Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / NewStats: 3,206,603 members, 7,996,196 topics. Date: Thursday, 07 November 2024 at 05:11 AM |
Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) (44843 Views)
Burial Photos Of Lateef Jakande (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Buried) / Festus Marinho Is Dead: First NNPC MD Dies / Jide Sanwoolu Visits Lateef Jakande, The 1st Civilian Governor Of Lagos State (2) (3) (4)
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by CocoaOla: 12:55pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
This man build lekki epe express road without putting toll gate to rub people best man in history Lagos he build many estate for the poor too Nelson Mandela of lagos rest in peace history will be kind to you. He build lekki road all the way to epe Why some people only expand to shot distance to ikate and start tolling to rub tax payers 14 Likes 2 Shares
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by koning: 12:55pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
At a ripe old age of 91. RIP. Most of the 1979 set of governors are dead now. As far as i can remember only Jim Nwobodo is still alive. Solomon Lar, Abubakar Rimi, the then governor of Benue state, all dead. Jakande will be immortalized. The real Jagaban. 3 Likes |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Dantedasz(m): 12:56pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
RIP Baba Kekere. The real founder of modern Lagos. |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by motasty: 12:58pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Lagoon0: 12:58pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
shadeyinka:God bless you . unlike one popular criminal taking 10% of tax payers money to his bank acct 8 Likes 1 Share |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by roundman: 12:58pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Neymessi:Guy you even see bread wack sef,you come dey complain? You don spoil this format. 6 Likes |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by JaffyJoe(m): 1:00pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
He was an excellent administrator but his alleged betrayal of Pa Awolowo casts some level of disinterest on him. May he find peace with his conscience. 1 Like |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by OhiOfIhima: 1:02pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
A life worth spent... Rest on Baba! 1 Like |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by ayandee: 1:03pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
He made access to education possible by building schools in virtually all neighbourhoods in Lagos. Back then, children went to school on morning and evening shift basis because the schools were few. Within a short périod, he built so many schools such that all children attended school at the same time. 8 Likes |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Churchill6767: 1:03pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Furbish: Real Talk. 6 Likes |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Olayetan(m): 1:03pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
RIP to the best governor Lagos ever had 1 Like |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Brushstrokes20: 1:04pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
An icon is gone! ...adieu #THE BEST OF LAGOS AND INDEED NIGERIA .... He's unlike all these current bunch of self serving THIEVES and sadistic RULERS we have now! RIP PA JAKANDE! 1 Like |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Toks2008(m): 1:04pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Oh my! The best Governor Nigeria has ever had since 1960. |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by chibnnodi: 1:05pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Adieu papa! Rest well sir! You were the builder of Lagos state. The Low Housing Estates and Water Boards were built by you. Jakande I know. 3 Likes |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by freaklyme(m): 1:05pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Oga carry ur frustration go 3MB it’s easy or get Sniper Sepetonri: 2 Likes |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by BigBashiru: 1:05pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Furbish: the good things you enjoyed in the early 80s were the things the british built and was not specific to Jakande. notice how nigeria has deteriorated since the british left... |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Focusmind: 1:05pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
The day I saw the design of the well planned Lagos inner state metro line by his administration, that was about to start, before Buhari cancelled the project that I knew that the man was just a very good man. Just imagine if that metro line had seen the light of the day. Lagos wouldn't have been like this. The coordinates of the rail covered the whole nookes and crannies of Lagos, including places that were yet to develop then. See his foresight? At that time, he had envisaged Ajah and constructed the road from Ozumba Mbadiwe to Ajah . Even the metro was supposed to terminate at Epe, based on that plan then. Buhari messed up big time by cancelling that project. 12 Likes 1 Share |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by frenchman(m): 1:06pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
He was a good administrator who governed Lagos very well, the only issue was with the curse placed on his head by the great Awo, may his soul rest in peace |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Kaiser20: 1:07pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
RIP Sir, God will bless all your generations. You gave free education, to all children, built low-cost estates and many more without your family claiming Lagos as personal property. |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by slivertongue: 1:07pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
rest well the last progressive |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Twob: 1:08pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Sepetonri: Hmm! What a pity!, The fact that everyone is showing appreciation to what Jakande had done when he was the Governor of Lagos State as compared to our present Leaders and equally praying for him should at least, convince you that the man was a typical and uncommon good man to Nigerians, especially the lagosians. 3 Likes |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Nobody: 1:08pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
freaklyme:Tell that to your father. You swine. |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Nobody: 1:09pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Twob:Story for the gods. Who cares?? |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by BigBashiru: 1:09pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Olayetan: jakande may have been good.... but it is the work of the British that made nigeria good then.... |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Sheuns(m): 1:09pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Imagine what this man achieved in 4 years. These ones in 20 years have not done half even with billions they budget annually. 1 Like |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by codedphyness(m): 1:09pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
[quote author=Sepetonri post=98962684] You are mad, your father is mad. Thunder fire your lineage. [/quote I can't exchange words with someone like you who have no respect for a man who old enough to be your father |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Lagoon0: 1:10pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Focusmind: I wonder how come we voted the same buhari to power . And now we're screaming the name of another criminal for 2023. What's happening to us. 5 Likes |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by sisisioge: 1:10pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Elyonisable1: Oga be guided...stop mentioning me in the same breath with that name. Thank you. 2 Likes |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by BigBashiru: 1:11pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
greggng: you acknowledge Nigerian factor - thats the issue with Nigeria and not any "bad leaders" |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Nobody: 1:11pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
[quote author=codedphyness post=98963118][/quote] Talk now, let me send you back to the gutters you came from. |
Re: Lateef Jakande Is Dead (First Civilian Governor Of Lagos Dies) by Nobody: 1:11pm On Feb 11, 2021 |
Baba, rest in peace. The Iyanaoba - LASU - Igando Road was firstly constructed by you before it was upgraded. Lekki - Ajah road was also firstly constructed by you before it was upgraded. Your legacies are your epitaph, too numerous, all within Four years. The Lagos Metroline project was disrupted with the coming of the military. Generations yet unborn shall celebrate your legacies. 5 Likes |
Federal Government Leaves Out South East In Projects From $29.96B FOREIGN LOAN / UK Police Arrests Raymond Dokpesi At Heathrow Airport / Why We Attacked Zakzaky, Other Shiite Members – Nigerian Army
Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35 |