Stats: 3,184,905 members, 7,924,848 topics. Date: Monday, 19 August 2024 at 12:20 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (2893) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12275914 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2890) (2891) (2892) (2893) (2894) (2895) (2896) ... (16530) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Oasis007(m): 11:07pm On Feb 24, 2018
Mujtahida:

Rohr is obsessed with young players. It was that defeat to South Africa that tamed him. So I doubt if he'd look Aiyenugba's way

I'm 0% Certain he's gonna invite Dele. He has limited his Options to 5 Keepers, and he's gonna pick 3 out of the 5 to the World Cup.

Based on my Perception, Uzoho and Ezenwa are definitely going to the World Cup bar Injury. Akpeyi, Alampasu and Ajiboye gonna have to battle it out for th last Spot.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Edopesin: 11:11pm On Feb 24, 2018
AIG07:
E be like se FIFA don change our world cup opponents to Malta, Vanuatu and Omar.

Make March come make we see wetin Baba Rohr wan do.
Countries with name like some alcohol beverage
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by CaptainStephen(m): 11:11pm On Feb 24, 2018
AIG07:
that will be suicidal. Echiejile that can not run and can't use is right foot to kick the ball is the one you want to start as a LCB in 3 man defence.

Okay o o o... I go just watch the match with one eye closed.
yeah he is short on pace and as for the right foot I think he will cope sha. just my opinion sir.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 11:12pm On Feb 24, 2018
komekn:

I'll ask you a few questions.

Where was the most expensive center back in the world playing before he went to Southampton.

Where was Wanyama one of the best defensive midfielders in the EPL playing before ending up at Tottenham

Which club refused a £50 million offer for thier striker Dembele from Chelsea

Finally which Celtic player was bought by Barcelona to be thier main striker

All from the back water league grin shocked

One advantage this backwater league has is location close to action of the EPL and style of play more suited to the EPL and Championship.

So the Scottish league isn't a backwater league to you,but the Belgian and Turkish league are??

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 11:13pm On Feb 24, 2018
Oasis007:

I'm 0% Certain he's gonna invite Dele. He has limited his Options to 5 Keepers, and he's gonna pick 3 out of the 5 to the World Cup.

Based on my Perception, Uzoho and Ezenwa are definitely going to the World Cup bar Injury. Akpeyi, Alampasu and Ajiboye gonna have to battle it out for th last Spot.
That's more like what it's going to be. Truly Akpeyi fall our hand by failing to rise up to the occasion. If he had done so we'd be covered some bit. But I read him talking about fighting to go to Russia. Talk wey suppose dey comot The Alampasu and Uzoho dem mouth.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Oasis007(m): 11:17pm On Feb 24, 2018
Mujtahida:

That's more like what it's going to be. Truly Akpeyi fall our hand by failing to rise up to the occasion. If he had done so we'd be covered some bit. But I read him talking about fighting to go to Russia. Talk wey suppose dey comot The Alampasu and Uzoho dem mouth.

Akpeyi has the same Percentage of making the Final List as Alampasu and Ajiboye. Whoever among the Trio that eventually makes the List will definitely gonna be the 3rd Choice.

But my Intuition pick Ajiboye as a possible 3rd Choice Keeper for the World Cup.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 11:20pm On Feb 24, 2018
Players always start from somewhere. Those players you mentioned were not acquired because of the quality of the Scottish league. Like I would always say you know a special player when u see one. We’ve also had players that made big moves from so called backwater leagues. That does not automatically mean the league they once played are top leagues. You have to consider other factors and also apply the same rule to other cases.

So the Portuguese league is a top league because of its close proximity to Spain? I can give other examples. Your love for anything UK is affecting your judgement. You are now making it seem the EPL style of play is second to none. E don tey we dey monitor you. Abi has the Scottish league become the next most competitive league because of the country’s location?

komekn:

Where was the most expensive center back in the world playing before he went to Southampton.

Where was Wanyama one of the best defensive midfielders in the EPL playing before ending up at Tottenham

One advantage this backwater league has is location close to action of the EPL and style of play more suited to the EPL and Championship.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 11:21pm On Feb 24, 2018
Oasis007:

Akpeyi has the same Percentage of making the Final List as Alampasu and Ajiboye. Whoever among the Trio that eventually makes the List will definitely gonna be the 3rd Choice.

But my Intuition pick Ajiboye as a possible 3rd Choice Keeper for the World Cup.
I really would love to see him at WC. I am quite hopeful we'd do well sha
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Oasis007(m): 11:23pm On Feb 24, 2018
Mujtahida:

I really would love to see him at WC. I am quite hopeful we'd do well sha

I hope so too...... but the Final List gonna determine whether I will be hopeful or prayerful!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 11:24pm On Feb 24, 2018
The quality of the EPL is rubbing off on Scotland because of close proximity. grin

Danielnino00:

So the Scottish league isn't a backwater league to you,but the Belgian and Turkish league are??

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 11:27pm On Feb 24, 2018
Joebie:
The quality of the EPL is rubbing off on Scotland because of close proximity. grin

Indeed....Yet over 80% of the available trophies there have been carted away by Celtic and Rangers...
I won't be surprised if somebody rates the Welsh league above the Turkish and Belgian leagues too...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 11:28pm On Feb 24, 2018
Welsh clubs dey EPL na grin

Danielnino00:

Indeed....Yet over 80% of the available trophies there have been carted away by Celtic and Rangers...
I won't be surprised if somebody rates the Welsh league above the Turkish and Belgian leagues too...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 11:29pm On Feb 24, 2018
komekn:

The English are subtle smiling at you while stabbing you in the back.
I agree wit you sir
they're not open with their racist attitude...
even the French who happen to be racist in the open...still give blacks opportunities rarely do any European nations will do...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 11:30pm On Feb 24, 2018
Joebie:
no...there is a Welsh league...I think I came across it recently.
they have a league too.....though i don't really understand their nature.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 11:32pm On Feb 24, 2018
komekn:

which day you start to the support backwater league player?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 11:35pm On Feb 24, 2018
Mujtahida:

Rohr is obsessed with young players. It was that defeat to South Africa that tamed him. So I doubt if he'd look Aiyenugba's way

i think it is because of his experience of the problem posed by age cheating prevalent in Africa....
i have never heard of a coach who could talk and be so concerned about players age and age cheating like rohr he said it on tv.

I think that really made him pitch tenth wit young blood....

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 11:38pm On Feb 24, 2018
Joebie:

Swansea and? grin grin

Anyway,we know those who will rate the Welsh league above the Turkish and Belgian league and won't hesitate to recommend any Nigerian playing in d league to d SE grin grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 11:39pm On Feb 24, 2018
Humility017:

i think it is because of his experience of the problem posed by age cheating prevalent in Africa....
i have never heard of a coach who could talk and be so concerned about players age and age cheating like rohr he said it on tv.

All those people on this thread who are calling for the recall of the oldies are on a long thing grin grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 11:41pm On Feb 24, 2018
Humility017:

He is also thinking long term. If we go with this crop of young players by 2022 they would be very experienced by then
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 11:57pm On Feb 24, 2018
Danielnino00:

All those people on this thread who are calling for the recall of the oldies are on a long thing grin grin
I tell you bro...he pride himself on having the youngest team come next world cup....

he is so particular about his young squad...we just have the south africans to thank....had it been not for that match he lost it would have been worst.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 11:58pm On Feb 24, 2018
Mujtahida:

He is also thinking long term. If we go with this crop of young players by 2022 they would be very experienced by then
yeah...you're very right.
that's what every reasonable coach should think of...not like pals like yusuf sanusi and his counterpart currently managing the under 20 Paul aigbogun....only concerned about short term and not long term....
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 12:08am On Feb 25, 2018
Humility017:

yeah...you're very right.
that's what every reasonable coach should think of...not like pals like yusuf sanusi and his counterpart currently managing the under 20 Paul aigbogun....only concerned about short term and not long term....
Let anybody argue against it from morning till night it won't change the reality that most Nigerian coaches will sell out. Look at that u-20 list. I usually don't make inputs when it comes to the ages of Nigeria players cos it's like entering into a forest to look for pin. Why for godsakes should Eneji who played at the last Chan be in the u- 20? Apart from the age issue it's not just correct abeg. The coach doesn't seem to know the purpose of age grade competitions.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Dedebanky85: 12:54am On Feb 25, 2018
Echejile was very very decent in 4 out of 5 qualifiers. He was abysmal against Zambia in Ndola, very sokid against Algeria in Uyo, was very very very good against CMR in bothe legs and was great against Zambia in Uyo until they took him off injured. The only time he was found wanting in Uyo vs Zambia was when one new guy entered and beat him for pace.
I can agree he didn't add much going forward but he always made himself available for a pass. Anyway I digress.
Well, I don't care if we play best of the world in a friendly, u can never rate a friendly more than a competitive game. Even FIFA does not do it. So for now, even tho I acknowledge that Ebuehi and Idowu performed well vs Argentina, I would not pull Echejile down based on their performances against Argentina, rather I am only agitating for them cos I have seen them play competitively for their clubs and I have been very impressed with them.

TheSuperNerd:
Looolll.... Superb performances.... Look, if Echiejile have had any sort of "superb" performances in recent times, we won't even be having this discussion... wink

What he had had are decent performances of late. Judging his performance as a stand alone, you will hardly find "superb" as a label for Echiejile's performances. Let us be honest abeg. As for Echiejile's place on that plane to Russia, I recall also being among the few who said that Rohr will likely take him to Russia as long he plays and also based on his experience and his being part of the team's WC campaign through out as the team's no.1 LB.

And Idowu's 45 mins as well as Ebuehi's 45 mins all against Argentina were truly top notch. This was Argentina. Rohr's biggest opponent/test since he took over. And the players he selected for that game that passed in flying colors cannot be ignored. THEY HELD THEIR OWN AGAINST A WORLD CLASS TEAM NOT BASED ON "NAME" ALONE BUT ALSO BASED ON THE PLAYERS PARADED THAT DAY BY ARGENTINA. One cannot look past that so easily. Even Rohr cannot which is why he mentions once that Idowu will not just be an interpreter for the team in Russia. Or you never heard him say that, since you are the one with long-term memory... Lol

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 1:16am On Feb 25, 2018
Danielnino00:

You clearly have pre conceived notions because it's obvious you did not read my post and or your prejudice clouded your judgement.

I said the Scottish league is a backwater league of which it's proximity to the EPL and similar playing style gives it an advantage over other backwater leagues particularly with access to the EPL and Championship.

Finally, my exception for backwater leagues is that players should be the outstanding player in that backwater league not just making up the numbers. To be considered for the SE.

Ebuehi is an outstanding RB in the Eredivisie without doubt. However, the same cannot be said of Agu, Ogu and Omeruo yet they are in the SE set up.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 1:33am On Feb 25, 2018
Similarly thing could be said about Borussia Dortmund and Bayern grin

Danielnino00:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 1:35am On Feb 25, 2018
Did you always see Ebuehi as outstanding?

komekn:

You clearly have pre conceived notions because it's obvious you did not read my post and or your prejudice clouded your judgement.

I said the Scottish league is a backwater league of which it's proximity to the EPL and similar playing style gives it an advantage over other backwater leagues particularly with access to the EPL and Championship.

Finally, my exception for backwater leagues is that players should be the outstanding player in that backwater league not just making up the numbers. To be considered for the SE.

Ebuehi is an outstanding RB in the Eredivisie without doubt. However, the same cannot be said of Agu, Ogu and Omeruo yet they are in the SE set up.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 1:44am On Feb 25, 2018
Reason why you shouldn't have old keepers as your 3rd choice..

Mujtahida:
In 1998 injury to Shorunmu forced us to go back to Rufai

In 2002 injury to Shorunmu forced Onigbinde to try Enyeama

Enyeama's forceful retirement forced us to get Ikeme

Sickness to Ikeme has forced Ezenwa, Akpeyi, Uzoho on us.

My point is it seems we have established a pattern whereby unless our hand is forced we never really do something about getting new gk. In order words our numbers two and three gks na just wash.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 2:00am On Feb 25, 2018
Humility017:

so pathetic....
you know the nff should be blamed for this...
someone like finidi who was ready to do the job jostle for this coaching role but he was denied....and now we have a lazy coach who can shout academics all over the country to look for talented players to put together and harness....
even manu garba will do better....

The U20 is not for academy players. You scout the academies for the U17.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 2:13am On Feb 25, 2018
Mujtahida:

By that time it is the names of another set of rookies that would be on the lips of peeps here.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 2:16am On Feb 25, 2018
Oasis007:

Kanu - Ajax, Inter, Arsenal.
Taribo - Inter, AC Milan, Auxerre.
Okocha - Frankfurt, PSG, Fernabache.
Amokachi - Besiktas, Everton.
Amunike - Sporting CP, Barcelona.
Ikpeba - Monaco, Dortmund.
Babangida - Ajax
Finidi - Ajax, Betis
Babayaro - Anderlecht, Chelsea.
Oruma - Marselle.
Uche - Fernabache
Olishe - Ajax, Juventus, Dortmund.
....... and so on.
Are you satisfied or you still want more?!
You and Kog45 have something in common.
You spell "Oliseh" as "Olishe". Why?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 2:18am On Feb 25, 2018
Dedebanky85:
Echejile was very very decent in 4 out of 5 qualifiers. He was abysmal against Zambia in Ndola, very sokid against Algeria in Uyo, was very very very good against CMR in bothe legs and was great against Zambia in Uyo until they took him off injured. The only time he was found wanting in Uyo vs Zambia was when one new guy entered and beat him for pace.
I can agree he didn't add much going forward but he always made himself available for a pass. Anyway I digress.
Well, I don't care if we play best of the world in a friendly, u can never rate a friendly more than a competitive game. Even FIFA does not do it. So for now, even tho I acknowledge that Ebuehi and Idowu performed well vs Argentina, I would not pull Echejile down based on their performances against Argentina, rather I am only agitating for them cos I have seen them play competitively for their clubs and I have been very impressed with them.

Elderson was good against Algeria..

He was terrible against Zambia, home and Away.

People are not complaining about Elderson because he had one bad game.. He has been on a steep decline.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 2:20am On Feb 25, 2018
Icon4s:

The U20 is not for academy players. You scout the academies for the U17.

It is also not for Overaged players..

(1) (2) (3) ... (2890) (2891) (2892) (2893) (2894) (2895) (2896) ... (16530) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: forgiveness and 7 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 79