Stats: 3,173,733 members, 7,889,358 topics. Date: Sunday, 14 July 2024 at 10:25 AM

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 - Travel (296) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 (796500 Views)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (293) (294) (295) (296) (297) (298) (299) ... (401) (Go Down)

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Nobody: 6:42pm On Mar 26, 2016
PURE69:

Hello, boss! When are you supposed to pass out? You can talk it out with your local government inspector or zonal inspector. There is a way for them to work it out. Your Inspector can get the certificate out for you and give it to your friend. It's morally wrong, but I have seen someone that took that path. You might end up being asked to pay money by the LGI or ZI for doing the illicit act. Not asking you to toll that path, but I'm trying to tell you it can be done even though it's wrong.
Thanks bro. I will go and see the LI.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Nobody: 6:43pm On Mar 26, 2016
GboyegaD:

Depending on your state, laiase with your LI or ZI and he or she will advice you on the best way to go about it.
Thanks. I will do that.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Nobody: 6:44pm On Mar 26, 2016
slimmy2005:
If you've not past the age normally you'll have to do it all over again. But if you talk it with your local government inspector, you'll leave him with atm probably.
I don't want to repeat the exercise. Doing the first time is depressing sef. Thanks a lot.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by gunther6(m): 6:47pm On Mar 26, 2016
GboyegaD:

Any news from the remaining schools you applied to?

Not yet... the remaining schools make their admission/funding decision in april
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Nobody: 7:26pm On Mar 26, 2016
sirRiddy:

I don't want to repeat the exercise. Doing the first time is depressing sef. Thanks a lot.

Just be careful. It might be a big problem should you decide to take up employment in Nigeria after your studies. It's an integrity thing. You would be asked how come you were able to finish NYSC while studying overseas. In the company I work for, many have been denied employment offers and some employees subsequently sacked because of this.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Nobody: 7:49pm On Mar 26, 2016
Fablady:

Just be careful. It might be a big problem should you decide to take up employment in Nigeria after your studies. It's an integrity thing. You would be asked how come you were able to finish NYSC while studying overseas. In the company I work for, many have been denied employment offers and some employees subsequently sacked because of this.
Odikwa extraordinarily serious o. cool
Thanks a lot

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by youngmoney416: 7:50pm On Mar 26, 2016
I am single, 21 years old and would be applying for a student visa to do my degree in university of California, Berkeley. What are my chances of getting a visa as I have a family friend who works in a reputable company in the us and has pledged to issue me a sponsorship letter. I also run a blog of which I expect to grow to earn me enough income as I get there wish the help of network of people I will meet there. Since is Berkeley is part of Silicon Valley with alot of high tech for start up.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by purplesummer(f): 7:58pm On Mar 26, 2016
[quote author=Zino55 post=44133230][/quote]
When did you send in your application? If you think it has taken rather too long then you need to shoot them a mail. If they don't respond to your mail, you call them on the phone.

Good luck!
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by dickoflife(m): 8:04pm On Mar 26, 2016
Wow guy wetin we go do now sef?
dramaka:

undecided I don't understand too. I've got four admissions. Not a single offer. Illinois Institute of technology, University of Nebraska, University of Central Missouri & BGSU.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by dramaka(m): 9:07pm On Mar 26, 2016
dickoflife:
Wow guy wetin we go do now sef?

Omo. .....waiting another year is not an option. One can hope after first semester, a GA or TA could be gotten. I had a 312 GRE, 7.5 Ielts and a high cgpa. Can't understand why they couldn't even waive some percentage. Going by this thread, I've learnt some schools give funding easier than others. However, they may not have your desired course, while others have over-zealous requirements.
The whole thing don tire person. I'll have to make do with the most affordable offer.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by dramaka(m): 9:16pm On Mar 26, 2016
sirRiddy:

Auburn banned students from Nigeria from paying application fee. It is even on their website. I had to send the naira equivalent to Bigfrancis21 who helped with the payment. If you could have someone pay for you outside Nigeria, that would be fine. Good luck.

Those guys are annoying. This was back in 2014 and when I sent them a mail even with screen shots, they were clueless. Wasted money sending transcripts et al. They must have just updated their website after that experience.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fizzile(m): 9:21pm On Mar 26, 2016
Zino55:
Hello guys. iv been a follower of this thread for a while now and I must say iv learnt a lot. I applied to Minnesota state univ for fall 2016 and up until now iv not gotten any update from them.
I just wanna know if anyone is expecting admission decisions from mnsu aswell. Good work guys, congrats to all who av been admitted so far.
Did u register with educationusa? Cos without that,they won't process ur application.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by frankicon(m): 9:23pm On Mar 26, 2016
HELP ALERT!

Please guys i went to the embassy sometime september 2015 using Computer Engineer as my Major and am going back next week With Mechanical Engineer and am sure they gonna ask me.

Why am i going with Mechanical Engineering Now? and i changed me school from Santa ana College to Kansas State University.and the Question will be Why Kansas Now? Please guys i hope u undersatnd me i need answers to these questions i dont have a solid and convincing answer yet.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Nobody: 9:23pm On Mar 26, 2016
dramaka:

Those guys are annoying. This was back in 2014 and when I sent them a mail even with screen shots, they were clueless. Wasted money sending transcripts et al. They must have just updated their website after that experience.
Sorry you had to go through all that stress. I paid their application fee after wahala and got rejected by the program. All the best.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by OTUNBACODED: 9:55pm On Mar 26, 2016
I just got to know about this thread. I just received an offer of admission from South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, please what documents do I need to get my I-20 and how do u get a financial support tho I was told to send a mail if I'm in need of financial support as 2/3rd of their graduate students get financial assistance. please the gurus here should put me through.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Mekurexx: 9:55pm On Mar 26, 2016
You applied to UCM warrensburg? Lol I thought they were ''generous'' with funding. Their tuition is fairly high. Was looking at Occupational safety mgt!. I looked away from there cuz they require WES evaluation
dramaka:

undecided I don't understand too. I've got four admissions. Not a single offer. Illinois Institute of technology, University of Nebraska, University of Central Missouri & BGSU.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by imperiouxx(m): 9:58pm On Mar 26, 2016
frankicon:
HELP ALERT!

Please guys i went to the embassy sometime september 2015 using Computer Engineer as my Major and am going back next week With Mechanical Engineer and am sure they gonna ask me.

Why am i going with Mechanical Engineering Now? and i changed me school from Santa ana College to Kansas State University.and the Question will be Why Kansas Now? Please guys i hope u undersatnd me i need answers to these questions i dont have a solid and convincing answer yet.

Santa ana. That's one big change.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Mekurexx: 10:00pm On Mar 26, 2016
Check through the sch website and lookout for the I-2o requirement form or the funds to show in a Bank statement to request for I-20. For financial aid, mail the graduate coordinator stating your interest in funding/GA, or apply in other departments (administrative)
OTUNBACODED:
I just got to know about this thread. I just received an offer of admission from South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, please what documents do I need to get my I-20 and how do u get a financial support tho I was told to send a mail if I'm in need of financial support as 2/3rd of their graduate students get financial assistance. please the gurus here should put me through.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Mekurexx: 10:03pm On Mar 26, 2016
Is there anyone here studying/studied Environmental Health & Safety or Occupational safety management? Pls quote me wanna ask something. Thanks
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by dicapino: 10:03pm On Mar 26, 2016
OTUNBACODED:

Am no guru....but b4 they come. What yu basically need to get your I20 is a Statement of Account which you will send to school showing you have the amount required for your first year.

Try to peruse the school's website there would definitely be directions on how to go about this.

Send a mail quickly, but funding get grade sha is just school scholarship or a GA position?
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by halidaf: 10:15pm On Mar 26, 2016
slimmy2005:
I would be lame to expect something sensible from someone who got a conditional admission to a private university. It's shows how trashy and scanty your profile looks. Be aware that of you decide to run, Trump is right behind you.

Conditional admission.. Is that new?? And whats wrong with a private school in usa run Lwkmd... You don't know shii about me and you hear running ur tongue..well I got nothing to prove to u cos I don't know u from no where... I wonder what u still doing on this thread sef, thought u said u were no longer going to post comments n all , ITK. Go and stand at jfk and start catching Nigerians that want to run Shebi is your father that owns USA and trump is your big uncle. Bigfrancis and the likes that know more than u do are still very loyal,they drop their comments with respect and just move on... Instead u will sit down on nairaland and b forming f1 visa coordinator... Biko park well oo

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by OTUNBACODED: 10:19pm On Mar 26, 2016
Mekurexx:
Check through the sch website and lookout for the I-2o requirement form or the funds to show in a Bank statement to request for I-20. For financial aid, mail the graduate coordinator stating your interest in funding/GA, or apply in other departments (administrative)

thanks I will keep u posted and ask further question as need arise
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by OTUNBACODED: 10:21pm On Mar 26, 2016
dicapino:

Am no guru....but b4 they come. What yu basically need to get your I20 is a Statement of Account which you will send to school showing you have the amount required for your first year.

Try to peruse the school's website there would definitely be directions on how to go about this.

Send a mail quickly, but funding get grade sha is just school scholarship or a GA position?

either a gra or a gta
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by dicapino: 10:22pm On Mar 26, 2016
OTUNBACODED:

either a gra or a gta

Okay. Good you send a mail and show interest.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Zino55(m): 10:32pm On Mar 26, 2016
purplesummer:

When did you send in your application? If you think it has taken rather too long then you need to shoot them a mail. If they don't respond to your mail, you call them on the phone.

Good luck!

Thank you for your reply. I applied in August and my complete file was sent to d dept for review in sept. Mailed d grad sch last week and was told that my file is still with the dept which is unusual given that some peeps have been admitted or otherwise. calls are always goin to voicemail. ill just have to wait then
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by dramaka(m): 10:33pm On Mar 26, 2016
Mekurexx:
You applied to UCM warrensburg? Lol I thought they were ''generous'' with funding. Their tuition is fairly high. Was looking at Occupational safety mgt!. I looked away from there cuz they require WES evaluation

Generous keh? Anyway it depends on the department. They say we can apply for GA positions when we get to the school sha. About their tuition, I don't think it's high. Out of the four admissions I have, it's the most affordable. $18k. The next affordable school, IIT is about $38k.
Yes, they require WES evaluation, and that's okay by me, just that it costs over $200 for the course-by-course evaluation. At least they didn't ask for references etc. Acceptance rate is high too.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Zino55(m): 10:37pm On Mar 26, 2016
fizzile:
Did u register with educationusa? Cos without that,they won't process ur application.

yea boss. I did register with Eduusa. dunno wat cud b causing the delay cos grad sch said dey sent my file to dept for review since sept.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by youngmoney416: 10:47pm On Mar 26, 2016
youngmoney416:
I am single, 21 years old and would be applying for a student visa to do my degree in university of California, Berkeley. What are my chances of getting a visa as I have a family friend who works in a reputable company in the us and has pledged to issue me a sponsorship letter. I also run a blog of which I expect to grow to earn me enough income as I get there wish the help of network of people I will meet there. Since is Berkeley is part of Silicon Valley with alot of high tech for start up.
please house respond to my questions

(1) (2) (3) ... (293) (294) (295) (296) (297) (298) (299) ... (401)

Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 / Nigerian Students In The Uk How Do You Survive?

Viewing this topic: 2 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54