=rss.punchng.com&utm_medium=web

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by TimeManager(m): 7:56pm On Apr 04
Alaafin Oyo, Iku Baba Yeye, may your days be long and your reign prosperous.

-Kiss the truth!

48 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by TimeManager(m): 8:01pm On Apr 04
Both Oba of Benin and Olu of Warri are going back home, they know whatzup.

-Kiss the truth!

36 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by Beremx(f): 8:01pm On Apr 04
It's going to be a big event. Wow!! I hope it will be shown live on the media.

Congratulations to the new Alafin.

Kabiyesi o!!

25 Likes 1 Share

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by PresidObi: 8:04pm On Apr 04
Kabiyesi Oba, this is commendable grin

Skull cap needed urgently.

We don't want to hear any funny stories of those wanting Canadian dollars to rain. grin

Na weekend joke o
If you like, use head open the wall of your tiny mud room grin

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by ogaemma: 8:07pm On Apr 04
Congratulations 👏 to the New King.
May your reign bring peace and prosperity to your people.

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by PresidObi: 8:08pm On Apr 04
Beremx:

Kabiyesi o!!

I love colourful occasions like these, takes our cultural practices to the international scene.

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by PresidObi: 8:08pm On Apr 04
ogaemma:
Congratulations 👏 to the New King.
May your reign bring peace and prosperity to your people.

Asee!

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by Agbegbaorogboye: 8:36pm On Apr 04
The Alaafin stool is the prime royal stool in the whole of West Africa

It was the largest empire that stretched years from one century to the other before the advent of colonialism

Its high level of sophistication in political system and organisation devoid of any religious colouration is second to none till date

All hall the Alaafin!!

29 Likes 1 Share

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by LagosOrigin: 8:40pm On Apr 04
Believe this nonsense from Lagos Ibadan expressway media at your own peril .

Tradeau that has been axed as Canadian prime minister don't have for rubbish

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by franchasng: 8:53pm On Apr 04
Yeye Tradeau abi Tramadol, if he was still Canadian Prime Minister, he will never step his cocaine filled legs in Nigeria. Now that he is an ordinary oyimbo, he remembered Nigeria exist, crack addict that almost ruined struggling Canada undecided

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by Quelme: 8:54pm On Apr 04
That's a first class king 👑 unlike the Obi of Onitsha who is now an errand boy of IPOB.

16 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by mmsen: 8:55pm On Apr 04
What does a xtian thanksgiving service have to do with the Yoruba traditional rites?

What did I miss?

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by Iseoluwani: 8:55pm On Apr 04
LagosOrigin:

you didnt see EX

18 Likes

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by mmsen: 8:56pm On Apr 04
franchasng:
Yeye Tradeau, if he was still Canadian Prime Minister, he will never step his cocaine filled legs in Nigeria. Now that he is an ordinary oyimbo, he remembered Nigeria exist, crack addict that almost ruined struggling Canada undecided

The man was/is a puppet. He doesn't have the intellect nor backbone to ruin anything. He just reads what is put in front of him.
Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by datola: 8:56pm On Apr 04
What! That's great
Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by Lanre1st(m): 8:57pm On Apr 04
Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by bobby007(m): 8:57pm On Apr 04
Yoruba rule the world, Yoruba lokan worldwide

17 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by SIRKAY98(m): 8:57pm On Apr 04
If you know you know, have such dignitaries means alot.

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by Olichoke: 8:59pm On Apr 04
Why ex?
Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by Kaa4(m): 9:02pm On Apr 04
TimeManager:
Alaafin Oyo, Iku Baba Yeye, may your days be long and your reign prosperous.

-Kiss the truth!
You've done it again! Posting and being the first to comment on his post. I hope this post is worth every cent!
Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by bobby007(m): 9:03pm On Apr 04
Igbo no get any respected king, dem no dey gre for themselves

15 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by Ancecoker(m): 9:03pm On Apr 04
Why?
Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by swiych(m): 9:03pm On Apr 04
Olichoke:
Why ex?
Canada broke up with him

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by back2sender: 9:04pm On Apr 04
Is the true, look at the date
Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by Owon: 9:05pm On Apr 04
Alaafin is the greatest king in entire Nigeria by ranking. You can argue with your keyboard if you don't agree.

The position of Ọọni of ifẹ was never meant to be a king...

From history, Ọọni was just an ABỌRẸ to the Alaafin of Ọyọ. What we can call coup turn Ọọni from ABỌRẸ to a king.

Ọyọ is the centre and heart of the entire yoruba race. The normal Yoruba language is written in Ọyọ language.

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by CrownedPhoenix: 9:12pm On Apr 04
All hail the king!

Ki ade pe l'ori, ki bata pe l'ese.

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by ppogba: 9:14pm On Apr 04
LagosOrigin:

This thread will not be complete without someone to wail and cry.

It is your birthright.

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by OlawaleBammie: 9:15pm On Apr 04
Beremx:

Kabiyesi o!!
afar na ma'am, what about that ur yoruba bf na, hope u re taking good care of him sha

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by EmperorIsaac(m): 9:20pm On Apr 04
The Yoruba Kingdom!

Re: Ex-canadian PM Trudeau, Four Envoys, Others To Grace Alaafin’s Coronation by fredoooooo: 9:22pm On Apr 04
Ilu oyo .... Tradition , Yoruba atori Abiodun tofi de iku baba yeye ,. kaaaabiiyyeessssssiiooo cool

Pounded Yam Eulogy/ Oriki Iyan Ni Ede Abinibi. / Crab Mentality / 7 Common Wedding Traditions And Their Origins!

Viewing this topic: micellgevity, Maroshak, imagrg(m), odiinsgrace(m), Swanberry and 12 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2025 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 23