Stats: 3,185,080 members, 7,925,422 topics. Date: Monday, 19 August 2024 at 03:18 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (1397) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12282087 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1394) (1395) (1396) (1397) (1398) (1399) (1400) ... (16531) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 5:29am On Sep 03, 2017
I told you didn't I? wink Sir Tbaba1234 and Chief Icon4s.... they are two Ogas who won't deny Arsenal at least. cheesy

Joebie:
Hahahaha kpele o
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 5:53am On Sep 03, 2017
Hmmmm.... well, I believe they remain a strong side with a couple of fantastic individual talents. Against Burkina Faso, they just repeated the toothless performance they had against South Africa in their last WCQ game and also against Cameroun at the Afcon earlier this year.

But know that Burkina Faso also boast fine quality players in Bertrand Traore, Alain Traore, Nakoulma, Bakary Kone, Charles Kabore and New Lille OSC Goalie, Herve Koffi.

Burkina Faso has a very good and cohesive team perhaps even much more cohesive than Senegal's and even finished third at the Afcon after losing on penalties to Egypt. Somehow, I still believe that had Burkina Faso gotten to that final, Cameroun would end up with silver. But such is the beautiful game. smiley

tbaba1234:
Is Senegal overrated?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 5:58am On Sep 03, 2017
Russia 2018: Super Eagles Storm Yaoundé to Ensure Qualification
By Duro Ikhazuagbe in Yaoundé

After demystifying African champions Cameroon in Uyo on Friday with the resounding 4-0 defeat of the Indomitable Lions, the Super Eagles are scheduled to storm Yaoundé this morning for the reverse fixture of the World Cup qualifier.

According to the programme rolled out by the Nigeria Football Football (NFF) yesterday, the 80-man Nigerian delegation is scheduled to fly out of the Akwa Ibom capital by a chartered Arik Air flight into Yaoundé before noon.

Eagles are aiming to do a double on the Cameroonians by picking all six points in the Russia 2018 double header between both countries within a space of four days.

With Zambia’s 3-1 defeat of Algeria in Lusaka yesterday in Group B’s other match of the qualifiers to move up into the second spot, the Indomitable Lions were further pushed down to the third position on just two points from three games.

Super Eagles Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr, allowed his wards the luxury of recovery from the bruising battle with Cameroon on Friday with just light workout.

While the wounded Cameroonians returned to full training almost immediately on reaching their base, Eagles took time out to watch clips of the game all over again and made corrections in areas the handlers considered not in line with the game plan put in place by Rohr.

A top NFF official told THISDAY in Uyo that the players are in high spirit and believe that they can repeat the feat in Yaounde tomorrow.

“The players have regained their self-belief and are now set to prove that the feat in Uyo was no fluke. They are aiming to pick all six points from the Cameroonians by also winning the second leg,” stressed the top football official to THISDAY at the Ibom Meridian Resort in Uyo last night.

Captain of the team, John Mikel Obi, was full of excitement when asked what to expect from the reverse fixture.

“I have no doubt in my mind that we are going to consolidate on our leadership of the group come Monday in Yaoundé. We are going there to improve on the game we played at home here in Uyo when we take on the Cameroonians again.”

The Super Eagles and the Nigerian delegation is scheduled to leave straight from the Omnisport Stade Ahmadu Ahidjo to the airport for the return journey to Abuja on Monday night.

Source: http://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2017/09/03/russia-2018-super-eagles-storm-yaounde-to-ensure-qualification/

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 6:11am On Sep 03, 2017
Cameroun Vs Nigeria September 4 Info.....

Time: 18:00 WAT / 1:00 ET

Venue: Stade Omnisports Ahmadou Ahidjo, Yaounde .

TV CHANNEL & LIVE STREAM

In Nigeria, the game will be available to watch live on television on Super Sport 3 Nigeria, as well as being available to stream online using the BT Sport app.

Nigeria TV channel: SuperSport 3

Online stream: BT Sport Player (If you have Mobdro app... then easier for you... BT sport is there)

In Cameroon, the match will be available to watch live on television (SuperSport 3 Africa) or using an online stream.

US TV channel: SuperSport 3 Africa

Online stream: BT Sport Player, beIN SPORTS
(both also found on Mobdro...)

#SoarSuperEagles smiley
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 6:16am On Sep 03, 2017
Etim, Adepoju warn Eagles against wounded Lions
By Idris Adesina

Former Nigeria internationals , Etim Esin and Mutiu Adepoju , have warned the Super Eagles over getting complacent in their remaining Russia 2018 World Cup qualifiers – especially the reverse fixture against Cameroon in Yaounde on Monday .

Nigeria beat Cameroon 4- 0 to extend their lead in Group B to nine points ahead of Monday ’ s reverse fixture against the Indomitable Lions . Zambia are second in the group with four points after getting a 3 - 1 victory over Algeria in Lusaka on Saturday . Cameroon are third with two points while Algeria are bottom with a point .

The fixture holds at the Stade Omnisports Ahmadou Ahidjo in Yaounde .

Etim , a member of the 1989 Eagles squad , who were denied qualification for the 1990 World Cup by Cameroon , said the Lions were wounded and would want to salvage their pride on homesoil .

“The fans are happy with the Eagles because they have not seen such a display from the team in a long time but the players should not allow that get into their heads because the journey is far from over, ” he said .

“The Eagles need at least two more wins to confirm their place at next year ’ s World Cup . They have shown that the African champions are beatable anywhere – even at home – but the Lions will want to salvage what is left of their pride in front of their home fans on Monday .

“As such our players need to be careful . Zambia will be waiting to cease the opportunity of any lapse from Nigeria because they have more hope than Cameroon , who would want to play spoilers for the Eagles . With the way they played on Friday , I think they can get victory in Yaounde but they have to be very careful . ”

Adepoju said the Eagles needed to work harder because the Cameroonians had nothing to lose again after Friday ’ s defeat .
He said, “ That defeat in Uyo has put paid to their hopes of qualifying but they will want to exact a revenge on the Eagles for their first win of the qualifiers .

“If our boys underrate them and become complacent because of their victory in Uyo on Friday , then the Lions will have an easy ride . Every part of the team worked well on Friday and we expect a repeat in Yaounde to ensure they don ’ t give room for Zambia to catch up with them .”

Source: http://punchng.com/etim-adepoju-warn-eagles-against-wounded-lions/

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 6:45am On Sep 03, 2017
Ezenwa targets World Cup ticket in Yaounde

Ikechukwu Ezenwa

>>Super Eagles goalkeeper , Ikechukwu Ezenwa , has said the team ’ s aim is to beat Cameroon in Yaounde on Monday to seal qualification for the Russia 2018 World Cup .

>>IfeanyiUbah keeper Ezenwa kept a clean sheet in his first start for the team as Nigeria beat African champions Cameroon 4- 0 in Uyo on Friday .

>>The 28- year - old Beijing 2008 Olympic Games silver medalist , who made several saves to deny the Indomitable Lions a chance of coming back into the game , said team work made the win possible .

“The win on Friday was just the first of the two clashes , I hope we get to Cameroon and finish the job there on Monday . We are prepared and determined , ” he told SCORENigeria .

“The World Cup is our individual and collective target and we are working hard to actualise that dream. We played as a team and won as a team and I’ m happy because the victory has pushed us closer to the World Cup in Russia . But it is not yet a done deal , I must say .

“As a player , I’m pleased with the result . I’ m also delighted with the fact that I did not concede a goal in my first full competitive game for the Super Eagles . I owe everything to God, my teammates , the coaches and the fans who stood behind us and supported us all the way .

“I won’t forget the inspiration I got from Carl Ikeme , he was not physically present , but spiritually he was with the team . Daniel Akpeyi also played a big role in the game even though he was injured and could not play.”

Source: http://punchng.com/ezenwa-targets-wcup-ticket-in-yaounde/

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 7:22am On Sep 03, 2017
Icon4s:

Has Echiejile announced retirement?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 7:22am On Sep 03, 2017
Icon4s:

Has Echiejile announced retirement?
No but d guy should show urgency in his game.He was a missing link in d defence against Cameroon,he need to brace up,Mikel is doing it at 30 why not him,funny enough Leon is now a leader in d defence instead of him who has been with d team for so long.

This is not d issue of castigation or Echiejele wasn't good,people just have to comment on his display, against South Africa he had a woeful performance and against Cameroon he was a suspect.He just need to show us he is still d same Echiejele we used to know nothing more,though i w never suggest Thiago as possible replacement,i w rather have Echiejele.

Good Aina is eligible now who was very comfortable at both full backs and with Shehu,Aina,Ebuhei,Echiejele i believe we are OK at both full backs.I remember somebody suggesting Onazi cos Onazi did it during one of our qualifying matches during Keshi's era.He took d place of Ambrose,Oshaniwa replaced Echiejele and Raheem Lawal replaced Onazi as DM.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 8:38am On Sep 03, 2017
I think If we get the maximum three points in yaounde...

We will qualify irrespective of results of Algeria vs Zambia...

Worst..we go as best loosers cool

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:39am On Sep 03, 2017
Onazi played right-back at the AFCONp

Modified
I mean at least in one of the matches. Can't remember him ever playing as left-back

Kog45:
No but d guy should show urgency in his game.He was a missing link in d defence against Cameroon,he need to brace up,Mikel is doing it at 30 why not him,funny enough Leon is now a leader in d defence instead of him who has been with d team for so long.

This is not d issue of castigation or Echiejele wasn't good,people just have to comment on his display, against South Africa he had a woeful performance and against Cameroon he was a suspect.He just need to show us he is still d same Echiejele we used to know nothing more,though i w never suggest Thiago as possible replacement,i w rather have Echiejele.

Good Aina is eligible now who was very comfortable at both full backs and with Shehu,Aina,Ebuhei,Echiejele i believe we are OK at both full backs.I remember somebody suggesting Onazi cos Onazi did it during one of our qualifying match during Keshi's era.He took d place of Echiejele coz Keshi need to drop Echiejele and Raheem Lawal replaced Onazi as DM.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:43am On Sep 03, 2017
Not true..

And there is no such thing as best losers in this qualification process
krattoss:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:48am On Sep 03, 2017
Our qualification will be made official if we beat Cameroon in Yaounde and if Zambia fail to beat Algeria in Algiers

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by enomakos(m): 9:08am On Sep 03, 2017
krattoss:

nope only the group winners qualified
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 9:31am On Sep 03, 2017
Joebie:

Modified
I mean at least in one of the matches. Can't remember him ever playing as left-back

Yea sorry for d mix up,he played as RB,Oshaniwa as LB and Raheem Lawal as DM.Keshi benched Echiejele and Ambrose Efe in that particular match.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by nelszx: 10:00am On Sep 03, 2017
Joebie:

Modified

Against Zambia the second group game he played RB
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 10:03am On Sep 03, 2017
blueto:
For those saying Nigeria didn't play well in the first “12 minutes” and a top team would have scored within that time. I want to say that it happens in football. sometimes the underdogs tend to bully the better team in the early minutes of a game, but as the game progresses, then then better team begin dominate. We saw how the Mexicans bullied and almost scored against the Nigerian U-17 team in 2013 world cup final in the early minutes, but with time, Nigeria settled into the game and spanked them with 3-0.

Yea but the fact is that we made 2 crucial mistakes that could have been pounced on by a more clinical team. We ended up doing great but let us not feel like we have arrived. There is a big risk of complacency after such a big win just look at South Africa who have basically fallen apart after their win in Uyo.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 10:17am On Sep 03, 2017
krattoss:

no such thing as best losers in African qualification

You either top the group, or you don't qualify. It's only 5 spots for 5 group winners
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Sunnypa11(m): 10:54am On Sep 03, 2017
http://www.nigfooty.com/2017/09/nigeria-road-to-russia-2018-world-cup.html?m=1
Nigeria Russia 2018 Journey
Story So far☞
■Zambia 1-2 Nigeria
Goals from Iwobi and Iheanacho
Assists from Ndidi and Brown Ideye
Excellent performance from Mikel especially for the second goal and Ikeme
Goal Conceded from Omeruo's mistake
Goalkeeper: Carl Ikeme
Player Missed: Victor Moses,Leon Balogun
■Nigeria 3-1 Algeria
Goals from Victor Moses X 2 and Obi Mikel
Assists from Mikel Obi,Oghenekaro Etebo, Ahmed Musa
Goal Conceded from Onazi's mistake
Outstanding display from Etebo, Balogun, Victor Moses and John Obi Mikel
Goalkeeper: Daniel Akpeyi
Player Missed: Carl Ikeme
■ Nigeria 4-0 Cameroon
Goals from Odion Ighalo, Obi Mikel, Victor Moses and Kelechi Iheanacho
●Assists From Obi Mikel, Victor Moses, Moses Simon and Ogenyi Onazi
Outstanding Performers are Victor Moses, Leon Balogun, Obi Mikel, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Moses Simon, Odion Ighalo and Wilfred Ndidi.
Goalkeeper: Ikechukwu Ezenwa(Cleansheet)
Players Missed: Carl Ikeme,Daniel Akpeyi and Alex Iwobi
★Notable Stats
Victor Moses- 3goals,1assist
John Obi Mikel-2goals,2assist
Kelechi Iheanacho-2goals
Alex Iwobi- 1goal
Odion Ighalo- 1goal
Ahmed Musa- 1assist
Onyinye Ndidi- 1assist
Oghenekaro Etebo- 1assist
Moses Simon-1assist
Brown Ideye-1assist
Ogenyi Onazi- 1assist
■ Involvement in Goals Scored
Obi Mikel- 6
Victor Moses- 5
Alex Iwobi- 2
Brown Ideye- 2
Kelechi Iheanacho- 2
Ogenyi Onazi- 2
Onyinye Ndidi- 1
Ahmed Musa- 1
Leon Balogun- 1
Moses Simon- 1
Oghenekaro Etebo-1
Odion Ighalo- 1
■Cleansheet:Ikechukwu Ezenwa-1
■ Players Appearances
John Obi Mikel- 3
Elderson Echiejile- 3
Ogenyi Onazi- 3
William Ekong- 3
Wilfred Ndidi- 3
Kelechi Iheanacho- 3
Ahmed Musa- 3
Shehu Abdullahi- 3
Kenneth Omeruo- 2
Leon Balogun-2
Alexander Iwobi- 2
Victor Moses- 2
Moses Simon- 2
Carl Ikeme- 1
Oghenekaro Etebo- 1
Brown Ideye- 1
Anderson Esiti-1
Daniel Akpeyi- 1
Odion Ighalo- 1
Mikel Agu- 1
Ikechukwu Ezenwa- 1

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 11:22am On Sep 03, 2017
Nice stats. But when is an assist really an assist?
Sunnypa11:
http://www.nigfooty.com/2017/09/nigeria-road-to-russia-2018-world-cup.html?m=1
Nigeria Russia 2018 Journey
Story So far☞
■Zambia 1-2 Nigeria
Goals from Iwobi and Iheanacho
Assists from Ndidi and Brown Ideye
Excellent performance from Mikel especially for the second goal and Ikeme
Goal Conceded from Omeruo's mistake
Goalkeeper: Carl Ikeme
Player Missed: Victor Moses,Leon Balogun
■Nigeria 3-1 Algeria
Goals from Victor Moses X 2 and Obi Mikel
Assists from Mikel Obi,Oghenekaro Etebo, Ahmed Musa
Goal Conceded from Onazi's mistake
Outstanding display from Etebo, Balogun, Victor Moses and John Obi Mikel
Goalkeeper: Daniel Akpeyi
Player Missed: Carl Ikeme
■ Nigeria 4-0 Cameroon
Goals from Odion Ighalo, Obi Mikel, Victor Moses and Kelechi Iheanacho
●Assists From Obi Mikel, Victor Moses, Moses Simon and Ogenyi Onazi
Outstanding Performers are Victor Moses, Leon Balogun, Obi Mikel, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Moses Simon, Odion Ighalo and Wilfred Ndidi.
Goalkeeper: Ikechukwu Ezenwa(Cleansheet)
Players Missed: Carl Ikeme,Daniel Akpeyi and Alex Iwobi
★Notable Stats
Victor Moses- 3goals,1assist
John Obi Mikel-2goals,2assist
Kelechi Iheanacho-2goals
Alex Iwobi- 1goal
Odion Ighalo- 1goal
Ahmed Musa- 1assist
Onyinye Ndidi- 1assist
Oghenekaro Etebo- 1assist
Moses Simon-1assist
Brown Ideye-1assist
Ogenyi Onazi- 1assist
■ Involvement in Goals Scored
Obi Mikel- 6
Victor Moses- 5
Alex Iwobi- 2
Brown Ideye- 2
Kelechi Iheanacho- 2
Ogenyi Onazi- 2
Onyinye Ndidi- 1
Ahmed Musa- 1
Leon Balogun- 1
Moses Simon- 1
Oghenekaro Etebo-1
Odion Ighalo- 1
■Cleansheet:Ikechukwu Ezenwa-1
■ Players Appearances
John Obi Mikel- 3
Elderson Echiejile- 3
Ogenyi Onazi- 3
William Ekong- 3
Wilfred Ndidi- 3
Kelechi Iheanacho- 3
Ahmed Musa- 3
Shehu Abdullahi- 3
Kenneth Omeruo- 2
Leon Balogun-2
Alexander Iwobi- 2
Victor Moses- 2
Moses Simon- 2
Carl Ikeme- 1
Oghenekaro Etebo- 1
Brown Ideye- 1
Anderson Esiti-1
Daniel Akpeyi- 1
Odion Ighalo- 1
Mikel Agu- 1
Ikechukwu Ezenwa- 1
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 11:24am On Sep 03, 2017
Why CSKA Moscow's Samuel, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi Were Dropped From Super Eagles Squad

Aaron Samuel and ex-Flying Eagles star Ifeanyi Ifeanyi have been dropped from Super Eagles traveling party to Yaounde, contrary to earlier reports that the CSKA Moscow striker received an urgent phone call to return to China.

The Nigeria Football Federation were not comfortable with the size of the aircraft, and had to cut down on the number of players and officials initially meant to travel to the Cameroonian capital on Sunday morning.

''Aaron Samuel was dropped from the team because of the size of the chartered aircraft taking the team to Yaounde, it had nothing to do with him receiving a phone call to return to China,'' a top source told allnigeriasoccer.com .

''Ifeanyi Ifeanyi was also dropped. It's not a coincidence that the two players placed on the standby list were dropped.

''It also affected Nigerian Federation staff, some of them won't be on the plane to Yaounde''.

The Super Eagles players and officials will return to Abuja at the early hours of Tuesday, September 5, after tomorrow's game against the African champs.

**Ifeanyi Emmanuel.

Source: http://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_news.php?nid=24484
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 11:27am On Sep 03, 2017
Ok thanks
nelszx:

Against Zambia the second group game he played RB
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 11:28am On Sep 03, 2017
Nigeria face FIFA sanction after Ighalo yellow
By Colin Udoh, KweséESPN

Nigeria could face additional sanction from FIFA for Odion Ighalo's yellow card after his goal celebration.

Ighalo lifted his shirt to reveal a message that and was instantly booked booked by Egyptian referee Ghead Grisha.

"He told me that the message on my shirt was about religion because it's 'thank you Jesus'," Ighalo told KweséESPN.

Displaying unsanctioned commercial, political, religious or personal slogans or statements in undershirts are outlawed by FIFA and subject to additional sanction, mainly fines.

The most recent incident of a similar violation is Qatar, who warmed up for their World Cup qualifier against South Korea in June wearing T-shirts with the picture of Emir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani to show their support after several Gulf nations and Egypt cut ties with Qatar and imposed economic sanctions on Doha for allegedly supporting "extremism".

Referee Grisha is expected to include the incident in his report for further action by FIFA. Ighalo, who hobbled off with an ice pack after a barnstorming performance in Nigeria's 4-0 destruction of Cameroon on Sunday, has assured KweséESPN that it is nothing serious.

"It was just a tight hamstring, but I am fine now," Ighalo said.
That will be cause for a collective breath of relief across the country as the Super Eagles prepare to face Cameroon in the second of the twin fixtures on Monday.

Source: http://kwese.espn.com/football/nigeria/story/3195343/nigeria-face-fifa-sanction-after-ighalo-yellow?device=featurephone
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 11:32am On Sep 03, 2017
Yara Yara plsss get me TheGoodJoe's plank..... lemme reset Oga Krattoss' hippocampus so that he can rephrase.... wink I am sure there is a mix-up somewhere.... so make we finish second o kwa ya? angry

So you never know say Second na "Bye to Russia 2018".... angry Bia Oga.... take ya time oooooooo angry

krattoss:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 11:41am On Sep 03, 2017
OLA AINA CLEARED FOR NIGERIA DEBUT AGAINST CAMEROON
By Shina Oludare
@sportingshina

The defender will be available for selection against the Indomitable Lions after his nationality eligibility switch was approved by Fifa

Ola Aina is set to make his debut for Nigeria on Monday, having been cleared by the Federation of International Football Association.

The 20-year-old has been working on switching commitments from England to the Super Eagles as both his parents hail from Nigeria, despite him being born in London.

Aina had previously played for England’s age-grade teams and won the Uefa Youth League with Chelsea before he was sent to Hull City on loan, and he is now poised to begin his international career.

The decision will serve as a massive boost for Nigeria, who will now have several options in the defensive position that boast of William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun and Abdullahi Shehu.

The Hull City defender recently disclosed to Goal how John Obi Mikel helped him to make up his mind.

"The one person that I would say has been an influence to me a little bit is John Obi Mikel," he told Goal.

"I was first talking to him three years ago about it [playing for Nigeria]. Last season, the season before and the season before that.

"Two years on, it has finally happened. Anything that comes from Obi is respected and I was happy that he invited me to come and join the team.”

Nigeria top Group B of Africa World Cup qualifier after winning their opening three games, and should they win in the Cameroonian capital, they will have secured their spot in Russia.

Source: http://www.goal.com/en-ng/news/ola-aina-cleared-for-nigeria-debut-against-cameroon/18mf2lpzkwzlu1pdvxzhmow1n6

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 11:54am On Sep 03, 2017
krattoss:

Best loosers!!!! Where?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by joxxy01(m): 11:57am On Sep 03, 2017
Napoleon55:
explain how realistic Algeria from instance can still qualify. there is no way Nigeria will lose 3 games in a row,it's not happening.
don't be too sure...lets just pray they win cameroun and zambia dont win algeria then the 2 remain matches will just be friendly games. Like i said we shouldn't be complecant. We now have 1 home game 2 away games, anytin can happen o my broda
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 12:00pm On Sep 03, 2017
TheSuperNerd:
Yara Yara plsss get me TheGoodJoe's plank..... lemme reset Oga Krattoss' hippocampus so that he can rephrase.... wink I am sure there is a mix-up somewhere.... so make we finish second o kwa ya? angry

So you never know say Second na "Bye to Russia 2018".... angry Bia Oga.... take ya time oooooooo angry

You know all those kain people safarigirl calls plastic fans.

They only care because the EPL is on break.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 12:10pm On Sep 03, 2017
Napoleon55:
explain how realistic Algeria from instance can still qualify. there is no way Nigeria will lose 3 games in a row,it's not happening.

See how Algeria can still qualify:

Algeria Vs Zambia. Algeria wins.
Cameroon Vs Nigeria. Cameroon wins.

Cameroon Vs Algeria. Algeria wins.
Nigeria Vs Zambia. Draw or Zambia wins.

The final fixtures:
Algeria Vs Nigeria
Zambia Vs Cameroon.

Going into the final fixture, from the results of round 4 and 5 matches Nigeria could just be 2 points ahead of Algeria.

So if Algeria wins against Nigeria they qualify for the World Cup.

The Algerians would have also done this their best case scenario calculation and so will aim at beating Zambia. This could work things out better for us if we beat Cameroon tomorrow.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by AIG07: 12:11pm On Sep 03, 2017
Icon4s:

Best loosers!!!! Where?
in Europe.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 12:12pm On Sep 03, 2017
Lol make dem come Sidon near firewood
Icon4s:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 12:14pm On Sep 03, 2017
TheSuperNerd:
OLA AINA CLEARED FOR NIGERIA DEBUT AGAINST CAMEROON
By Shina Oludare
@sportingshina

The defender will be available for selection against the Indomitable Lions after his nationality eligibility switch was approved by Fifa

Ola Aina is set to make his debut for Nigeria on Monday, having been cleared by the Federation of International Football Association.

The 20-year-old has been working on switching commitments from England to the Super Eagles as both his parents hail from Nigeria, despite him being born in London.

Aina had previously played for England’s age-grade teams and won the Uefa Youth League with Chelsea before he was sent to Hull City on loan, and he is now poised to begin his international career.

The decision will serve as a massive boost for Nigeria, who will now have several options in the defensive position that boast of William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun and Abdullahi Shehu.

The Hull City defender recently disclosed to Goal how John Obi Mikel helped him to make up his mind.

"The one person that I would say has been an influence to me a little bit is John Obi Mikel," he told Goal.

"I was first talking to him three years ago about it [playing for Nigeria]. Last season, the season before and the season before that.

"Two years on, it has finally happened. Anything that comes from Obi is respected and I was happy that he invited me to come and join the team.”

Nigeria top Group B of Africa World Cup qualifier after winning their opening three games, and should they win in the Cameroonian capital, they will have secured their spot in Russia.

Source: http://www.goal.com/en-ng/news/ola-aina-cleared-for-nigeria-debut-against-cameroon/18mf2lpzkwzlu1pdvxzhmow1n6
Mikel Obi d new big boss,d dude always remind me of Stephen Keshi.Keshi was instrumental to mass exodus of Nigeria players to Europe in d late 80s and early 90s and was highly respected for showing others d way out.

Mikel has been so influential that most young players always pay tribute,player like Ndidi who said he always happy watching Mikel when he was growing up,still remeber Leon Balogun interview that he was a great admirer of Mikel even before he got invitation to eagles,same thing Mikel Agu.

Also Brown Ideye who said Mikel made it possible for his mega deal to China,ditto to Vic Moses who said Mikel told him not to go on loan again.Haruna Lukman said Obi Mikel my role model.Now Aina said Mikel made it possible for him to commit himself to Nigeria.

This is a good sign of a leader who want d best for d national team.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheSuperNerd(m): 12:14pm On Sep 03, 2017
Loooollll..... Hahahahahahahahaha.... Chief... I bia kwa.... u don come again... O ti wa leekansi oooo.... cheesy

Icon4s:

(1) (2) (3) ... (1394) (1395) (1396) (1397) (1398) (1399) (1400) ... (16531) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Amedino99(m), wayodude(m) and 15 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 76