Stats: 3,185,047 members, 7,925,300 topics. Date: Monday, 19 August 2024 at 01:22 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (1413) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12281304 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1410) (1411) (1412) (1413) (1414) (1415) (1416) ... (16531) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chrisooblog: 9:49am On Sep 04, 2017
BascoVanVeli:

I would like to see John Ogu play a part his size would be useful cuz I expect a physical encounter.
yes you are right John ogu will play a part hearing balogun is also carrying a knock anyone with news on that?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 9:53am On Sep 04, 2017
BascoVanVeli:

I wouldn't mind Etebo getting a run but u don't want to split up the winning team.
forget it..

the 23 players all in camp are in the winning team...
any player can do the damages...the difference that day was the presence of players like mikel, Moses and Leon..
these players have the potentials in making every players in the team play their best...
so etebo in the field today will do just well just like Moses would have done...

to be honest...had it been nwakeme was in the game on Friday...same goal nacho scored I believe he would have score too...
though I appluad nacho for his positioning
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 9:55am On Sep 04, 2017
Humility017:

yeah...he will get to know the players and familiarize wit the team
simply doing that..means we have gotten him...just like ebuehi
I doubt if the unity and team work in the SE presently will not convince any player to pick Nigeria
aina said that play a huge role in convincin him

I understand that but Aaron Samuel is a player who is coming back from a long term injury. Calling him up will give him a boost and add extra motivation to his cause. We also have to look after players we already have. Also Aaron must have come in handy during training at least to recreate the physical matchups that our defenders would be going through.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Naijaphobia(m): 9:58am On Sep 04, 2017
Noted

do4luv14:

ok ma prince, its 2-0, naija to win
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 9:59am On Sep 04, 2017
I just re-watched that Moses's goal and I observed that the ball slightly went pass one of the Cameroonians on its way to the net. If the same ball was played against any of the top teams like Spain and Germany their defenders would have made some slides to block the ball. Mikel almost scored against Spain in the 2013 confederations cup but he was denied by the sliding effort from Ramos, and I can also recall how he was also denied a goal by a slide too after dribbling about two players against Germany in the recent Olympics semi-final. what I am saying is that African players find it difficult to throw their bodies in making slides when an opponent is taking a shot in the 18 yard box. they prefer to stand to defend a ball that is heading towards goal instead of throwing the whole body in sidling. Even that Ighalo's goal could have been blocked by the defender in front of him if he made a quick slide. Nigerian defenders should never underestimate the importance of sliding especially in the world cup proper should in case Nigeria gets to qualify. so far I'm impressed with Balogun's slide-tackles.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 10:02am On Sep 04, 2017
Humility017:

forget it..

the 23 players all in camp are in the winning team...
any player can do the damages...the difference that day was the presence of players like mikel, Moses and Leon..
these players have the potentials in making every players in the team play their best...
so etebo in the field today will do just well just like Moses would have done...

to be honest...had it been nwakeme was in the game on Friday...same goal nacho scored I believe he would have score too...
though I appluad nacho for his positioning

Why not we should only invited those 3 and add shooting stars players from now on.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 10:02am On Sep 04, 2017
blueto:
I just re-watched that Moses's goal and I observed that the ball slightly went pass one of the Cameroonians on its way to the net. If the same ball was played against any of the top teams like Spain and Germany their defenders would have made some slides to block the ball. Mikel almost scored against Spain in the 2013 confederations cup but he was denied by the sliding effort from Ramos, and I can also recall how he was also denied a goal by a slide too after dribbling about two players against Germany in the recent Olympics semi-final. what I am saying is that African players find it difficult to throw their bodies in making slides when an opponent is taking a shot in the 18 yard box. they prefer to stand to defend a ball that is heading towards goal instead of throwing the whole body in sidling. Even that Ighalo's goal could have been blocked by the defender in front of him if he made a quick slide. Nigerian defenders should never underestimate the importance of sliding especially in the world cup proper should in case Nigeria gets to qualify. so far I'm impressed with Balogun's slide-tackles.
yeah...you're right
I think these quality I have seen only in Leon recently, mikel does too then at chelsea
many rarely do these...that's why we keep seeing dearth of Africa defenders in too European clubs...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 10:03am On Sep 04, 2017
BascoVanVeli:

Why not we should only invited those 3 and add shooting stars players from now on.
i thought you were serious...and i was just replying your mentions
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 10:07am On Sep 04, 2017
Humility017:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 10:10am On Sep 04, 2017
Humility017:

yeah...you're right
I think these quality I have seen only Leon recently, mikel does then at chelsea
many rarely do these...that's why we keep seeing dearth of Africa defenders in too European clubs...

You have to consider the surface of the field too. Many of the fields are not very good for sliding, and the risk of injury is highly increased. If you physically visit some of these fields that look good on TV, you will be surprised.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 10:11am On Sep 04, 2017
BascoVanVeli:

I would like to see John Ogu play a part his size would be useful cuz I expect a physical encounter.

Ogu has a very good passing range, reads the game well, has composure and the physicality needed for this game.

My concern is he lacks mobility is far from fast and is very defensive minded and struggles to go quickly from defensive to attack. He could get over run in fast paced midfield.

Onazi and Ndidi showed thier quality and discipline and quick thinking and the ability to go from defence to attack.

I expect us to have a counter attack approach when Cameroon Behind forward all guns blazing gung-ho, leaving space at thier rear for is to capitalise on.

I wouldn't change the team but would see if Echiejile improves. If he doesn't and is continously the weak link I would consider bringing in Aina.

Like to see Etebo come in at one stage and for sure I doubt if Ighalo can last the 90 minutes with hamstring strain. In that case let's see Nwakeme he is hungry and angry let him loose on Cameroon.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 10:13am On Sep 04, 2017
Humility017:

yeah...you're right
I think these quality I have seen only Leon recently, mikel does then at chelsea
Yes, we could see that the Cameroonians could not cause much damages to the defenses of those top teams in the world during the confederations cup because of their well-drilled defense, they even had good defensive mechanisms/techniques in defending against aerial threats from the Cameroonians, despite the Cameroonian "advantageous" physicality.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 10:16am On Sep 04, 2017
boostdom:

You have to consider the surface of the field too. Many of the fields are not very good for sliding, and the risk of injury is highly increased. If you physically visit some of these fields that look good on TV, you will be surprised.
if the fields are good enough for Balogun's slide-tackles, then i don't see why it shouldn't be good enough for making blocks.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 10:17am On Sep 04, 2017
blueto:
Yes, we could see that the Cameroonians could not cause much damages to the defenses of those top teams in the world during the confederations cup because of their well-drilled defense, they even had good defensive mechanisms/techniques in defending against aerial threats from the Cameroonians, despite the Cameroonian "advantageous" physicality.
yeah you're right....
to be honest winning the world is out of Africa reach for now...
alot needs to be done

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 10:18am On Sep 04, 2017
komekn:

Ogu has a very good passing range, reads the game well, has composure and the physicality needed for this game.

My concern is he lacks mobility is far from fast and is very defensive minded and struggles to go quickly from defensive to attack. He could get over run in fast paced midfield.

Onazi and Ndidi showed thier quality and discipline and quick thinking and the ability to go from defence to attack.

I expect us to have a counter attack approach when Cameroon Behind forward all guns blazing gung-ho, leaving space at thier rear for is to capitalise on.

I wouldn't change the team but would see if Echiejile improves. If he doesn't and is continously the weak link I would consider bringing in Aina.

Like to see Etebo come in at one stage and for sure I doubt if Ighalo can last the 90 minutes with hamstring strain. In that case let's see Nwakeme he is hungry and angry let him loose on Cameroon.
spot on....
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 10:23am On Sep 04, 2017
Humility017:

I was just joking na take ye easy.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 10:27am On Sep 04, 2017
komekn:

I say John Ogu because I am sure that the Cameroonians are going to resort to being extra physical. Maybe not as a starter but I foresee him being needed.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 10:30am On Sep 04, 2017
blueto:

Hit the nail on the head. I don't think players are trained to slide on the continent plus the fields are not always in the best condition to do such.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 10:34am On Sep 04, 2017
blueto:
if the fields are good enough for Balogun's slide-tackles, then i don't see why it shouldn't be good enough for making blocks.

Not to be pedantic but Balogun wasn't making SLIDE-tackles as such. He wasn't dragging his body on the field to make interceptions. He threw himself at the ball to make interceptions, then landed on the ground. Slide tackles are tricky to perfect, and for a defender it's dangerous, as it could lead to foul concessions. Right now, the rules have changed: If you slide tackle and you get the ball first, if there is a danger to your opponent, then a foul is called.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by signz: 10:46am On Sep 04, 2017
blueto:

I think it has to do with the foundation of most of African Players. We start out playing on hard surfaces in our streets and schools neither have grass nor astro turf pitches. Most footballers here learn sliding tackles or diving in their 20s when they finally get a club.

But Abroad kids are exposed to wonderful football pitches early in life. They learn diving and sliding tackles with very minimum injuries very early as compared to their mates in Africa (especially sub sahara Africa).

I assure you, you don't wanna dive or do sliding tackles on hard stony surfaces.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by terzurum5(m): 10:59am On Sep 04, 2017
Cameroon Coach Broos: Forget World Cup, We Can Win AFCON Again

By Nurudeen Obalola in Yaounde:

Following his team’s failure to reach the 2018 World Cup following last Friday’s 4-0 loss to Nigeria, coach of Cameroon’s Indomitable Lions Hugo Broos has appealed to Cameroonians to look forward to a successful defence of the African Cup of Nations which they are to host after winning in Gabon.

“I think we probably will not be in Russia next year. But after this World Cup, there will be AFCON 2019. We must prepare well for the AFCON. Hopefully, despite all the problems, that this AFCON will take place in this country. I believe that there is nothing more beautiful than to become a second African champion in his own country,” he said on Sunday at a press conference ahead of Monday’s return fixture against Nigeria.

Speculations raged in the aftermath of last Friday’s huge loss in Nigeria that he’s thrown in the towel but Broos has indicated that he wishes to stay in Cameroon at least until the next African Cup of Nations that Cameroon organizes in 2019.

“If it was up to me, I will stay in Cameroon. I am an ambitious person. There is no one in the world who has achieved all his projects.”

The Belgian made a glowing report of his time on the Cameroon job and gave himself a passmark.

He said: “When I arrived in Cameroon, I said that we must at all costs participate in the AFCON (2017 edition). We did it. Afterwards, I said that we must absolutely pass the first round: we did it. And we even did a little more; because we won the AFCON “.

On assumption, Broos had two missions. The first was to qualify and lead the national team to the semifinals of the African Cup of Nations 2017. The Belgian technician went a step better by leading the Lions to their fifth AFCON title in Gabon.

The second mission, to qualify the Cameroonian team for the next World Cup in Russia, has gone up in flames.

Going into Monday’s game, Cameroon sit in third place with two points behind Zambia on four points and group leaders Nigeria on nine maximum points.

https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/cameroon-coach-broos-forget-world-cup-can-win-afcon/

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by zoboizee: 11:00am On Sep 04, 2017
grin i used to do it back in the days. Monkey yansh after monkey yansh. Nobody told me never to do it again.
signz:

I think it has to do with the foundation of most of African Players. We start out playing on hard surfaces in our streets and schools neither have grass nor astro turf pitches. Most footballers here learn sliding tackles or diving in their 20s when they finally get a club.

But Abroad kids are exposed to wonderful football pitches early in life. They learn diving and sliding tackles with very minimum injuries very early as compared to their mates in Africa (especially sub sahara Africa).

I assure you, you don't wanna dive or do sliding tackles on hard stony surfaces.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by terzurum5(m): 11:15am On Sep 04, 2017
Why We May Lose To Nigeria Again – Cameroon Star

By Nurudeen Obalola in Yaounde:

Indomitable Lions of Cameroon midfielder Sebastien Siani has attributed the reason for his country’s 4-0 loss to Nigeria in last Friday’s World Cup qualifying game in Uyo to a lack of collective will by the players as each was trying to play for himself and reckons that they stand a risk of losing Monday’s return leg at the Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo in Yaounde.

According to reports monitored from cameroon-info.net, the KV Ostende of Belgium player had harsh words for his teammates even as the Lions prepare to face the Super Eagles in the return leg in Yaounde on Monday evening.

“We could not manage the game. It is a collective defeat. That allowed us to recognize our level. Today as long as we are not united, we can not play well to win. Against Nigeria, we did not play at our optimal level. Everyone played for himself and it was not to our disadvantage. It is important that we play collectively. We were not good enough in Nigeria and everyone is aware of what happened,” he said.

The Indomitable Lions face the Super Eagles with almost no hope of making it to Russia 2018 World Cup but Hugo Broos’ team will play for pride and attempt to end the World Cup qualifiers on a high note.

https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/may-lose-nigeria-cameroon-star/
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mumemma: 11:16am On Sep 04, 2017
Just heard Cameround has juju buried in dat stadium...

Its not Uhuru yet...we may not WIN....I pray make we fit draw o or we better pray well to remove d juju.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by terzurum5(m): 11:18am On Sep 04, 2017
Leon Balogun is Nigeria’s ‘Rock of Gibraltar’ – Rohr

Super Eagles technical adviser, Gernot Rohr, was full of praises for Mainz 06 of Germany de­fender, Leon Balogun, as he manned Eagles defence during the teams’4-0 humiliations of reigning African champions, Cameroon, in the Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying match in Uyo last Friday.

Rohr, who expressed his satisfac­tion with the central defence pairing of William Troost-Ekong and Leon Balogun described him as the Eagles German Machine..

The duo of Balogun and Ekong have been the favourite central de­fence pair of the Franco-German, since he took over as coach, and yes­terday, they stood tall for Nigeria.

“Balogun is our German Machine and we are glad to have him back. We lacked steel in the defence against South Africa and now, his partner­ship with William Troost-Ekong helped us win the game,”Rohr stated.

Rohr however sounded a note of caution that the return of both play­ers will only be worthwhile if every other person in the team performs his own role perfectly.

http://www.thebreakingtimes.com/leon-balogun-is-nigerias-rock-of-gibraltar/
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by terzurum5(m): 11:22am On Sep 04, 2017
Nigeria vs Cameroon: Five things that will assure another Super Eagles victory

The thought is still euphoric – 4-0 against the Indomitable Lions and a victory the Super Eagles thoroughly merited. But they have to go again on Monday in Yaounde where any win for the Gernot Rohr team would see them become the seventh team to qualify for the 2018 Russia World Cup.

In the match on Friday, the team showed five characteristics, which if replicated on Monday would ensure another victory – maybe not as emphatic!

Rohr must continue to be unemotional

Against Cameroon last Friday, the Super Eagles manager showed his unemotional [German] side. He dropped Kelechi Iheanacho and started Ikechukwu Ezenwa ahead of Daniel Akpeyi. Those changes showed a manager, who will put his side’s victory over any personal or collective affiliations. Iheanacho has been prolific for the Eagles in recent times but his showing against South Africa emphasised the fact that in African encounters, you need strikers that can occupy the central defenders and commit them. Odion Ighalo proved that point emphatically with the way he led the Eagles line last Friday. More of the same on Monday and the Eagles will be singing Russian tunes.

Mikel should play for just one hour

MIkel Obi is still irreplaceable for the Eagles. His experience and big-game know-how will be needed on Monday. His stature in the game would also help with any refereeing shenanigans but the China-based midfielder will lose steam as he is still not yet back to full match fitness. So Rohr should be ready with a very capable replacement on the hour mark. I would recommend John Ogu for the role because of his physique and aggressiveness but that is just my advice.

Replace Moses Simon with Nwakaeme

Moses Simon was very good last Friday but Monday’s encounter will be different, which is why a debut to Anthony Nwakaeme could prove to be a winning decision. The Isreal-based forward likes to attack from the flanks – he is fast, skillful and strong – qualities to withstand the expected extra aggression from the hurting Lions today.

Don’t start Aina

Yes, the right back slot, and even the left back positions are still problematic but it would be suicidal to hand Ola Aina a debut against the Lions. Aina is a strong, skillful full back but he will not be ready for the battle that will be fought on Monday. Shehu Abdullahi was okay last Friday and with more tactical instructions should be able to hold his own for another 90 minutes.

Do not allow any goal in the first 20 minutes

Last, but not the least, no matter the intimidation from the crowd and the opponents – the Eagles must keep the back door shut for at least the first 20 minutes. Whatever tempo and momentum set by the Cameroonians will be doused with this singular act. They can keep the ball, pass it around but free kicks, corner kicks should be minimised to shut the crowd up and amp the pressure on Hugo Broos and his players.

The mathematics has become very simple after Zambia beat Algeria – beat the Lions again and the Eagles can start looking for their hotel lodgings in Putin’s land. It is possible today!

http://www.premiumtimesng.com/sports/sports-features/242308-nigeria-vs-cameroon-five-things-will-assure-another-super-eagles-victory.html

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by terzurum5(m): 11:23am On Sep 04, 2017
SUPER EAGLES | Zambia rallies support to save Cameroon from further Humiliation

Posted By: Osita Duru

As the Super Eagles captain, Mikel John Obi, has insisted that the Eagles will complete their job of picking the Group B, Russia 2018 ticket with a resounding victory over the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon today in Younde, his Zambia counterpart and goalkeeper, Kennedy Mweene, is optimistic that Nigeria will not beat Cameroon again in Yaounde, just as his team aims to do the double over Algeria in forthcoming decisive 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

The road to Russia 2018 gathered momentum at the weekend with Nigeria cementing their leadership of their qualifying group with a 4-0 thrashing of Cameroon, while Zambia shot to second place, after they outscored Algeria 3-1 in Lusaka.

Mweene, who has taken over the captaincy of The Chipolopolo in the absence of Rainford Kalaba, has now said his team will gun for a second victory over bottom team Algeria on Tuesday and he does not expect Nigeria to win in Cameroon today, so as to leave the group’s qualification race wide open.

The South Africa-based shot stopper declared: “We are still not under pressure because of Nigeria’s lead. We are solely focused on getting at least six points against Algeria.

“If Nigeria wins in Cameroon and we win in Algeria, then it will be between us and them

“But mark my words, Nigeria won’t win in Cameroon, it won’t happen.” Mweene said.

http://www.thebreakingtimes.com/super-eagles-zambia-rallies-support-to-save-cameroon-from-further-humiliation/
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by terzurum5(m): 11:25am On Sep 04, 2017
Cameroon Vs Nigeria Preview : Moses, Mikel Star Men, Zambo Weakest Link, Set Pieces, Cautions

The Super Eagles of Nigeria look set to complete a double over the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon and could become the first African side to secure a place at the Russia 2018 World Cup today.

A win for Nigeria will take them to 12 points in a group that will also see Algeria host Zambia on Tuesday and with Algeria expected to win or pick at least one point in the game.

If these happen, then the Super Eagles would have booked their place at the Russia 2018 FIFA worldcup with two games to spare.

But a draw or a loss for the Super Eagles means they will have to wait for their next fixture which is at home against Zambia on October 7, 2017 to try and secure a place in Russia.

Super Eagles captain Mikel John Obi says why wait till next month when all they need to do is to beat Cameroon in Yaounde?

“We are just very keen to finish what we started. We started a job in Uyo and it is time to finish it. If we can pick the World Cup ticket by Monday, why wait any longer?

“We are all very confident, because we know our ability and what we are ready to bring to the party.” Mikel said.

The Super Eagles are at full strength and can count on experienced players like Captain Mikel John Obi, Victor Moses, Odion Ighalo and also the full complement of younger players like Moses Simon, Kelechi Iheanacho, Wilfred Ndidi, Leon Balogun and Troost Ekong for this game.

Nigeria clearly are the more confident side right now and they’re unbeaten in 33 world Cup qualifiers spanning more than a decade while Cameroon are without a win in four world Cup qualifiers coming into this encounter with their last win being in November 2015, a 3-0 win away in Niger Republic.

The Super Eagles have superior fire power and average 2.2 goals per game in their last five world Cup qualifiers while Cameroon averages one goal per game in their last five world cup qualifiers games.

The defensive solidity that helped Cameroon win AFCON in February, 2017 now seems to have deserted them, the Hugo Broos led team have shipped in 14 goals in their last five games in all competitions and sure had a lot of tired legs in their 4-0 loss to Nigeria three days ago.

Though the Indomitable Lions seem down but they still have their pride to play for.

Ahead of the game against Nigeria, Hugo Broos needs to find a credible replacement for France based midfielder Zambo Anguissa who was directly responsible for three of the four goals they conceded three days ago.

It was obvious that Cameroon’s midfield led by Sébastien Siani, Zambo Anguissa, Moumi Ngamaleu lost their plot against Nigeria’s Mikel John Obi, Ogenyi Onazi and Wilfred Ndidi.

The Cameroonians failed to create a clear cut chance for a front trio of Vincent Aboubakar, Christian Bassogog and Benjamin Moukandjo throughout the game.

A change of formation from a traditional 4-2-3-1 to a more attacking minded 4-4-2 might offer Vincent Aboubakar more support up front.

For the Super Eagles, there is no need to change a winning team, but the Eagles defenders should guide against unnecessary cautions as this could reduce their effectiveness.

The Cameroonian full backs Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui and Adolphe Teikeu both got booked within the first 26 minutes in the 4-0 trashing and could hardly commit to tackles throughout the remaining part of the game.

If Cameroon will score today, they are more likely to do so via set-pieces, so it is important that the Eagles concede less corner kicks and guide against set-pieces that could lead to aerial duels.

I expect the Gernot Rohr led Super Eagles to win this one but they might be unable to keep a clean sheet.

Once again Victor Moses, Mikel Obi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Odion Ighalo, Moses Simon or even Ahmed Musa should win this for Nigeria.

Bunmi Blair

http://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_news.php?nid=24498
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by terzurum5(m): 11:29am On Sep 04, 2017
Broos Denies Resignation Report, Suggest Nigeria Were Lucky In Uyo

Hugo Broos

Coach of the senior national team of Cameroon Hugo Broos has denied reports that he has quit his job as the coach of the senior national team of Cameroon after the heavy defeat they suffered in the hands of Nigeria.

” I’m still here as coach, I still can’t tell you how or where the news of my resignation started from but it’s not true”, Broos said after his team’s training session yesterday.

Ahead of today’s game, Broos played down the significant of Nigeria’s 4-0 win over his wards on Friday insisting that he didn’t have the full compliment of his wards for the game.

“Our defeat in Nigeria was a mistake. And we did not have the full complement of our team. The scoreline didn’t quite describe how the game went. We will give our best in tomorrow’s game and play for pride. I expect a difficult game, but we are ready.”

Patrick Joel LIVE in Yaoundé

http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/09/04/broos-denies-resignation-report-suggest-nigeria-were-lucky-in-uyo/
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by terzurum5(m): 11:32am On Sep 04, 2017
Family – Ex England Youth International Ola Aina Always Wanted To Play For Nigeria

A close relation to Super Eagles of Nigeria defender Ola Aina says the on loan Chelsea defender has always wanted to play for Nigeria long before he made the switch to Nigeria from England.

Aina represented England at various youth levels, before switching allegiance to Nigeria early this year but according to Dayo Michael he has always harboured the thought of playing for Nigeria.

” His switch to Nigeria didn’t come to us as a surprise at all. He has this thing for Nigeria that no one can contest. Aina is a big fan of Nigerian music just incase you don’t know”, Dayo told Owngoalnigeria.com.

” Even while he was representing England at youth level, he was keen on knowing what’s happening with the Nigeria national team. His love for the Super Eagles dates way back to when he was a kid growing up.

” When I read he has agreed to play for Nigeria, it wasn’t news to me because his love for the Super Eagles has never been in doubt. I wish most Nigerian players born abroad share same passion like Aina”.

Michael James

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 11:43am On Sep 04, 2017
BascoVanVeli:

Hit the nail on the head. I don't think players are trained to slide on the continent plus the fields are not always in the best condition to do such.
Ok, I think they should include it as part of the trainings for world cup, because I don't think they will they will be made to play on bad pitches in Russia

Cc signz
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by terzurum5(m): 12:00pm On Sep 04, 2017
Rohr’s Eagles Are Yet To Match The Class Of 94 Super Eagles – Emeka Ezeugo

A member of the 1994 senior national team of Nigeria Emeka Ezeugo says the present Super Eagles team who are one win away from qualifying for the World Cup 2018 in Russia are not as good as the 1994 team.

A win for Nigeria against Cameroon in Monday’s World Cup 2018 Qualifiers will qualify them for the World Cup in Russia, as it will give them an unassailable lead over other teams in the group.

They have won their first three games of the qualifying series beating Zambia 2-0 away in Ndola and also had impressive wins over Algeria, whom they defeated ‎3-1 and African champions Cameroon who were well beaten by four goals to nothing.

Despite the feat by the current players under the tutelage of coach Gernot Rohr, Ezeugo insist ‎they still have some way to go before they can be compared to the 1994 team.

” They are not there yet, and to be honest they are not far off either. But there’s still some way to go before they match or even surpass the feat of the 94 Eagles. Remember the 94 class won the Africa Cup of Nations”, Ezeugo told Owngoalnigeria.com.

” With all due respect to this team, the quality of players they have are also not on the same level like that of 94, but they are also talented in their own right. Probably the most talented bunch we’ve had in a while “.

Osas Mahawi

http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/09/03/rohrs-eagles-are-yet-to-match-the-class-of-94-super-eagles-emeka-ezeugo/

(1) (2) (3) ... (1410) (1411) (1412) (1413) (1414) (1415) (1416) ... (16531) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: jieta, Amedino99(m), Shegzdave and 12 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 111