Stats: 3,170,014 members, 7,876,803 topics. Date: Monday, 01 July 2024 at 07:14 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (4204) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12009570 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (4201) (4202) (4203) (4204) (4205) (4206) (4207) ... (16402) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 5:30pm On Jun 21, 2018
darkelf:

Tomorrow, we'll know if they really are. We'll see how echiejile copes with the pace and power of the Icelandic attackers and if Onazi can at least show some discipline.

Let us watch and see.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 5:33pm On Jun 21, 2018
fabyom:
how many minutes? He started against Poland, Congo came in against Czech and Croatia. That is 230/360 minutes without a goal and only one shot on target.

How many minutes did he play as a striker and how many did Ighalo play as a striker?

In terms of ability to finish chances, Iheanacho is the best in the team. Top 9 might not be his best position but he will score when the chance comes.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 5:34pm On Jun 21, 2018
Odunayaw:
Iheanacho is what? 6ft 2? I doubt it
he was 5ft 11" in the 2013 U17, he grew to 6 ft. 2" about 3 years later.

Feel free to doubt it, but his profile says he is 6ft.2".... Some people are tall, but don't look it. You should see Kelechi standing next to some people, you go believe

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by edi287: 5:34pm On Jun 21, 2018
tbaba1234:

How many minutes have you played him?

Iheanacho is more mobile and more clinical..

If i play Ogu, it will not be in defence
If Ogu is played in Defence - it has to be a 3-5-2.

Then again, I can see Rohr playing him as a CB in a 4 man defence to help with build up play and free Mikel as a 10. Onazi/Ndidi will sit in front of the back 4 and clean up.
Still not a good idea for me. Mikel as a 10 should be an afterthought niw
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by CLT123(m): 5:36pm On Jun 21, 2018
fabyom:
how many minutes? He started against Poland, Congo came in against Czech and Croatia. That is 230/360 minutes without a goal and only one shot on target.
80 mins vs Poland
45 mins vs DRC (in a bumpy pitch. Provided an assist)
13 mins vs England
10 mins vs Czech
18 mins vs Croatia

I’m not sure how that equals 230 or 360.

Don’t forget Iheanacho had a goal and two assists vs Argentina.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by eterisan(m): 5:44pm On Jun 21, 2018
safarigirl:
exactly

Dem no for even get mind enter social media, talk less make excuses for a woeful performance.

Knowing Colombians, the guy should be happy it is just threats for now and dem never send am him mama left hand
safarigirl...... Chai..... See your life.... You have killed me here.... ROTFLMAO..... KIKIKIKKIKIKIKI

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 5:52pm On Jun 21, 2018
safarigirl:
he was 5ft 11" in the 2013 U17, he grew to 6 ft. 2" about 3 years later.

Feel free to doubt it, but his profile says he is 6ft.2".... Some people are tall, but don't look it. You should see Kelechi standing next to some people, you go believe
This is interesting

According to transfermarktuk.co.uk he is 1.84m, its more weird that the same site says Iwobi is 1.83m...I always believed Iwobi was taller

This is not an argument o, its just that am 1.89m (6ft 2/3 inch by most calculators) so I tend to guess by sight
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 5:54pm On Jun 21, 2018
Odunayaw:
This is interesting

According to transfermarktuk.co.uk he is 1.84m, its more weird that the same site says Iwobi is 1.83m...I always believed Iwobi was taller

This is not an argument o, its just that am 1.89m (6ft 2/3 inch by most calculators) so I tend to guess by sight
lol.....I'm also good at guessing height by sight, I have like a 97% success rate. I'm like 5 ft. 3, but many people think I'm taller in pictures
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by fabyom: 5:55pm On Jun 21, 2018
People complained here when Iheanacho was used to top against S.A and Algeria if you remember that was why he was benched for Ighalo against Cameroon. No doubt Iheanacho is good as SS but as a top 9 for us against Iceland he will not be noticed on the field. Believe me. I love Nacho but he cannot top for us simple! I will prefer Simmy.
tbaba1234:

How many minutes did he play as a striker and how many did Ighalo play as a striker?

In terms of ability to finish chances, Iheanacho is the best in the team. Top 9 might not be his best position but he will score when the chance comes.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 5:56pm On Jun 21, 2018
eterisan:
Chief the Police is investigating. Abeg mek dem nr kill person cos of ball o. Nawa...

I pray o
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by darkelf: 5:57pm On Jun 21, 2018
safarigirl:
I am already tired of them.

I don remove my mind from Super Eagles, I cannot be carrying another person's troubles on my head. I[b] am not the players, I don't know any of them personally. Like I have always said, it is their lives, their careers and their reputations out there. If they are not concerned enough about it to fight in this tournament, why should I be concerned?

Las las, if they crash out, I support Iceland and Senegal. At least those teams have fight and pride in them. They have spirit[/b].

Lol. Abi.

It's going to be difficult beating Iceland. That their fighting spirit, we seriously lack it. Seriously..
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:01pm On Jun 21, 2018
And Peru joins the party going home.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 6:01pm On Jun 21, 2018
In other not to repeat what a lot of well meaning Eagulians are preaching

I think we should have a Simy-Nacho Forward, Iwobi AM
Reasons?
Simy's frame can cause a lot of problems for Iceland, He has good control too.

If we can force the Ice men to concede alot of direct Free kicks & maybe a penalty we can increase our chances
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by darkelf: 6:04pm On Jun 21, 2018
Odunayaw:
Iheanacho is what? 6ft 2? I doubt it

He's at least 6ft 1 inches

Fact
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 6:05pm On Jun 21, 2018
Odunayaw:
This is interesting

Wikipedia reports 6ft 2inches.... 1.87m
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 6:08pm On Jun 21, 2018
safarigirl:
lol.....I'm also good at guessing height by sight, I have like a 97% success rate. I'm like 5 ft. 3, but many people think I'm taller in pictures
wink
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 6:09pm On Jun 21, 2018
Dreamswayne:
Wikipedia reports 6ft 2inches.... 1.87m
1.87 is 6'1 not 6'2 sir
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 6:09pm On Jun 21, 2018
darkelf:

He's at least 6ft 1 inches
Fact
Yeah, I think I agree with all of you
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 6:12pm On Jun 21, 2018
Odunayaw:
1.87 is 6'1 not 6'2 sir
OKAY.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 6:12pm On Jun 21, 2018
Icon4s:
Team list for tomorrow is out: No changes to starting line up.
Shehu again?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 6:19pm On Jun 21, 2018
CLT123:
We have scored 3 set piece goals under Rohr.

Vs Argentina (free kick) Vs Cameroon (corner kick) Vs Tanzania (Corner kick)
After how many games. It should be more
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 6:21pm On Jun 21, 2018
TheLoneCitizen:

If you notice Nigeria's style of play, it suits midfielders but not fullbacks.

In this model, VIERA is Etebo, but he would shift forward to be on a straight line with ZIDANE and FIGO, who will be Musa and Moses. TOTTI and OKOCHA are Mikel and Ndidi, but they will shift back a little into their half to support the defence.

RONALDO is Iwobi but he will shift back a little to work as SS or AM. Ighalo is HENRY.
Roberto Carlos should be a wing back. Figo and Zidanr don't have the pace .
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 6:22pm On Jun 21, 2018
fabyom:
My formation for tomorrow's game.
Uzoho
Balogun. Ekong. Ogu
Ebuehi. Mikel. Etebo. Idowu
Iwobi. Moses
Ighalo
Why no Ndidi
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 6:24pm On Jun 21, 2018
COOL10:
Idah Peterside said on Channels TV today that there would be 4 changes to the lineup tomorrow. He didn't say exactly who but hopefully it works out.
This has become Rohr's trademark.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 6:26pm On Jun 21, 2018
TheLoneCitizen:

Ndidi and Mikel will fall back.
This lineup would never have lost to Croatia.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:30pm On Jun 21, 2018
MetalJigsaw:
Shehu again?
Oga, you are like 20 pages behind.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 6:31pm On Jun 21, 2018
fabyom:
of course, with this formation, I believe we will be a very difficult the to beat at this world cup. Is Rohr that clueless? Is it that difficult to see?
Rohr cost us this World Cup cos I see us crashing out already...

I don't see us getting a point from Argentina.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 6:33pm On Jun 21, 2018
soetanoreoluwa:
According to Charles Anazodo
He said Mikel to play as DM and Vic Moses as wing back
Colins Udoh too share thesame too...
They are both in Russia...
Moses as wingback wow!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by realpoacher(m): 6:35pm On Jun 21, 2018
daveP:
I dunno why the risk keeps being taken.

Osaze and Emenike paired up front at 2014 and Now Ighalo wey never perform reach these two is left alone upfront?

2014 stats

3 goals for
5 goals against
7forwards of which 4were useless taking them to Brazil

2018 stats

0 goals for
2 against
6Forwards of which one has proven to be incapable already having scored no goals in our last 8matches. A world cup bound team would have dropped him asap for younger, better options, instead of "Keeping faith" with him.

looks so familiar

Limp attack power or is it the technical aspect.

Interesting stats

From this stats it is obvious our Frontline is not scoring

To make matters worse, our coach hasn't realized this rather he stifles the attack more, and as well limiting their play with wrong positions and playing limited attacking personal.

He is at this world cup with 6 attackers... With six attackers in your team Mikel have no business playing AM.

You should be starting games with minimum two out and out strikers supported by 2 or 3 other forwarders.

By my experience, forwarders awareness are naturally sharpened to attack, attack, attack... Its their natural instincts. So the talk about sluggish play wouldn't arise because your attackers will continue driving forward at all times

In this regard, Rohr has messed up

He should seek to play a formation that accommodates many of his attackers instead of this he currently plays that accomodates more of his midfielders

Gush!!... I shouldn't be teaching this man his Job angry

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by adetoya234: 6:36pm On Jun 21, 2018
Icon4s:
And Peru joins the party going home.
Our roosters will follow suit tomorrow.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 6:37pm On Jun 21, 2018
soetanoreoluwa:

This is it... Next time screen shot then upload...
I love this lineup.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 6:37pm On Jun 21, 2018
Bolowolowo:
It seems that from the lineup projections that this team is pretty doomed. I have not seen any compelling argument or explanation for any of the projected lineups. I am left to believe that Rohr still does not understand this team and is currently testing new combinations.

I just weep....

to be honest...if he should go with that line up tomoro it goes to show that rohr is a mediocre coach...

I still believe many here are smarter than him....though the opportunity to make an impact may elude them...

(1) (2) (3) ... (4201) (4202) (4203) (4204) (4205) (4206) (4207) ... (16402) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Suzzytee05(f), UncleHaba22 and 8 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38