Stats: 3,175,141 members, 7,893,919 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 July 2024 at 06:39 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (2049) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12103900 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2046) (2047) (2048) (2049) (2050) (2051) (2052) ... (16445) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jotey(m): 7:28pm On Nov 09, 2017
nelszx:

You mean he can just stroll into the team and pick a starting shirt?

I no be rohr na

I heard he will join the eagles squad in Russia for the friendly
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 7:39pm On Nov 09, 2017
nelszx:

a 'debut' does not translate to a starting shirt.

Aina's debut was against Zambia last month and he was only on for about ten minutes
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by PDPGuy: 8:30pm On Nov 09, 2017
Icon79:
Yup. I had already programmed a reminder on my DVR - 3 days in advance grin

O pari

Nice

I don’t have DVR capability cos I’m using Sling TV. There should be replays of the games in case I don’t get to watch them live.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 8:31pm On Nov 09, 2017
nelszx:

Sentiment aside who should be displaced in his stead?

Check these.....

Nigeria vs Zambia, 2-1 Mikel was instrumental.

Nigeria 3-1 Algeria, Mikel was instrumental, even scored.

Nigeria 4-0 Cameroon, Mikel was instrumental, even scored.

Cameroon 1 vs 1 Nigeria, Mikel was okay.

Zambia 0-1 Nigeria, Mikel was instrumental.

This is a guy that makes the team play well, if he isn't there then that list makes no sense. VicMo missed a lot of games

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon79(m): 8:39pm On Nov 09, 2017
Sling TV? Do you like it? How does it work? Do you get all the channels, including movie and sports channels? How much do you pay per month?

I am thinking about making a change because Verizon is killing me with charges. Problem is, even if I find a cheaper TV service they would jerk up their internet fees!

O pari

PDPGuy:

Nice

I don’t have DVR capability cos I’m using Sling TV. There should be replays of the games in case I don’t get to watch them live.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elyte89: 9:00pm On Nov 09, 2017
Mickael2:

Check these.....

This is a guy that makes the team play well, if he isn't there then that list makes no sense. VicMo missed a lot of games

Moses only missed d 1st match..
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 9:15pm On Nov 09, 2017
Mickael2:

Check these.....

you wrote wisdom bro....
I wonder how they came up with that list....'
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Clementoke(m): 9:16pm On Nov 09, 2017
Mickael2:

Check these.....

Though a fan of Mikel, I feel playing well in the qualifiers might not be enough to displace any of those who made that WCQ qualifiers best eleven unless if you can prove that he was actually better than the midfielders selected.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 9:24pm On Nov 09, 2017
Mickael2:

Check these.....

If this is coming from you then no one else needs to be convinced about Mikel's abilities and input in the team.

That is why I call him "the orchestrator".

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 9:35pm On Nov 09, 2017
you mean go to the world cup?
Well, as first choice, it's not impossible. If he gets more games for Deportivo, he would have a good case.

Icon79:
Something tells me that Uzoho might be our World Cup goalkeeper though.

O pari

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by PDPGuy: 9:58pm On Nov 09, 2017
Icon79:
Sling TV? Do you like it? How does it work? Do you get all the channels, including movie and sports channels? How much do you pay per month?

I am thinking about making a change because Verizon is killing me with charges. Problem is, even if I find a cheaper TV service they would jerk up their internet fees!

O pari

Yes. I’d rate their service 9/10 just because the streaming breaks off, occasionally, when it’s projevted to a tv via chrome cast. But other than that, they’re pretty decent, even to the extent of providing On-demand videos.

There are 3 subscription options:
Sling Orange - $30/month. Carries FS1 and FS2, and ESPN plus other networks for news, movies etc

Sling Blue - $25/month. Carries only Fox Sports channels, but no ESPN

Sling International- $10/month. This is the one that carries BeIN and some non-US Sports channels (it doesn’t carry Super Sports though).

There’s a 7-day free trial period with any of the subscription options. It’s after the free period expires that your card will be charged.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 10:08pm On Nov 09, 2017
Humility017:

even you...you started rate Tammy highly after his exploits in the epl this season...
I remember often a time I ask and talked to you about him here...you always express your reservations probably because you wanna promote your player....Fred onyedimma at millwals....

let me blow your mind a little....do you know that pinnick have been on Tammy Abraham case right from when he was in Chelsea under 19....
from wat I know...he was ready to throw him into the ring just like the case of iwobi....but...his dad and the lad kept sayinh his focus for now....is to keep up wit his development and progress rheough the English yoith systems......

so I wont blame pinnick in this case...mind you iwobi games for the super eagles prior becominh a full fledge member for arsenal first team...were only friendlies I think against Congo or so in Brussels...

while on his arrival prior the Egyptian game in kaduna...Roy hodgson was still trying to stop him and get him into the under 21 set up by sending mails...but right there at the airport his mind was made up...
I bet you someone like Tammy would have a rethink....

but to him....his mind was made up....against Egypt that was his competitive match....
so before then he was already playing first team football for arsenal...

so cut pinnick some slack in a bid to defend some of your English overhyped average players. ....

Firstly, I have known Tega since he was 15 and been watching him since. I started rating him when he tore up the championship at Bristol then even higher now at Swansea.

When you say Amaju has been talking to him since he was 19 that doesn't make sense. He turned 20 last month so how long has he been talking to him a few months. What's the nature of his relationship seen him once or twice maybe thrice. That is an acquaintance. So how are you blowing my mind. And where Amaju is concerned you do not know him.

Iwobi was never a big fish for England he didn't even play U19 most top rated players will be in the U19 at 17. He certainly wasn't, that is misrepresentation with the intent to mislead. He had no decision to make furthermore he had his Uncle JJay to present his case and cement it.

Let's be specific which English players are being overhyped in your opinion by me

You mentioned Fred Onyedinma as being overhyped. An acid test of quality adaptability and ability is to play in a predominantly kick and rush league that's physical tasking and still be technically astute. That's what made Dele Alli, Gomez, Ademola, walk into the EPL as teenagers from League 1.

Fred Onyedinma at the age of 17 was winning MOTM awards in the championship he decided to stay at Millwall in my opinion a wrong decision. This summer he again rejected a move to Watford. He is continously being acknowledged as a technically gifted player.

Fred Onyedinma is still 20. In addition he was born in Nigeria so the foreign born English player tag is wrong. When you still have EPL clubs interested in you it's not past glories but present continous quality. If that is what you call being overhyped then, what would you call players who are in backwater leagues who are anonymous in those leagues

I have mentioned Tega Onomah, you think he is overhyped compare him to any of our midfielders and consider his passing range, vision, interceptions, and end product delivery. He was the foundation of England U20 world cup squad.

I could talk about Iorfa when he played as a teenager with Wolves in the same season when Omeruo was at Middlesbrough. Iorfa was winning MOTM awards and best young defender in the championship. What did Omeruo win. Promotion to Turkish league Make a personal stats comparison and you will see the gulf.

Chuks Aneke is a stand out player in League one without doubt. I compared him to Ogu and felt that Aneke had more to offer. Aneke wants to play football on the deck and rebuild his career, after injury otherwise there are at least 15 Championship teams that will have him. A player when he was at Arsenal turned down an offer to go to Barcelona, is that over hype.

Are these over hyped players now compare them to players who have almost never played first team for thier parent clubs but in the SE. Sone of them have not played up to half the number of games they have played. They are young but experienced professionals.

Your approach is to denigrate based on negative deep seated prejudice it's bigotry. Why do you hate these players so much

By the way I knew Freds coaches but have never spoken to him.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 10:51pm On Nov 09, 2017
Naijaphobia:
Barring any last minute change(s) our line-up against Algeria below:

Wilfred Agbonnibare

Eguanvon. Okechukwu. Okafor. Iroha.

Amunike. Oliseh. Adepoju. Finidi.

Amokachi. Yekini

Coach: Clemence Westerhof

Fifa 1994 Worldcup qualifiers

Venue: Algiers

Time: 8:30pm

OI was still very young at that time bout I read an article about it.

I wonder how they played so well against our team but were out of the rest even before their last fixture against us.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 10:56pm On Nov 09, 2017
Icon4s:

If this is coming from you then no one else needs to be convinced about Mikel's abilities and input in the team.

That is why I call him "the orchestrator".
That guy is the backbone of our midfield. We need another of his kind badly.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Clementoke(m): 11:03pm On Nov 09, 2017
I wish Ebuehi start tomorrow. I want to watch him play

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Orkpekyandega(m): 11:30pm On Nov 09, 2017
AF 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers - Africa

PLAYER SPOTLIGHT: Riyad Mahrez – Algerian coach Rabah Madjer banking on Leicester player to beat Nigeria

Riyad Mahrez of Algeria battles Nigeria 's Etebo

by Phumzile Ngcatshe

Although Algeria are out of the race to book a spot at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, the Desert Warriors will still have to protect their dignity when they meet Nigeria.

The thrilling encounter is set to be staged in Constantine on Friday as the North Africans will hope to boost their morale after a poor campaign.

Having a new coach in Rabah Madjer, the Algerians are aware that a win will ease their dismal qualifying campaign.

Madjer will lead the side for the first time after the axing of Lucas Alcaraz last month, and he wants a win to start his tenure on a high.

However, he will not make it happen alone and that is why players such as Riyad Mahrez and Islam Slimani must be in an uncompromising mood to down the Super Eagles.

"Our team is in crisis, it has been a difficult period for the players and that is why we have to get back to winning matches immediately (defeating Nigeria)," stressed Madjer.

Madjer will bank on the Leicester City winger as he has been impressive in the English Premier League in recent times.

africanfootball.com/news/734320/PLAYER-SPOTLIGHT-Riyad-Mahrez-Algerian-coach-Rabah-Madjer-banking-on-Leicester-player-to-beat-Nigeria
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by solonnachi: 11:59pm On Nov 09, 2017
Please what is the time for the Algeria v Nigeria match? Which station will show the game
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kalapizim(m): 12:15am On Nov 10, 2017
Clementoke:
same here too, that boy is gonna be something great. The same way I felt about Mikel in 2005 and Isco during the U17 world cup is the same optimistic feeling I have towards him.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 12:46am On Nov 10, 2017
komekn:

I would because Enyeama is simply much better no argument

The way we discard players is baffling. Hope got injured playing for Nigeria and then we said bye bye. Is that how a players should be treated Who replaced him and where they actually better

Injury was an issue but it wasn't the only issue. Anichebe withdrew himself in discontent.

Sone Aluko was discarded because he didn't play ball and agree to settle. Finito.

All these players that were discarded at the core if the problem. They do not understand the politics of settlement in Nigerian football in the first instance. Secondly the concept is so alien to them it's abhorrent.

NFF also know that these boys will not settle they are not desperate. That's why they keep inviting them on the pages of newspapers and on the media and giving. msinformation. That some of us wilfully gobble up without drinking water sef.

We are Nigerians let's not pretend we know without an iota of doubt. What is normal, endemic and ingrained practice in our institutions.

For Hope, he played under Keshi, after then we've had 3 other managers, and seems they all in common had tactics not really favorable to Hope. One can make that argument.

Would he bench Ndidi, the best tackler in the EPL? Onazi - the workhorse?? or Mikel the general? The fact that you're foreign born shouldn't be enough to keep you in the team, you must offer something special, and I've seen hope in action this season at the carabo cup.

If anichebe withdrew in discontent, it's not our fault that we had to move on. He was very much in the frame of the team then.

Na Aluko own de pain me pass, but seems there is something happening underneath that we're not aware of. Coz, I do that see how anyone would prefer Simon to Aluko.

I know that there might be bribery and corruption going on, but I can't say Rorh is influenced by such with his selection.

Enyeama is better, no doubt about that. That wasn't even my argument. But we were ready to move on after realizing ikeme wasn't that much of a bad choice
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 12:49am On Nov 10, 2017
Humility017:

Obi Mikel Finally Opens Up On Transfer War Between Chelsea, Man Utd For His Services

Nigeria captain John Obi Mikel has finally lifted the lid on the transfer war between Chelsea and Manchester United for his services more than a decade ago.
Mikel initially signed for the Red Devils on April 29, 2005, but the midfielder eventually joined Chelsea a year later after they paid £16 million to the Old Trafford outfit and Lyn Olso.
The other actors involved in the case were Lyn director Morgan Andersen, agents Rune Hauge, John Shittu, Daniel Fletcher and Jerome Anderson, managers Alex Ferguson and Jose Mourinho and Mikel's father, who wanted his son to join United ahead of Chelsea until he was approached by Shittu.
Mikel told The Sun : ''It was surreal, I was at school, but had Chelsea and Manchester United — two of the world’s biggest clubs — trying to sign me. I’ll never forget that second meeting with Sir Alex. I’d signed a deal at United but had to tell him: ‘Sorry, I want to play for Chelsea’.
''He really liked me but I could see how angry and disappointed he was.
''Some things he told me made me think about changing my mind but I was thinking about Jose, too.
''I had these two great managers wanting me and I did not know what to do.
''Fergie told me: ‘Why would you turn down United? It’s the biggest club in the world. You cannot do that. You have to say Yes’.
''As a footballer, you have to make decisions that you live with for the rest of your life.''
Mikel was successful at Chelsea, winning the Champions League and Europa League, two Premier League titles, four FA Cups and two League Cups in his 11 years there.
Igho Kingsley

source: ANS

There is more to this story jare.

Why then is Anderson in jail?? Mikel, no use our head play o.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 1:05am On Nov 10, 2017
I hate 'tags' more than anything in this life. A Nigerian player is a Nigerian player, irregardless of where you were born or the color of your skin.

Who are we expecting to put up structures to develop football on the homefront?? the- red-beret-wearing-minister who doesn't see need for preparations before competitions or a Baba who doesn't care about or is oblivious of the importance of the fans club?

I don't care if we have Somalian born, Pakistani born, Libyan born, Eritrea born etc in our team, so long they are the best we have and can get us the WC trophy, that's all.

We're as a people are just too emotional about unnecessary things. I was once on the team Patriotism team, but had to join Jobie's camp after thinking things true.

The term patriotic is vague, so therefore we should seek for the best, and whatever measures we pit in place to achieve that?? I don't wanna know, just that we have the personnel who can put us up there as one of the great footballing nations.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 1:47am On Nov 10, 2017
nelszx:

Aren't we looking for the best??

The LB position has been our weakest point. And if Brian convinces Rorh in training then what should stop him?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kingphilip(m): 1:50am On Nov 10, 2017
Victor Osimhen scored the first goal in his side's 2:1 win over fc Twente in a club friendly yesterday

He scored in the 53rd minute

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kingphilip(m): 1:54am On Nov 10, 2017
Umar Sadiq scored in the 16th minute to put his side on course to trumping ASD Calcio Chieri 1955 3:0

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 5:39am On Nov 10, 2017

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 5:57am On Nov 10, 2017
MetalJigsaw:
That guy is the backbone of our midfield. We need another of his kind badly.

Alex Iwobi is stepping up. He is expected fully step into that AM position once Papa Mikel is ready to hang his boots.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 6:03am On Nov 10, 2017
Based on reports, i suspect that this could be the starting line up

Ezenwa
Aina
Shehu
Ekong
Balogun
Ogu
Ndidi
Etebo
Iwobi
Nwakaeme
Iheanacho
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by ersonleads(m): 6:08am On Nov 10, 2017
Clementoke:
yes o! Ebuehi & Nwankaeme really needs to start cos dey av been patient enough
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:08am On Nov 10, 2017
Naijaphobia:
Barring any last minute change(s) our line-up against Algeria below:

Wilfred Agbonnibare

Eguanvon. Okechukwu. Okafor. Iroha.

Amunike. Oliseh. Adepoju. Finidi.

Amokachi. Yekini

Coach: Clemence Westerhof

Fifa 1994 Worldcup qualifiers

Venue: Algiers

Time: 8:30pm

Hmmm...this game.

Algeria was also already out then. The ticket was between Nigeria and CIV. We lose, we are out. We needed at least a draw in that last game.

The Algerians played their best game of the campaign. We were not at our best and managed to escape with a draw. Our first World Cup ticket!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:09am On Nov 10, 2017
tbaba1234:
Based on reports, i suspect that this could be the starting line up

Ezenwa
Aina
Shehu
Ekong
Balogun
Ogu
Ndidi
Etebo
Iwobi
Nwakaeme
Iheanacho

Hmmm a 4-4-2.

OK o the next couple of hours will tell.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 6:13am On Nov 10, 2017
Icon4s:

Hmmm a 4-4-2.

OK o the next couple of hours will tell.

Nwakaeme usually plays from the left at club level so he might be on the left with Iwobi on the right.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 6:16am On Nov 10, 2017
19 year old, Tayo Edun (Adetayo Oluwatosin Olusegun Edun) was invited to train with England. England is trying to make these young men of dual nationalities feel wanted.

(1) (2) (3) ... (2046) (2047) (2048) (2049) (2050) (2051) (2052) ... (16445) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Mujtahida and 8 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 81