Stats: 3,177,063 members, 7,899,788 topics. Date: Wednesday, 24 July 2024 at 07:48 PM

Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 - Travel (412) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 (851265 Views)

Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 10 / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 / Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (409) (410) (411) (412) (413) (414) (415) ... (511) (Go Down)

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by raphrulz: 12:18pm On Jan 28, 2019
Wow!! This is awesome news...

...and pls oooo.. this goes out to the entire community on this thread... i'm not grading scripts to cause anxiety.. but to encourage people to give very wordy and robust PPR news. The experiences come in handy for new applicants and an encouragement for those still in the process.

I'm really excited for you @shyee because you are one of the few that have conquered the self employed route. This goes out to those attempting this route.. pls it's very possible if you research properly, ask the right questions and remain positive.

You have done a good job in putting your PPR script in good order... and i will rate you 8.5/10.

Thanks for the encouraging story and we all wish your family the best in the new land.

Go and prosper! There is no stopping you. Amen!

Shyee:
Hallelujah, For the Lord God Omnipotent, HE reigneth.

Guys, it’s PEE PEE AAAAARRRRRR.

While I don’t yet know if this post will be long or otherwise, I will endeavour to share this testimony, not for the anxiety of @raph.rulz scoring it, but for those who would benefit from it.

. Kudos to you guys that always got our backs.

15 Likes

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by raphrulz: 12:20pm On Jan 28, 2019
But this person was still safe even if the sibling point was disregarded. I think it is a major risk... considering the impact on the already landed sibling that did not declare.

CC: Kmgb1

234ng44uk:

Here's the post you referenced
https://www.nairaland.com/4843199/canadian-express-entry-federal-skilled/223#73994539
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by manlikegb: 12:35pm On Jan 28, 2019
raphrulz:
But this person was still safe even if the sibling point was disregarded. I think it is a major risk... considering the impact on the already landed sibling that did not declare.

CC: Kmgb1

Sibling point:
My sister in-law whom I claimed points from did not include my spouse in her application, however she gave me all supporting documents plus Jara.
Please note without the sibling points my CRS would have been 441. The CRS draw cut off was 441 and the tie breaker rule was in my favour. I knew I would be safe so I didn't reject the ITA. I also wrote an LOE to explain it.

Quoting the above paragraph by @saidato, I would love gurus in the house to help answer this question.

My spouse(PA) has a brother(married). The brother lives in Nigeria but his wife lives in Canada(A citizen), is it possible for my spouse to claim the siblings 15points using the brother's wife?

Thanks!
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Sthill5: 12:46pm On Jan 28, 2019
manlikegb:

Quoting the above paragraph by @saidato, I would love gurus in the house to help answer this question.

My spouse(PA) has a brother(married). The brother lives in Nigeria but his wife lives in Canada(A citizen), is it possible for my spouse to claim the siblings 15points using the brother's wife?

Thanks!

Chai. If only the brother was living in Canada.
.unfortunately the answer is no. His wife is not his sibling. You can only claim points from a sibling

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Topsmamen: 12:53pm On Jan 28, 2019
No, your spouse cannot claim the 15 points from the wife.
manlikegb:

Thanks!
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Topsmamen: 12:54pm On Jan 28, 2019
Shyee:

Congrats Shyee. Nice one.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Ifeoma77(f): 1:06pm On Jan 28, 2019
manlikegb:

Quoting the above paragraph by @said.ato, I would love gurus in the house to help answer this question.

Thanks!
Hmmmmm this is an interesting scenario. The whole point is for the sibling to provide you with support as you settle down. Your BIL isn't in Canada to do that but his wife can provide that support so it could be argued that the objective is met.
Why not tweet at IRCC with this question and let's see their take on it.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Godisincontrol: 1:21pm On Jan 28, 2019
Olalan:

Penny wise,pound foolish as they say.

You have been advised and someone even went further to give you a summarized version. Pay a consultant so that the error is avoided since you can't sit your ass down, take up pen and paper and help yourself.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Topsmamen: 1:22pm On Jan 28, 2019
Well, I guess it's worth a shot. Wouldn't hurt to try.
Ifeoma77:

Hmmmmm this is an interesting scenario. The whole point is for the sibling to provide you with support as you settle down. Your BIL isn't in Canada to do that but his wife can provide that support so it could be argued that the objective is met.
Why not tweet at IRCC with this question and let's see their take on it.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by FirstTImeUser: 1:51pm On Jan 28, 2019
"For proof, you must get official letters from [i]any[/i]banks or financial institutions where you are keeping money."

Quoted from government of Canada website..
Maybe I am having problems with English.... grin
Do I have to get a letter from all the banks I have accounts with.all are dormant except the one I want to use for POF.

Also I hope the generic Gtb reference letter and letter of non indebtedness will suffice.

Thank you

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Funky123(f): 2:05pm On Jan 28, 2019
[quote author=boco2126 post=73293040]On this IELTS issue...my two cents.

1. Stick to a FEW practice materials! The number of materials for IELTS that we see on a daily on this thread can be overwhelming. Try out only a few and stick to the one that resonates with you. Don't use ieltsliz, Jay, Cambridge, ieltsadvantage, road2ielts etc at the same time (some of these peope don't agree on the same approach and reading all can get really confusing). If you try one and it sits well with you, ditch others. Focus on that one and be a master of it. I almost got overwhelmed at some point, because l wanted to open every link or try every material l saw here. But l had to give myself brain oh.

2. Practise everyday. No excuses. Create the time. Even at work, you can use your lunch break to practise. Instead of listening to music or radio on your way to work, listen to your downloaded tips on writing, speaking, reading, listening. When walking down the streets, have an earpiece on (l hate this, but we can make sacrifices for one month abi?) and keep LISTENING. At weekends, practice speaking with your wife/husband, friend, son/daughter etc. Write out questions and tell them to ask you (under exam conditions). I finished a WHOLE 30 leaves notebook for listening practice (yeah l work an 8 to 5 and live on the mainland with my office on the island -remember, no excuses!). Always check your wrong answers and replay those portions and find out what you didn't hear properly. I used youtube for listening/speaking/reading.

3. There's this ielts expert too, one Ryan (cannot remember his surname) that l think is underrated. I used his tips for writing. He talks about 15 sentences max for writing. 3 paragraphs with 4 sentences and the closing paragraph should have 3 sentences. This keeps you in check and you already know what to write before the exam, all you will be waiting for on the ielts day is the topic given! I can share his materials if you drop your email address.
For writing, write letter and essays! Don't read what someone else wrote. Write yours too. Some people practise writing by reading another's work -WRONG! write yours too and compare. Minimum letters to write on different topics - 10. Minimum essays - 20. Revise your work and look for better ways to reconstruct your sentences. I suggest you write with pencil on your exam day so you can erase if need be.

4. For reading - use youtube. It also has a timer, so practice using the time and don't stop the timer or pause the video. The easiest comprehension in reading are the first two. Spend less time there. Say 5 mins tops for each. You do not need to UNDERSTAND nada. Just look at the instructions (very important), then the questions, then scroll through the passages for the answers. You need all your time for the last two passages. They are more technical.

5. For speaking - Be confident, relaxed and know your basic english and introduction (see ieltsliz). See this as an interview. We all attend interviews don't we? I got a list of 42 likely cue cards from ieltsliz blog (l think she said they change it every 3 months but she always update the cue card questions) and l practiced the 42 different topics and l always set my two minutes timer with my phone. You can be in the BRT or your car and practice this one, or when walking down the street or whilst doing chores at home, or lying down in your bed doing nothing (l did this. Some days, people will think you are going crazy because you are talking to yourself, but...who no go no know). One of the 42 questions l practiced was my cue card during my speaking test -something on my pet animal (l was wondering "madam why me? Animal kwa?" but because l had practised earlier, the examiner had to cut me off when it was two minutes. I just went on and on.

4. Lastly and certainly not the least...the place of PRAYER. I'm catholic, so when l saw the prayer to St. Joseph of Cupertino here, l made a mental note to say it. I started saying it every day from September till i wrote my exam on the 1st of November. I even added a 9 days St. Joseph of Cupertino novena with prayer and fasting which ended on the 31st of October (l'm that extra oh. I left no chances). I asked my family to add me in their prayers too. So, pray, pray and pray. Whatever works for you. Someone dropped one St. prayer .....Hello Sir,can i send a pm to you or betterstill pls send me the materia at akinsolugbaolufunke@gmail.com....Thanks in anticipation

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Harjeehbaday(m): 2:11pm On Jan 28, 2019
Harjeehbaday:

I wrote mine on 22nd Jan at same place, guess that is the only place where computer based IELTS test is done in Lagos. We were told the result will be out by 29th Jan but i logged on my profile today and saw a message that results will be available to view in the Test Taker Portal between Friday, 01 February 2019 and Wednesday, 06 February 2019.

I pray it is released Tuesday ...

It will end in praise....
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by efeblin(m): 2:11pm On Jan 28, 2019
Yes am about send mine as I already sent my waec result but they just said they need scratch card. Is it possible to send with another person's? [
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Harjeehbaday(m): 2:13pm On Jan 28, 2019
Harjeehbaday:

I wrote mine on 22nd Jan at same place, guess that is the only place where computer based IELTS test is done in Lagos. We were told the result will be out by 29th Jan but i logged on my profile today and saw a message that results will be available to view in the Test Taker Portal between Friday, 01 February 2019 and Wednesday, 06 February 2019.

I pray it is released Tuesday ...

It will end in praise....

Finally I maxed out on IELTS, the computer-based test in Lagos paid off ! My CRS is now at 442.
Thanks everyone for your support.

69 Likes 1 Share

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Onyeenyeh: 2:26pm On Jan 28, 2019
Dear People of God, it's COPR finally

PPR: Mail dated December 18th, submitted December 19th
COPR: Dated Jan 21, picked up today.

This was another hell of a wait, but it has ended in praise. Can't wait for you all to testify.

59 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by freshdad: 2:32pm On Jan 28, 2019
Woow...Congrats

The bold really got me. God is great
Shyee:

WORK EXPERIENCE I am self-employed, I repair computers, printers etc and 2 days ago, I repaired my LCD TV( I think im handy). I submitted reference letters from 6 customers and 8 receipts. I couldn’t even get receipts for some of those who wrote reference letters for me, I was worried here, yet I didn’t want to manipulate things. Many of the reference letters were handwritten with customers phone numbers and email addresses, of course, they stated I was paid in cash. I don’t think IRCC called any of them though.
I had to monitor one of my references email, in case something important comes in.
No travel history.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by bskyb(m): 2:33pm On Jan 28, 2019
Ifeoma77:

ICES evaluates RN/RM favourably. Go ahead and upgrade your report and claim your scores.
Wish you the best

Thank you

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Kmgb1: 2:34pm On Jan 28, 2019
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Nobody: 2:35pm On Jan 28, 2019
Harjeehbaday:

Finally I maxed out on IELTS, the computer-based test in Lagos paid off ! My CRS is now at 442.

Congrats dear. Please for the listening and reading did you use capital letters to answer or you capitalized just the nouns. Kindly throw more light on the CBT exam

Congrats once more
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Nobody: 2:38pm On Jan 28, 2019
Hello guys, correct we if I'm wrong

Kickstarted my Transcript request today
Intend writing IELTS 2nd March.

At what point am i to create my express entry profile?
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Kmgb1: 2:43pm On Jan 28, 2019
joo2018:

If you check the link referenced, @saidato didn't also need the sibling points.
"Sibling point:
My sister in-law whom I claimed points from did not include my spouse in her application, however she gave me all supporting documents plus Jara.
Please note without the sibling points my CRS would have been 441. The CRS draw cut off was 441 and the tie breaker rule was in my favour. I knew I would be safe so I didn't reject the ITA. I also wrote an LOE to explain it."

As to whether there may be implications for not adding your family to your application, @clock89 has provided an example. I will continue my search for more.

I get everyones point,its only gcms notes that can confirm if there was an issue raised or not. Having said that,if i was the one though ,i'd use it especially since its my half sibling we are talking about.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Kmgb1: 2:45pm On Jan 28, 2019
Harjeehbaday:

Finally,really happy for you!

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Ifeoma77(f): 2:53pm On Jan 28, 2019
Harjeehbaday:

Yay!!! Congratulations!!! Surefire ITA loading
kiss

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by cmoney22222: 3:00pm On Jan 28, 2019
When you have eca and ielts result

moneybag4411:
Hello guys, correct we if I'm wrong

Kickstarted my Transcript request today
Intend writing IELTS 2nd March.

At what point am i to create my express entry profile?

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by souvie: 3:00pm On Jan 28, 2019
Good day house,

I'm 39 with a BSc and PGD, spouse is 35 with just a BSc. We have tried simulating CRS scores even though we are yet to write IELTS and we do not make up to 420.
Plan is to have spouse do a quick certificate/diploma. To qualify for two or more certificates.
Spouse has already registered for CIPM intermediate exam, will this suffice? Next birthday is October and we don't want to lose more points.

Thanks in advance
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by ojsamuel(m): 3:03pm On Jan 28, 2019
Harjeehbaday:

Whao. Congrats! Please give some tips on the CBT ielts.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Harjeehbaday(m): 3:04pm On Jan 28, 2019
Kmgb1:

Finally,really happy for you!

Thanks a lot, really appreciate
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Saskbound: 3:16pm On Jan 28, 2019
WOW!!!!! this is HUGE! Congratulations

Shyee:
Hallelujah, For the Lord God Omnipotent, HE reigneth.

While I don’t yet know if this post will be long or otherwise, I will endeavour to share this testimony, not for the anxiety of @raphrulz scoring it, but for those who would benefit from it.

Yesterday morning, my phone fell and had a screen problem, I might have done this earlier and more conveniently on it, but PC is not bad either. Thank GOD.

DECISION to travel has always been there, I could remember way before I gained admission into Tertiary institution, various dreams, various wishes, various prayers and the likes. How could this be, parents could only try their best by giving us Nigerian education. Finished M.Sc in 2013, worked as a pseudo-manager in a private firm for 12k, left the place, got another teaching job for 12k… well, God has a plan.
I knew about Express Entry in 2014, I was single then, and my score was 413. ECA with WES took months( I don’t remember exact months), my 2015 IELTS was L7.5 R7 W7 S7.5, I didn’t know about 8777 then, so I paused pursuing the dream and focused on self-employment and marital.

ECA: I could say my ECA was smooth, though it took some time. Spouse’s ECA with WES started since 2015, and till date, it’s not ready. So many problems with Nursing council and WES up and down. I was left with 3 options, GO spouse unaccompanying; Use IQAS; or ICES. I asked the question here if anyone had used ICES for evaluating RN before, I was challenged by a ‘grumpysenrudy’ fellow (Thanks, mate!) to be the first to try it, I did and it came out positive, in fact I almost paid for IQAS too… Ever heard of ‘Penny wise, Pound Foolish’?; I believe Canada is worth all the effing money in my case, anyway.
Registered for ICES in August, result came out after 40 days. If we had used IQAS, maybe we’d just receive ITA in the last 443 draw, because we were at 444.

IELTS Well, after learning I had to aim at 8777, I prepared very well for the Listening and Reading part, I wrote in June 2018, and I had L8.5 R9 W7 S7.5. With this score CRS was at 462 as a single applicant, and 435 as accompanied (without spouse’s ECA), she didn’t write IELTS at last because her ITA came before we could register her. Thank God!

ITA my first ITA came in July, I was among those that had the last batch of 90 days to submit, expecting my spouse’s ECA, 90 days elapsed on September 22nd, her ECA came in September 25th. I also remember many people(myself inclusive) aimed at submitting their application before the introduction of Biometrics in July, Biometrics turned out to be a Blessing in disguise… I suppose it fastens the process.
Got another ITA that same week with spouse not accompanying CRS score of 462, but the cut-off was 449, had to decline it on its Friday and got a surprise draw the following Monday(October 15th) at 440. Hallelujah! Thank You, Jesus.,

POF was 100% gift from my dad. Didn’t notarise it, but we, mum inclusive signed across #20 seal each. I opened a new account entirely for this, after the gift entered, I bought Treasury Bills, submitted the paper they call certificate and statement of account for the new account. Didn’t submit any other statement of account.

WORK EXPERIENCE I am self-employed, I repair computers, printers etc and 2 days ago, I repaired my LCD TV( I think im handy). I submitted reference letters from 6 customers and 8 receipts. I couldn’t even get receipts for some of those who wrote reference letters for me, I was worried here, yet I didn’t want to manipulate things. Many of the reference letters were handwritten with customers phone numbers and email addresses, of course, they stated I was paid in cash. I don’t think IRCC called any of them though.
I had to monitor one of my references email, in case something important comes in.
No travel history.

I finished filling the eAPR on Thursday, couldn’t submit till Saturday.

ADR Pre-ITA I allowed a cousin of mine to have access to my file, but I changed to not granted during eAPR all in a bid not to complicate things, instead of MEP on november 25, I got IMM5475e ADR which I submitted same day, got BIL and MEP the following day, and I completed Biometrics the following day, November 28th. In the ADR, I again granted the cousin access to my file .
If you are in the pre-ITA or eAPR stage, try to maintain same information and fill this IMM5475e form if you want to allow or disallow a third party access to your file.

LAGOS We hail thee Lagosians, For you are rugged Nigerians, Come sunshine Come rain, Thine traffic and weather are as they are. Well, let say madam and son didn’t really enjoy the heat and mosquitoes. Thine mosquitoes are stubborn, as the insecticide dies down, the mosquiteos are back. Well, maybe my location sha. #lipSealed

SOCIAL MEDIA PROFILES I updated my facebook, Linkedin and twitter account to tally with what I do and submitted to IRCC. LinkdedIn account was checked by two different people in ghost mode, and 1 or 2 checks by unknown seemingly Nigerians.

I appreciate Praying parents, praying in-laws, praying cousins and a good friend. We’re just lucky.
All in all, Glory to the Father, Glory to the Son, Glory to the Holy Ghost, Glory Hallelujah.

Thanks to Nairaland and this thread from part 1. From the days of Dupysoo, JesusDWay, Damkollins etc to Newmum, Joo, sms2live, ifeoma, vickyehi... you guys are numerous to mention... Kudos to you guys that always got our backs.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by qonfupanda: 3:21pm On Jan 28, 2019
[quote author=Harjeehbaday post=75168149]

OHN and HND are evaluated as 2 degrees[/quote

Thanks bro
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by qonfupanda: 3:24pm On Jan 28, 2019
Good day friends,
Is there anyone here who has used wes to evelauate ond and hnd?.
A friend of mine used ICES and it was evaluated as 4 years advance diploma,
Am considering using wes but am not sure if wes is going to evaluate it differently.
Please help a brother.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by Harjeehbaday(m): 3:24pm On Jan 28, 2019
pyruvateluv:

Congrats dear. Please for the listening and reading did you use capital letters to answer or you capitalized just the nouns. Kindly throw more light on the CBT exam

Congrats once more

I did not use capital letters, the CBT exam is same as the paper one
Please dont write the computer based test if you are not good with computer, you may encounter challenges in the listening and writing sections.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 by kfrosh: 3:27pm On Jan 28, 2019
Baba! To avoid stories that touch and for people like us that don't know which is proper and non-proper Noun, it's advised to just capitalize everything.
pyruvateluv:

Congrats once more

(1) (2) (3) ... (409) (410) (411) (412) (413) (414) (415) ... (511)

Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 13 / Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 / Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part2

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 154