Stats: 3,184,344 members, 7,923,426 topics. Date: Saturday, 17 August 2024 at 06:14 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (1300) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12260079 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1297) (1298) (1299) (1300) (1301) (1302) (1303) ... (16524) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by pyrex23(m): 11:07am On Aug 21, 2017
goldfish80:

You think those "young Germans" aren't physical? Do you know what Germans are reputed for? Germans are very tough people my friend.
Please let's not live in a non existing euthopia.
Firstly were they more physical dan the chileans
nd did they play with dat much physicality?.....they played mostly with speed n good passes

all am saying is dah we shouldnt play physical with dem cuz we cant match their physicality

simple passes,speed,nd skil
should help us get something against cameroun
nd i didnt say we shouldnt field physical players was only talking on how we should approach d game

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 11:11am On Aug 21, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

V. Moses, S. Moses, Iwobi, Iheanacho

The less skillful ones are Kayode, Osimhen, Musa,
Big but skillful, Mikel.

When we talk skill, it is not always Jay Jaysky
The skillful players you listed there are just 3 in the persons of Victor Moses, Iwobi and Moses Simon out of a possible 24-26 players.
Kelechi is not skillful anymore. They have coached it out of him at Man City. Mikel is Mikel, he's an economic player.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 11:13am On Aug 21, 2017
goldfish80:

Two for my favourite European teams are France and Germany. These 2 sides are both technically and physically gifted to survive any opponent. It is false representation to claim the Germans aren't physically strong but just nimble footed passers.

Do you want think you can press properly if you're not physical enough? Maybe our definition of physical aren't the same anyway.

Did Pedro and Messi not press? The reason why a lot of teams in modern football resort to pressing is to combat the lack of physical presence. Pressing requires combined effort to retrieve the ball. This nullifies one-to-one battles for the ball.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 11:15am On Aug 21, 2017
goldfish80:

The skillful players you listed there are just 3 in the persons of Victor Moses, Iwobi and Moses Simon out of a possible 24-26 players.
Kelechi is not skillful anymore. They have coached it out of him at Man City. Mikel is Mikel, he's an economic player.

Kelechi is still skillful but he now uses more off-the-ball movements to cause havoc. It is reinvention, not coaching out. Have your forgotten the way Nacho dribbled the goalkeeper of the Zambian team? Is that not skill? What of his dummies last season?

He is skillful and is more skill than power.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 11:25am On Aug 21, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Did Pedro and Messi not press? The reason why a lot of teams in modern football resort to pressing is to combat the lack of physical presence. Pressing requires combined effort to retrieve the ball. This nullifies one-to-one battles for the ball.

This is one thing most people don't understand. Playing physical doesn't mean you're kicking people all over the place. Rough and physical aren't the same thing. The Barcelona team were doped to the eyeballs,that explained why they pressed with that much energy.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 11:28am On Aug 21, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Kelechi is still skillful but he now uses more off-the-ball movements to cause havoc. It is reinvention, not coaching out. Have your forgotten the way Nacho dribbled the goalkeeper of the Zambian team? Is that not skill? What of his dummies last season?

He is skillful and is more skill than power.
You're just playing the ostrich. How many dribbles does he complete in a match? How can you classify a guy who completes less than 1 dribble per game as being skillful?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 11:31am On Aug 21, 2017
goldfish80:

You're just playing the ostrich. How many dribbles does he complete in a match? How can you classify a guy who completes less than 2 dribbles per game as being skillful?

Na wa for you. Did you read invention? Iheanacho causes havoc through off the ball movement but when he pulls off dribbles, it is clear to see he is quality.

A player without skill can not skin a keeper with such accuracy. .

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 11:36am On Aug 21, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Na wa for you. Did you read invention? Iheanacho causes havoc through off the ball movement but when he pulls off dribbles, it is clear to see he is quality.

A player without skill can not skin a keeper with such accuracy. .
Skin which keeper? What was so special in going round a keeper when that was his only choice? If you played football, you won't be in such awe that he went round the Zambian keeper after being set up by Brown.

When you talk about invention and "movement" being what he does more now goes back to justify my claim that skills have been coached out of him at Man City.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 11:41am On Aug 21, 2017
goldfish80:

Skin which keeper? What was so special in going round a keeper when that was his only choice? If you played football, you won't be in such awe that he went round the Zambian keeper after being set up by Brown.

When you talk about invention and "movement" being what he does more now goes back to justify my claim that skills have been coached out of him at Man City.

Hehe. Lekwa Footballer and skinning. Stop making me laugh. That was brilliance.

By the way, add Onyekuru and Isaac Success to your list of ala skillers.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 11:42am On Aug 21, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

How many caps do Success and Onyekuru have combined?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 11:45am On Aug 21, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Iheanacho - bad control per game - 1.2
Aguero - bad control per game - 2.8
Kelechi's current weakness isn't his touch but his dribbling; he gets dispossessed 3-4 times more often than he completes dribbles whilst Aguero is dispossessed about the same amount of times as he goes past someone.

©Man City blue moon forum

Keep playing the ostrich.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 11:58am On Aug 21, 2017
goldfish80:

How many caps do Success and Onyekuru have combined?

When you said out of 24-26 players, are all of the 24-26 players regularly capped?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 12:03pm On Aug 21, 2017
goldfish80:

Keep playing the ostrich.

Keep playing tolo tolo. grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 12:06pm On Aug 21, 2017
@ bolded. That's arrogance. Based on our head to head record with SA, I don't see that OVERWHELMING superiority. #fact

junnyjake:

I don't know what you mean by "arrogance"

Before our loss to SA, we've been unbeaten in all competitive encounters against them spanning a period well over two decades.

Tell me we had no edge going into that game. We had no right to feel confident when facing an inferior team.

SA no be our mate, and when we follow them go their house, na better flogging them go collect.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 12:09pm On Aug 21, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

When you said out of 24-26 players, are all of the 24-26 players regularly capped?
Those 2 players have a combination of 1 cap. Onyekuru's "cap" against Corsica and Togo aren't official.
So there you go.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 12:10pm On Aug 21, 2017
A half fit Mikel is not better than them.. That's a very disrespectful remark. And it is not a statement of fact. That's the point I'm making. Don't make it seem we overcome opponent at ease even with the presence of a FULLY fit Mikel. Na today Mikel start to dey play for us? We don't even have a great record to start with, even with a FULLY fit Mikel. Mikel is not Messi. He is not Ronaldo etc. Those are the kind of players that are indispensable even when they are half fit. It's an exaggeration to me. Mikel is good. And I mean that as a praise. But I'm not going to put him where he is not. #NoSentiments because I'm a Nigerian

TheGoodJoe:

Sentiments aside, we do not have any player in the class of Mikel in our team. Maybe in the future our young lads will carve their separate niches to excel but for now he is the only one who can bring that exceptional touch to the midfield.

His attributes of reading the game, both offensively and defensively, his simple but highly intelligent connective passes, his positioning and through passes is one of the assets of our team.

For now, no one from Esiti, Ndidi, Onazi, Ogu, Aluko, Ajagun, Ifeanyi Matthew, Nwobodo, C. Nwakali, K. Nwakali, J. Obi etc.

From the whole pack, we lack a player close to Mikel in intelligence and touches. I agree with safarigirl on this. We stand a better chance with sixty minutes of Mikel than none at all. He is a special player.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 12:14pm On Aug 21, 2017
I like to wait for game time. Sentiments don't save you. It is what it is -- sentiments. Should he play for us although half fit? That's a decision the coach has to make. But let's not make it seem as if the rest of our players are really that bad.. Come on now!

junnyjake:

Thank you.

I wanted to respond to that, but then I laughed it off.

Nigeria is too big a team to allow just a single player determine how well the play. We all saw how Onazi's injury affected us against France in the 2014 WC.

We've been blessed with depth in our team, with numerous options in one position.

John Ogu can deputize for Mikel, and that can provide ndidi the opportunity to move upfront as much as he would love to.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 12:17pm On Aug 21, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Keep playing tolo tolo. grin
How many dribbles does he complete per game? Aren't you contradicting yourself? You said earlier he modified his game around speed and movement or something like that.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 12:19pm On Aug 21, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

But our strength lies with more organized play to toom toom football. The Camerounians are a more physical side than us. We will be deceiving ourselves going into a physical battle with them. Logically the more physical side stands a better chance winning a physical battle.

Are we going into a Rugby game?

What I mean is we have the calibre of players that can COPE with their physicality. we are not going into a physical battle with them.

All this all emphasis on physicality does not hold for me. If we rattle them with our sleek play and crisp touches and passes they may not finish the game with 11 players. Haha haha. Typical of them.

I think I would need a sleek player like Simon in this kind of game, even if it is second half.

Victor Moses is also sleek and strong in addition.

Mikel will definitely cope well if played in AM position.

Onazi as we all know is a kind of player for this occasion. He is a fighter in the midfield.

Iwobi may not be too physical but he makes up for it with his sleek passes.

Kayode if made to start if Iheanachp does not make it is also quick and sleek player.

We have a strong CB pairing of Eking and Balogun. And Ndidi must sit just on front of the duo.

Echiejile is not a newbie as far as African football is concerned. So I trust him to cope.

I dont know who will play RB but if it is Shehu I am not worried.

Bros me no fear o.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 12:21pm On Aug 21, 2017
That's a more balanced viewpoint. Balogun and Moses were also missed big time.

AndreTAyodeji:
Mikel is a special,talented and intelligent player but i think it`s high time we stop blaming the S.A loss on the absence of Mikel from the team,Rohr himself bottled that game with his midfield selections,bad tactics,No Plan B and the atrocious long balls Onazi with a low passing accuracy was hitting to Nacho all game.Mikel`s experience would have been a major boost for the team in the game but he was unfortunately absent and we must learn to cope in his absence, Balogun would have done Mikel`s job from the back and also bring experience to the team,Victor Moses would have also silently done his own job bring experience to the frontline and effectively drag the team to victory.Now we know Onazi and Ndidi should never play together again,we saw what Ogu and Ndidi brought in the Senegal game and now i can`t wait to see what Ndidi and Joel Obi will bring to the team.The player i see close to Mikel right now is Joel Obi,dude offers you stabiliy in your midfield as he always keeps it simple,top notch pinpoint passing accuracy,pushing the team forward by starting attacks with the ball at his feet,excellent reading of the game,good positioning and a natural CM who also defensively does a job.However, he is still no where near Mikel`s leadership skills and experience but we can expect him to effectively replace Mikel on the football part while Balogun and co provides the team with experience and the leadership part.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 12:24pm On Aug 21, 2017
Just put the stats. That's enough for any analytical mind. It becomes a hype when there is too much opinions. Stats speak louder.

AndreTAyodeji:
Joel Obi`s stat from the 76 minutes he played on the pitch yesternight:Pass accuracy of 88.1%, 5
interceptions, 5 long passes, 59 short
passes, 2 tackles won, 3 aerials won, 3 key passes, 1 assist. I am not hyping the guy oo but just impressed with him after his comeback from injury,hope he put his injury woes behind him and also keep playing well. Elsewhere Nura Abdullahi was on Roma`s bench yesterday but didn`t come on but i think he will get his chance in the cups and some other games.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by pyrex23(m): 12:31pm On Aug 21, 2017
Joebie:
@ bolded. That's arrogance. Based on our head to head record with SA, I don't see that OVERWHELMING superiority. #fact

plz wah does at bolded mean
been seeing dat on this thread since..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by pyrex23(m): 12:34pm On Aug 21, 2017
Hmmmm
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 12:36pm On Aug 21, 2017
This is my fear for SE. I know some of us have been saying don't go physical if you want to beat Cameroon, because they would win that war.
I agree with that statement to some extent. Let me start from where I disagree.

If you say we should opt for more sleek play, speed blah blah etc. The question I have for you is will we learn all that style of play few days to the game? The truth is we are most likely to play our own game, the game that we have been seeing us play, and of course we should expect some tweaking here are there. Should Rohr decide to come with a whole new approach all together, what is the chance that we can master it few days going into the game? Does our game as it stand have some measure of physicality? Do we have excellent positioning, speed, and sleek passes? It's okay to judge from our best match in recent times -- Algeria match.

Let's get realistic and analyze ourselves based on when we have a full house. And then also talk about the adjustment we need to make, if we must stand a chance to beat Cameroon. Rohr rightly said what I've been saying. Cameroon after playing a considerable number of matches together have a better chance playing as a team than us. I'm not saying we will lose, but I'm saying many things point to their favor. Sleek play, cohesiveness etc are attributes mostly seen in teams that have played more together. Hence, Cameroon stand a higher chance of playing as a team than we do. I'm not expecting likes to this post because this is a Nigerian forum. But I will always say things as it is. Sentiments aside.

Modified
A coach can devise ways of beating a team using new tactics which can be mastered during training. But attributes likes sleek play, cohesiveness etc can't be mastered overnight.

Icon4s:

Are we going into a Rugby game?

What I mean is we have the calibre of players that can COPE with their physicality. we are not going into a physical battle with them.

All this all emphasis on physicality does not hold for me. If we rattle them with our sleek play and crisp touches and passes they may not finish the game with 11 players. Haha haha. Typical of them.

I think I would need a sleek player like Simon in this kind of game, even if it is second half.

Victor Moses is also sleek and strong in addition.

Mikel will definitely cope well if played in AM position.

Onazi as we all know is a kind of player for this occasion. He is a fighter in the midfield.

Iwobi may not be too physical but he makes up for it with his sleek passes.

Kayode if made to start if Iheanachp does not make it is also quick and sleek player.

We have a strong CB pairing of Eking and Balogun. And Ndidi must sit just on front of the duo.

Echiejile is not a newbie as far as African football is concerned. So I trust him to cope.

I dont know who will play RB but if it is Shehu I am not worried.

Bros me no fear o.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 12:48pm On Aug 21, 2017
goldfish80:

How many dribbles does he complete per game? Aren't you contradicting yourself? You said earlier he modified his game around speed and movement or something like that.

Tolo tolo talking. Whoscored have showed you Iheanacho is a strong dribbler. You can keep playing tolo tolo or move on.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 12:48pm On Aug 21, 2017
Try to trace the comment I replied to. You will see the portion that is in boldface. That is the part i'm making reference to when I say @ bolded
pyrex23:

plz wah does at bolded mean
been seeing dat on this thread since..
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 12:50pm On Aug 21, 2017
Joebie:
A half fit Mikel is not better than them.. That's a very disrespectful remark. And it is not a statement of fact. That's the point I'm making. Don't make it seem we overcome opponent at ease even with the presence of a FULLY fit Mikel. Na today Mikel start to dey play for us? We don't even have a great record to start with, even with a FULLY fit Mikel. Mikel is not Messi. He is not Ronaldo etc. Those are the kind of players that are indispensable even when they are half fit. It's an exaggeration to me. Mikel is good. And I mean that as a praise. But I'm not going to put him where he is not. #NoSentiments because I'm a Nigerian

Mikel has been key to the little success we have had. He might not be Messi or CR7 but he is the Messi and CR7 of the Super Eagles in recent years.

His intelligence is a big string that ties the team together. We need his quality and I hope the other young ones keep developing themselves.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 12:53pm On Aug 21, 2017
Joebie:
This is my fear for SE. I know some of us have been saying don't go physical if you want to beat Cameroon, because they would win that war.

If you say we should opt for more sleek play, speed blah blah etc. The question I have for you is will we learn all that style of play few days to the game? The truth is we are most likely to play our own game, the game that we have been seeing us play, and of course we should expect some tweaking here are there. Should Rohr decide to come with a whole new approach all together, what is the chance that we can master it few days going into the game? Does our game as it stand have some measure of physicality? Do we have excellent positioning, speed, and sleek passes? It's okay to judge from our best match in recent times -- Algeria match.

Let's get realistic and analyze ourselves based on when we have a full house. And then also talk about the adjustment we need to make, if we must stand a chance to beat Cameroon. Rohr rightly said what I've been saying. Cameroon after playing a considerable number of matches together have a better chance playing as a team than us. I'm not saying we will lose, but I'm saying many things point to their favor. Sleek play, cohesiveness etc are attributes mostly seen in teams that have played more together. Hence, Cameroon stand a higher chance of playing as a team than we do. I'm not expecting likes to this post because this is a Nigerian forum. But I will always say things as it is. Sentiments aside.

Obviously you know the drill here. We love making contributions based on platitudes. They want us to play like Arsenal against Cameroon and survive. When the buck that makes up our players don't play that system at their clubs not to talk of the national team.

We love living in denial in this country. That is why we are where we are politically and economically. The apple doesn't fall far from the tree. The same Nigerians you see in government are the same Nigerians you find on Nairaland. So what do you expect?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by pyrex23(m): 12:53pm On Aug 21, 2017
SCORENigeria can again exclusively report that Chelsea
defender Kenneth Omeruo and Uche Agbo from Belgian
club Standard Liege are among the five players placed on
standby by the Super Eagles for next month’s World Cup
qualifiers against Cameroon.
Twenty three players will hit the Eagles training camp for the
Titanic World Cup showdown, while five others have been put
on standby to cover for any absence.
Omeruo is not in the Chelsea squad for this season and he is
shopping for another club to go on loan or be sold outrightly.
Agbo, on the other hand, is trying to settle down at Standard
after his summer transfer from La Liga club Granada CF.
There will be three central defenders in the squad – Leon Balogun,
William Troost-Ekong and Chidozie Awaziem, while Turkey-
based Elderson Echiejile is the only leftback picked.

No tyronne ebuhei?
scorenigeria.com.ng/2017/08/21/eagles-put-omeruo-uche-agbo-on-standby-as-23-hit-camp-for-cameroon/

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 12:54pm On Aug 21, 2017
Joebie:

Modified
A coach can devise ways of beating a team using new tactics which can be mastered during training. But attributes likes sleek play, cohesiveness etc can't be mastered overnight.

We are more of a passing team than direct play. Our defenders also play a highline which is a direct proof of our team work play. Resorting to direct long ball play as against cohesive build-up play is actually us switching from the norm.

The call for us to rely on our speed/skill/build-up as against playing in a more physical fashion is a call to stick with what we are known to do.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 12:55pm On Aug 21, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Tolo tolo talking. Whoscored have showed you Iheanacho is a strong dribbler. You can keep playing tolo tolo or move on.
I'm yet to see those whoscored stats. Bring the numbers and let's go from there.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 12:57pm On Aug 21, 2017
goldfish80:

I'm yet to see those whoscored stats. Bring the numbers and let's go from there.

You want to argue with whoscored? I laugh in Yoruba.

(1) (2) (3) ... (1297) (1298) (1299) (1300) (1301) (1302) (1303) ... (16524) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: elyte89 and 5 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 89