Stats: 3,197,497 members, 7,964,971 topics. Date: Thursday, 03 October 2024 at 05:30 AM

Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . - Foreign Affairs (1392) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . (3159155 Views)

“If Mugabe Dies, We Will Field His Corpse As A Candidate For Election” - Wife / Photos: What Some Countries Gives Their Soldiers To Eat On The Battle Field. / Video Of Frightened Black Man Forced Into A Coffin By White Man Sparks Outrage (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1389) (1390) (1391) (1392) (1393) (1394) (1395) ... (2214) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by FieldMarshall06(m): 9:07am On Oct 09, 2020
youghs:

I hope the remaining two are CH5

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Faithful007: 9:07am On Oct 09, 2020
Toju200:
pls remove it
Why?
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by dragon2(m): 9:50am On Oct 09, 2020
UltimateDreamer:

dopeness of life...
hopefully the UAV champions will take this as a win... grin because it is a win....10 CH4's(if confirmed) will greatly improve situational awareness for personnel on the front line. 30-40 hours loiter time cool, with precision weapons (AR-1 or AR-2) should reduce the instances of ambush suffered by military personnel. We need more though, at least 40 - 50 of these; 10-15 always operational 10-15 as standby(take over from operational UAV's after 1 month; maintenance schedule) 10-15 for external engagements(coastal/west Africa/Sahel) 10-15 for continuous training, eventually no military patrol team/ strike team in Nigeria should leave base without the cover of a designated UAV ready to be re-directed to specified coordinates. Although we need many more small and specialized tactical UAV's, for example: tethered drones for base perimeter security, the super camps have made bases a lot safer but having tethered UAV's in camp to provide additional layer of perimeter security wouldn't hurt.
Now, talking about one weak link we will definitely encounter with using these drones: precision munitions; the military needs to start looking at ways of reverse engineering the AR 1 missile that they got with the CH3 drones, they definitely will been acquiring more air to ground missiles along with the new purchase of the Ch4 UAV's but judging from the videos released by DHQ about 70% of the strikes are dumb bombs, they are accurate enough but boosting the level of precision strikes to 60% will greatly increase the efficiency of the CH4 platform. AR-1 missile should and must be reverse engineered, the newer and lighter AR-2 should also be looked into. AR-1 is a replica of the AGM-114 Hellfire. The military need to cut down the cost of these precision munitions in order to strike even more effectively. MOU's between the military and technical colleges, private universities, steel/aluminum fabrication companies, private software companies should help speed development. Some of the components of an air to ground missile like the Hellfire or AR-1 include, laser seeker, rocket propulsion(military already has this figured out), guidance(motherboard, circuits, semiconductors and software) this section can be replicated using Raspberry pi or Arduino boards. The warhead section, well, they can figure this one out too. Point is once one is disassembled by a group of very curious engineers the smartest physics students working with capable software engineers, they should be able to replicate it using mostly off the shelf components; the replicated missile might be larger at first but so long as it works, they can figure out how to make the next one smaller. cool Nigeria has all the required professional personnel needed for a project like this.

I agree 1000%. The MOD should set aside a percentage of budget for missiles tech,maybe work with South Africa. Getting a seeker head will allow us develop local,air to air, air to ground,surface to surface and anti ship missiles. The reduced costs will allow more frequent exercises in weapons deployment by the three arms. Also,a swarm of SDB3/4 with local made anti ship missiles would be a last line of independent defence at sea. Propulsion is partially done,we really need seeker heads.

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by FieldMarshall06(m): 10:05am On Oct 09, 2020
dragon2:

I agree 1000%. The MOD should set aside a percentage of budget for missiles tech,maybe work with South Africa. Getting a seeker head will allow us develop local,air to air, air to ground,surface to surface and anti ship missiles. The reduced costs will allow more frequent exercises in weapons deployment by the three arms. Also,a swarm of SDB3/4 with local made anti ship missiles would be a last line of independent defence at sea. Propulsion is partially done,we really need seeker heads.

We are almost there bro. Work on Inertial Guidance & Control of rockets is ongoing. That is the challenging part. Once we fix that, Naija made missiles are almost ready.

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Toju200(m): 12:50pm On Oct 09, 2020
Indigenous JC-6 rocket pod for intergrated on bell 412

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Toju200(m): 12:51pm On Oct 09, 2020
Helo for Deep blue to be operated by Nigeria navy

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Toju200(m): 12:51pm On Oct 09, 2020
Budget release

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Toju200(m): 12:52pm On Oct 09, 2020

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Toju200(m): 12:53pm On Oct 09, 2020
Special mission aircraft

1 Share

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Jimi24: 5:41pm On Oct 09, 2020
UltimateDreamer:

dopeness of life...
hopefully the UAV champions will take this as a win... grin because it is a win....10 CH4's(if confirmed) will greatly improve situational awareness for personnel on the front line. 30-40 hours loiter time cool, with precision weapons (AR-1 or AR-2) should reduce the instances of ambush suffered by military personnel. We need more though, at least 40 - 50 of these; 10-15 always operational 10-15 as standby(take over from operational UAV's after 1 month; maintenance schedule) 10-15 for external engagements(coastal/west Africa/Sahel) 10-15 for continuous training, eventually no military patrol team/ strike team in Nigeria should leave base without the cover of a designated UAV ready to be re-directed to specified coordinates. Although we need many more small and specialized tactical UAV's, for example: tethered drones for base perimeter security, the super camps have made bases a lot safer but having tethered UAV's in camp to provide additional layer of perimeter security wouldn't hurt.
Now, talking about one weak link we will definitely encounter with using these drones: precision munitions; the military needs to start looking at ways of reverse engineering the AR 1 missile that they got with the CH3 drones, they definitely will been acquiring more air to ground missiles along with the new purchase of the Ch4 UAV's but judging from the videos released by DHQ about 70% of the strikes are dumb bombs, they are accurate enough but boosting the level of precision strikes to 60% will greatly increase the efficiency of the CH4 platform. AR-1 missile should and must be reverse engineered, the newer and lighter AR-2 should also be looked into. AR-1 is a replica of the AGM-114 Hellfire. The military need to cut down the cost of these precision munitions in order to strike even more effectively. MOU's between the military and technical colleges, private universities, steel/aluminum fabrication companies, private software companies should help speed development. Some of the components of an air to ground missile like the Hellfire or AR-1 include, laser seeker, rocket propulsion(military already has this figured out), guidance(motherboard, circuits, semiconductors and software) this section can be replicated using Raspberry pi or Arduino boards. The warhead section, well, they can figure this one out too. Point is once one is disassembled by a group of very curious engineers the smartest physics students working with capable software engineers, they should be able to replicate it using mostly off the shelf components; the replicated missile might be larger at first but so long as it works, they can figure out how to make the next one smaller. cool Nigeria has all the required professional personnel needed for a project like this.

Very good visioning. Realistic, knowledge able and achieve able

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by demolition: 8:52pm On Oct 09, 2020
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Xbee007(m): 9:01pm On Oct 09, 2020
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by demolition: 9:32pm On Oct 09, 2020
Xbee007:

Old. Very old

Old but gold

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by komekn(m): 9:35pm On Oct 09, 2020
Toju200:
This will be my last post on this Tucano and wing Loong issue..
We're here to learn right so nobody's forming I too know.
I'm not against the Wing Loong drones of course we do need drones.but 50 drones to do what bro I'm still curious if they can be deployed In swarms,bec because I don't see why we'll buy 50 wing Loong for $500mil(According to you) dude you've not even looked at the Cost of maintenance,Weaponry, Training of pilots, Training of maintenance crew, Spares e.t.c
You just budgeted 50 drones without with the whole money without looking at other things grin.
Now look at What the $400+mil covers for the Tucano deal
1.12 Aircraft
2.Spare Parts
3.Training of pilots
4.Training Maintenance crew
5.Large amount of Weapons for both training and actual combat
6.New Facility for The Aircrafts at ACTG niger state( They will still pay contractors building it o grin)
7.Flight stimulator

Now the Tucano is a beast compared to the Wing Loong agreed?

There are a lot the Tucano has to offer than Wing Loong better still we still need the drones They're unique in the very own way wink
The only problem we're having is the delivery date.

I think I'm done with the Tucano debate.
Others should share ideas naw.why is it only me and Chairman here grin

50 Wing Loong II UAV's will cost about £$50 million additional armaments precision weaponry and ATGM another 10 million.

I dont make assumptive opinions based on emotional sentiments. l will substantiate my opinion and or deduction, in addition l don't anchor my opinion on somebody else's. With regards to the bold how did you arrive at that deduction

Months ago l substantiated my deduction with comparative analysis. With regards to the A29 being vastly overpriced.

I am concerned with the HERE and NOW, because too many Nigerian combatants who are peoples sons, fathers, brothers, uncles friends have died needlessly.

The lives of our soldiers are precious and priceless. And no cost should be spared to protect them and enable them to do their jobs effectively.

I have also done a substantive cost appraisal of how much it will cost for 2 minutes of 20mm cannon fire from a Tucano A29

A Wing Loong II, can hover over the areas of contention for 40 hours silently . That's ISTAR capability as well that means no hiding place night or day for Boko.

It means Boko cannot drive in convoys of gun trucks and or motorbikes at anytime to attack remote and isolated villages.

It means that we IDENTIFY, PURSUE, OVERTAKE and ANNIHILATE the word REPEL will no longer be in the diction of the Nigerian armed forces.

Anytime if they Boko manage to attack or we allow them.to attack we can track them silently to thier operating bases for days or weeks. Then with precision weaponry fry the entire base and it's personal.

It means troops can.be directed with proper intelligence, battlefield management and strategy.

It means troops will. NEVER have to be worried about ambushes or fighting without intelligence blindly.

Value for money what it costs for one Tucano you can get 35 -40 Wing Loong II UAV's in the HERE and NOW. If one gets shot down although very very unlikely Boko dont have that technology. But if it did happen no pilot is lost or captured.

Finally with the $540+ million left we can buy used and refurbished Su 25 and more heavy lift helicopters MI8. Then procure refurbished some new at least 2500 - 3000 multiple armoured vehicles platforms IFV's, MRAP's, MBT's, APC's, LAV's., etc.

That's my rational and I can easily substantiate it and not by assumptive ignorance.

Thats why I find it incomprehensible and bewildering that we are facing an existential threat with a very high casualty rate. And we went to buy aircraft with limited impact that will take 6 years to be full delivered and 3+ years for the first one to be delivered.

It just doesn't make any sense .

We are very seriously struggling in the NE and have effectively LOST CONTROL.

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by giles14(m): 10:23pm On Oct 09, 2020
Toju200:
Budget release
how much are we really paying for those 3 jf-17?
this thingt don dey turn scam.

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Toju200(m): 6:54am On Oct 10, 2020
komekn:

50 Wing Loong II UAV's will cost about £$50 million additional armaments precision weaponry and ATGM another 10 million.

I dont make assumptive opinions based on emotional sentiments. l will substantiate my opinion and or deduction, in addition l don't anchor my opinion on somebody else's. With regards to the bold how did you arrive at that deduction

Months ago l substantiated my deduction with comparative analysis. With regards to the A29 being vastly overpriced.

I am concerned with the HERE and NOW, because too many Nigerian combatants who are peoples sons, fathers, brothers, uncles friends have died needlessly.

The lives of our soldiers are precious and priceless. And no cost should be spared to protect them and enable them to do their jobs effectively.

I have also done a substantive cost appraisal of how much it will cost for 2 minutes of 20mm cannon fire from a Tucano A29

A Wing Loong II, can hover over the areas of contention for 40 hours silently . That's ISTAR capability as well that means no hiding place night or day for Boko.

It means Boko cannot drive in convoys of gun trucks and or motorbikes at anytime to attack remote and isolated villages.

It means that we IDENTIFY, PURSUE, OVERTAKE and ANNIHILATE the word REPEL will no longer be in the diction of the Nigerian armed forces.

Anytime if they Boko manage to attack or we allow them.to attack we can track them silently to thier operating bases for days or wIeeks. Then with precision weaponry fry the entire base and it's personal.

It means troops can.be directed with proper intelligence, battlefield management and strategy.

It means troops will. NEVER have to be worried about ambushes or fighting without intelligence blindly.

Value for money what it costs for one Tucano you can get 35 -40 Wing Loong II UAV's in the HERE and NOW. If one gets shot down although very very unlikely Boko dont have that technology. But if it did happen no pilot is lost or captured.

Finally with the $540+ million left we can buy used and refurbished Su 25 and more heavy lift helicopters MI8. Then procure refurbished some new at least 2500 - 3000 multiple armoured vehicles platforms IFV's, MRAP's, MBT's, APC's, LAV's., etc.

That's my rational and I can easily substantiate it and not by assumptive ignorance.

Thats why I find it incomprehensible and bewildering that we are facing an existential threat with a very high casualty rate. And we went to buy aircraft with limited impact that will take 6 years to be full delivered and 3+ years for the first one to be delivered.

SMH.
If we continue like this we'll be going around in circles.
First We've said it here the Tucano deal isn't up to $600mil but $400+
And it covers a lot of things alott...
Good the Drone is cheaper compared to Tucano but if we're buying those drones 50 drones are we deploying them in swarms.Your point of you saying they loiter for around 30-40 hours doesn't justify anything.cos I won't expect Drones pilots to sit in the GCS for even 12hrs straight whether it has autopilot or not, Even if it sends live feed to some command center the officers there go tire.
It's easier said than done if it was that easy the US with their more advanced Reaper drones would have avoided the three ambushes last week in Iraq.
I'm still wondering why the US is considered The Super Tucano for counterinsurgency operations they would have just deployed MQ-9s.
Tucano is a beast compared wing loog so it's worth it.
Our only problem is Delivery time frame.

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by youghs: 7:00am On Oct 10, 2020
komekn:

Anytime if they Boko manage to attack or we allow them.to attack we can track them silently to thier operating bases for days or weeks. Then with precision weaponry fry the entire base and it's personal.

The problem here is that you're not getting the point. We all know we need UAVs and UCAVs but at the same time we also need the tucanos, they both have their part to play in this war. and I'm sure you're aware that NAF would be receiving 8 UCAVs this year so, it's all joined together.

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by rka1: 10:27am On Oct 10, 2020
giles14:
how much are we really paying for those 3 jf-17?
this thingt don dey turn scam.

Being paid in installments since 2017 so this is the final instalment . Remember, The Pakistan Government gave a sovereign guarantee of $184.3m so it has to be paid back .

https://www.defenseworld.net/news/23560/Pakistan_Provides_Sovereign_Guarantee_for_Sale_of_3_JF_17_Fighter_Jets_to_Nigeria#.X4F90HrTWdk
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by giles14(m): 12:14pm On Oct 10, 2020
rka1:

Being paid in installments since 2017 so this is the final instalment . Remember, The Pakistan Government gave a sovereign guarantee of $184.3m so it has to be paid back .

https://www.defenseworld.net/news/23560/Pakistan_Provides_Sovereign_Guarantee_for_Sale_of_3_JF_17_Fighter_Jets_to_Nigeria#.X4F90HrTWdk
thansks
but is the $184.3mls just for 3 birds
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Faithful007: 12:57pm On Oct 10, 2020
The L 39NG. An aircraft that can fully replace the alpha jet fleet, serve as a backup to the JF-17 and assist the Super Tucano in CO IN roles. We already have experience with the older versions of this aircraft.

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by rka1: 1:09pm On Oct 10, 2020
giles14:
thansks
but is the $184.3mls just for 3 birds

It appears to be just for the 3 and associated ammo, logistics, pilot/technician training etc. I would guess that any further orders, whether yet carried out or not, would be for the blk 3. My opinion only.
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by misky2000(m): 2:58pm On Oct 10, 2020
This is a very enlightenment thread. I have actually learnt alot. Please how true is it that proforce is currently building armed drones and a frigate
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Toju200(m): 3:02pm On Oct 10, 2020
misky2000:
This is a very enlightenment thread. I have actually learnt alot. Please how true is it that proforce is currently building armed drones and a frigate
Armed Drones True but Let's not use the term frigate but large patrol ship.
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by youghs: 4:32pm On Oct 10, 2020
I hope this endsars protest won't make US cancel the super tucano deal

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Mugiwaraluffy: 5:54pm On Oct 10, 2020
Toju200:
Budget release
Do you have that of army?
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Odunayaw(m): 7:10pm On Oct 10, 2020
youghs:
I hope this endsars protest won't make US cancel the super tucano deal
The police will be using the Tucanos abi?
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Hennynitan(m): 9:57pm On Oct 10, 2020
How come the North East has been silent recently. Are they also protesting #EndSARS with us
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by youghs: 10:32pm On Oct 10, 2020
Odunayaw:
The police will be using the Tucanos abi?

on the basis of human rights violation. that's what they said the last time.
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Odunayaw(m): 10:35pm On Oct 10, 2020
youghs:

on the basis of human rights violation. that's what they said the last time.
The rights they complained about was military related
Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by UltimateDreamer: 3:48am On Oct 11, 2020
Odunayaw:
The rights they complained about was military related

Hopefully the current Nigerians in power don't loose their senses and decide to call in the military to quell these protests because that will be the beginning of the end to the Tucano deal... FACTS.
We all know and are all witness to the way power tend to make seemingly intelligent people act in such a crass and senile manner. Already I'm beginning to see some videos (2) of soldiers dealing with protesters on the issue of #endsarsnow. This is not sensible and very short-sighted, the military command must ensure that its personnel stay out of this development. The Nigerians protesting #endsarsnow have no beef with the military YET, so there's no need for the military to invite itself into this tussle, absolutely no reason, because it will have only itself to blame when the self-styled moral police America decide to postpone, or outright cancel the tucano deal after how many years of waiting by Nigeria. All it takes is a wrong move from the military to send the whole deal up in flames. Nigerian NGO's CSO's and Amnesty Nigeria already have their sights aimed, locked and loaded waiting for any wrong move concerning how these protests are quelled.
#endsarsnow might be the trending hashtag now but of course if a honest and comprehensive reform of SARS is proposed Nigerians will take that as a win.
Ideas that will make sense to most Nigerians today
SARS officials must compulsorily wear a Body-Cam whenever they are on duty. This can be as simple as a smart phone with a battery pack. or better yet a shoulder/chest worn go-pro-like device with battery pack 24-48hrs battery time for (1picture/second plus full audio recording)
SARS officials must download their Body-Cam footage at their station at the end of every shift before they check-out.
SARS officials must check in all their weapons when they go off duty and check-out their weapons before going on duty.
SARS must have a complaints hotline/app to report incidents, whether anonymously or identified. All that's needed by the caller is the complaint, time and place, and this facts can be corroborated or disputed by internal investigators using the stored data from Body-Cams.
SARS must have internal investigation units tasked solely with internal investigations of complaints made against SARS officials.
Erring SARS officials must be disciplined and if after numerous warnings, said officials must be fired.

SARS officials must be paid in full and on time

list of demands for if and when #endsarsnow reaches negotiation stages.
anyone care to add to the ideological list of demands?
Government must be seen to respond to its citizens, if they had been listening it wouldn't have gotten to this stage.
PS: let no one underestimate the scale and reach of these protests, both online and on-ground. Revolutions usually start by a mass-awakening of citizens ready to risk their life to call government to order.
Government, WAKE UP

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by bidexiii: 6:42am On Oct 11, 2020
CAS UNDERTAKES OPERATIONAL VISIT TO KATSINA, ASSESSES PROGRESS OF ONGOING AIR OPERATIONS IN NORTH WEST ZONE

The Chief of the Air Staff (CAS), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar, has expressed satisfaction with the progress of ongoing air operations in the North West Zone of the Country and pledged the commitment of the Nigerian Air Force (NAF) to sustain the intensity of operations in order to rid the Zone of armed bandits and other criminal elements. The CAS made this known today, 8 October 2020, while on an operational visit to the Headquarters of the Air Component of Operation HADARIN DAJI in Katsina to asses the progress of operations. The visit also afforded the CAS the opportunity to ascertain, first hand, the status of personnel, aircraft and logistics support facilities that had been deployed to ensure the effective conduct of operations. The CAS, who was accompanied on the visit by senior officers from Headquarters NAF, was received in Katsina by the Air Officer Commanding Special Operations Command (AOC SOC), Air Vice Marshal Charles Ohwo, and subsequently received a closed door briefing from the Air Component Commander, Wing Commander Ahmed Hamidu.

Speaking to the Press after the briefing, the CAS reiterated the NAF’s commitment to flush out armed bandits and other criminals from their forest hideouts in Katsina and Zamfara States as well as in Kaduna, Niger and Sokoto States. “I am very happy with what the Air Component has been doing, especially here in Katsina as well as in Zamfara State. We have made significant progress. We have also been able to substantially deal with the problem in Sokoto State”, he added. He stated that these efforts would be intensified as more attack helicopters and fighter jets would be deployed in order to bring to an end the menace of armed banditry in the affected areas. “I assure you that very soon most of these problems will be over”, he said.

Speaking further, Air Marshal Abubakar expressed his appreciation to the Federal Government for its support towards the NAF’s fleet renewal efforts, which, he disclosed, included the acquisition of 8 Unmanned Combat Aerial Vehicles (UCAVs) which would soon arrive the Country. He added that about 70 personnel, who are to operate and maintain the UCAVs, had already been nominated for training in China. He further disclosed that some of the UCAVs would be deployed in Katsina and Gusau, while others would be deployed to Gombe, at the newly established 203 Combat Reconnaissance Group (203 CRG) Gombe. He further stated that he would be in Gusau the following week to discuss with the Zamfara State Government on arrangements for the deployment of UCAVs to Gusau. “These UCAVs will bring substantial value to what we are doing. The whole idea is to send the right message to Nigerians that the Federal Government is doing everything humanly possible to ensure that our communities are safe”, the CAS added.

IBIKUNLE DARAMOLA
Air Commodore
Director of Public Relations & Information
Nigerian Air Force
8 October 2020

Re: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by bidexiii: 6:44am On Oct 11, 2020
More

(1) (2) (3) ... (1389) (1390) (1391) (1392) (1393) (1394) (1395) ... (2214) (Reply)

Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? / African Militaries/ Security Services Strictly Photos Only And Videos Thread / Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 78