Stats: 3,200,035 members, 7,973,524 topics. Date: Saturday, 12 October 2024 at 06:24 PM

Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) - Sports (11) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) (88356 Views)

The Flying Eagles of Nigeria Thread: Poland 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup / Falconets Qualify For U-20 World Cup (Photos) / The Golden Eaglets Of Nigeria Thread: U-17 World Cup (India 2017) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) ... (38) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Orkpekyandega(m): 5:17pm On Mar 16, 2016
[b][size=14pt]
A look at how alleged Tottenham player Musa Yahaya is faring on loan
[/size]
Vincent Ralph
@VincentRalph1

The young Nigerian is said to be a Tottenham Hotspurplayer but he is currently on loan in Portugal.

According to a recent interview given by the agent of Musa Yahayato All Nigeria Soccer, the 18-year-old is officially a Tottenham Hotspur player despite the fact that no announcement has yet been made by the North London club.

Agent Babawo Mohammed is quoted as saying that while Tottenham now officially own the player they want him to spend time on loan while he waits for his work permit.

There has still been no official word from Spurson the matter, but assuming that is indeed the case – which it could well be given the player’s nationality and his lack of first-team football thus far – Tottenham fans may suddenly be keeping a close eye on Portuguese second division club Portimonense.

That is where Yahaya is currently on loan, so how is the attacking midfielder getting on?

As would be expected for one so young he is being bedded in slowly, watching matches against Gil Vicente and Covilha as an unused substitute before making his debut in a 1-0 victory against Farense.

Yahaya went one better the following match, building on that 45-minute appearance to play the whole match against Braga B, although it was a game to forget as his side crashed to a 5-1 defeat.

The alleged Tottenham youngster was not in the squad for the next game against Santa Clara before he returned to the squad, coming off the bench for the final 35 minutes in a 1-0 win against Oriental.

Yet to score or assist, it will be all about building up his match fitness and getting used to playing regular first-team football this season; and how quickly he does that could determine how soon he heads to White Hart Lane.

What do you think of the latest news regarding Yahaya?
www.hitc.com/en-gb/2016/03/16/a-look-at-how-alleged-tottenham-player-musa-yahaya-is-faring-on/
[/b]
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Orkpekyandega(m): 5:19pm On Mar 16, 2016
[b][size=14pt]
Nigeria: Flying Eagles to Play Burundi After Congo's Zambia 2017 Withdrawal
[/size]
By Joshua Odeyemi

Nigeria's U-20 men's football team, Flying Eagles will play Burundi in the second round qualifying match for the U-20 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) Zambia 2017.

This follows the Federation Congolaise de Football Association (FECOFA)'s withdrawal of its national U-17 and U-20 teams from the qualifiers for next year's continental championships.

Confederation Africaine de Football (CAF) confirmed on its official website yesterday that it has been informed by the FECOFA of the withdrawal of its teams.

Therefore, for the AFCON U-20 Zambia 2017, Burundi, who were due to face DR Congo in the first round have qualified to the second round, and will now take on the Flying Eagles in May this year.

For the AFCON U-17 Madagascar 2017, Chad has qualified for the second round of the qualifiers following the withdrawal of DR Congo.
allafrica.com/stories/201603161391.html
[/b]
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Orkpekyandega(m): 5:34pm On Mar 16, 2016
[b][size=14pt]
EXCLUSIVE: AGENT CONFIRMS BELGIUM VISA DELAYIN EJIKE “INIESTA” CHIDERA AND THREE OTHERS FROM LIVERPOOL TRIALS
[/size]

The Nigeria quartet of Jacob Njoku, Suleiman Abdullahi, Ejike Chidera and Ezeh Charles Chinedu are not yet in Liverpool for trials because they are yet to receive visas from the Belgium embassy.

Agent of the players Babawo Mohammed told owngoalnigeria.com that Liverpool plan to loan out the players immediately to Sint Truiden in Belgium if they succeed in the trials hence they requested they secure a Belgian visa before coming for trials.

“They have already gotten British visas but what we waiting on is response from the Belgium embassy as Liverpool plan to loan them out to Sint Truiden in Belgium if they succeed in the trials” He told Owngoalnigeria.com.

“Liverpool want the players to have Belgium visa in their passport so that when the time comes for them to be loaned out it won’t be an issue, it’s best we tackle it now so no need for them to return back to Nigeria if they succeed in the trials”.

He further revealed to owngoalnigeria.com that they are hopeful of getting a response from the Belgium embassy by next week.

“Hopefully we should get a reply next week, we are very much sure on that meaning if we get the visa then we will leave for Liverpool same week depending on the day and time we get it”.
owngoalnigeria.com/2016/03/16/exclusive-agent-confirms-belgium-visa-delayin-ejike-iniesta-chidera-and-three-others-from-liverpool-trials/
[/b]

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Orkpekyandega(m): 5:44pm On Mar 16, 2016
[b][size=14pt]
Fikayo Tomori Sparkles For Chelsea In Win Against Ajax Amsterdam
[/size]
Chelsea Under 19s have advanced to the semifinals of the UEFA Youth League after beating Ajax Amsterdam 1-0 at Cobham Training Centre, Surrey on Tuesday evening.

The Calgary-born stopper Fikayo Tomori,18, made his seventh appearance in the competition, lasting the distance against the Dutch opponents and helped goalkeeper Bradley Collins post a shutout.

Tomori would have started in defense alongside Anglo-Nigerian Ola Aina but the later was dropped after picking up his third yellow card of the campaign against Valencia on February 23.

England youth international Ike Ugbo was one of five substitutes that failed to get match time against Ajax Amsterdam.

Kyle Scott netted the game-winner for Chelsea one minute before the end of the first half.
Igho Kingsley
allnigeriasoccer.com/read_news.php?nid=18260
[/b]

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Orkpekyandega(m): 5:46pm On Mar 16, 2016
[b][size=14pt]
Tottenham Hotspur Midfielder Onomah, Liverpool Winger Ojo Get England Call-Up
[/size]

A pair of Anglo-Nigerian players have been named in the England U19s squad for the upcoming Elite Round of the UEFA U19s European Championship matches.

Tottenham Hotspur starlet Josh Onomah is among the four midfielders selected by head coach Aidy Boothroyd in his 18-player roster, while Liverpool winger Sheyi Ojo also made the squad.

England U19s first face Georgia on Thursday, March 24th before squaring off against Greece and Spain on March 26 and 29th respectively.

Onomah, who is still 18, has made 19 appearances for Spurs in all competitions so far this season and was in action against Borussia Dortmund in the Europa League last Thursday.

Hemel Hempstead-born Sheyi Ojo made Liverpool’s bench against Manchester United last week.
Ifeanyi Emmanuel
allnigeriasoccer.com/read_news.php?nid=18265

It is news articles of this kind that interest Oga Forgiveness.gringringrin
[/b]

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by TheSuperNerd(m): 5:49pm On Mar 16, 2016
Yep... I recall this guy from the Super Six won by the Flying Eagles under Manu Garba in Abuja. He played in central defence and few times as Right-back wearing the No.5 or No.6 jersey.

Another fine defensive super prospect.

We just keep getting better and better in terms of rising quality options for the future (near and far).... What an avalanche of super talents we got coming through.... It's all getting Explosive in here. mehn!!! #smiles

Sir TheGoodJoe, thankfully my special soccer science and "more" lab's computer-networks' database is far more than enough to accommodate all these data.

Na wa ooo..... But this is really great for Nigerian football. Indeed, THE FUTURE OF WORLD SOCCER RESTS WITH NIGERIAN FOOTBALLERS OF TOP QUALITY (and what a large quantity of them we have coming through..... Pheewww!!).

Orkpekyandega:
[b][size=14pt]
FC PORTO,MONACO AND TOTTENHAM HOTSPURS SCOUTS TUSSLE OVER NASSARAWA UNITED DEFENDER
[/size]

There was mild drama at the Gee-lec Football Academy organized scouting programme in Abuja when scouts from FC Porto, Tottenham Hotspurs and Monaco wanted same player.

Nassarawa United centre back who can also play in midfield Ifeanyi Nweke played just 20 minutes and all three top scouts started pushing for who will have the 2015 Flying Eagles trainee.

”I wasn’t surprised he made such an impression because when they told me they were looking for central defenders I asked Nassarawa United to permit him to play just a day and am glad he didn’t dissapoint” Babawo Mohammed the facilitator of the scouting programme told owngoalnigeria.com.

“A decision on who will get him will be made b Friday but already he has earns himself recognition and hopefully in the summer he will leave for one of the three mentioned clubs not for trials but for outright signing”.

18 year old Nweke trained with the last U-20 team of Nigeria and was a shock omission from the team that won the AYC in Senegal as well as the World Cup team that went to Senegal.

Calm, neat in possession and a good passer of the ball he will tonight depart the shores of Nigeria for Algeria tonight with Nassarawa United ahead of their return leg clash against CS Constantine of Algeria where he is expected to help them defend their slim 1-0 lead from the first leg played in Abuja last weekend.
owngoalnigeria.com/2016/03/15/fc-portomonaco-and-tottenham-hotspurs-scouts-tussle-over-nassarawa-united-defender/
[/b]

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by TheGoodJoe(m): 1:26pm On Mar 17, 2016
Orkpekyandega:
[b][size=14pt]
FC PORTO,MONACO AND TOTTENHAM HOTSPURS SCOUTS TUSSLE OVER NASSARAWA UNITED DEFENDER
[/size]

There was mild drama at the Gee-lec Football Academy organized scouting programme in Abuja when scouts from FC Porto, Tottenham Hotspurs and Monaco wanted same player.

Nassarawa United centre back who can also play in midfield Ifeanyi Nweke played just 20 minutes and all three top scouts started pushing for who will have the 2015 Flying Eagles trainee.

”I wasn’t surprised he made such an impression because when they told me they were looking for central defenders I asked Nassarawa United to permit him to play just a day and am glad he didn’t dissapoint” Babawo Mohammed the facilitator of the scouting programme told owngoalnigeria.com.

“A decision on who will get him will be made b Friday but already he has earns himself recognition and hopefully in the summer he will leave for one of the three mentioned clubs not for trials but for outright signing”.

18 year old Nweke trained with the last U-20 team of Nigeria and was a shock omission from the team that won the AYC in Senegal as well as the World Cup team that went to Senegal.

Calm, neat in possession and a good passer of the ball he will tonight depart the shores of Nigeria for Algeria tonight with Nassarawa United ahead of their return leg clash against CS Constantine of Algeria where he is expected to help them defend their slim 1-0 lead from the first leg played in Abuja last weekend.
owngoalnigeria.com/2016/03/15/fc-portomonaco-and-tottenham-hotspurs-scouts-tussle-over-nassarawa-united-defender/
[/b]

So forgiveness do you think all our best talents are in Europe. If Babawo Mohammed did not organize this match, the scouts will not know him. There are loads of talents in our grassroots.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by TheGoodJoe(m): 1:37pm On Mar 17, 2016
TheSuperNerd:
Yep... I recall this guy from the Super Six won by the Flying Eagles under Manu Garba in Abuja. He played in central defence and few times as Right-back wearing the No.5 or No.6 jersey.

Another fine defensive super prospect.

We just keep getting better and better in terms of rising quality options for the future (near and far).... What an avalanche of super talents we got coming through.... It's all getting Explosive in here. mehn!!! #smiles

Sir TheGoodJoe, thankfully my special soccer science and "more" lab's computer-networks' database is far more than enough to accommodate all these data.

Na wa ooo..... But this is really great for Nigerian football. Indeed, THE FUTURE OF WORLD SOCCER RESTS WITH NIGERIAN FOOTBALLERS OF TOP QUALITY (and what a large quantity of them we have coming through..... Pheewww!!).

Yara Yara, your security at the gate leaked some information to me. He said you ran a simulated test to find out more about the Acute Selection Headache and your Program crashed. After debugging, it said Super Talent Overload.

He said you bought a Super Computer with some advanced database to deal with the effect of more rising talents with respect to the Olympics squad.

Keep up the good work. Your perseverance is impressive.
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by forgiveness: 1:49pm On Mar 17, 2016
TheGoodJoe:

So forgiveness do you think all our best talents are in Europe. If Babawo Mohammed did not organize this match, the scouts will not know him. There are loads of talents in our grassroots.

How old is he? 18 years. You see what i am talking about. If you are 20 years and you are still playing in Nigeria, it will be difficult to get a good club or a club in Europe. That's all.
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by forgiveness: 1:54pm On Mar 17, 2016
Orkpekyandega:
[b][size=14pt]
Tottenham Hotspur Midfielder Onomah, Liverpool Winger Ojo Get England Call-Up
[/size]

A pair of Anglo-Nigerian players have been named in the England U19s squad for the upcoming Elite Round of the UEFA U19s European Championship matches.

Tottenham Hotspur starlet Josh Onomah is among the four midfielders selected by head coach Aidy Boothroyd in his 18-player roster, while Liverpool winger Sheyi Ojo also made the squad.

England U19s first face Georgia on Thursday, March 24th before squaring off against Greece and Spain on March 26 and 29th respectively.

Onomah, who is still 18, has made 19 appearances for Spurs in all competitions so far this season and was in action against Borussia Dortmund in the Europa League last Thursday.

Hemel Hempstead-born Sheyi Ojo made Liverpool’s bench against Manchester United last week.
Ifeanyi Emmanuel
allnigeriasoccer.com/read_news.php?nid=18265

It is news articles of this kind that interest Oga Forgiveness.gringringrin
[/b]

grin I thought Onomah is a Ghanaian. Anyway, both of them can only play for the U23 and the National team because they have been capped at the under age teams.

However, they should not be ignored.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by TheGoodJoe(m): 2:17pm On Mar 17, 2016
forgiveness:

How old is he? 18 years. You see what i am talking about. If you are 20 years and you are still playing in Nigeria, it will be difficult to get a good club or a club in Europe. That's all.

Does that mean because it is difficult for the player to get a good club, then the player is no more good?

The truth of the matter is that a lot of great talents are left behind.
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Icon4s(m): 3:02pm On Mar 17, 2016
TheGoodJoe:

Tell him.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Icon4s(m): 3:05pm On Mar 17, 2016
forgiveness:

grin I thought Onomah is a Ghanaian. Anyway, both of them can only play for the U23 and the National team because they have been capped at the under age teams.

However, they should not be ignored.

Onomah is an Igbo name. Let him continue with his development. We may get him if we need to.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by forgiveness: 3:13pm On Mar 17, 2016
Icon4s:

Onomah is an Igbo name. Let him continue with his development. We may get him if we need to.

I definetely know it is an igbo name but i don't understand why they call him a Ghanaian in most articles i read about him.
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by forgiveness: 3:16pm On Mar 17, 2016
TheGoodJoe:

Does that mean because it is difficult for the player to get a good club, then the player is no more good?

The truth of the matter is that a lot of great talents are left behind.

Atleast, the good ones will definetely get a good club in Europe as long as they are young.
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Icon4s(m): 3:17pm On Mar 17, 2016
Orkpekyandega:
[b][size=14pt]
A look at how alleged Tottenham player Musa Yahaya is faring on loan
[/size]
Vincent Ralph
@VincentRalph1

The young Nigerian is said to be a Tottenham Hotspurplayer but he is currently on loan in Portugal.

According to a recent interview given by the agent of Musa Yahayato All Nigeria Soccer, the 18-year-old is officially a Tottenham Hotspur player despite the fact that no announcement has yet been made by the North London club.

Agent Babawo Mohammed is quoted as saying that while Tottenham now officially own the player they want him to spend time on loan while he waits for his work permit.

There has still been no official word from Spurson the matter, but assuming that is indeed the case – which it could well be given the player’s nationality and his lack of first-team football thus far – Tottenham fans may suddenly be keeping a close eye on Portuguese second division club Portimonense.

That is where Yahaya is currently on loan, so how is the attacking midfielder getting on?

As would be expected for one so young he is being bedded in slowly, watching matches against Gil Vicente and Covilha as an unused substitute before making his debut in a 1-0 victory against Farense.

Yahaya went one better the following match, building on that 45-minute appearance to play the whole match against Braga B, although it was a game to forget as his side crashed to a 5-1 defeat.

The alleged Tottenham youngster was not in the squad for the next game against Santa Clara before he returned to the squad, coming off the bench for the final 35 minutes in a 1-0 win against Oriental.

Yet to score or assist, it will be all about building up his match fitness and getting used to playing regular first-team football this season; and how quickly he does that could determine how soon he heads to White Hart Lane.

What do you think of the latest news regarding Yahaya?
[/b]www.hitc.com/en-gb/2016/03/16/a-look-at-how-alleged-tottenham-player-musa-yahaya-is-faring-on/

I am not too pleased about Musa Yahaya's career development. Going by how he exploded at the U17 WC he should by now be playing in same league as the likes of Iheanacho, Success and Iwobi. He jst clocked 18 last December and then jst signed a professional contract and I think that greatly affected him bc he had to endure a long wait even staying at home for over 5months jst playing football on the streets.

He needs to get his game moving. Spurs is a very competitive side and he needs to be in a Flying form for him to be considered for their next season's pre-season's tour.

He will be vital to our next FIFA U20 campaign. I wish him an accelerated progress.
TheGoodJoe I need your view on this Yahaya's case.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Icon4s(m): 3:19pm On Mar 17, 2016
forgiveness:

I definetely know it is an igbo name but i don't understand why they call him a Ghanaian in most articles i read about him.

Just like how some articles were linking Obafemi Martins to Cameroun then. grin

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by forgiveness: 3:26pm On Mar 17, 2016
Icon4s:

Just like how some articles were linking Obafemi Martins to Cameroun then. grin

Really! grin But i was not joking about it. I try to find that article.
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by tbaba1234: 3:28pm On Mar 17, 2016
Just found out that the great Findi George is the under 19 coach of PEC Zwolle.

A great link to get Ehizibue to play for Nigeria.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Icon4s(m): 3:31pm On Mar 17, 2016
forgiveness:

Really! grin But i was not joking about it. I try to find that article.

Yeah, Martins had to come out open to declare his nationality as a Nigerian.
Those of us that knew Martins right from the hood and knew also that Obafemi is a Yoruba name knew he was definitely a Nigerian.
So Immediately I saw that "Onomah". I jst knew he is Nigerian.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by TheGoodJoe(m): 3:33pm On Mar 17, 2016
forgiveness:

Atleast, the good ones will definetely get a good club in Europe as long as they are young.

Clubs will not sign all the prolific ones, so it is wrong to make it look as if we should only search Europe for talents for the National team.

That is also why we can not afford to use our U17 to scout talents in Europe because we leave behind a lot of promising talents.
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by forgiveness: 3:34pm On Mar 17, 2016
Icon4s:

Yeah, Martins had to come out open to declare his nationality as a Nigerian.
Those of us that New Martins right from the hood and knew also that Obafemi is a Yoruba name knew he was definitely a Nigerian.
So Immediately I saw that "Onomah". I jst knew he is Nigerian.

Ok! I see.
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by TheGoodJoe(m): 3:40pm On Mar 17, 2016
Icon4s:

I am not too pleased about Musa Yahaya's career development. Going by how he exploded at the U17 WC he should by now be playing in same league as the likes of Iheanacho, Success and Iwobi. He jst clocked 18 last December and then jst signed a professional contract and I think that greatly affected him bc he had to endure a long wait even staying at home for over 5months jst playing football on the streets.

He needs to get his game moving. Spurs is a very competitive side and he needs to be in a Flying form for him to be considered for their next season's pre-season's tour.

He will be vital to our next FIFA U20 campaign. I wish him an accelerated progress.
TheGoodJoe I need your view on this Yahaya's case.

He is still young and Yahaya could still be molded into a top talent. I think our youngsters should avoid England because of the Work permit issue. Success could grow because Spain does not have the work permit issue like England.

Iheanacho was a special talent and the same goes for Kelechi Nwakali.

Look at Chidebere Nwakali who Pellegrini took to America on the Preseason Cityzens tour. He is also falling along the way.

Babawo Mohammed needs to scout for a young talented Coach in the lower leagues of Europe and get Yahaya there. Someone with potentials to polish him and let him grow with the team.

Our U20 team have a role to play here to make sure our bright talents are not left behind.

Yahaya's talent is massive. I still remember his U20 rabona pass to Success. He can still grow but Coach Amunike needs to carry him along his team and Yahaya needs to put in the game of his life to attract top scouts and clubs.
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Icon4s(m): 3:43pm On Mar 17, 2016
tbaba1234:
Just found out that the great Findi George is the under 19 coach of PEC Zwolle.

A great link to get Ehizibue to play for Nigeria.

Finidi George. I just feel he has not forgiven the Nigerian Football fraternity.

His younger brother, Igineware George - a former youth international, was killed by Irate 3SC fans in Ibadan after a game.

"Who killed Igineware George?" was the question on the lips of Nigerians then. Till date no one knows who killed Igineware George. The NFA then didn't press enough on the investigation of Igineware's death. The Police swept the case under the carpet.

In 2002 Finidi alongside Sunday Oliseh and some others were disgracefully suspended from the Super Eagles after finishing 3rd at the AFCON. A team that lost 2-1 AET to Senegal in the semis. Senegal finished the game with 10 men plus Oruma lost a penalty in the second half of Extra-Time. NFF and Nigerians called for the head of the Senior Players in the Team. Oliseh and Finidi were axed.

That was abt the last time Finidi George was in the News.

I hope, just like Oliseh, he has moved-on and put behind that incident.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by tbaba1234: 3:50pm On Mar 17, 2016
Icon4s:

Finidi George. I just feel he has not forgiven the Nigerian Football fraternity.

His younger brother, Igineware George - a former youth international, was killed by Irate 3SC fans in Ibadan after a game.

"Who killed Igineware George?" was the question on the lips of Nigerians then. Till date no one knows who killed Igineware George. The NFA then didn't press enough on the investigation of Igineware's death. The Police swept the case under the carpet.

In 2002 Finidi alongside Sunday Oliseh and some others were disgracefully suspended from the Super Eagles after finishing 3rd at the AFCON. A team that lost 2-1 AET to Senegal in the semis. Senegal finished the game with 10 men plus Oruma lost a penalty in the second half of Extra-Time. NFF and Nigerians called for the head of the Senior Players in the Team. Oliseh and Finidi were axed.

That was abt the last time Finidi George was in the News.

I hope, just like Oliseh, he has moved-on and put behind that incident.

I remember that. Really sad.

We then went to the world cup with average players.

If our football house was not so messed up and notorious in owing salaries, he would have made a good addition to one of the youth teams. I doubt he will want anything to do with the NFF though.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by Icon4s(m): 3:56pm On Mar 17, 2016
tbaba1234:

I remember that. Really sad.

We then went to the world cup with average players.

If our football house was not so messed up and notorious in owing salaries, he would have made a good addition to one of the youth teams. I doubt he will want anything to do with the NFF though.

Exactly my point. He seems aggrieved. I loved Finidi die those days. He was at one point the best Right winger in Europe. He was with Ajax then with Nwankwo Kanu. Simultaneously then Amuneke was in Barca and was adjudged to be the best Left footed player in the World! Oh Glory days of Nigerian football. But see where we are today cry

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by TheSuperNerd(m): 4:43pm On Mar 17, 2016
Hahahaha.... Thank you Sir. But biko, his name is Johnson not "Yara Yara". #smiles

Wonder why you call him that.

TheGoodJoe:

Yara Yara, your security at the gate leaked some information to me. He said you ran a simulated test to find out more about the Acute Selection Headache and your Program crashed. After debugging, it said Super Talent Overload.

He said you bought a Super Computer with some advanced database to deal with the effect of more rising talents with respect to the Olympics squad.

Keep up the good work. Your perseverance is impressive.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by forgiveness: 4:48pm On Mar 17, 2016
TheGoodJoe:

Clubs will not sign all the prolific ones, so it is wrong to make it look as if we should only search Europe for talents for the National team.

That is also why we can not afford to use our U17 to scout talents in Europe because we leave behind a lot of promising talents.

Who no like better thing? You mean clubs will not sign Iheanacho, Awoniyi, Success, Nwakali, Osimhen, Rabiu Ibrahim, etc after seeing their talents? hehehe! Sir, pls tell you joking.

European clubs usually search for young talented players.

Bros, talent pass talent. So, we should not try to turn our national teams to market. If the ones in foreign lands are more talented and better than the ones on ground then they should be giving the chance to play for their father's land. Afterall, the purpose of scouting is to discover players . The best of the best.

We don't need to put all our eggs in one basket. We are losing alot of talents with that awkward policy.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by TheGoodJoe(m): 4:54pm On Mar 17, 2016
forgiveness:

Who no like better thing? You mean clubs will not sign Iheanacho, Awoniyi, Success, Nwakali, Osimhen, Rabiu Ibrahim, etc after seeing their talents? hehehe! Sir, pls tell you joking.

Bros, talent pass talent. So, we should not try to turn our national teams to market. If the ones in foreign lands are more talented and better than the ones on ground then they should be giving the chance to play for their father's land. Afterall, the purpose scouting for players is to discover the best of the best.

We don't need to put all our eggs in one basket. We are losing alot of talents with that awkward policy.

Do you think if Coach Amunike set his eyes on only European talents and did not scout our local grassroots talents that the European clubs will see Kelechi Nwakali and Osimhen to sign?

That is why finding the special grassroot talents is important and beneficial to our team.

Left to you, Coach Amunike should not have carried Osimhen and scouted European academies for a hitman, missing the services of a young boy who made a historical appearance smashing the U17 goal scoring record.

We have more special talents in our grassroots than Europe.

You guys can cry about the Dele Alli's and Barkley's without knowing that in our grassroots, we have missed players better than these.

Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by TheGoodJoe(m): 4:56pm On Mar 17, 2016
forgiveness:

Bros, talent pass talent. So, we should not try to turn our national teams to market. If the ones in foreign lands are more talented and better than the ones on ground then they should be giving the chance to play for their father's land. Afterall, the purpose scouting for players is to discover the best of the best.

We need more people like Babawo Mohammed to dig and expose more special talents in Nigeria.
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by forgiveness: 5:04pm On Mar 17, 2016
TheGoodJoe:

Do you think if Coach Amunike set his eyes on only European talents and did not scout our local grassroots talents that the European clubs will see Kelechi Nwakali and Osimhen to sign?

That is why finding the special grassroot talents is important and beneficial to our team.

Left to you, Coach Amunike should not have carried Osimhen and scouted European academies for a hitman, missing the services of a young boy who made a historical appearance smashing the U17 goal scoring record.

We have more special talents in our grassroots than Europe.

You guys can cry about the Dele Alli's and Barkley's without knowing that in our grassroots, we have missed players better than these.

What we are saying is Amuneke or whosever is there should set his eyes only on the best. Osimhen and Nwakali might turn over out to be average when you compare them to Ross Barkley and Dele Ali. That's the point.

So, do you mean if we add Ross Barkley, Dele Ali, David Alaba and Jordon Ibe to our national team, they will not add value?

Who is better than Ross, Ali and Alaba in our present national team?
Re: Flying Eagles Of Nigeria Thread: U-20 World Cup (South Korea 2017) by TheGoodJoe(m): 6:21pm On Mar 17, 2016
forgiveness:

What we are saying is Amuneke or whosever is there should set his eyes only on the best. Osimhen and Nwakali might turn over out to be average when you compare them to Ross Barkley and Dele Ali. That's the point.

So, do you mean if we add Ross Barkley, Dele Ali, David Alaba and Jordon Ibe to our national team, they will not add value?

Who is better than Ross, Ali and Alaba in our present national team?

If we scout our grassroots better, we can discover talents as good as the Barkley's and Ibe's, if not even better. So when they decide to Feel English or Portuguese, we will not feel it.

That is why I will always be in support of using our U17 for the development of grassroot level football in the country.

If the likes of Dele Alli and Co. are too big to wait for their turn to wear the Green White Green like Aluko, Moses and Balogun, they can play for their three Lions or where ever they want to pledge their allegiance.

That is not the type we are looking for. We are looking for the types like Balogun who despite being born in Europe, feels Nigerian in his blood.

(1) (2) (3) ... (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) ... (38) (Reply)

Lionel Messi's N10m A Night 'Le Royal' Hotel (Pictures) / 2013 Glo-CAF Awards / Stephen Keshi And His Children At Wife’s Funeral

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 113