Stats: 3,184,686 members, 7,924,214 topics. Date: Sunday, 18 August 2024 at 06:21 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (7779) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12270125 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (7776) (7777) (7778) (7779) (7780) (7781) (7782) ... (16527) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 5:12pm On Nov 25, 2019
my man, how far na? it have teeeeey ooooooo grin
forgiveness:

At least, you have admitted we lost due to dark tactics and not due to our inability to control the game with smallish Onazi. Thank you. EOD
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 5:13pm On Nov 25, 2019
Kog45:
Ha Taliban,Teslim Balogun video?but it's on record that Teslim Balogun was the first Nigerian to play Professional football outside Nigeria (I stand to be corrected)

I think it was Titus Okere.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 5:15pm On Nov 25, 2019
Taliban:

I think it was Titus Okere.
Reason why i love this thread.

CC:icon4s

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 5:19pm On Nov 25, 2019
charlesemeka85:
my man, how far na? it have teeeeey ooooooo grin

I dey. Just too occupied with many things. Will find it difficult to catch up here but if I stumble at one yeye comment, I go show face small. grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 5:22pm On Nov 25, 2019
it was onigbinde who first deployed yobo as a centre back against england and he performed amazingly well

he gave a young femi opubami fresh from the u17 world a chance to the super eagles, femi was very promising then but was unfortunate to have a career that ended prematurely due to ill heath

he was the first who introduced osaze odewingie to the super eagles then as a rookie, he trained with the 2002 world cup team but didnt make the final list

he was the one who brought an unknown john utaka to the super eagles who went on to have a good career in europe and the super eagles

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 5:22pm On Nov 25, 2019
grin idiat
forgiveness:

I dey. Just too occupied with many things. Will find it difficult to be catch up here but if I stumble on one yeye comment, I go show face small. grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 5:25pm On Nov 25, 2019
charlesemeka85:
onigbinde is the luis van gaal of nigerian football but was never treated fairly and appreciated by the nff and fans. he is one local coach i have so much regard and respect for.

Yeah i remember watching Afcon 84 with young Keshi as Skippo and will never forget the final against Cameroon.

Nigeria young team lost to a very experienced Cameroonian team who came with the team that went to Espana 82.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 5:28pm On Nov 25, 2019
charlesemeka85:
it was onigbinde who first deployed yobo as a centre back against england and he performed amazingly well

he gave a young femi opubami fresh from the u17 world a chance to the super eagles, femi was very promising then but was unfortunate to have a career that ended prematurely due to ill heath

he was the first who introduced osaze odewingie to the super eagles then as a rookie, he trained with the 2002 world cup but didnt make the final list

he was the one who brought an unknown john utaka to the super eagles who went on to have a good career in europe and the super eagles

Oh Onigbinde real discovery was Vincent Enyeama.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 5:29pm On Nov 25, 2019
I forgot to add Vincent, my bad
Kog45:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by darkelf: 5:32pm On Nov 25, 2019
Humility017:

don't mind him...he will always look for excuse for Imama....

everyone who knows football...will tell you that imama has nothing to offer even if given the current super eagles team...

but Basco will never agree

whats wrong with playing a nation league side...like any of the NPFL club as friendly is that not a good test for the CHAN Qualifiers?

a coach who knows what he is doing, won't mind organise this friendlies with club sides close to their camp base and you must not wait for the clueless nff to do all things for you....

who did the yusuf team played prior they qualifed for the last one

still waiting for him to carve excuses for Agbiogun and the Olympic team gross failure in Egypt.

the first thing the NFFneed do right now is to employ an indigenous competent coach to assist rohr and also help build the CHAN and WAFU team... that's the best bet for NPFL players to climb up the ladder....

cc: BascoVanVeli

Kennedy Boboye isn't bad iMO for CHAN eagles

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 5:33pm On Nov 25, 2019
Yea he is another decent tactician from the local scene. Another is the young coach who took mfm team to the top flight and wowed the league with his tactical expertise
darkelf:

Kennedy Boboye isn't bad iMO for CHAN eagles
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 5:51pm On Nov 25, 2019
Kog45:

and Femi Opabunmi, if not for blindness( abi what was it then)
that guy would had go places

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:00pm On Nov 25, 2019
BascoVanVeli:

This is the kind of mindset that I am talking about. U played Brazil and Ukraine for Lesotho but u want to tell me that we don't need friendlies to prepare for a neighbouring country.

I am not a f**l u people are just fighting to maintain the image of your Pinnick. There is no other excuse for this shameless looking of the other way for a man that has failed time and again. Without the super eagles he is a complete loser and any man or woman that says different has a flawed character

Chairman we have not seen you at the other end.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:01pm On Nov 25, 2019
Kog45:
Reason why i love this thread.

CC:icon4s

Egbon, how far?

Where you go leave us since?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by somehow: 6:02pm On Nov 25, 2019
charlesemeka85:
Yea he is another decent tactician from the local scene. Another is the young coach who took mfm team to the top flight and wowed the league with his tactical expertise

Kelechi Ilechukwu

Currently struggling with Heartland though
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:02pm On Nov 25, 2019
andrewbaba44:

Kalu usually don’t score much be he is good

Zaha was once like this till not long ago

Andrew Committee duty calls.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 6:03pm On Nov 25, 2019
Icon4s:

Egbon, how far?

Where you go leave us since?
Man busy ni o.

Chief how your end na
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:13pm On Nov 25, 2019
Kog45:
Man busy ni o.

Chief how your end na

grin busy making ya Mirrions o kwa ya? grin grin grin

My end dey Kamkpe. I hold am right.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:14pm On Nov 25, 2019
do4luv14:

and Femi Opabunmi, if not for blindness( abi what was it then)
that guy would had go places

It was not Onigbinde that discovered Femi Opabummi.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by ChrisKels: 6:34pm On Nov 25, 2019
charlesemeka85:
sentiment aside tammy is a good striker but i prefer osimehn because he is more rugged and physical. osimehn is a warrior who is ready to put his body on the line for his team and pose more threat to defenders than tammy because of his robust style of play.

osimehn reminds me so much of a young didier drogba and diego costa

U insulted me for saying exact same thing about Osimhen few months ago, at the AFCON grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 6:35pm On Nov 25, 2019
charlesemeka85:

he was the first who introduced osaze odewingie to the super eagles then as a rookie, he trained with the 2002 world cup team but didnt make the final list

John utaka, i too love that player
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 6:46pm On Nov 25, 2019
charlesemeka85:
onigbinde is the luis van gaal of nigerian football but was never treated fairly and appreciated by the nff and fans. he is one local coach i have so much regard and respect for.

Agreed
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 6:47pm On Nov 25, 2019
charlesemeka85:
sentiment aside tammy is a good striker but i prefer osimehn because he is more rugged and physical. osimehn is a warrior who is ready to put his body on the line for his team and pose more threat to defenders than tammy because of his robust style of play.

osimehn reminds me so much of a young didier drogba and diego costa

Young Dider Drogba? maybe Yes

Young diego costa? No
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 6:49pm On Nov 25, 2019
Humility017:

the first thing the NFFneed do right now is to employ an indigenous competent coach to assist rohr and also help build the CHAN and WAFU team... that's the best bet for NPFL players to climb up the ladder....

cc: BascoVanVeli
The best for the job lies between these two (I'm biased towards them tho); Abdu Maikaba and Fidelis Ilechukwu. They have an eye for talent, can do more with less
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 6:50pm On Nov 25, 2019
somehow:

Kelechi Ilechukwu
Currently struggling with Heartland though
Fidelis*
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 6:50pm On Nov 25, 2019
Kog45:
Respect to the two guys for proving their coaches right and am happy for them though Tammy is a English player with deep Naija root.

Osimehn remain the golden boy of Nigeria football and am seeing him beating Yekini's record.

There is nothing special in that yekini record, i mean no disrespect

Victor is young and victor might beat that record

If ighalo started playing for the eagles at age 20 or 21 he would have beaten that yakini record by now

Still suprised yakubu or ike uche didnt beat that rrecord

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by somehow: 6:51pm On Nov 25, 2019
Following apology letters from Rabiu Ali of Kano Pillars, his 12-match ban has come under review considering the community service he rendered as directed by the LMC.
After considering Rabiu Ali's past record in the league, the remaining period of his ban is hereby commuted to a suspended sentence with effect from Matchday 6.
Rabiu Ali is however required, as part of the commutation of his ban, to contribute to community engagement & development including visiting schools to promote good virtues associated with football.
#NPFL20
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by ChrisKels: 6:53pm On Nov 25, 2019
andrewbaba44:

There is nothing special in that yekini record, i mean no disrespect

Victor is young and victor might beat that record

If ighalo started playing for the eagles at age 20 or 21 he would have beaten that yakini record by now

Still suprised yakubu or ike uche didnt beat that rrecord

Ighalo was rubbish until he joined Watford in the championship, how would he have been playing for Naija at 21 when he was utter crap grin

In fact, at 21, Ighalo was with Cesena,and he scored zero goals in as many matches. Na so he for beat Yekings record? grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by somehow: 6:54pm On Nov 25, 2019
Odunayaw:
Fidelis*
Thanks but currently not doing well with heartland
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 6:54pm On Nov 25, 2019
somehow:

The same Okpotu that some people used in berating the NPFL last year bossing a whole Tunisian league?

Admin and structure are the banes of the league, not really dearth of players
Gbam!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 6:54pm On Nov 25, 2019
somehow:

Thanks but currently not doing well with heartland
Yes, the man needs time to get settle in that place.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 7:01pm On Nov 25, 2019
BascoVanVeli What stadium do Akwa Starlets play their games

(1) (2) (3) ... (7776) (7777) (7778) (7779) (7780) (7781) (7782) ... (16527) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: bennie1980(m) and 8 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 48