Stats: 3,184,607 members, 7,924,052 topics. Date: Saturday, 17 August 2024 at 09:18 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (1934) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12267043 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1931) (1932) (1933) (1934) (1935) (1936) (1937) ... (16527) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 6:59pm On Oct 27, 2017
Mickael2:

that's right. But if they don't,which I think they won't, we get to rub it in
Your mind is made up. I see. Hahahaha hahahaha. You are free to rub it in but it won't enter. Even if Martins score 100 goals, he's done and dusted as far as the Eagles is concerned. Sentiments? Yes ooo, at least for this one.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 7:01pm On Oct 27, 2017
It's okay to read their news anyway. Just look for the facts, and feel free to share if you find any with substance.

Mujtahida:

I wanted to join in posting news but when I discovered that those guys spin and form news I just lost enthusiasm to do that.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 7:01pm On Oct 27, 2017
komekn:

I disagree you don't seem to appreciate the exceptional experiential quality that Obagoal can bring to the SE.
Ohhhhhh Sir komekn I have watched Martins play for the Eagles before na. There's no experience he will bring that is exceptional.

Abeg whatsup with Iorfa, those are the players we should be hankering for not papi dem.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 7:02pm On Oct 27, 2017
Kog45:
Honestly i don't want to come in since yesterday see guys debating on whether Martins deserves invitation.

But i read a moniker who said Martins is rich,connected and powerful to justify his reason for calling for Martins invitation,i just said what's going on.

On a role model,it's simple, Mikel may not be a role model to some but those who acknowledged him as one,we must respect their view.

I don't know Mikel but i know Martins very well right when he was nobody through my younger cousin who happened to share d same agent with him.They went to Italy courtesy Churchill.

Witt this i suppose to be biased but i w not coz we are talking of national team and we all want d best for d team.

When my friend Michael2 said something about Martins,Osaze,Ik Uche i told him 'I NO DEY O'truly they are Nigerians and if Rohr believe in them why not but just too glaring we don't need them,to come and do what winning WC for us.

I need no prophet to tell me that i'm that moniker you're talking about.

And I honestly do not find it funny.

You just can't come in midway into an argument I was having with someone else without having a full idea about the subject of the discussion was and then making conclusions on my behalf which was by far not in anyway the point I was trying to make.

I never said Obafemi's money or connections are good enough reasons for his inclusion in the SE, and I pick offence in you saying that.

If you've followed most of my posts, I wasn't in support of the idea of having Obagoal but was ready to support Rorh if he calls him up. Femi isn't a terrible player.

I was against people who were trying all their best to ridicule Martin's person and status.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 7:05pm On Oct 27, 2017
komekn:

I disagree you don't seem to appreciate the exceptional experiential quality that Obagoal can bring to the SE.

The diction you use is baffling, you talked about using the term EVEN.

You can't talk about EVEN with Tega Abrahams this guy is the youngest striker that is tearing up the premiership. How can you compare Dessers, Onuachu, and or Onyekuru to him even in terms of performance he is ahead of Ighalo and the darling of many KC.
Na 'even' you subject to critical linguistic analysis so? Well it was just a turn of word for emphasis to show that I'd rather we go for even(this word again) a Tammy (who appears out of reach) than go for Martins to show you that I can endure the stress of climbing mountains and swimming seven rivers to get Tammy than to take a stroll and get Martins. I never compared Tammy with Onyekuru or Dessers.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 7:07pm On Oct 27, 2017
Well I'm basing my opinion from the little I've seen and also considering he played as LB more than any other position in the 2016/17 season.
He played as a left back for a considerable number of minutes just as he did against Zambia in the Premier league that season.
He clocked 90 minutes as a LB in the EFL trophy and also a couple Premier League 2 games.

Icon79:
That's good news. Have you seen him play there? I mean, besides his cameo appearance in the game against Zambia?

O pari

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kingphilip(m): 7:09pm On Oct 27, 2017
Mickael2:

that's right. But if they don't, which I think they won't, we get to rub it in
that's to show you're 100% Martins will do the job for us
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 7:10pm On Oct 27, 2017
OMANBALA1:
In the world of blind men a one eyed man is a hero. I will wait for Harry Kane to move a little higher before I will take him serious. Granted he is a prolific score in a middle team premiership but he will flop in a balanced team like Arsenal,Man City,Chelsea or Man United. He is a typical English player like Alan Shearer. Even Rooney is more technical than Kane. Kane is strong ,fast and has great instincts for goal opportunities but he is not Aguero,Cavani, nor Lewandoski. Then again I have prejudice for English player...I think dont work a sshhit. Sorry guys,I dont like that country,their throne or what they stand for.
Prejudice for or against? Cos it seems against is more appropriate in the overall context of what you wrote. Omo leave the Queen's own land. Even for the sake of the English language I love Britain. grin grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 7:10pm On Oct 27, 2017
OMANBALA1:

Its not like this is gonna be the first time you were wrong....We will wait.

when did I make any wrong analysis? The Zambia game? I was spot on. Please refresh my memory
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 7:11pm On Oct 27, 2017
mank1234:

Statistically, Ighalo is better.
Take both to same terms:

Ighalo: 13 matches, 7.5 goals, 3 assist
Martins: 13 matches, 7 goals, 4 assist

If you're going by statistics alone, then Kanu Nwankwo was a flop for super eagles.

Statistics does not really tell true picture. An example, a very powerful short that hits the upright is counted as off target whereas a very feeble pass to the keeper is on target. A team with 70% more possession may actually have performed woefully if such possession was 80% in its own half.

Lolzz @bolded.

That's a mathematical langua. Are you a mathematician.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 7:13pm On Oct 27, 2017
tbaba1234:

Kelechi is your highest scorer in the qualifiers. Even at that, he has been dropped to the bench. His last goal for Nigeria was not that far away.

Kayode did not play games in the summer. May, June, July were holidays.

The chinese league was on in June and July.

Martins is not on form right now. When he returns to form, bring back your argument.
Not Kelechi but VicMo is highest goal scorer thus far with three goals. Mikel and KC are pinned together on two apiece
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 7:17pm On Oct 27, 2017
Mujtahida:

Not Kelechi but VicMo is highest goal scorer thus far with three goals. Mikel and KC are pinned together on two apiece

Ok, true. But in the last couple of years. Kelechi has been the most prolific.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 7:18pm On Oct 27, 2017
Mujtahida:

All of them must be given a chance. No discrimination, no sentiments. Please add John Utaka. He is still very active at CS Sedan Ardennes in France. Utaka scored a very important goal for us against Cameroon at Afcon 2004. We must call him too. I will post his recent stats by God's grace.

I pray for his grace to be abundant in your life as we'd be here together to see the Stats and possibly highlights. cheesy grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 7:18pm On Oct 27, 2017
I think Tammy achieved at 19 last season, what Ighalo achieved in the championship several years ago.
And he has started the Premier League brightly, just as Ighalo did as well. The lad is promising, I must admit. But his switch won't happen fast, we know how it went with Aina. So before then, lets have the likes of Onuachu. And let's see if they can bring anything to the table.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 7:21pm On Oct 27, 2017
Mujtahida:

Your mind is made up. I see. Hahahaha hahahaha. You are free to rub it in but it won't enter. Even if Martins score 100 goals, he's done and dusted as far as the Eagles is concerned. Sentiments? Yes ooo, at least for this one.

We just need to agree that if I am right at the end of the day, all those that called me a SE's enemy will eat their words. Sha until then me I no go talk again.

Cc Tbaba, Joebie
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 7:21pm On Oct 27, 2017
junnyjake:

I pray for his grace to be abundant in your life as we'd be here together to see the Stats and possibly highlights. cheesy grin
Omo I am still in the wilderness of Sedan searching for Utaka 's stats oooo. Anyway damn those stats. We must invite him.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 7:22pm On Oct 27, 2017
Depends on how you define active. Active to some means clocking some minutes. IMO If you play in a lower league, you should be banging over 25 goals. I remember Jonathan Akpoborie was the top scorer with 32 goals - if I still remember - in Bundesliga 2. The following year, he only managed about 14 goals with Hansa Rostock in the Bundesliga proper. So yes, you should get more goals in the lower league. Take a look at Dessers now. He's had a few already, but in the Dutch 2nd tier he was a machine gun.

Modified
Martins has had a decent run this season. Just 3 games without scoring, and now he's got an assist. Let's judge by the full season. His stats are as good as Ighalo's considering the time they've spent on the pitch this season.

Mujtahida:

All of them must be given a chance. No discrimination, no sentiments. Please add John Utaka. He is still very active at CS Sedan Ardennes in France. Utaka scored a very important goal for us against Cameroon at Afcon 2004. We must call him too. I will post his recent stats by God's grace.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 7:24pm On Oct 27, 2017
Uzoho should take his Spanish lessons very seriously. As a GK, communication is everything o.

He's still young and Spanish isn't really a difficult language to learn.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 7:25pm On Oct 27, 2017
Mickael2:

We just need to agree that if I am right at the end of the day, all those that called me a SE's enemy will eat their words. Sha until then me I no go talk again.

Cc Tbaba, Joebie
Me never called you Super Eagles enemy na. We just have divergent views. You, forgiveness and komekn are team Obagoal and co. While myself, safarigirl, elyte89, Icon4s, Humility017 are against their recall. I'm very much comfortable with differences in opinions.
Because you get that Zambia prediction correct you dey feel like prophet abi grin grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 7:25pm On Oct 27, 2017
Mujtahida:

Omo I am still in the wilderness of Sedan searching for Utaka 's stats oooo. Anyway damn those stats. We must invite him.

hahahahaha hahahaha grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 7:29pm On Oct 27, 2017
Well the truth is just as there is no guarantee Martins will perform if called up, there is also no guarantee the likes of Dessers will hit the ground running immediately if called up. But from the bottom of my heart, I really wish the young guys well.

Mickael2:

Cc Tbaba, Joebie
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 7:31pm On Oct 27, 2017
Joebie:
Depends on how you define active. Active to some means clocking some minutes. IMO If you play in a lower league, you should be banging over 25 goals. I remember Jonathan Akpoborie was the top scorer with 32 goals - if I still remember - in Bundesliga 2. The following year, he only managed about 14 goals with Hansa Rostock in the Bundesliga proper. So yes, you should get more goals in the lower league. Take a look at Dessers now. He's had a few already, but in the Dutch 2nd tier he was a machine gun.

Modified
Martins has had a decent run this season. Just 3 games without scoring, and now he's got an assist. Let's judge by the full season. His stats are as good as Ighalo's considering the time they've spent on the pitch this season.

Joebie if you understand my position seriously you will rest from bringing in Martin's performance. I am being sentimental here(pardon me and indulge me). My position is that his era is gone, his time is up, his season has ended in the Super Eagles. Every dog has his day.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 7:31pm On Oct 27, 2017
Unless a player has retired from the national team, he can be invited if he is in good form. So if Martins hits top form before the world cup, he can be invited to see how he matches with others in the team .

Realistically, i do not see this invitation happening because there are just a few slots open in the attack department. The coach probably already has a shortlist of players, he will have a closer look at before the world cup.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 7:37pm On Oct 27, 2017
ALGERIA-NIGERIA DEAD RUBBER FALL OUT

Madger Bank on Nigeria Win as Confidence Booster for CAN 2019 Qualification (Retitled by Joebie)

“If we start with a win over Nigeria, it will help the confidence qualifying for CAN 2019. I am very proud to have been chosen and to feel this confidence around me,” Madjer told Lagazette du Fennec.

The Algeria soccer legend who is in his third stint as coach of the team also hit back at critics of his appointment, insisting that he will answer them with results on the pitch.

“Yes, I am attacked by journalists, by people on social networks. But I can assure you that I feel a lot of confidence from a majority of the public. I see it when I go out on the street.

“But we know that I will be judged on the results. And so this match against Nigeria is very important.”

Culled from OwnGoalNigeria
Link: http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/10/27/a-win-against-nigeria-would-be-a-turning-point-for-algeria-football-rabah-madjer/

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 7:39pm On Oct 27, 2017
junnyjake:

hahahahaha hahahaha grin
I tell you. I search tire. Dusting these guys ain't easy work oooo but we must call them. Oboabona is in Saudi Arabia. Those ones don't even know what stats are. But we must call him.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 7:39pm On Oct 27, 2017
tbaba1234:
Agent Confesses- Eagles Coach Rohr Turned Down Big Money To Invite My Player

The appointment of Gernot Rohr has made it almost impossible for player agents to buy their way into the senior national team of Nigeria according to a player agent who spoke with Owngoalnigeria.com.

Since the coming of Rohr over a year ago, a lot has changed in the fortunes of the Super Eagles on the pitch, but more significant is the progress made outside the pitch.

” A lot has changed especially for us who are player agents, I don’t know about others but I use to have six players in the Super Eagles, some I paid for them to be called up, while some were there on merit”, he told Owngoalnigeria.com.

” I must confess I have not given money directly to any coach before, but there are guys who do the leg work and get the job done but with Rohr nobody wants to take such risk. His body language is enough to discourage you.

“Presently I have one player in the team and he isn’t doing badly at all‎, which is why he is still in the team, at a time I have a player who is now playing in a league not befitting for his standard.

I tried using the Super Eagles to increase his market value but despite my big money offer, I was told in clear terms that Rohr works with his scouts who are mostly unknown. He will collect the player’s name and ask them to monitor”, he concluded.

Osas Mahawi

http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/10/27/agent-confesses-eagles-coach-rohr-turned-down-big-money-to-invite-my-player/

@bolded is the point I have been making till date and I will keep doing it.

How some players get into the national team as bench warmers and from obscure leagues do spur my curiosity on such dubious acts but people think say I dey crazy.

Those who came from different backgrounds will find it very difficult to get into the system because of their norms.

I have studied the trend of things for donkey years before arriving at this assertions.

I still dey observe.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 7:40pm On Oct 27, 2017
Okay you are sentimental fine. Let's see if Rohr is. Abi na you dey do the invites?

Mujtahida:

Joebie if you understand my position seriously you will rest from bringing in Martin's performance. I am being sentimental here(pardon me and indulge me). My position is that his era is gone, his time is up, his season has ended in the Super Eagles. Every dog has his day.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 7:41pm On Oct 27, 2017
Mujtahida:

Me never called you Super Eagles enemy na. We just have divergent views. You, forgiveness and komekn are team Obagoal and co. While myself, safarigirl, elyte89, Icon4s, Humility017 are against their recall. I'm very much comfortable with differences in opinions.
Because you get that Zambia prediction correct you dey feel like prophet abi grin grin

grin grin grin but no be prediction ooo, I said it repeatedly and strongly too. Meanwhile I go still declare the results of our next matches
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by korlahwarleh: 7:42pm On Oct 27, 2017
Good evening. I'm quite new here and I've been following for some time.
Please I want to ask, is experience not needed for qualifiers?
Because with the vast "experience" people someone like Martins had/has, I did not see people clamouring for his recall during the qualifiers, or did he just gather these "experience" after we qualified?
Also, I remember that when we won AFCON, we did not make use of Martins' experience. So why make it look as if the team is weak and vulnerable because they're not employing Martins' "experience"?
Another question is this: Are all the coaches in premiership, la liga, French League, Bundesliga e. t. c blind? Why haven't they noticed Martins' "experience" or they do not want "experienced players in their squad?
Please tell me, will Martins listen to Mikel both on and off the pitch? Will Martins see Mikel and Onazi as his senior in the team?
Lastly, all these talks of "we don't have a team yet", "are these the guys we're taking to Russia?" e. t. c
Please this is national team football not club football where you shop for the best. The current team is at least close to the best or even the best the country can produce. it's not as if we have four players in Real Madrid, 3 in Barcelona's first eleven, and 2 in Man U and Bayern respectively that we're not inviting. I don't think we can do more than this. Maybe we should wait till when we can begin to buy and sell players also in national team football. I bet it with you that even when that time comes, the Ronaldos, Messis and the good players of this world will. e playing for countries like Qatar, UAE, and China. (You should know why). So, the best we can do is to support the current team. Please let's allow Martin's to enjoy his pension in peace. I just want to belief that neither Martins nor his Family members/Agent is behind any of these pro-Martins monikers

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 7:43pm On Oct 27, 2017
Joebie:
Well the truth is just as there is no guarantee Martins will perform if called up, there is also no guarantee the likes of Dessers will hit the ground running immediately if called up. But from the bottom of my heart, I really wish the young guys well.

Simple, so how do we know the ones that will hit the ground running? Sha don't start another argument abeg, until we finish the next international break grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 7:45pm On Oct 27, 2017
junnyjake:

I need no prophet to tell me that i'm that moniker you're talking about.

And I honestly do not find it funny.

You just can't come in midway into an argument I was having with someone else without having a full idea about the subject of the discussion was and then making conclusions on my behalf which was by far not in anyway the point I was trying to make.

I never said Obafemi's money or connections are good enough reasons for his inclusion in the SE, and I pick offence in you saying that.

If you've followed most of my posts, I wasn't in support of the idea of having Obagoal but was ready to support Rorh if he calls him up. Femi isn't a terrible player.

I was against people who were trying all their best to ridicule Martin's person and status.

My man u are wrong,am referring to Krattos comment that said Obagoal is d richest,highly connected,,most powerful Nigeria player and a baller.

Likely u share similar view for u to think am referring to u coz i had healthy arguments with u and we move on.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 7:46pm On Oct 27, 2017
Mickael2:

grin grin grin but no be prediction ooo, I said it repeatedly and strongly too. Meanwhile I go still declare the results of our next matches
Yes yiu did. You were spot on on that one but d stretch it ooo.

(1) (2) (3) ... (1931) (1932) (1933) (1934) (1935) (1936) (1937) ... (16527) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Christinu2, AlphaNugget(m), Zellas, 123jamessmith, elyte89, lbrichman2, Dathypebruv(m), Yachambliss(m), Pidginwhisper, KpagoGIN(m) and 18 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 86