Stats: 3,173,860 members, 7,889,872 topics. Date: Sunday, 14 July 2024 at 11:20 PM

Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF (1780 Views)

‘Nigeria Doesn’t Deserve Royal Visit,’ UK Journalists Slam Harry & Meghan / APC May Unveil Tinubu’s Running Mate Wednesday, Party Focuses On North-East / Anthony Sani Blasts Obasanjo, Speaks On North Voting For Atiku (2) (3) (4)

Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by IMAliyu(m): 4:18pm On Nov 13, 2020
Moferere:

I appreciate your intervention and civility Sir.
But on the contrary, I think our southern leaders are not doing much. I am a Yoruba and I reside in the North, the way our people (Southerners) harped on restructuring, it looks to the North like we want to take away some powers from them. That's what I found out in my interactions with them, some of them will tell you restructuring is about cessation.
You and I know that without their approval, restructuring is as good as dead, they have the numbers. I think there is a need for orientation and reorientation, so that we can have a common definition for restructuring.
So.. what form of restructuring do you think is the best?

Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by Kyase(m): 4:20pm On Nov 13, 2020
Moferere:
1. I think we need to find a uniform definition for restructuring so that restructuring will mean the same thing to everyone in NC, NE, NW, SE, SS and SW.

2. The North, just like every other person is needed before restructuring can be achieved. All hands must be on deck with every regions putting their cards on the table.

3. 'If we don't restructure Nigeria, the country will restructure itself'.
This is a big lie. If we don't restructure Nigeria, it is aluta continua. It will never restructure itself.

NB: Don't quote me if you want to play ethnic cards.
Now this are the type of people I want on this forum, people with common sense
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by Moferere: 4:48pm On Nov 13, 2020
Kyase:

Now this are the type of people I want on this forum, people with common sense

Thanks Onne

Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by papaeme: 4:51pm On Nov 13, 2020
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by oyatainer(m): 5:03pm On Nov 13, 2020
Elvictor:

Yoruba leaders are afraid to relinquish the benefits they are getting from Niger Delta crude oil, they have refused to look inward for years Awolowo will be sad that the legacy he left behind have been tarnish by greedy people, Yoruba are independent and powerful but since 1999 we saw another version of Yoruba.

Stop the rubbish, Igbo people too will be silent when they get to corridor of power.

It was documented that North asked for restructuring, secession and refuted independent before any region.

That's what they hold on to now. Everyone must be ready to strategize to wrestle power from North That's all we need not all this cheap blackmails
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by ehinmowo: 5:10pm On Nov 13, 2020
Personally, I don't like restructuring. Outright separation is a better choice. Honestly, I don't want govt to restructure. because d more they refused, the bigger the implosion will be.
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by Moferere: 5:44pm On Nov 13, 2020
IMAliyu:

Resource control, let states be able to control resources in their various states under strict supervision of the federal government.

Instead of going to Abuja with feeding bottles every month to beg for allocations, States should bring certain percentages on the amount they earn from these resources to the centre (Abuja).

To me, this will allow state governors to be up and doing, they will now think out of the box, states like Nasarawa, Zamfara and Kogi that have various mineral resources will wake up.

Let me add Sir that any restructuring that will lead to creation of new states or local government areas is rubbish.

This is my own restructuring Sir.

Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by samdunzo: 5:47pm On Nov 13, 2020
IMAliyu:

6 regional structure, with the current geopolitical zones adopted as the federating units. The FCT will be controlled by the FG. Regional gov't will be headed by an elected governor. In order to win, his party must have the most seats in the Regional House of Assembly, which will take the current state HOA's and merge them. The presidency would be rotated between the six regions, and in order for an individual to be elected President, his party would have to win 244 out of 366 in the newly designed House of Representatives. Seats in the HOR would be evenly spread amongst the 6 regions(60 each), while the FCT would have six. So, the prospective candidate would have to win 40 out of 60 seats from each region, plus 4 out of 6 in the FCT. There would be full resource control, and each region would send back 30% to the center. Furthermore, each region would have its own constitution and its own regional police force. I believe this is the best way to restructure, although I would like to hear from anyone else

Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by MosheDayan: 5:55pm On Nov 13, 2020
Juliusmalema:
Osinbajo said that Restructuring will never happen in Nigeria under his watch

https://www.nairaland.com/6252310/osinbajo-nigerias-problem-not-restructuring
Igbo imposter. grin
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by MosheDayan: 5:57pm On Nov 13, 2020
Moferere:
1. I think we need to find a uniform definition for restructuring so that restructuring will mean the same thing to everyone in NC, NE, NW, SE, SS and SW.

2. The North, just like every other person is needed before restructuring can be achieved. All hands must be on deck with every regions putting their cards on the table.

3. 'If we don't restructure Nigeria, the country will restructure itself'.
This is a big lie. If we don't restructure Nigeria, it is aluta continua. It will never restructure itself.

NB: Don't quote me if you want to play ethnic cards.
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by IMAliyu(m): 6:25pm On Nov 13, 2020
Moferere:

Resource control, let states be able to control resources in their various states under strict supervision of the federal government.

Instead of going to Abuja with feeding bottles every month to beg for allocations, States should bring certain percentages on the amount they earn from these resources to the centre (Abuja).

To me, this will allow state governors to be up and doing, they will now think out of the box, states like Nasarawa, Zamfara and Kogi that have various mineral resources will wake up.

Let me add Sir that any restructuring that will lead to creation of new states or local government areas is rubbish.

This is my own restructuring Sir.
Interesting.
However I prefer samdunzo's own. Because a lot of states shouldn't really even exist. They poses no economic value or capacity and were created by the military regimes along ethic lines to have a better control over the country.

In a proper federal structure, the FG shouldn't be the one giving handouts to states, but the other way around, states should be generating revenue and paying tax to the FG.

Since this topic was about the North, here is what I know about the Northern perception of restructuring.
To be honest most are ignorant of it and don't know what restructuring is, or the benefits that could come with it.
And another set on the other hand are infact against it, as they think that the north will somehow get the short end of the deal if it agrees to it. Although when I ask these people more questions, I realize they too are just misinformed and are ignorant of what restructuring is.

Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by Moferere: 7:32pm On Nov 13, 2020
IMAliyu:

Interesting.
However I prefer samdunzo's own. Because a lot of states shouldn't really even exist. They poses no economic value or capacity and were created by the military regimes along ethic lines to have a better control over the country.

In a proper federal structure, the FG shouldn't be the one giving handouts to states, but the other way around, states should be generating revenue and paying tax to the FG.

Since this topic was about the North, here is what I know about the Northern perception of restructuring.
To be honest most are ignorant of it and don't know what restructuring is, or the benefits that could come with it.
And another set on the other hand are infact against it, as they think that the north will somehow get the short end of the deal if it agrees to it. Although when I ask these people more questions, I realize they too are just misinformed and are ignorant of what restructuring is.

I align myself with your position my brother.
But I think it is too late to 'scrap non-performing states'.
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by Moferere: 7:33pm On Nov 13, 2020
MosheDayan:
[s][/s]

Who is this illiterate?
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by MosheDayan: 8:52pm On Nov 13, 2020
Moferere:

Who is this illiterate?
imagine an aboki calling me names grin grin
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by Moferere: 9:37pm On Nov 13, 2020
MosheDayan:
imagine an aboki calling me names grin grin
Ọdẹ
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by MosheDayan: 9:42pm On Nov 13, 2020
Moferere:

Ọdẹ
omo ale grin
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by samdunzo: 9:59pm On Nov 13, 2020
Moferere:

I align myself with your position my brother.
But I think it is too late to 'scrap non-performing states'.

That may be true, but I hope that COVID-19 and well as its impact on the economy will get people thinking. For instance, within the SW region, there is really no point for 6 states, when only 2( Lagos and Ogun) are doing well, 1(Oyo) is alright, and the rest( Osun, Ondo, and Ekiti) are subpar. Another thing that I really don't like about the state structure is that most development seems to be centered in the capital cities, while other areas are left to rot. Why not just have 1 capital(Ibadan), 1 strong commercial center(Lagos), and have the remaining cities become industrial centers. The same thing applies to other regions, like the SE. There, you can have Enugu as your political capital, Onitsha as the main commercial center, and other cities as strong industrial centers.
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by Moferere: 10:04pm On Nov 13, 2020
samdunzo:

That may be true, but I hope that COVID-19 and well as its impact on the economy will get people thinking. For instance, within the SW region, there is really no point for 6 states, when only 2( Lagos and Ogun) are doing well, 1(Oyo) is alright, and the rest( Osun, Ondo, and Ekiti) are subpar. Another thing that I really don't like about the state structure is that most development seems to be centered in the capital cities, while other areas are left to rot. Why not just have 1 capital(Ibadan), 1 strong commercial center(Lagos), and have the remaining cities become industrial centers. The same thing applies to other regions, like the SE. There, you can have Enugu as your political capital, Onitsha as the main commercial center, and other cities as strong industrial centers.

If we go by this, we will not have more than 12 subnationals (states) across Nigeria.
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by samdunzo: 10:07pm On Nov 13, 2020
Moferere:

If we go by this, we will not have more than 12 subnationals (states) across Nigeria.

12 is too much sef. Just have 6 regions(geopolitical zones) plus the FCT, along with both of our recommendations, and see if Nigeria will not start competing with the likes of China, SA, and Brazil with 15- 20 years
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by Moferere: 10:09pm On Nov 13, 2020
samdunzo:

12 is too much sef. Just have 6 regions(geopolitical zones) plus the FCT, along with both of our recommendations, and see if Nigeria will not start competing with the likes of China, SA, and Brazil with 15- 20 years

Regional system will be the best.
We will cut down overhead costs drastically.
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by samdunzo: 10:13pm On Nov 13, 2020
Moferere:

Regional system will be the best.
We will cut down overhead costs drastically.

Exactly. And the best thing is no region is lacking in terms of human and natural resources. The 3 northern regions are blessed with land and mineral resources, while the 3 southern regions are blessed with industries all across. Put these together, along with the general ambitiousness of the average Nigerian, and I see greatness. Just hope that our leaders, especially those from the North, can put ambitions and politics aside and hear us out
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by karfe(m): 10:42pm On Nov 13, 2020
samdunzo:

Exactly. And the best thing is no region is lacking in terms of human and natural resources. The 3 northern regions are blessed with land and mineral resources, while the 3 southern regions are blessed with industries all across. Put these together, along with the general ambitiousness of the average Nigerian, and I see greatness. Just hope that our leaders, especially those from the North, can put ambitions and politics aside and hear us out

5 regions, not 6
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by samdunzo: 10:43pm On Nov 13, 2020
karfe:

5 regions, not 6

Why 5?
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by Moferere: 11:00pm On Nov 13, 2020
samdunzo:

I totally agree with you.
IMAliyu, I hope to see your contributions

Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by EMMY76: 12:00am On Nov 14, 2020
Northern leaders don't care if all nigerian youths perish their only concern is just how to retain power amongst them for ever.

Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by EMMY76: 12:35am On Nov 14, 2020
They are hypocrites and very wicked.
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by karfe(m): 11:34am On Nov 14, 2020
samdunzo:

Why 5?

The political groups are 2 in the North and not 3
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by samdunzo: 7:51pm On Nov 14, 2020
karfe:

The political groups are 2 in the North and not 3

No. The geopolitical zones in the North are NW, NE, and NC/MB. Just like the 3 regions in the South are SW, SE, and SS/ND. Giving the North 2 regions while dividing the south into 3 will only bring back one of the main points of restructuring, which is correct political imbalances across the country
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by karfe(m): 10:55pm On Nov 14, 2020
samdunzo:

No. The geopolitical zones in the North are NW, NE, and NC/MB. Just like the 3 regions in the South are SW, SE, and SS/ND. Giving the North 2 regions while dividing the south into 3 will only bring back one of the main points of restructuring, which is correct political imbalances across the country

I do not understand why we need to have the same number of regions. How much longer are we going to do this? For me, keep 5 regions and reassign people to the correct region they belong e.g. Kwara (Yoruba) and Delta (Igbo)

All this political balancing has not profited us very much!

Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by TooMuchStuff: 11:07pm On Nov 14, 2020
Moferere:

I appreciate your intervention and civility Sir.
But on the contrary, I think our southern leaders are not doing much. I am a Yoruba and I reside in the North, the way our people (Southerners) harped on restructuring, it looks to the North like we want to take away some powers from them. That's what I found out in my interactions with them, some of them will tell you restructuring is about cessation.
You and I know that without their approval, restructuring is as good as dead, they have the numbers. I think there is a need for orientation and reorientation, so that we can have a common definition for restructuring.
Nothing works on Hausafulanikanuri Muslims than force. They are weak and scare of Oil Money leaving them to starve.
But who cares?? Restructuring is a must
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by Moferere: 8:04am On Nov 15, 2020
TooMuchStuff:

Nothing works on Hausafulanikanuri Muslims than force. They are weak and scare of Oil Money leaving them to starve.
But who cares?? Restructuring is a must

Connect your head with your brain before you engage me
Re: Restructuring Nigeria Doesn’t Depend On North, Anybody ― PANDEF by TooMuchStuff: 8:12am On Nov 15, 2020
Moferere:

Connect your head with your brain before you engage me
Engaging you is of no benefits to me at all.
You can only relate to the level you know the North. If you were born and raised in core North and have spent over 5 decades there while you are from South south, then maybe we can relate.

For now, make do with your head in between your legs when thinking.

See Why Igbos Are Not Serious About 2023 Politics / Biafran FENDI Fighters. / Chinwetaluagu Was Sharing Food To The less Privileged Before Humiliation By Army

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 55