Stats: 3,187,318 members, 7,932,216 topics. Date: Monday, 26 August 2024 at 09:22 PM

Would you date an atheist? - Romance (8) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Romance / Would you date an atheist? (21978 Views)

Is It Okay To Date An Ex-girlfriend’s Friend? / My Experience As An Atheist In The Dating World. / Is It Right For A 30-Year-Old Man To Date An 18-Year-Old Girl? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Would you date an atheist? by Tonalphs(f): 9:51pm On Mar 16, 2021
1Sharon:

I'm not religious! Just want to know what the book has to say about the Bible?
alright ma'am. my apologies for thinking you were coming at me.
everything positive bout the Bible is written in Neville's books. it gives a clearer and practical teachings of the bible. his interpretation is the finest you'll ever read.
Re: Would you date an atheist? by StoneColdBiceps(m): 9:53pm On Mar 16, 2021
1Sharon:

Lol why are non religious countries more advanced?

That's the problem with we Nigerians. We always compare two unequals. Comparing America and Nigeria! Instead compare Nigeria with Ghana.
Re: Would you date an atheist? by StoneColdBiceps(m): 9:59pm On Mar 16, 2021
LordReed:

Better to act good as a self defense mechanism than to be nasty in the name of your god.

My friend put a cap in the "G" when you're referencing God your creator. be humble
Re: Would you date an atheist? by 1Sharon(f): 10:00pm On Mar 16, 2021
StoneColdBiceps:

That's the problem with we Nigerians. We always compare two unequals. Comparing America and Nigeria! Instead compare Nigeria with Ghana.

Isn't Ghana a 3rd world country?
Re: Would you date an atheist? by 1Sharon(f): 10:01pm On Mar 16, 2021
Tonalphs:

alright ma'am. my apologies for thinking you were coming at me.
everything positive bout the Bible is written in Neville's books. it gives a clearer and practical teachings of the bible. his interpretation is the finest you'll ever read.

Hmm okay give an example
Re: Would you date an atheist? by LordReed(m): 10:14pm On Mar 16, 2021
StoneColdBiceps:

My friend put a cap in the "G" when you're referencing God your creator. be humble

I acknowledge no such being so all gods will remain uncapitalised including your favourite one.

Re: Would you date an atheist? by LordReed(m): 10:16pm On Mar 16, 2021
StoneColdBiceps:

Nobody needs to tell me. Comon sense should. Find yourself for abroad, levels go metamorphose. Seek God my guys. Stop been argumentative.

It's you who seeks an argument. You purposefully mischaracterised atheists because you know you'll get a response so don't pretend.

Re: Would you date an atheist? by StoneColdBiceps(m): 10:21pm On Mar 16, 2021
1Sharon:

Lol why are non religious countries more advanced?

You guys always point abroad "developed countries" as your defense and when you get there you'll be profiled and be crying, racist up and dan. Your defense has become a cliche, my dear
Re: Would you date an atheist? by Stae(f): 10:23pm On Mar 16, 2021
KingKingKing:
Never , God forbid, I can't even date a Muslim how much more an Atheist... Olorun maje, Tufiakwa

Light and Darkness can never stay together...

I'm a child of God, born of the Holy spirit, Redeemed by the Blood of Jesus Christ, I can never ever date an Athiest.

Be calming down na���
Re: Would you date an atheist? by 1Sharon(f): 10:43pm On Mar 16, 2021
StoneColdBiceps:

You guys always point abroad "developed countries" as your defense and when you get there you'll be profiled and be crying, racist up and dan. Your defense has become a cliche, my dear

And who told you I live in Nigeria ?
Re: Would you date an atheist? by Professorcplus(m): 10:45pm On Mar 16, 2021
Sight! They moment I became aware that we might just be living in this lifeless rock called earth without any sky daddy. I have a rethink about life in every aspect I can.

Atheist (freethinkers) are just like multiplug... Any charger can fit into it and will still connect. I have stayed relative and friends from the three major religion. It's is usually difficult staying with religious fanatics without issue of personal belief.

If your relationship is unavoidable like relative, there are means to always fit without obviously causing issue. You use the persuasive language they understand make them feel rediculous without showing it with body language. For instance:
The person you relates with is always fund of saying devil's work or aye/evil world at any logical event/situation. And if any event occur that requires logical answer, you use their persuasive language to reply them. Eg. We need to get sososo... Ans: God will do it or fast and pray grin .... Anything to make them feel rediculous but show it indirectly.

The girl friend part mehn... To me, to find an atheist lady means, they are knowledgeable enough to counter the opposing opinion/view of their inherited formal beliefs. For a lady to get across this border means she will always understand perspective and will be more understanding.

Re: Would you date an atheist? by virago(f): 11:19pm On Mar 16, 2021
Dradetosinije:
So what if he becomes an atheist years into the marriage?

Nice question
Re: Would you date an atheist? by Johel(m): 11:33pm On Mar 16, 2021
milann:
You meet someone, got along well (you two almost dating). Next thing you found out, s/he is an atheist. What would you do? Would you quit? Would you go ahead? Would your belief in God hinder you from marrying a great person? Share your thoughts.

They are the best ones to roll with....pure hearts.
Re: Would you date an atheist? by Image123(m): 11:36pm On Mar 16, 2021
LordReed:

We will all be foolish one way or another at some point in our lives. What makes you think foolishness stops one from being great? Almost all your bible heros were foolish at some point according to their stories, yet you'll still call them great.

Being foolish is different from being a fool. You of all people should know that. Being childish is different from being a child.
Re: Would you date an atheist? by LordReed(m): 11:45pm On Mar 16, 2021
Image123:

Being foolish is different from being a fool. You of all people should know that. Being childish is different from being a child.

You simply trying to stretch the semantics for no apparent gain. You are fool when you act foolishly.

fool
/fuːl/
noun

a person who acts unwisely or imprudently; a silly person.

Again my question is how does being a fool aka acting foolishly stop one from being considered great?
Re: Would you date an atheist? by ImaIma1(f): 11:46pm On Mar 16, 2021
Klass99:

Lol grin. I dated him because;

1. Dude spoke my love languages without me ever revealing what they were - the thing bust my head die cheesy

2. He had class, great taste and a strong sense of responsibility towards self and family I admired - he still does.

3. He was older and mature, I actually like my men older than me. Like fine wine, men get better with age is not a myth at all. Younger men or the ones in my age group are in the habit of sending photos of their peepee, calling you baby or sweetheart within a short time of meeting you, it's a huge turn off and there was none of that with him.

4. We could carry on delightful conversations via chats and in person, he never texted in short hand (another thing that tripped me to pieces) our conversations were meaningful, they had depth and substance.

5. I'm a health and fitness conscious person, I liked that at his age he was trim, fit and healthy not to mention good looking cheesy and he worked out every week. It was easy to get him the ideal valentine gift last year.

6. Our first date was so cool. We did a movie @ the cinema, sat down to a light meal of pizza/ drinks afterwards and gisted for 2 hours just getting to know ourselves.

Please tell me, how could I not have dated this man? Atheist or not? I decided a long time ago that I was never going to deny myself the company of good a man, simply because a relationship won't lead to marriage.

Just answering your question has me thinking of him and all my memories of him are pleasant. It's his birthday April 1, I think I'm going to have a surprise gift delivered to him, even though we drifted apart and haven't spoken to each other for a while, I like this guy. Have I satisfied your amebo curiosity? grin

Just like you described the Muslim guy I mentioned.

Mature and older...like 9yrs older than me.

Very physically fit...we played the same sport. That's how we met.

He was rich and classy.

The truth is older men have more experience in making a woman fall for them.

I knew I would prefer a Christian and I waited. I got a perfect fit
Re: Would you date an atheist? by etrange: 11:54pm On Mar 16, 2021
simplesearch:

Nice you found a way around your difference with your wife, but how do you hope to make it up with God after death if you discover he truly exist and there is no hope of amendment. You have a great character, but how do you feel knowing the child you love deny ever having a father just because he/she wasn't privileged to grow up to know you before you passed away, or you went to a war front and came back after many prolonged years?

Nice speech bro... but you quoted the wrong comment.
Re: Would you date an atheist? by Image123(m): 12:05am On Mar 17, 2021
LordReed:

You simply trying to stretch the semantics for no apparent gain. You are fool when you act foolishly.

fool
/fuːl/
noun

a person who acts unwisely or imprudently; a silly person.

Again my question is how does being a fool aka acting foolishly stop one from being considered great?

"Foolish" is an adjective. One can behave foolish or childish or insanely without being actually a fool or a child or insane.
Being a fool like(in perspective) the fellow put it is a biblical condition not necessarily intellectual. A fool is a person, noun or abiding position and state. Except it's a great fool, there's no greatness to be desired in a fool. It is wisdom that leads to greatness.
Re: Would you date an atheist? by joelala(m): 1:29am On Mar 17, 2021
i almost thought this piece was written by my ex, everything you mentioned about this dude correlates with me; funny thing is our first date was going to the movies, but the part of eating pizza made the difference......The amazing thing about our relationship then, we were both Atheist.
Klass99:

Lol grin. I dated him because;

1. Dude spoke my love languages without me ever revealing what they were - the thing bust my head die cheesy

2. He had class, great taste and a strong sense of responsibility towards self and family I admired - he still does.

3. He was older and mature, I actually like my men older than me. Like fine wine, men get better with age is not a myth at all. Younger men or the ones in my age group are in the habit of sending photos of their peepee, calling you baby or sweetheart within a short time of meeting you, it's a huge turn off and there was none of that with him.

4. We could carry on delightful conversations via chats and in person, he never texted in short hand (another thing that tripped me to pieces) our conversations were meaningful, they had depth and substance.

5. I'm a health and fitness conscious person, I liked that at his age he was trim, fit and healthy not to mention good looking cheesy and he worked out every week. It was easy to get him the ideal valentine gift last year.

6. Our first date was so cool. We did a movie @ the cinema, sat down to a light meal of pizza/ drinks afterwards and gisted for 2 hours just getting to know ourselves.

Please tell me, how could I not have dated this man? Atheist or not? I decided a long time ago that I was never going to deny myself the company of good a man, simply because a relationship won't lead to marriage.

Just answering your question has me thinking of him and all my memories of him are pleasant. It's his birthday April 1, I think I'm going to have a surprise gift delivered to him, even though we drifted apart and haven't spoken to each other for a while, I like this guy. Have I satisfied your amebo curiosity? grin
Re: Would you date an atheist? by masterP042(m): 5:38am On Mar 17, 2021
kluvert:

Lol ghosted . When you come out let us know we will embrace you with open arms and show you the world in a higher definition you had never seen before. For now keep studying. I replied because "aietists"
e choke
Re: Would you date an atheist? by masterP042(m): 6:05am On Mar 17, 2021
pocohantas:

Thank you! I am a VERY ethical person. I have had friends tell me, “I know you can’t do this, this isn’t your kind of thing”. It makes me feel happy they know the values I hold dear and it has nothing to do with religion.

I believe our brains and conscience are there for a reason. If those two things are not working, no religion can save you. I am not saying religion is bad, I have no problem with religious people, except when they get in my way. Just saying, you can lead an upright life without it.
you've said it all, we just need good conscience and brains. cos without critical thinking, atheism can just be another form of religion.
your posts always have a touch of extra wisdom, I admire your personality and class, although I may have a few difference, especially on your views about men especially Igbo men.
Re: Would you date an atheist? by tobstarizhia(m): 6:29am On Mar 17, 2021
gypsey:
What da hell is an Atheist? Is an Atheist not human? Most Atheist so called are good normal humans, who loves other humans, would do anything for fellow human, Nice polite, hardworking and caring people. Who the fucck decides who is an Atheist?

Yes! I may not be a christian or believe in God or the useless Jesus. Does that make me a terrible person? What da fucck makes you think i would like to date You believer of sky God? sad

I am an agnostic, but I must correct you. I don't believe Jesus was useless. If he existed truly in the past then his heart was in the right place. Sure he might have been deluded into some grandiose idea but he genuinely cared for the poor the sick, etc. Not many people, Atheist or Christian do that these days.
I believe whatever his claims were, he was a good man. And I'd carry on well with my proposition that he was a philosopher and his philosophy was, Be Kind to others and do to others what you'd like to be done to yourself. That's a good character. Forget all the son of God talk for a moment and reason it

Re: Would you date an atheist? by KillerofbadPPLE(m): 6:36am On Mar 17, 2021
kluvert:

Nice meeting �� here . I wish we could have our own forum and share ideas. It's long over due

sure, it's long overdue,
Re: Would you date an atheist? by OkpaNsukkaisBae(m): 6:52am On Mar 17, 2021
LordReed:

I acknowledge no such being so all gods will remain uncapitalised including your favourite one.

Lmfao.....

Re: Would you date an atheist? by 12345baba(m): 7:15am On Mar 17, 2021
SweetCunt97:
You not serious! What has not believing in God got to do with anything? Heaven race no be individual something so why should it matter?
If u such a good Christian, y didnt u slowly give him reasons to believe in God? Abegi
ur cunt go truely sweet o
Re: Would you date an atheist? by Nobody: 7:31am On Mar 17, 2021
pocohantas:

Thank you! I am a VERY ethical person. I have had friends tell me, “I know you can’t do this, this isn’t your kind of thing”. It makes me feel happy they know the values I hold dear and it has nothing to do with religion.

I believe our brains and conscience
are there for a reason. If those two things are not working, no religion can save you. I am not saying religion is bad, I have no problem with religious people, except when they get in my way. Just saying, you can lead an upright life without it.

Tell that to those born yesteday, the brain and conscience are constituted with commandments, consciously or subconsciously you're being regulated.
Iist out the things you do that you consider an upright life it won't come as a shock it aligns with commandment of God becos outside the rule of God there are no laws left to break tongue
where is no law there is no sin, without religion upright won't count, there is no way anyone can live an upright life without a guide. ciao grin
Re: Would you date an atheist? by SexytorresE(f): 7:34am On Mar 17, 2021
I'm a realist, call it Atheist or what soever . I believe in what I see and not what the story book said . But Atheist are more nice than these so called wicked Christian or Muslims that hide under religion . Pls I wish to marry an Atheist , not all this religious bigotry , delusional and brainwash set of people that belief in a sky imaginary daddy or mummy grin cheesy I even believe in Weed to God undecided undecided

Re: Would you date an atheist? by ShaqFu: 7:42am On Mar 17, 2021
faithfull18:
Quit, belief is a major.
why am I not surprise. tongue
Re: Would you date an atheist? by kluvert(m): 7:54am On Mar 17, 2021
StoneColdBiceps:

Lol I laugh you. How clever or intelligent are you? Because you don't worship God now makes your village people "my my" and "local"? The next thing that's in line with you is to become gay? Seek God my guy/babe. Don't let strong willed people deceive you. Them go sell market, na you go buy am. When them catch you. Them go use their mouth bail themselves. Na you go become victim. Be wise. Leave all this social media dumbos. Look up to God. He's waiting for you.

Like he said local and dunces you just proved to be one
Re: Would you date an atheist? by LordReed(m): 7:54am On Mar 17, 2021
Image123:

"Foolish" is an adjective. One can behave foolish or childish or insanely without being actually a fool or a child or insane.
Being a fool like(in perspective) the fellow put it is a biblical condition not necessarily intellectual. A fool is a person, noun or abiding position and state. Except it's a great fool, there's no greatness to be desired in a fool. It is wisdom that leads to greatness.

So an atheist who is a billionaire or a renowned scientist or a head of state or a magnanimous philanthropist is not great because according to your bible they are a fool? How does that make sense?

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (Reply)

Ladies Scatters Internet With Camel Toe Challenge (top Photos) / Deceived By Facebook Lover, Story Of Pamela Mojekwu / 3 Easy Ways To Know If He Will Marry You

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 80