Stats: 3,173,847 members, 7,889,848 topics. Date: Sunday, 14 July 2024 at 10:29 PM

Can You Pay $44 Million For This Blue Painting By Barnett Newman - Business - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / Can You Pay $44 Million For This Blue Painting By Barnett Newman (2441 Views)

Sijibomi Ogundele Of Sujimotos To Give N5 Million For A Picture With MKO Abiola / Access Bank, GTB Fined N96 Million For Illegal Charges, Other Violations / Nigeria: Retail Sector Takes Big Leap With U.S.$44 Million Owerri Mall (2) (3) (4)

Can You Pay $44 Million For This Blue Painting By Barnett Newman by Ahmed3rdjuly: 5:06pm On May 04, 2016
An abstract painting by New York artist Barnett Newman that features a field of blue paint crossed by a ragged white line sold last night for $43.8 million — more than most Manhattan penthouses — to conclude a bidding war at Sotheby’s.

Previously owned by Microsft co-founder Paul Allen, the work was bought by an unidentified bidder over the phone.

The nearly $44 million price tag for “Onement VI” — which looks like a canvas version of the video game Pong — surpassed the estimated $30 million to $40 million price.

“The speculative element is returning to the market,” said Jonathan Binstock, senior adviser in postwar and contemporary art at Citi Private Bank.

“There’s more money to spend on riskier opportunities, ones that would have seemed unappealing just a few years prior.”

Four artists, including Gerhard Richter and Nate Lowman, broke records at the auction, which fetched a total of $294 million at the prestigious auction house.

Newman is said to be influenced by other abstract expressionists such as Mark Rothko, Jackson Pollock and Frank Stella.

http://nypost.com/2013/05/15/43-8-million-for-this/

Re: Can You Pay $44 Million For This Blue Painting By Barnett Newman by JhimmySpark(m): 5:08pm On May 04, 2016
Wer is d painting??
Re: Can You Pay $44 Million For This Blue Painting By Barnett Newman by klassykute(m): 5:11pm On May 04, 2016
I dey mad?
Re: Can You Pay $44 Million For This Blue Painting By Barnett Newman by hungryboy(m): 5:29pm On May 04, 2016
klassykute:
I dey mad?
my guy ,
when your net worth na $20billion,

You go even buy toilet seat $40million.
Re: Can You Pay $44 Million For This Blue Painting By Barnett Newman by klassykute(m): 5:34pm On May 04, 2016
hungryboy:
my guy ,
when your net worth na $20billion,

You go even buy toilet seat $40million.
except dat wan
Re: Can You Pay $44 Million For This Blue Painting By Barnett Newman by TrollTrap: 5:43pm On May 04, 2016
Woooow artistic

I'm in awe of the fine details on there... Marvellous

The artist must've spent loads of time on this beautiful masterpiece
Re: Can You Pay $44 Million For This Blue Painting By Barnett Newman by jmichlins(m): 5:45pm On May 04, 2016
Where the painting
Re: Can You Pay $44 Million For This Blue Painting By Barnett Newman by Checked86: 5:47pm On May 04, 2016
I have looked at the picture for almost 20mins and I am yet to see anything like painting. I am not giving up though, I am going to save this thread for further examination. The world has love for abstract and mysterious things, things that lack explanation. That is why you should never live an obvious life. Let people explain you, but never explain yourself to people.

Do You Know About Instagram Trading? Come In To Learn About It / Top Sell Quality Clothing, Shoes And Accessories. / Brand New And American Used Phones (samsung....iphones And Laptops) For Sale

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 12