Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / NewStats: 3,223,048 members, 8,053,934 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 January 2025 at 07:55 PM |
Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 (2411748 Views)
Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) / Living In The USA - Life Of An Immigrant Part 1 / Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) (2) (3) (4)
(1) (2) (3) ... (62) (63) (64) (65) (66) (67) (68) ... (751) (Reply) (Go Down)
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by salford: 7:45pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
gogedda:1. You need P. GEO to practice as a geologist. You could however get your Geo in training just like Engineer in training. I haven't seen any new or recently landed geo getting geo jobs. Some of the Geos (oil industry) I know actually lost jobs. Alberta oil sector is not quite down, but it is very down. Na optimization dey reign now for those still operatimg. We have one of the most expensive oil mining process in the world so Alberta took a heavy hit. No suprise Calgary has either the highest or second highest unemployment rate amongst cities in Canada. Office jobs which Calgary is majorly known for were seriously affected. Are there any other jobs you might be willing tp explore outside the oil industry? On the brighter side, the Conservative party are likely to win the election in Alberta in a couple of weeks. Although, the conservative government do not control the world price of oil, but maybe just maybe some of the conventional energy investors that fled during the down turn will return since the Conservative are usually against anything green energy or sustainable development. 2. I highly doubt you will get a realtor job that pays salary. They are usually strictly commision. They collect some percent of the sellers sale. If you are good at selling or flipping houses, you could make tons of money. I mean serious tons of money. Why would a realtor need salary anyway when some of the super realtors can sell 6 houses in a good month and make nothing less than 10k on each house sold. The housing industry is one of the biggest industry in Canada for a reason. 3. Food safety certificates courses are usually for people working or hoping to get a job in a place where food is prepared on a large scale. I know Provincial health services are one of the major employers of people with such certificates. I do not know maybe you meant a different food processing industry since what you hold is an advanced certificate. Have you checked Alberta occ info or indeed ca to see where such certificate(s) would lead you? 4. Can't say much about this since this will majorly depend on what you love doing. Your best bet would be to explore careers that are recession proof. The closest thing to your Geo if you decide to look for similar alternate careers with better career prospect at the moment (while keeping SAIT in mind) would be Civil Engineering/Tech. Good luck! 32 Likes 6 Shares |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by AZeD1(m): 8:34pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
juicebox: There's an airport in Ottawa and another 2 hours away in Montreal. |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Mapleking: 9:16pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
iPopAlomo: I would like to be part of the whatsapp group. |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Mapleking: 9:21pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
Barryston: Please what's the process of getting the FRSC letter? |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by mcstan18(m): 9:27pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
Thank you for the rich landing gist @Newmum0615. I would've thought you left us here and forgot about us altogether |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by ohbros: 9:38pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
Mapleking:any news on frsc recruitment second batch |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Majesticniyi(m): 9:42pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
Officially a member of this thread now....COPR gotten today. A big shout out to those who have helped made this possible, both in direct replies to me, answers to other people's queries and voluntary dropping of vital Info. God bless you all real good.... On another note, Calgary peeps....Una well done oh. Biko, how una dey rent house? I need somewhere downtown....anyone that can help with any agent's contact should please indicate. Those agents on rentfaster no gree pick my calls 10 Likes 2 Shares |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Majesticniyi(m): 10:03pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
jhoci: Calgary bound next month too. Lets connect....sending you a PM right away Maybe we should have a WhatsApp group for those of us landing within a time frame sef 2 Likes |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by snoop4dem: 10:32pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
Well you can use the traditional Craigslist which is the most common place to get this done. But in recent times i have heard a couple of my colleagues and even my sister saying she got her accommodation with MarketPlace on facebook! Heads up, it's expensive out here so bring cash! lolz temieo: 1 Like 2 Shares |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by patwears(m): 10:34pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
There is only one airport i know of in ottawa the mac donald own... nomad26: |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by patwears(m): 10:36pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
Congrats Majesticniyi: 1 Like |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by jhoci: 10:51pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
Una too like WhatsApp group. Majesticniyi: 5 Likes |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by patwears(m): 10:54pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
Any new person coming to ottawa can register to (peter new jobs alert) To get new job alerts and To know the job fairs coming just make sure you have a good resume. iPopAlomo: 5 Likes 4 Shares |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Nobody: 11:24pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
Ok,I will do as adviced..thanks as always Newmum0615: |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Nobody: 11:42pm On Feb 19, 2019 |
dustydee:How do you identify the ones modified using animal genes ? 1 Like |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by iPopAlomo(m): 12:03am On Feb 20, 2019 |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by wholesomegrace: 12:07am On Feb 20, 2019 |
Finally landed, London Ontario for now. Landing gist uneventful and boring but I'll share later. 29 Likes 1 Share |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by einsteino(m): 12:12am On Feb 20, 2019 |
voguemum: The name sounds familiar but my memory is sketchy. when I was a kid, my cousin would buy me a meal that seems to look like what you have in that pic... I think she said it was made from rice or wheat, but we ate it without soups, was a pancake of some sort, only tastier.. It was commonly sold around Barnawa area of Kaduna. Since then I havent had or seen one, I wonder if its waina. 1 Like |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by einsteino(m): 12:22am On Feb 20, 2019 |
salford: When I saw the elaborate reply filled with stats and on the ground facts, I knew it had to have been written by @Salford. God bless you for the hardwork and time you gift to us. @gogedda justice has been done to your question, I couldnt have written a better reply than @salford 's. 16 Likes |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Newmum0615: 1:29am On Feb 20, 2019 |
Congratulations sis and thanks to God for safe delivery of our Canada baby. agates: 4 Likes |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Newmum0615: 1:31am On Feb 20, 2019 |
Thanks sis. Someone has already picked up the license for me. I appreciate the gesture. vcole: |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by pepe1: 1:38am On Feb 20, 2019 |
wholesomegrace: Welcome home and may you flourish in Canada. 1 Like |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by voguemum: 2:22am On Feb 20, 2019 |
einsteino: Yes, it is exactly what you just described. It is mostly sold around Barnawa and most parts of Kaduna, I'd say its very common in the North though I've come across some sellers in Lagos too but mostly where Hausas are populated. I remember as kids we use to dip tge waina/masa in sugar then eat as snacks, it tastes even better. There are alot of recipes and pictures of it on Google so you can check and confirm if its the same as what you had as a kid. |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by RahmaMohammed: 2:36am On Feb 20, 2019 |
Hello everyone! Please are there Nigerian trained lawyers in the house that are writing/have written the NCAs? I am prepping for criminal law in May and some of the topics are just turniowniown in my head. If there is also a whastapp group, Ild like to be added please. 7 Likes 1 Share |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by jelmusboy(m): 3:14am On Feb 20, 2019 |
The way people are getting pregnant or bringing pregnancy to Canada after COPR and birthing here, is doing me like say make I born here sharp sharp. I will need to talk to my testosterone sharply 17 Likes 1 Share |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by jholarharde(f): 6:24am On Feb 20, 2019 |
gogedda: Hi, please can you share the name or link of the pre-arrival service that you were able to get the food safety certifications. Thanks 2 Likes |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by dustydee: 7:29am On Feb 20, 2019 |
Guitarlife:No idea, but I believe it will be stated on the packaging. They may not use the normal name but a chemical or botanical name so you may want to Google. The way these things work is that gradually you will find it more and more difficult to buy the "real" thing and the readily available option will be the GMOs. It is happening in the UK with sugar free drinks. They have even introduced a sugar tax. |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by adebee16: 7:45am On Feb 20, 2019 |
https://www.fpsc-ctac.com/careers-for-new-canadians/how-to-apply/ jholarharde: 6 Likes 7 Shares |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by jholarharde(f): 7:56am On Feb 20, 2019 |
1 Like |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by nomad26: 8:03am On Feb 20, 2019 |
Oga, it is the same airport Ottawa/Macdonald–Cartier International Airport or Macdonald–Cartier International Airport patwears: |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ggetter50: 8:40am On Feb 20, 2019 |
bLacKGoLd3:I don’t really know about your province, though I haven’t been to Canada before but I have come in contact with many organic farms online in Ontario. Here in Finland, almost every fourth consumer buys organic products on a weekly basis. I believe Canada and Finland share the same harsh weather conditions which restricts the presence of pest and reduce the need for pesticides. I know only this cannot prevent GMO, but atleast speaking for here, organic products are common. As developed as Canada, I hope there should be glaring and open market to choose to the kind of product you want. Like this shouldn’t be hard to get, but should be within your reach. 4 Likes |
Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Josh121(m): 9:34am On Feb 20, 2019 |
Seniors in the house Please I want to know if it advisable to enroll in medical school as migrant in Canada . Please all advice and contribution is needed cc: Ethelia , vcole , einsteino , salford 2 Likes 1 Share |
(1) (2) (3) ... (62) (63) (64) (65) (66) (67) (68) ... (751) (Reply)
Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program Connect Here / Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion.
Viewing this topic: Venom104, njambert and 3 guest(s)
Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2025 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 65 |