Stats: 3,175,525 members, 7,895,192 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 July 2024 at 01:29 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (4655) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12114435 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (4652) (4653) (4654) (4655) (4656) (4657) (4658) ... (16447) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 11:01pm On Sep 03, 2018
JoebieII:
Oh really? I thought it was just 1 slot..
Are there two mini qualification tournaments for WAFU?
One slot ke? Na die be that o.
There are two zones of qualification for WAFU. So two slots
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 11:01pm On Sep 03, 2018
JoebieII:

JoebieII:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 11:08pm On Sep 03, 2018
Danielnino00:
Are there any replacements lineup up for Ekong,Iwobi and Aina?

I would suggest
Ekong- Seth
Iwobi - Bonaventure/Success
Aina- Muhammed

Sebi there are players on the reserve list. Opportunity for them.

Note that Seth is a RB and so not a direct replacement for Ekong.

for the CB position, with Balogun, Omeruo and Awaziem in the squad we don't have issues.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by edi287: 12:11am On Sep 04, 2018
Joebie:
Those players that failed the MRI should be considered for selection in the Flying Eagles.
With their real age or the same ones they used for U17?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by fabyom: 12:24am On Sep 04, 2018
Uzoho
Awazien balog. Omeru

Ndidi

Kalu. Iheanacho. Etebo. Oyekuru

Ighalo. Musa

We have to attack them on all front cos we need to score a lot of goals.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 12:50am On Sep 04, 2018
fabyom:
Uzoho
Awazien balog. Omeru

Ndidi

Ighalo. Musa

who will screen the defense? undecided
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mank1234(m): 12:52am On Sep 04, 2018
Icon4s:

One slot ke? Na die be that o.

There are two zones of qualification for WAFU. So two slots

Actually 3 slots for WAFU. Unfortunately (the strongest zone), Nig, Gha, BFA, CIV are in in zone B which produces one slot only. WAFU Zone A produces 2 slots and coincidentally that's the weakest WAFU zone.

The justification for such a stupid skewed arrangement is the need to develop smaller countries football.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019_Africa_U-17_Cup_of_Nations

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mank1234(m): 12:56am On Sep 04, 2018
So only the eventual winner of Zone B not the group winner qualifies. In other words only one of the big teams will eventually qualify.

It's a gang up against Nigeria and Ghana.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by fabyom: 1:10am On Sep 04, 2018
safarigirl:
who will screen the defense? undecided
Ndidi, of course! Our opponent had nothing to offer attack wise. We need to go full throttle. Mind you they lost 5-1 to Libya.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by fabyom: 1:14am On Sep 04, 2018
mank1234:

Actually 3 slots for WAFU. Unfortunately (the strongest zone), Nig, Gha, BFA, CIV are in in zone B which produces one slot only. WAFU Zone A produces 2 slots and coincidentally that's the weakest WAFU zone.

The justification for such a stupid skewed arrangement is the need to develop smaller countries football. How in hell could all the West Africa soccer Prezi accent to this highly repudiating and biased arrangement

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by edi287: 3:01am On Sep 04, 2018
fabyom:
Uzoho
Awazien balog. Omeru

Ndidi

Ighalo. Musa

Nobody to control the midfield...very risky.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 3:44am On Sep 04, 2018
fabyom:
Ndidi, of course! Our opponent had nothing to offer attack wise. We need to go full throttle. Mind you they lost 5-1 to Libya.

This is football brother, forget about that 5-1 thing.

If we lose or draw the match with this formation, I'm sure you'll blame Rohr wink
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 5:59am On Sep 04, 2018
Chrismario:

If we lose or draw the match with this formation, I'm sure you'll blame Rohr wink
Losing to Seychelles with any formations then Rohr should be sacked ASAP.

EOD

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:41am On Sep 04, 2018
mank1234:

The justification for such a stupid skewed arrangement is the need to develop smaller countries football.

OK. Noted. But this zoning nonsense should be scrapped!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by gamaliel9: 7:53am On Sep 04, 2018
Joebie:
It depends on what you thought I meant by my statement. Firstly the players are most likely between the ages of 17 and 20. Now the big question is can they compete with the current U20 players for spots in the team? I never meant those transition experiments.

Thats really my point and beyond Africa too if they qualify
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by gamaliel9: 8:05am On Sep 04, 2018
winning the u17 five times has not really brought us glory at senior level....Olympics is an age group competition....most national teams i think have more players who win at u21 than players who win at u17...Argentina is a perfect example of this....even Columbia....i think we should add more vibe to u21 than u17...

Again the transition from u17 to u21 does not really work like that...we always crash when we do it.

Its better we transit from u21 to national team...most players who play in national team were already members of the Olympic team....
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Luckyroro(m): 8:31am On Sep 04, 2018
Hmmmm. Too many injury worries for the team. I hope it doesn't affect the final outcome of that match. Already, the absence of Ekong is a big problem to our defense line. I just hope we hold our own together and score more goals upfront.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 8:41am On Sep 04, 2018
Musa Muhammed, Blessing Eleke and Stephen Eze in for injured players
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 8:42am On Sep 04, 2018

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 9:09am On Sep 04, 2018
You can said dat again. Its until one of those smaller make it to th U-17 and got raped mercilessly by 12-0 nah dia dia eyes go clear

Icon4s:

OK. Noted. But this zoning nonsense should be scrapped!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Earthquake1: 9:10am On Sep 04, 2018
fabyom:
Uzoho
Awazien balog. Omeru

Ndidi

Ighalo. Musa

Jeezos Christ!! What sort of formation is dis?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 9:14am On Sep 04, 2018
ELEKE is dat guy not a former shooting stars. Abi its sunshine stars player?

Chrismario:
Musa Muhammed, Blessing Eleke and Stephen Eze in for injured players
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 9:37am On Sep 04, 2018
do4luv14:
ELEKE is dat guy not a former shooting stars. Abi its sunshine stars player?

No, I'm not sure
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by fabyom: 9:37am On Sep 04, 2018
edi287:

Nobody to control the midfield...very risky.
Ndidi, Etebo and for me Nacho is a midfielder/SS. The midfield is balanced. I do hope you know that Ndidi's position is in front of balogun and just behind Nacho and Etebo. His position shifted to the right mistakenly while trying to post.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by fabyom: 9:40am On Sep 04, 2018
Earthquake1:

Jeezos Christ!! What sort of formation is dis?
Earthquakesque formation!! lol.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 9:42am On Sep 04, 2018
Am sure he was a former homebased. Who rep one of our youths teams. But av 4gotten. Dont even know wia he is at present

Chrismario:

No, I'm not sure
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by gamaliel9: 9:42am On Sep 04, 2018
do4luv14:
You can said dat again. Its until one of those smaller make it to th U-17 and got raped mercilessly by 12-0 nah dia dia eyes go clear

Hahahaha i am just imagining the look on their faces when it will happen...Another goals record loading...how could they have accepted this INJUSTICE? There should have been a level playing field...if they qualify after beating the likes of Nigeria..Ghana...Guinea...then it means that they deserve to be there...this is almost automatic qualification
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 9:43am On Sep 04, 2018
Chrismario:

Isn't Rohr the coach? Praise and blame should always begin with him no matter what
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 9:47am On Sep 04, 2018
Ofcos they do. But me and you both know they will go dia to disgrewss AFRICA

gamaliel9:

Hahahaha i am just imagining the look on their faces when it will happen...Another goals record loading...how could they have accepted this INJUSTICE? There should have been a level playing field...if they qualify after beating the likes of Nigeria..Ghana...Guinea...then it means that they deserve to be there...this is almost automatic qualification
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by gamaliel9: 9:50am On Sep 04, 2018
This Eleke is not that strong oooo...just tall like that...i wonder why some already performing guys were not invited....Seth,Ebere Eze,Ejaria,Ajagun,that Zubairu at Trencin, even Orji Okonkwo, even Igbekeme....what is happening bikonu? i have known Rohr as a conservatist but it is getting ultra.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Earthquake1: 9:50am On Sep 04, 2018
fabyom:
Ndidi, Etebo and for me Nacho is a midfielder /SS. The midfield is balanced. I do hope you know that Ndidi's position is in front of balogun and just behind Nacho and Etebo. His position shifted to the right mistakenly while trying to post.

(1) (2) (3) ... (4652) (4653) (4654) (4655) (4656) (4657) (4658) ... (16447) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Abusule007 and 13 guest(s)