Stats: 3,188,088 members, 7,933,650 topics. Date: Wednesday, 28 August 2024 at 10:46 AM

Sontoly's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Sontoly's Profile / Sontoly's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 17 pages)

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 7:24am On Sep 12, 2018
tbaba1234:

He did not play in the midfield. He played on the right.

Etebo, Ndidi and Joel played in the middle.

Was Nwakali not wearing number 10 jersey?, most times I saw him was when he drifted to the middle.
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 10:51pm On Sep 11, 2018
Infact I was even surprised at Joel, he played so well.
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 10:48pm On Sep 11, 2018
So are we using this match to judge Nwakali?, to me the guy played very well oo, controlled the mildfield with Joel n Ndidi, He was goo abeg no hype, at least we were 2 - 0 up when he was removed.

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 7:41pm On Sep 11, 2018
forgiveness:

It is true Kayode is nursing injury. See below.

How many goals did Iheanacho and Simy score before they were called?

Why must Larry be invincible before he gets a call?

Even when he painted leagues with goals in the Austrian and Ukrainian league, was he given a chance to prove himself?

If a Nigerian striker in the best rated club is not qualify to don the GWG, na who qualify?

You are definitely an agent, be like say Kayode don renew subscription this season grin grin cheesy

Person get injury and u still want him invited, na wao

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 9:17pm On Sep 08, 2018
I was wondering today, had Iwobi and Simon mosses were fit, would rohr had invited onyekuru and kalu?

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 9:12pm On Sep 08, 2018
forgiveness:

Hmmm! I don't think so because Rohr rates Isaac and Bazee. If not for injury both will be in the team.

Besides, Isaac has played for Nigeria before na.

I dont think rohr rates anyone oo, remember he is conservative, some people can perform better in training than on the pitch, I can remember someone said he rates osihmen highly, even there was times success was getting call ups even when he wasnt playing till rohr started dropping them.

I think the coach doesnt rate any one, he like using what he has at hand, the man is hyper conservative.
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 9:07pm On Sep 08, 2018
forgiveness:

In a sane society, player like Semi Ajayi no go smell national team ahead of Uche Agbo. How it happened, na em I no know.

In Gent, Kalu takes set pieces if Simon is not playing but Simon played more games than Kalu.

No kalu takes setpiece when he is on the pitch whether simon was playing or not, at bordaux they he is the taker now, on his first game he was sharing it with one dude, but at later games he became the full taker.
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 6:03pm On Sep 08, 2018
charlesemeka85:
ekong is mile's better and is blessed with the qualities and charisma of a leader. omeruo almost gifted Seychelles a goal of which many would have blamed it on uzoho if the the ball went him. his timing and concentration is very poor. this have been evident in some matches he has played for the national team.

the 2 goal tekole ranti scored in uyo against keshi's led team where caused by omeruo who was bullied and manhandled by the south african striker before aluko came in as a sub and scored to quick goals to get a point for the team which was meaningless

same thing happened again against zambia in ndola in the team's first world cup qualifying match where he mis-headed the ball to a zambian striker who bullied him off the ball and scored.

against iceland in the just concluded world cup he made a huge mistake when he was in full control of the ball without any pressure but lost concentration which made ebuehi to rush into the tackle that gifted the icelanders a penalty kick which sigurdson missed.

lastly, against Argentina his bad timing and lost of concentration gave messi so much room to shot at goal which he scored.

I salute your sense of awareness, you are so spot on, omerou has caused us than ekong could dream of, omerou should not be compared to ekong, the latter is miles ahead joor, if ekong was fit today omerou wld have played RB.

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 4:19pm On Sep 08, 2018
Idowu shoud not be in the team, countless time balogun saved his ass and also Omerou's, That Left back is just too porous, I dont kny why simi nwankwo was not played, he wld av been better in todays game.

Awaziem was not good as RB, ajayi looks more fitted for that position.

To see how useless rohr is, he doesnt know our players honestly, he should know that kalu is best set piece taker talking of free kicks and corners, he was doing to for his old club gent and now continues in bordeaux, I was mad when I saw etebo and musa taking the freekicks and corners, rohr does not know our players, that man is just playing safe and extending the inevitable so he can gather as much money as he can.
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 4:09pm On Sep 08, 2018
tbaba1234:

Watch the replay

Say it bounced off him was exaggerated, I think the defender charged him and he unintentionally let the ball go grin grin grin cheesy cheesy

Person wey dem give clear ball instead to go low he want to chip the keeper inside the 6yrd box
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 4:05pm On Sep 08, 2018
BascoVanVeli:

O I see. You think this is Ighalo vs Kalu. Let me know how that works out.

You made it so in your comments, So are you are comfortable with Ighalo's performance?
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 3:59pm On Sep 08, 2018
fabyom:
I say it the way it is. Today Ighalo disappointed. Go and watch the match again bro. I have been a staunch supporter of Ighalo if you care to observe.

Ighalo did not disappoint me sef, where he did that was at the world cup, Na em sack letter I dey wait, na only penalty he fit score. sad

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 3:56pm On Sep 08, 2018
BascoVanVeli:

Because I am not a baby like you who cries over spilled milk grin Once the team list is out I give the boys total support. I don't have an favourite Nigerian home or abroad. I just want to see them doing good and being appreciated.

Oga hold your self, Ighalo is was as usual disappointing, overall kalu was better than him, take it and calm down.
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 3:55pm On Sep 08, 2018
Men, some people can support their favorite player till death, some one said Ighalo had an excellent game cheesy cheesy cheesy, na wao

Kalu's first game for us its forgivable considering the pitch, but Ighalo? we already know him, dude even played 90mins, His juju is working fine

Rhor or what ever is not a good coach doesnt know when to make changes, I dont think we will go far with him.

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 9:45pm On Aug 27, 2018
gamaliel9:
Those following Onyekuru.... are you seeing what i am sawing? See speed...see dribble...see shots...

Remains to score

waiting for him to score again, very good
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 8:31pm On Aug 26, 2018
Ekong started again for udinese, very good smiley smiley

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 8:23pm On Aug 25, 2018
Mickael2:

I am seriously trying to figure out what my business with Vardy is. Am I a Leicester fan? is Vardy a Nigerian? For all I care he can kick out at the ref and get banned for life how will that affect anything I am attached to? If Iheanacho gets frustrated and kicks out(like he did when he was subbed against Algeria) then it's my business because he is a SE player do you now get that?

By the way people will hear you saying Nacho got an assist not knowing that its false. He had a cross which was half-cleared by a defender and it fell for the eventual goalscorer who tucked it away, I thought an assist means that you got the last touch before the player who scored? That won't be recorded as an assist mind you, except you make it one in your own stat book.

Finally I am not an authority in Psychology but I do know that learning by reinforcement is an influential type. Nacho had a 5/10 game which is average at best and you are here saying he had a decent game? If the people close to him are telling him also that 5/10 is a good performance then that means they are reinforcing him positively and he will be having 5/10 games constantly

well my FPL said its an assist oo, you are the one that mentioned vardy initially, and even kayode so stop complaining. check

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 7:33pm On Aug 25, 2018
Mickael2:

I am trying to get your point and why exactly you are hitting on this last match. In the last match how many minutes did Vardy spend on the pitch? I am telling you that Vardy would have been a lot more effective in this game with pure pace, what concerns the last match? Or is it that you can't read what I have been typing or you have just decided to say what I do not understand?

Let me know if you actually watched the game. when Albrighton entered who pushed forward?

I wont reply you again, cos if it was nacho who got frustrated like vardy did and got a red, you wld have roasted him, my point is, nacho did enough today and got an assist so take it that way and give him credit for it.

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 6:55pm On Aug 25, 2018
Mickael2:

When and where did I say Vardy scored in their last game or even made reference to their last game? I recommend you read properly before you type.

if Iheanacho did all these things you said then I guess the coach is a fool for subbing him for a winger who has at least some pace that can be used or why did he get the lowest rating according to Skysports abi them too get bad belle?

Did you watch at all? how many chances like you said did vardy had in the last home match?, is it not the more chances u get the more likely you score, your statement made it seem like vardy had goals, the coach brought him for tactical reason, may be to get at least a draw, albrighton is a more defensive than attacking.

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 6:40pm On Aug 25, 2018
Mickael2:

Starved of which service? It's clear the Leicester players were bent on releasing him over the top, for all the talk about Iheanacho having pace(some even said he is faster than Kayode) is a myth. He could hardly catch up with any ball, if it was Vardy he would have gotten at least one or two chances from those balls you thought were wayward today, when he was subbed I gnashed my teeth, knowing fully well that with this performance he won't be starting the next match. How many times did you see him joining the build up? I mean if you are not going to be playing off the shoulder of the defender then drop deep and create,nothing was going for him today though, even when I thought he was going to score that guy jumped in. Beginning of the season though make we just dey watch

Oga talk true u didnt watch the match, and you didnt watch leicester last game either, Vardy didnt score any goal last game nor had an assist, but rather red carded, I watched todays game, kelechi dropped deeper, helped with defending a lot and initiated counters, two counter was halted by maddison and gray, he had to even drop to the wing and gave that cross resulting to a goal by gray who hasnt scored for leicester this year.
Pace is not all in football, Nacho had a good game today, we too like bad belle. I dont think vardy will play next game so coach will have to conserve his only remaining striker for next game.

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 4:55pm On Aug 25, 2018
ChrisKels:
So far, Kelechi Iheanacho is making me believe the saying "pre-season flatter to deceive"

Dude was banging in goals during the preseason like kilode but, now at the main event, him dun off light like no one's business

Very obvious you did'nt watch the match, If not him Leicester wld have gotten nothing from the match

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 7:52pm On Aug 21, 2018
TheSuperNerd:
And to think that Chrisantus also sounded out about his move saying it won't be easy for him in Germany now make his words uttered over a year ago vindicated.

Honestly I had so much hope on crisantus than osihmen, but both are so similar, tall and good goal scorers, how they didnt breakthrough amazes me.
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 7:41pm On Aug 21, 2018
Osihmen should be the final lesson for our young stars after crisantus, dont go to germany if u want to develop.

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 7:39pm On Aug 21, 2018
ChrisKels:
Talent no dey hide. Nigeria's best front man

UEFA Names Onyekuru Among Key Champions League Stars To Look Out For This Season

 0 August 21, 2018 12:06 pm
By Adeboye Amosu:

UEFA has listed Nigerian forward, Henry Onyekuru among the star players that will make huge impact in the Champions League this season, Completesportsnigeria. com reports.
Onyekuru is on loan at Turkish champions Galatasaray
from English Premier League side, Everton.

The highly rated striker has settled down well at his new club and opened his goal account in the Fathi Terim’s team’s 1-0 win against Goztepe in the Turkish Super League last Sunday.

“One to watch this season? �Henry Onyekuru �❤️#UCL,” reads a tweet on UEFA Champions League official Twitter handle.

This is the first time Onyekuru will be featuring in the UEFA Champions League.
He only linked up with Everton from Belgian club, KAS Eupen last season but was immediately loaned out to Anderlecht.

He picked up a knee injury while in action for Anderlecht against his former club, Eupen in December and didn’t made an appearance again.

The injury also put an end to his chances of fighting for a place in Nigeria’s squad to the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Onyekuru played in more than two champions league game last year, this wont be his first. Dude is gonna be the bomb for him
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 7:35pm On Aug 21, 2018
tbaba1234:
The kind of hype Zaragoza fans are giving Igbekeme is ridiculous. After one game, they are already comparing him to Kante and Naby Keita. I will try to watch their next game.

But the guy looks promising
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 7:34pm On Aug 21, 2018
tbaba1234:
Samuel Chukwueze with another Golazo at the weekend for Villareal B.

http://twitter.com/VictorFranch/status/1031453747241775104?s=19

Next big thing, dude is developing well
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 10:47am On Aug 20, 2018
Pls lets not start the hype and comparison with Onyekuru, though he is very good but still have a long way to go.
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 10:45am On Aug 20, 2018
charlesemeka85:
here is his clips
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9QZ0mwx0I8, the guy is a very good playmaker, my only concern is his small frame but bobo is very good i must confess

With what I have seen, this guy is very good men

Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 8:44pm On Aug 19, 2018
tbaba1234:

I think Azubuike and Olayinka are the worst.

Etebo nko?
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 9:28pm On Jun 26, 2018
Well fought loss, i have been saying same about Ighalo, he can easily miss open net, i watched man Utd vs watford they were already winning and Ighalo missed an open net with no pressure on him.

I knw someone was gonna pull a yakubu soon and I wasnt wrong who the person was. Iheanacho was poor today but Ighalo was never an option at all, definitly rohr doesnt trust his players.
Sports / Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by sontoly: 2:27pm On Jun 24, 2018
komekn:

Our young inexperienced goalkeeper is not comfortable rolling it out from the back.

He will most often kick it out, particularly as I suspect Argentina will play a HIGH PRESSING game against us. When a ball is kicked out its mostly 50/50. However, with Ighalo you have physicality and aerial ability that ball against Argentina's defenders will become a 70/30 in our favour. Add hold up play with Musa operating either from behind or ahead of him.

That creates many options particularly when you add the pace of Musa.

KC represents no Aerial threat, no physicality and as a result he can be buzzing around with no end product or impact.

Etebo is ESSENTIAL he is the only player in my opinion that can do a man marking job on Messi and succeed.

I haven't seen much of Simi and can't say much about him. His little cameo when he came on for about 8 minutes didn't show anything outstanding.

So my first preference is Ighalo without question.

When did Ighalo have aerial treat ??, how many goals have he scored with his head for us ??, does it mean hold up play is equal to goals ?.

If we use ighalo and musa on tuesday, i pity us cos they will be isolated as hell and u will come back here to blame mikel for not supplying him balls.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 17 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56