Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / NewStats: 3,208,278 members, 8,002,135 topics. Date: Thursday, 14 November 2024 at 03:13 AM |
Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / Satellite TV Technology / Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA (2386296 Views)
UPS Back-up, Also A Complement To FTA / FTA Frequency / Cctv Installation A Complement To Fta And Solar Energy (2) (3) (4)
(1) (2) (3) ... (817) (818) (819) (820) (821) (822) (823) ... (1855) (Reply) (Go Down)
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by limpopo: 11:18am On Aug 13, 2020 |
ojeysky: millions ke!!!! I never belleful like that ooo. please what can be done to reduce the cost.. like 600watts for 8 hours 1 Like |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by eleojo23: 12:05pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
limpopo: I still see millions How about you give an idea of the appliances you want to run on the setup? Maybe gurus here can give you energy-efficient options or advice on how to best optimise the appliances for lower consumption. 600w continous for 8hours is still huge. |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ceaser: 12:17pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
ojeysky: Yeah, I know you have that LFP/Li-ion BMS. But na shikini 30amp I'm in need of. Thanks. |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by IYGEAL(m): 12:24pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
ojeysky: Thanks. In simpler terms, you mean I should continue with the current arrangement (4p) instead of 2s2p since I use 12V? |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ceaser: 12:25pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
eleojo23: Lol. This gat me. Reminds me of one Nollywood movie like that. Bàbá, please if I sacrifice my manhood, will poverty stop in my life? Bàbá replied, even if you sacrifice your head today, I still see poverty chasing you o. 2 Likes |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ceaser: 12:28pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
IYGEAL: You have better chances with 2s 2p than with 4p because of your use of MPPT. 4p on your MPPT will not give enough headroom for the CC to display its prowess to handle your 12v battery demands. So for now, go 2s 2p. When you now have enough strength to go 24v system, you can consider getting two more similar rating panels to make a 3s2p. 1 Like |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Valto(m): 12:32pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
.. 1 Like |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by limpopo: 1:30pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
eleojo23: This one that you are seeing millions now!! okay, the breakdown.. I don remove some gadgets shaa 43inch TV - 80watts sound bar --- 70watts led bulbs (5watts) -- 8pcs -- 40 watts decoder -- 30watts phone chargers-- let's say 10watts(10* 5phones)--- 50watts fans--- (4pcs *40watts)--- let's say 200watts All the above calculation Na 470watts So, 470watts for 8hours cc Valto earthrealm ojeysky kiekie1 sathob GeorgeD1 |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by eleojo23: 1:38pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
ceaser: That Baba na savage. |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by eleojo23: 1:44pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
limpopo: Now we are getting somewhere.... From your list, I don't think all these will run simultaneously for 8hours. For instance, your phones cannot charge continuously for 8hours so that knocks off the 50w from your continous load. I assume your continous load will eventually be around 350w. Now, lets wait for the gurus to come and give you figures in hundreds of thousands, shey that is Ok? |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by limpopo: 2:38pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
eleojo23: Sigh!!! sure!!! |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Valto(m): 2:46pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
limpopo:there are low wattage standing/ceiling fans that consumes less than 20w. u may have to invest in them, to bring your fan energy consumption, down to less than 80w. |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ojeysky(m): 4:11pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
IYGEAL: Am saying you should reconfigure to 2s2p so you have early wake up and late shutdown |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by limpopo: 4:12pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
Valto: Noted... thanks... Abeg make una help me calculate ooo |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by IYGEAL(m): 4:57pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
ojeysky: Merci beaucoup! I'd be rearranging this evening or tomorrow morning. |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by IYGEAL(m): 5:01pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
ceaser: Thanks a lot. I appreciate. PS. By the bolded, I guess you meant 3s3p. |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ojeysky(m): 7:19pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
IYGEAL: Nope with 6 panels it's either 3s2p or 2s3p 1 Like |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by essegis(m): 8:02pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
Valto: Can you explain number 13 please. I don't understand what you mean by wide range for Voc. Normally it's just one figure. Also what's the individual utility charge current and that for the MPPT. Which of them has this 80A? Thanks. |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ewizard1: 8:52pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
Leopantro:- I have a 180Ah Battery and it lasts about 15hrs depending on what i run on it which i always keep to least minimal - Max about 500w - Yes, @24v 1.5kva - I have my inverter set to a Min and Max voltage operation. - I have the Opus battery tester. - No, its 7s100p - I used soldering - Physical Check + Capacity Check |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by IYGEAL(m): 9:06pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
ojeysky: Oh, I just realized this. Thanks for the clarification. |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Valto(m): 9:17pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
essegis:it means the pv voltage must be from 120vdc minimum to 450vdc maximum utility charge current is 60A inbuilt mppt cc is 80A |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ceaser: 10:18pm On Aug 13, 2020 |
limpopo: Abeg, which decoder dey chop 30 watts? Na those old type of decoders Una dey use? Except it's DSTV PVR decoder which I believe won't even fully gulp more than 15w to 20w consumption, most other decoders are in the range of 3 watts, 4 watts If your 43 inch TV has energy saving option and you get it activated, you can end up with lower consumption of between 40 watts to 45 watts. |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Barezzi(m): 12:21am On Aug 14, 2020 |
APPLIANCES: Approx. 500w (8 hours) Day time loads = 4kwh 1. 1kva 12Vdc Inverter 2. 4# 300w solar panels 3. 60A CC (Capable of charging Lead Acid or Lithium) 4a. 2# 200Ah 12V dc nominal Lead Acid bank or 4b. 2# 100Ah 12V dc nominal Lithium bank 5. Isolation and protection accessories Energy Storage @ 12V dc nominal: (8hr DayTime Use) 400Ah @C10 - Lead Acid: 4kwh (50% - Useable = 2kwh) or 200Ah @C2 - Lithium: 2.5kwh (80% - Useable = 2kwh) Pv Array: 4kwh generated in 4 hours of sunshine = 1000w (4# 300w panels) Source Priority: 1. Solar 2. Battery 3. Grid 4. Gen You can comfortably get away with 1# 100Ah 12V dc Lithium battery and 2# 300w PV if the array performs at 4kwh/kw efficiency. limpopo: 3 Likes |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by chloride6: 2:11am On Aug 14, 2020 |
Good day, Please who can help me with specification to build a small inverter system. Inverter and two batteries. No solar in the system for now. It will all be powered by mains electricity for now. Maybe Solar will be in the picture in future. What is important to me is that I have an inveter with like 3kva capacity, cos I plan to gradually increase the amount of batteries i have because I plan to occasionally use 1hp AC and microwave in future. I'm asking so that I dont fall prey to unscrupulous installers. I've read the thread but so many terminologies to catch up with. What is a hybrid inverter? MPP? 12v vs 24v? What brand should I go for? Lithium vs Lead? So many questions. Thanks |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by zeestone99(m): 9:10am On Aug 14, 2020 |
Valto: That inverter is badass. Happy sales. 1 Like |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by zeestone99(m): 9:14am On Aug 14, 2020 |
Just arrived 300w kartel solar panels. 45k each, bulk order 43k Call 08117398294 Chat - http:///2348117398294 free delivery for Lagos residents.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by limpopo: 9:19am On Aug 14, 2020 |
Barezzi: Thanks for this.... I really appreciate... the excel I saw online calculated something else though I used 350watts for 6 hours for the calculation. find attached
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ceaser: 11:27am On Aug 14, 2020 |
ceaser: NB: I realized my wattmeter may have recently been overestimating recorded consumption by as much as 12 watts. So I relied on the reading on the inverter which has been tested against at least four different appliances with good reproducibility of result. So I recorded 102 watts on the 319L inverter freezer (nameplate 115 watts) this morning after it worked for 36hrs non-stop. Then it increased to 115 watts when a bucket of fresh unfrozen fish was put inside. One hour later, it had dropped to 113 watts. 1 Like |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Leopantro: 12:09pm On Aug 14, 2020 |
ewizard1: Thanks a lot. No wonder you don't need the BMS Have ordered for a battery tester |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ojeysky(m): 12:44pm On Aug 14, 2020 |
ceaser: Tell me more about that inverter freezer, thermocool? Or LG? |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by limpopo: 12:49pm On Aug 14, 2020 |
Morning bosses... I have to admit, I have learnt and still learning Sha so many things on this thread After my post here yesterday.. When I woke up this morning, I decided to do addition and subtraction based on some suggestions here.. I later discovered that what I really need is 350watts for 7hours max. So I started going through the thread from beginning, middle and end, even though the more I read, the more I get confused (first time in history.. me wey like to learn new things).. So my Calculation goes thus; 350watts for 7hours =2450wattshour SOLAR PANEL = Daily energy requirement/average sunlight/system efficiency 2450/4/0.75 =815 watts BATTERY BANK= Total load*days of storage/system voltage* efficiency after system losses 2450×1/12×0.8 = 255Ah INVERTER= 350×25/100 = 90 watts 350+90 = 440watts I DON'T KNOW ABOUT THE CC CALCULATION YET Please, can it be safe to say all I need; 1. 900watts solar panels (3*300) 2. 255Ah 12v Battery (or should I increase it) 3. 0.5kva 12vdc inverter 4. Charger; I don't know yet 5. Accessories Thanks to the following people for their inputs yesterday Barezzi ceaser Valto eleojo23 ojeysky |
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Valto(m): 2:44pm On Aug 14, 2020 |
limpopo:simply double the highlighted, and u will have a perfect system. 700k can do this.. 2 Likes |
(1) (2) (3) ... (817) (818) (819) (820) (821) (822) (823) ... (1855) (Reply)
FTA Live Football Matches Announcement Thread / Free To Air Satellite Tv General Thread
Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)
Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67 |