Stats: 3,179,194 members, 7,907,217 topics. Date: Thursday, 01 August 2024 at 06:12 AM

Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' - Phones (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' (31680 Views)

Microsoft Lumia 535,535 Dual And All Lumia Phones Discussion Thread / Facebook Trying To Buy Nokia To Make "Facephone"?? / Zain Nigeria To Change Name To 'Airtel' (2) (3) (4)

Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by parrotibaba(m): 9:29am On Oct 22, 2014
netoc65:
Hello everyone, i have found a great site to connect with student and workers.Just visit this link : http://2goface.com/invite?ref=Netoc65 #2goface
let me guess,u want us to click dat link n join ur website abi? just pay n get ur website advertised on d ads section, its dat simple angry
bobbymishark:
oh well moving on. In other news, Oritse femi moves into N200m lekki home, buys 2014 Range Rover....hmmmm money speaking: http://bobbymishark..com/2014/10/oritse-femi-moves-into-n200m-lekki.html
...and u want us to open ur blog to find out abi? sad sad
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Nobody: 11:51am On Oct 22, 2014
;Dto me Nokia is already out of the mobile market, especially with the emergence of some nasty models like asha,lumia. I hate those models with passion. make dem sell d company to me. I wan buy then come change am to naira mobile
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by optimistcandyboy(m): 12:22pm On Oct 22, 2014
wharever, that cant change my NoCare C2 to any shi.t they are changing name to. undecided undecided undecided
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Aspiregreat: 12:54pm On Oct 22, 2014
wat shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked

Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Toyozzie(f): 12:55pm On Oct 22, 2014
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Akalia(m): 12:55pm On Oct 22, 2014
Whack swap of name.
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by kolomax(m): 12:56pm On Oct 22, 2014
Kaiiii so this NOKIA of a thing still exist He don reach ages wey I don set my eyes on it
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Nobody: 12:57pm On Oct 22, 2014
Is this really a Good move?
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by kendrick93(m): 12:57pm On Oct 22, 2014
bad move frm nokia
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Ogbodavies(m): 12:58pm On Oct 22, 2014
evidence of naija education......... levels

Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Aspiregreat: 1:03pm On Oct 22, 2014
kendrick93:
bad move frm nokia

THE CEO Z SPEAKING
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Nobody: 1:05pm On Oct 22, 2014
Nairaland I hail thee. I refuse to say it. I will only watch.
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Wisdytech(m): 1:06pm On Oct 22, 2014
Hmmmmmmmm! Good for them!
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by justi4jesu(f): 1:07pm On Oct 22, 2014
Hmmmm this news is ... lipsrsealed lipsrsealed lipsrsealed
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by dgysoft(m): 1:08pm On Oct 22, 2014
y op go post this thread at all. is like Oluwaseun Osewa and his men are sleeping see the kind of nonsense you post to the world abi u think nairaland na small site. u guy should verify the stuff u post

Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by jaymejate: 1:09pm On Oct 22, 2014
preposterous! abeg change am and i go switch enter world of chincos.
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by LEERICIST(m): 1:10pm On Oct 22, 2014
dgysoft:
y op go post this thread at all. is like Oluwaseun Osewa and his men are sleeping see the kind of nonsense you post to the world abi u think nairaland na small site. u guy should verify the stuff u post

don't type trash here... google it and you'll see that the op is not lying
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by akpanikpe(m): 1:11pm On Oct 22, 2014
Microsoft ko, microhard ni undecided
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by natureblack(m): 1:12pm On Oct 22, 2014
Name plus surname. undecided

Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by gistmelove(m): 1:12pm On Oct 22, 2014
IF DEM like make dem change it to nokia android na dem sabi

Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Psylas(m): 1:13pm On Oct 22, 2014
talktimi:
Microsoft is actually going to drop the Nokia name from its products/brand very soon. They'll also stop the production of their low end or feature phones ie Nokia Asha series and "torchlight" phones by next year or so
prove, that pic isn't enough

Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by TRUEcitizen(m): 1:15pm On Oct 22, 2014
Yungwizzzy:

I think I don't give a damn
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Sezua(m): 1:15pm On Oct 22, 2014
netoc65:
Hello everyone, i have found a great site to connect with student and workers.Just visit this link : http://2goface.com/invite?ref=Netoc65 #2goface
2go face?...nawa oh
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Emulti(m): 1:16pm On Oct 22, 2014
OK, next pls.
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by LEERICIST(m): 1:16pm On Oct 22, 2014
Psylas:
prove, that pic isn't enough
you should google it and see
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by RichDad1(m): 1:19pm On Oct 22, 2014
This is all I can give for now..

Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Bobbyjay001(m): 1:19pm On Oct 22, 2014
Kezifils:

Last I checked, s40 OS was still leading in 9ja. so yeah nokia still exists.
Who taught you English back in your school? Or are you in JSS1?
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by mmb(m): 1:22pm On Oct 22, 2014
Hurray!!!!
At last e don happen.
Re: Nokia To Change Name To 'Microsoft Lumia' by Nobody: 1:22pm On Oct 22, 2014
Everyone, pretend this was the OP.

If you've been keeping up with tech news, you heard about the partnership and eventual acquisition of Nokia by Microsoft Corp.

REDMOND, Washington and ESPOO, Finland – Sept. 3, 2013 – Microsoft Corporation and Nokia Corporation today announced that the Boards of Directors for both companies have decided to enter into a transaction whereby Microsoft will purchase substantially all of Nokia’s Devices & Services business, license Nokia’s patents, and license and use Nokia’s mapping services.

Under the terms of the agreement, Microsoft will pay EUR 3.79 billion to purchase substantially all of Nokia’s Devices & Services business, and EUR 1.65 billion to license Nokia’s patents, for a total transaction price of EUR 5.44 billion in cash. Microsoft will draw upon its overseas cash resources to fund the transaction. The transaction is expected to close in the first quarter of 2014, subject to approval by Nokia’s shareholders, regulatory approvals and other closing conditions.

Building on the partnership with Nokia announced in February 2011 and the increasing success of Nokia’s Lumia smartphones, Microsoft aims to accelerate the growth of its share and profit in mobile devices through faster innovation, increased synergies, and unified branding and marketing. For Nokia, this transaction is expected to be significantly accretive to earnings, strengthen its financial position, and provide a solid basis for future investment in its continuing businesses.

“It’s a bold step into the future – a win-win for employees, shareholders and consumers of both companies. Bringing these great teams together will accelerate Microsoft’s share and profits in phones, and strengthen the overall opportunities for both Microsoft and our partners across our entire family of devices and services,” said Steve Ballmer, Microsoft chief executive officer. “In addition to their innovation and strength in phones at all price points, Nokia brings proven capability and talent in critical areas such as hardware design and engineering, supply chain and manufacturing management, and hardware sales, marketing and distribution.”

Now that Nokia has been acquired, Microsoft has begun rebranding, by officially renaming Nokia phones as Microsoft Lumia.

If you've seen Microsoft's recent articles about Lumia you know it was coming. The Nokia brand has been phased out by calling the phones just "Lumia" and redirecting Nokia online properties to Microsoft.com. This rebranding effort will expand and soon the lineup will become "Microsoft Lumia".

Lumia is already the de facto face of Windows Phone – it accounts for about 90% of the market. Microsoft has been busy signing up new vendors but they will struggle to gain significant market share as the big names have mostly neglected WP.

Nokia, the company, still exists but as part of the agreement with Microsoft it won't make new phones for at least several more years. Instead it has shifted its focus to things like mapping and, with no exclusivity to consider, it has been bringing its software to Android.

Will Microsoft put its own logo on the devices or will a more restraint Lumia logo suffice? Keep in mind that Microsoft is treading lightly, not to annoy other WP vendors by showing favoritism to its in-house manufacturer.

Which Android Phone Can I Afford With 20,000? / BB Curve 8 Is Out, See Pics / My Experience At MTN Service Centre Today.