Stats: 3,176,465 members, 7,897,955 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 July 2024 at 12:26 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (5066) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12138803 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5063) (5064) (5065) (5066) (5067) (5068) (5069) ... (16455) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 9:50pm On Nov 08, 2018
TheGoodJoe:

I have answered the question repeatedly. Nacho has a killer attribute. When utilized properly, he pulled stats with some of the best in the game. His best attribute is his finishing. Which means he is a striker.

In the SA game, we played with zero supply and Rohr's conservative style has hindered us enjoying the electric finishing of Nacho.

Find the best attribute of a player and you find his position.

Unless you have another theory, it is...

Finito.

killer attributes, stat pulls, my question stil stand, what was/is his natural position,

take HAZARD, DE BRUYNE, jst to mention but few, they all have same killer attributes, can pull stats, even MBEPPE, but they still play their natural position,
so which was/is NACHO

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 9:52pm On Nov 08, 2018
Dis one Danny welbeck, don pa komot, Baba on top, look after our boy iwobi for us AMEN,

and umai pls change him asap

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 9:54pm On Nov 08, 2018
For the sake of injury, I hope Iwobi gets substituted out of this match. Injury season is at its peak and it’s not holding back.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Sadiqali24(m): 9:57pm On Nov 08, 2018
Bolowolowo:
For the sake of injury, I hope Iwobi gets substituted out of this match. Injury season is at its peak and it’s not holding back.
seconded
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 9:59pm On Nov 08, 2018
tbaba1234:

I am not downing the league. It's facts. It is not a highly rated league.

We have an embarassment of attacking options right now. Odey is definitely an option in the near future

Neither are Belgium(9) and Turkey(10) If u say he is an option for the near future I wonder where ur argument lies in this matter, or is it because I was the one that made the statement? Cuz I have noticed u like to counter every statement I make but never acknowledge when I end up being right.

The point is that he deserves a call up. When he gets it is not my business but as of now he is ready to contribute to the Super Eagles.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 10:00pm On Nov 08, 2018
TheGoodJoe:

I totally disagree with this. An outright sack is the best solution because Coach Yusuf's action brought disrepute to the selection process of the Super Eagles. Keeping him makes it looks they are shady deals going on in the selection process and a sack would have begun to restore confidence in the coaching crew.

I completely agree with u. No excuses.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 10:18pm On Nov 08, 2018
BascoVanVeli:

Neither are Belgium(9) and Turkey(10) If u say he is an option for the near future I wonder where ur argument lies in this matter, or is it because I was the one that made the statement? Cuz I have noticed u like to counter every statement I make but never acknowledge when I end up being right.

The point is that he deserves a call up. When he gets it is not my business but as of now he is ready to contribute to the Super Eagles.

I do not care about you to the extent of countering your statements. I expressed my position and it is not a competition about who is right or wrong. It is just a football conversation.

You said he should be invited now and I am saying it is early to invite him NOW. Just like i have said for Osimhen and even Chukwueze. I also feel, he needs to move to a better league to really stake a claim.

Simple.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:22pm On Nov 08, 2018
do4luv14:

killer attributes, stat pulls, my question stil stand, what was/is his natural position,

take HAZARD, DE BRUYNE, jst to mention but few, they all have same killer attributes, can pull stats, even MBEPPE, but they still play their natural position,
so which was/is NACHO

I do not understand what you are typing.

Let me start again. De Bruyne's best attributes are his coordinative passing play and match reading ability when the opponents have the ball. He does not finish as good as the listed qualities. So his position lies in the middle. He can play on the wings or up front but not as good as the midfield due to the listed qualities.

Nacho can play multiple roles too but his goal scoring instincts and finding spaces in the box makes top striker his main position. So what do you not understand.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 10:39pm On Nov 08, 2018
oga e don enter Christian matter o. Make i siddon look.

TheGoodJoe:

I totally disagree with this. An outright sack is the best solution because Coach Yusuf's action brought disrepute to the selection process of the Super Eagles. Keeping him makes it look like there are shady deals going on in the selection process and a sack would have begun to restore confidence in the coaching crew.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by isan(m): 10:43pm On Nov 08, 2018
This is rorh line up against south Africa not sure of Chunks though

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Curtisaxel7(m): 10:52pm On Nov 08, 2018
kellycute:
shut up. It is now you wanna take the high road Cos you couldn’t handle the hit no more. You goes about throwing insult to people only for you to seek for cover “I don’t wanna trade insult with you” when you can’t no longer handle the hit. Same ting you did with safari girl few days ago. See ehn I fit add to your already frustrated life. Let me remind you.. I am from edo state, bini through and through and you know what we can do. Make I hear Bim from your mouth again. If you can’t take the heat, don’t start what you can’t finish.

You think you're the only one that has a village? grin..

I'm curious, what will you do if you hear "Bim"?, will you take my name to a witchdoctor's house?. grin.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 10:53pm On Nov 08, 2018
isan:

This line-up is fair considering what we have. But I'm alittle worried about nacho leading the attack due to his goal drought. But let's see if he can regain his swagger and redeem himself.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Curtisaxel7(m): 10:55pm On Nov 08, 2018
Mickael2:

I remember a player called Delap, he wasn't outstanding but he was always sure of a starting place for Stoke City because he was outstanding when it comes to throw-ins so no I disagree with that one, set pieces or anything for that matter that gives your team an added advantage is definitely vital in football. However, if we want to look at it this way, Stoke City then had a lot of tall players so they depended on those long throws and you could see them scoring goals from them. Do we as a team depend on pur set piece ability to score goals? When was the last time we scored from a set piece? In that case I don't think in our present setting it makes sense to play a particular player just because he is good in that aspect when we don't even utilise it at all.

So you see? You are right by saying that set pieces are vital and anybody that can take care of them well enough should always have an added advantage over others. Then he too may not exactly be wrong considering we haven't exactly been scoring from them. Even if Iheanacho is playing, for some reason he is not usually the one who even takes the freekick

This comment is the koko.

What is the probability that we will get a FK (suitable for a left footer) in a goalscoring area in our match against SA?

We can't field a player based on that chance alone.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Curtisaxel7(m): 10:57pm On Nov 08, 2018
Triniti:
This is beyond player analysis, it’s pure hatred, did nacho snatch your girlfriend?

I'm only retorting to Kellycute's previous rant.

Why should I hate Iheanacho kwanu? Somebody I don't even know in person.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 11:45pm On Nov 08, 2018
tbaba1234:

I do not care about you to the extent of countering your statements. I expressed my position and it is not a competition about who is right or wrong. It is just a football conversation.

You said he should be invited now and I am saying it is early to invite him NOW. Just like i have said for Osimhen and even Chukwueze. I also feel, he needs to move to a better league to really stake a claim.

Simple.

It is easy to say all this but your actions speak different. Ighalo is a striker so I see nothing wrong in saying that I personally would have wanted Odey to replace him but you came out the woodworks with reasons that do not reason. How many young players from Belgium or Turkey started in the world cup? So you can't tell me that playing in Switzerland is inferior to those leagues. Plus he has 4 starts in the Europa league group stage
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by EEGA: 11:48pm On Nov 08, 2018
TheGoodJoe:

I have answered the question repeatedly. Nacho has a killer attribute. When utilized properly, he pulled stats with some of the best in the game. His best attribute is his finishing. Which means he is a striker.

In the SA game, we played with zero supply and Rohr's conservative style has hindered us enjoying the electric finishing of Nacho.

Find the best attribute of a player and you find his position.

Unless you have another theory, it is...

Finito.
Just mention one player that Nacho can bench in our current starting eleven.

Puel played Iheanacho as a striker either last two weeks or so did he deliver? No.

He played as a false 9 against Argentina and Iceland without assists or goals to his name.

You mean the Puel of this season is also conservative?

You also mean we should play a formation that will favour Nacho.

This is unalloyed emotive prejudice (In Komekn's voice).

Modified:His free-kick ability is the only thing we missed which is not enough to start him ahead of another player.
Even Guardiola was aware of his finishing but still left him on the bench for Gabby J.

In football all round play is of utmost important.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by edi287: 11:57pm On Nov 08, 2018
do4luv14:
I don't understand all this argument abut NACHO,

I for one had Neva and will never see him as astiker, or support striker again,
he should had stay in city, and develop his his game as a 10 he is, but his goals, seems to get to him hence his always knack for it, rather than develop his position as an AM,

too bad he is on a decline, with his constant position of a striker/cf, he won't find his feet

NOTE: am not hating on him, if anyone can show me his natural position, then we can rumble on it thanks pals
Nacho is a better SS than 10. He is playing his best position at Leicester.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 11:59pm On Nov 08, 2018
EEGA:

Puel played Iheanacho as a striker either last two weeks or so did he deliver? No.

He played as a false 9 against Argentina and Iceland without assists or goals to his name.

Modified:His free-kick ability is the only thing we missed which is not enough to start him ahead of another player.
Even Guardiola was aware of his finishing but still left him on the bench for Gabby J.

Even Messi and Ronaldo go through rough patches Iheanacho needs our support not all this. His numbers are there for all to see. The best goal scorer have that's for sure

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 11:59pm On Nov 08, 2018
BascoVanVeli:

It is easy to say all this but your actions speak different. Ighalo is a striker so I see nothing wrong in saying that I personally would have wanted Odey to replace him but you came out the woodworks with reasons that do not reason. How many young players from Belgium or Turkey started in the world cup? So you can't tell me that playing in Switzerland is inferior to those leagues. Plus he has 4 starts in the Europa league group stage

You are the one reading what is not there. I disagreed with a viewpoint and expressed it. It does not matter who said it.

And yes, the Turkish and Belgian leagues are much better than the Swiss league in terms of overall quality. The Swiss league is ranked below Denmark where Onuachu plays for instance. Onuachu has been in Europe for a longer time and even played Champions League football. He has more goals under his belt.

The Swiss league is good for developing young players but that is not where Super Eagles players come from. This is true historically and even today. Even Denmark is not good enough for Super Eagles players.

The point is simple. He is doing well. Let him keep it up but too early for super eagle talk.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by busky007: 2:38am On Nov 09, 2018
Nacho dis nacho dat
Icon4s I nominate nacho /ebere eze/ighalo 4 most popular in dis tread

I think nacho should go to a club dat plays like Liverpool where he will be a false 9 or switched 10 like Bobby but if him no score I go chop him neck

Up GWG. AND YNWA

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 3:21am On Nov 09, 2018
elyte89:

No brother, d bribe aspect was a joke,u shld knw I was taunting someone here who hammers on bribe claims in d team

Y shld I say a certain player "bribes" his way into d team,dts an unguarded statement, even a certain homebase keeper we all wonder y he keeps getting callups,nobody here can say he bribes his way into d team cool

Lolzzz! you'd kill the fun by mentioning his name.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by junnyjake(m): 3:26am On Nov 09, 2018
Joebie:
NFF Boss Pinnick Cites The Bible To Justify Reinstatement Of Disgraced Super Eagles Coach
Published: November 08, 2018

Nigeria Football Federation supremo Amaju Pinnick has cited the Bible to justify his decision to reinstate disgraced Super Eagles coach Salisu Yusuf as soon as he finishes serving a one-year ban.

It would be recalled that the CHAN Eagles boss was banned from all football-related activities by the NFF following its consideration of a complaint as well as the coach's defense of a video documentary in which he was seen to accept the sum of $1,000 from an undercover reporter posing as a players' agent.

''Salisu Yusuf would come back as the Eagles assistant coach after his suspension. He still has a contract with the NFF,'' Pinnick told a local radio station, as reported by Guardian Nigeria.

''It is not that I am supporting Salisu Yusuf for what he did. In life, there is nobody that has not fallen short of anything one way or the other. The coach has realised his mistakes and he needs to be forgiven.

''If God could forgive us for our sins, who are we as human beings not to forgive others.

''In the Bible, Jesus Christ told the people, whoever had not committed sin before should cast the first stone on a woman who committed sin.''

Salisu Yusuf had accepted a cash gift $1,000 from Tigers Player's Agency, an undercover reporter, purportedly interested in acting on behalf of Osas Okoro and Rabiu Ali, for their inclusion in the list of players for 2018 CHAN in Morocco.

Igho Kingsley

ANS

We can be religiously stupid in this country.

So a slap on the wrist is punishment for someone who was caught with his hands in the cookie jar?

How does this serve as a deterrent to others interested in practicing the despicable act of bribe taking in the future?

Which kind country be this self?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 6:10am On Nov 09, 2018
EEGA:

You are still off point. The question is not who Nacho will bench but which is his ideal position. What you wrote up there is like saying Solanke is not a striker because he can not bench anyone in Liverpool or England.

Puel is not a creative attacking coach. He does not play with a high line or press high. His team hardly dominates in chances created.

Nacho is a player meant for a creative attacking system that creates chances. Then you will see his force.

Neither Puel nor Nigeria's regular setup offers this.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:17am On Nov 09, 2018
Mickael2:

Oga! Oga! Oshimen is in which club again? Odey is starting for his team now in the Europa League against Bayern Leverkusen, do you think that is beans? Chukwueze just played his first match for Villarreal B, since he has been playing for the team B. Odey deserves it, his claim is reinforced by the fact that he has actually been performing for years now, he cannot force buyers to come, but he has scored everywhere he has played. I am not saying he must be invited but saying that he is playing at a low club when we invited Oshimen and Chukwueze is hypocritical

Odey, Chukwueze, Osimhen, Kalu, Onyekuru, Awoniyi. That makes for a very hot Olympics team strike force
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 7:07am On Nov 09, 2018
Icon4s:

Odey, Chukwueze, Osimhen, Kalu, Onyekuru, Awoniyi. That makes for a very hot Olympics team strike force

So who and who will now be in the main team? When we come for to the Olympics team I think Orji Okonkwo(the one in Bologna) deserves a look in as well

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Curtisaxel7(m): 7:49am On Nov 09, 2018
busky007:
Nacho dis nacho dat
Icon4s I nominate nacho /ebere eze/ighalo 4 most popular in dis tread

I think nacho should go to a club dat plays like Liverpool where he will be a false 9 or switched 10 like Bobby but if him no score I go chop him neck

Up GWG. AND YNWA

Iheanacho to Liverpool?! Somebody that struggles to make the bench at Leicester?

Baba won't even see a single minute throughout the season.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kellycute(m): 7:59am On Nov 09, 2018
Now the clueless one is back who probably hardly watch premiership.. he just can’t stop displaying his ignorant here. Can you imagine nacho is struggling to make Leicester city bench? Nothing we nor go hear for Nairaland. Sense is not common afterall . Maybe the clueless one should check stat this season, oh lest I forget..what do you expect from a clueless one? Just take his post with a pinch of salt.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 8:05am On Nov 09, 2018
Lol.... So because Edo witches have finally grounded Ighalo's SE career that had finally achieved some level of flight, we have come back to the Nacho hate?

And who better to spearhead it than the one who accused me of hating on Ighalo? grin grin

Abeg, does anybody have an idea what our front line will look like? Cuz I don't know about some people here, but it's looking pretty likely that Kelechi will start against SA and I'm not sure how I feel about that.

I mean, considering his abysmal showing against them last year, would it be advisable for him to spearhead the attack? It would be like playing Akpeyi in goal (which may actually happen)

I'd have liked a front three of Samuel Kalu, Musa and Onyekuru.....but I don't think Rohr trusts Onyekuru enough. Chukwueze and Osimhen are obviously out of the equation.

Akpeyi and Iheanacho on the pitch against SA simply doesn't sit well with me.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 8:07am On Nov 09, 2018
kellycute:
Now the clueless one is back who probably hardly watch premiership.. he just can’t stop displaying his ignorant here. Can you imagine nacho is struggling to make Leicester city bench? Nothing we nor go hear for Nairaland. Sense is not common afterall . Maybe the clueless one should check stat this season, oh lest I forget..what do you expect from a clueless one? Just take his post with a pinch of salt.
lol....when you are consumed with hate, your eyes will be blind to facts.

Man probably doesn't have access to premiership cry. Abeg, let us contribute money for him so that he can at least afford the closest viewing centre to him cheesy grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 8:13am On Nov 09, 2018
isan:
Chukwueze can never start a game on his debut as far as Rohr is coach.

Remove him for Samuel Kalu
Agu might have to give way for Ogu
Not so sure of Balogun's staring shirt anymore, so, Omeruo might have to take over....

Would have been nice if Rohr could start Afelokhai, but we might sadly see shaky shaky daddy in goal, so, Akpeyi stays.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kellycute(m): 8:18am On Nov 09, 2018
Iheanacho stat for Leicester this season.
Nacho start 7, came on as sub thrice, total matches played so far: 10, after 11 matches of the ongoing premier league. The clueless one should tell me how nacho is struggling to make Leicester city bench

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 8:18am On Nov 09, 2018
Joebie:
oga e don enter Christian matter o. Make i siddon look.

as in. Can you see the idiocy of it all?

Quoting the Bible to defend corruption? This is something that is about ethics and Pinnick in all his glorious ignorance thinks we are talking about Bible and Christianity. Nigerian leaders are a disgrace to the parents that birthed and trained them, whatever shred of integrity and decency their parents may have painstakingly tried to infuse in them has been carried away by greed and other such terrible vices.

When Oga Pinnick finish quoting Bible, he should remember that greed is one of 7 deadly sins and such sins cannot be forgiven. He should also remember the story of Ananias and his wife, both of whom tried to scam God and we're duly dealt with. There was nothing like forgiveness there.

Useless and unscrupulous fellow

(1) (2) (3) ... (5063) (5064) (5065) (5066) (5067) (5068) (5069) ... (16455) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Zonofman(m), Stillwater10, Yachambliss(m) and 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 76