Stats: 3,178,840 members, 7,906,093 topics. Date: Wednesday, 31 July 2024 at 03:29 AM

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 - Travel (162) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 (723840 Views)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (159) (160) (161) (162) (163) (164) (165) ... (432) (Go Down)

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Fenix: 9:08am On Aug 18, 2017
Josh4wod:
Hello
I will be writing TOEFL and GMAT all because of US undergraduate scholarships (Haven't Registered)

My question is, what is the chance of getting provided scholarships?

Which is the best? GMAT or SAT?

3 Why is GMAT preferred today?

cc: walspring, lagosismyhome, remix and other Boss, please come

GMAT is ONLY accepted in business schools. Unless you are planning to go to business school, take the GRE.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by LagosismyHome(f): 9:09am On Aug 18, 2017
Josh4wod:
Hello
I will be writing TOEFL and GMAT all because of US undergraduate scholarships (Haven't Registered)

My question is, what is the chance of getting provided scholarships?

Which is the best? GMAT or SAT?

3 Why is GMAT preferred today?

cc: walspring, lagosismyhome, remix and other Boss, please come

Sat for undergraduate
Gmat or GRE is for masters or phd . GMAT for school of business degrees..

If you are for first degree or undergraduate then it is not GRE or GMAT .
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Josh4wod: 9:11am On Aug 18, 2017
Fenix:

GMAT is ONLY accepted in business schools. [b]Unless you are planning to go to business sch[/b]ool, take the GRE.

Thanks a lot
I mean GRE
Am actually going for Mechanical Engineering
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Josh4wod: 9:15am On Aug 18, 2017
LagosismyHome:

Sat for undergraduate
Gmat or GRE is for masters or phd . GMAT for school of business degrees..

If you are for first degree or undergraduate then it is not GRE or GMAT .
Thanks ma
Is there a promo going on also for SAT?
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Jamezy4u: 10:45am On Aug 18, 2017
No such offer for GMAT? That is what am interested in. Pls pm me if such offer exist.

Walspring:

It's easy to partake, go to www.ets.org/gre or www.ets.org/Toefl and create your Ets account first. GRE is $205 while Toefl is $180, multiple it by 370 and divide it by 2 to get the 50% of the amount you pay..

If you are interested, send me the following details below, but make sure you have the cash with you at hand because I don't want to hear touching stories after the test is register for you. Also you can send your payment now or you wait the test is register and make sure you send the payment less than 24 hours after the test is registered if not the test will be cancelled

1. Type of test.
2. User name.
3. Password.
4. Date you want to write the test.
5. Month you want to write the test.
6. Phone number.
7. State you want to write the test.
8. Name of the center you will prefer.
9. Send payment to XXXX
10. Notify immediately you send payment
11. the exchange rate is #370 to $1
12. You divide the total cost by 2 to get the 50% rate

N.B this is first come and first serve as long as you have your cash at hand and I won't keep slot for anyone whose money is not complete yet

Terms and conditions. If you didn't pay after 24 hours the test will be cancelled and it will affect your Ets account.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Jonsnow88(m): 10:48am On Aug 18, 2017
Please does anyone know if towson university recommends you take TOEFL for Nigerians
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Jamezy4u: 10:52am On Aug 18, 2017
Good one!!!

Its also a test of rehearsed response. This people need you to be just you! fast and have ability to communicate.

You would have said,....I didnt chose other sch because they do not offer...a, b, c and ....but school xyz do
imperiouxx:

In Chemistry, a reversible rxn such as this:

A + B <------> C

is the same as

C <------> A + B

You should have flipped your answer and say what others don't offer that BYUI offers instead of what BYUI offers that others don't. It's obvious that he/she tested your ability to think through fast and give a concise answer the way he/she wants it. Work on ways of answering questions precisely, then give it a trial in the nearest future.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Ijebuboy525: 11:25am On Aug 18, 2017
Fenix:

Don't be so fixated on your grade for now. Focus on the GRE. I would also Google school rankings for media and telecoms or whatever field you want to go into. Look at their requirements.
Alright bro, I'll start preparing for the GRE... Thanks so much for ur time

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by OGreene: 11:30am On Aug 18, 2017
Harvard guy, safe trip!!! Enjoy your stay.

Side eyes to LagosismyHome, your head is too correct abeg

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Fenix: 11:31am On Aug 18, 2017
Twale!

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by OGreene: 11:37am On Aug 18, 2017
GRE and TOEFL

Josh4wod:

Thanks ma
Is there a promo going on also for SAT?
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by LagosismyHome(f): 11:42am On Aug 18, 2017
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Fenix: 12:12pm On Aug 18, 2017
LagosismyHome:

If it was some world people them for no let us rest ......... flapping it up and down like agric fowl .
Love the quiet /coded moves

LOL! If it were by my power, I could boast. But it wasn't by my power so there's nothing to boast about. smiley

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Devuchka: 12:20pm On Aug 18, 2017
So interview was this morning, got the visa!! Transcripts loading......Thanks to everyone who contributed

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by LagosismyHome(f): 12:25pm On Aug 18, 2017
Devuchka:
So interview was this morning, got the visa!! Transcripts loading......Thanks to everyone who contributed

Been a minute since i saw got the visa.

Congrats God bless your new journey

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Fenix: 12:35pm On Aug 18, 2017
Devuchka:

Congrats! That's a relief then.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Devuchka: 12:40pm On Aug 18, 2017
Transcript.....Appointment was for 9am got there a bit earlier n was severely pissed off by the security lady at the entrance but kept my cool make I come out first, got in saw blue denial paper flying up and down I was like God I am not leaving with a blue paper today, got thru all the biometrics n serenre, was on the line for the window and all the students before me were denied like those VOs no dey smile sha, anyways I was finally called to the window

VO : Good morning
ME: Hi
VO: let me have your passport n I 20
ME: ( passes it to him)
VO: ( looks thru my passport )
VO: So you are currently a student in Emory(syc� )
ME: No I am not, I just got admission
VO: congratulations
ME: Thank you
VO: you have been to the US before is that correct?
ME: yes I have
VO: what is the longest you have stayed in the U
US?
ME: 2months
VO: what were you doing in the US for 2months?
ME: vacation
VO: vacation of 2 months?
ME: yes my school gives that long time frame(won't lie I blabbed a lil here)
VO: what will you do after graduation?
ME: I will come and continue my work as xyz in xyz company, I am expected to resume work August 2019
VO: how will you be paying for your trip?
ME: my dad will be paying for it
VO: what does he do?
ME: he is chairman xyz companies
VO: can I see a document to support that like a bank statement?
ME: sure( gives him my dad bank statement, he looks thru n returns it)
VO: Ok madam I will be approving your visa pls pick it up at this address n keep your I 20 on you at the POE
Can't remember if I said thank you sef, happened so fast, wanted to leave before he changes his mind ��
My lil advice tho is cover your bases, have necessary documents, double check your bank statement must have enough funds, then just ask for Favor from God cos the guy had rejected literally everybody that came to his window

16 Likes

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by cosade(m): 12:48pm On Aug 18, 2017
Devuchka:
Transcript.....Appointment was for 9am got there a bit earlier n was severely pissed off by the security lady at the entrance but kept my cool make I come out first, got in saw blue denial paper flying up and down I was like God I am not leaving with a blue paper today, got thru all the biometrics n serenre, was on the line for the window and all the students before me were denied like those VOs no dey smile sha, anyways I was finally called to the window

VO: Ok madam I will be approving your visa pls pick it up at this address n keep your I 20 on you at the POE
Can't remember if I said thank you sef, happened so fast, wanted to leave before he changes his mind ��
My lil advice tho is cover your bases, have necessary documents, double check your bank statement must have enough funds, then just ask for Favor from God cos the guy had rejected literally everybody that came to his window

smiley wink cheesy

Congrats!
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by ProfOjah1234: 12:59pm On Aug 18, 2017
femi312:
You welcome but if you can port that Metro PCs to another cheaper carrier, its better. $36 withhout data is rip off. Lyca is even $19 with that same 100mb, thats like $17 dollars different. That 17dollars will buy you Turkey and chicken that you will eat for a month. If you dont have Lyca or ultra in the state you are, You should try Tmobile $27 per month will will still save you some bucks. You dont need to change your number, just port
Thanks bro..
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Fenix: 1:01pm On Aug 18, 2017
Devuchka:

US?
ME: I will come and continue my work as xyz in xyz company, I am expected to resume work August 2019

Wawu!! That's such an easy interview you had. First your school helped a lot. Are you going for a Masters?

Like you said, preparation is key. Have all your papers to back up whatever you want to claim. In my interview, they rejected the guy right ahead of me. I was angry at him that why would he go and start spoiling the show. grin

Congrats again. It's a great feeling.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by dawbbleOuEi: 1:04pm On Aug 18, 2017
dawbbleOuEi:
Best afternoon, guys. Max. respect to the contributors on the thread.
Abeg, any current grad student at Purdue? I need some off-the-web Naija-spiced info, please.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by naninwa007: 1:05pm On Aug 18, 2017
please can anyone enligten me on Texas A & M University Laredo I wnt to apply for msc in information technology, is it ok in terms of getting visa during interview?

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by OGreene: 1:06pm On Aug 18, 2017
Very short. Congrats!!

Devuchka:

US?
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Devuchka: 1:45pm On Aug 18, 2017
OGreene:
Very short. Congrats!!

Yes ooo very short no long questions about the school or MPH
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Josh4wod: 1:50pm On Aug 18, 2017
Hello
Does the type of Languages test presented matters when applying for US SCHOLARSHIP?

IELTS or TOEFL?

check my signature
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by folmus: 1:52pm On Aug 18, 2017
Josh4wod:
Hello
Does the type of Languages test presented matters when applying for US SCHOLARSHIP?

IELTS or TOEFL?

check my signature

Both are not scholarship tests rather a language proficiency test. Cheers!

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Fenix: 2:01pm On Aug 18, 2017
Devuchka:

Yes ooo very short no long questions about the school or MPH

Given the profile of your school, I'm not surprised they didn't bother asking why school XYZ and why an MPH. An MPH was always a funny degree to me. Nigerians seemed to use it as a gateway to practicing medicine in the US.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by Josh4wod: 2:11pm On Aug 18, 2017
folmus:

Both are not scholarship tests rather a language proficiency test. Cheers!
Yeah
That's true, I asked due to some side rumours
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by DogCynophile(m): 2:13pm On Aug 18, 2017
Hello nairalanders,
My bro currently serving in Uyo is looking at Studying in the US next year fall (August) ,so he needs study partners for GRE and TOEFL, where ideas information and materials can be shared. Please if you re in Uyo and interested send me a dm. Thanks, Gracias, sonsongo grin
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by soxhixco: 2:20pm On Aug 18, 2017
The last time I applied for B1/B2 visa to attend my brother graduation at the Kentucky university but I was denied though. The V.O didn't ask much but just said sorry and hand me the blue paper, do you think I can apply again for something else and still maintain all that I filled in the form then or will have to change some things there, j went with all the documents but none was asked from me, I got the invitation letter directly from the school but he never asked
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by LagosismyHome(f): 2:23pm On Aug 18, 2017
Fenix:

Given the profile of your school, I'm not surprised they didn't bother asking why school XYZ and why an MPH. An MPH was always a funny degree to me. Nigerians seemed to use it as a gateway to practicing medicine in the US.

Yeap MPH is funny to me , in the sense that a lot used it as a getway and never really use it to do much so if that is the case , then I don't believe in going to an expensive school for that . I would even find the cheapest school instead grin

I told 2 friends about 5 years ago when they were going to a top school for it , they never really used the degree for anything but their parents paid so much , in one case it was a getway to get into dental school after naija dental school.. She complained bitterly when she realised what I was trying to tell her after the program because she could easily have gone to the cheapest mph school in the US and save that money for her dental 2 year program .

(1) (2) (3) ... (159) (160) (161) (162) (163) (164) (165) ... (432)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 19 / GENERAL Irish (student)visa & Work Permit-New THREAD***

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 53