Stats: 3,201,836 members, 7,979,946 topics. Date: Saturday, 19 October 2024 at 08:39 PM

Tods's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Tods's Profile / Tods's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 3:38pm On Apr 16, 2016
Hello baodium, please I need that template too urgently. My email address is todipops4real@yahoo.com. Am going for ms in math and want to apply for funding. You are appreciated.
baodium:

How should I start self? Well, GA is not automatic lipsrsealed . I am a CCNP and I really doubt they used that as a yardstick (in my case). However, I know three things can get you assistantship; 1) Your profile (GRE, GPA, SOP, etc.) 2) Your experience (if you have some industrial experience or you have published a paper) and 3) Availability of funding.
Of all, the third seems to be the most difficult to predict. My school used to have a lot of funding for MS in CS (but not anymore). However, I am almost certain you will get full funding if you come for MS in maths, physics or chemistry (My friends with way lower profile than myself got full funding before coming over). So if I told you that there is no funding in my school, you will automatically assume there is no funding in all departments. Funding is in cycle!

Solution:

1) The best thing you can do is to do a lot of background research about some schools. Sincerely with your profile, you should choose some good low ranked schools to boost your chances.

2) Send an email to all the professors in the dept (I can send a good template that I have been using to you - you may need to review some of their research papers tho).

3) Pray to God!

Good luck! smiley

Phones / Re: Tecno H6 Vs Tecno L5:which Is Better? by Tods(f): 3:17pm On Apr 12, 2016
It seems h6 camera is better than l5
Phones / Re: I Have A Budget Of 20k. Which Phone Would You Recommend by Tods(f): 3:11pm On Apr 12, 2016
Tecno l5 or tecno h6

Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 10:45am On Apr 12, 2016
innovativeame:
Abeg, na who send me say make I go do master's degree in Apllied statistics and Biomathematics for US?
Homework Don blind my eyes, project here and there. Sometimes I feel like I execute a lot more "projects" than our senators and leaders back home.
My people, I've missed you all, salute to all my brothers and sisters in the house.
Lols...abeg no discourage we prospective mathematicians o grin, what university is that?
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 8:26pm On Apr 11, 2016
Hello, I sent u a pm...please reply
angel34real:

I got mine via going from one office to the other!
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 8:29am On Apr 09, 2016
Lol...Go there before commenting bro.
Fortissimo:

Hahaha. Different strokes for different folks I guess. For me, studying in America is a means to an end. Not an end in it of itself.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 1:34pm On Apr 06, 2016
Mekurexx:
What's the name of your school? Check your school website, ''student employment'' or graduate assistantships, apply to vacancies & be sure to check the requirements & ensure you fit & also call your department and ask if GA/RA/TA opportunities are available in the dept
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 1:29pm On Apr 06, 2016
Thanks a lot baodium.. I appreciate ur response.
You said if one has some skills. By skills you mean what? Can you give some examples?
baodium:

Funding! Funding!! Funding!!! grin The reality mostly dawn on most of us when we are on ground. I personally think its better to secure funding before coming to the US (if you no wan enter one chance cheesy ) 'cos some professors go give you story cry That said, some schools have international student award (I guess it is merit based but 3.0+ GPA and decent profile should get you the award). Yes, you can apply for on-campus jobs. You will be eligible to work for at most 20 hours per week. You can also get assistantship from another department in some schools. You are only eligible to do off-campus jobs after one academic year in the US (with F1 status). If your school doesn't offer any funding , sincerely this is a difficult part for me to answer 'cos it is in two ways. If you are very proactive and you have some skills that a particular professor can leverage on and he has funding, you might be lucky. The last thing you would want to happen to you is to lose your status (the hustle will become real once you are at that crossroad). Don't worry, you will be fine smiley
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 10:14pm On Apr 05, 2016
Hello peeps, Are there other ways one can seek for funding from a university, apart from the merit-based funding especially as a prospective MSC student. Can an. international student apply for on-campus jobs or off-campus along with pursuing the degree? Please what are the likely jobs to be given if one applies for them? What if my school doesn't offer one any funding, what other ways can one support myself through school. please guru answer.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 12:30pm On Apr 02, 2016
Okay what about the social security number issue
oluphy:
depend on the location in texas, and Kingsville, Texas was to $500
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 11:30am On Apr 02, 2016
Does anyone have an idea of how much renting a student apartment in Texas would cost on the average. For 1 bedroom? 2 bedroom? And 3 bedroom. Is anyone currently staying in an apartment in Texas or knows someone in one. Plus is it compulsory I have a social security number before I can get an apartment as an international student.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 10:30am On Apr 02, 2016
Not yet but still hoping for
Holudarey01:

Hello Ms, did you get funding?
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 10:21am On Apr 02, 2016
Hey am a math major. Send me a pm
Fesobi92:
Any maths major in the house? please mark your attendance here....fesobi92? present sir!
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 10:44pm On Apr 01, 2016
Please I need an answer asap. Can I interview with a particular i20, get my visa and then decide to enroll in another school when I get to the us? Does the student visa carry the name of the school I interviewed with?
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 3:12pm On Mar 29, 2016
Hello house, please can someone reply me Asap with the current exchange rate for dollar at the parallel market? If you just changed money or you know anyone that just did.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 10:23am On Mar 29, 2016
Please if I may ask, is DAT for the parallel rate?
Fortissimo:
GTB charging N299 per $ for online payments if anyone wants to know.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 9:31am On Mar 29, 2016
Applied mathematics, cryptography is nice as well, do you know any school that offers it yet
ebim:

Thank you. If I may ask is it pure or applied mathematics you are going for?
I am looking for something close to cryptography while studying mathematics.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 9:28am On Mar 29, 2016
MS in mathematics
biikeys:

What course are you going for at UT Arlington?
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 6:32pm On Mar 28, 2016
Yea "Some", but there are many others that dont.
Fortissimo:

Some schools offer only BS to PhD degrees for some disciplines. That is, they don't offer / admit for masters. Tho you might be awarded an MS if you drop out of the PhD.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 6:00pm On Mar 28, 2016
KELVIN086:

Sorry to ask sir , but even if one gets a GA position in school by what percentage would that reduce his tuition fee , I'm not asking for exact figures just estimates.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 5:55pm On Mar 28, 2016
Try southern Utah university
michael1385:
pls i need guru in the house to help me answer my question...Is there any universities in US that accept only GRE and waive toefl or ielts for Nigerian students?
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 5:41pm On Mar 28, 2016
That's so not true. I have 2 admissions for masters in mathematics for fall 2016 semester. I don't think there is any school that forces you to go straight for PhD in mathematics, only that there are some schools that give the option of going for masters ( bs to ms) or going straight for PhD (bs to PhD) It depends on what you choose.yours chances of gaining admission is not a problem so far u have the appropriate GRE scores the school seeks.computer science is very related to mathematics. So don't sweat it.
ebim:
Hello, I would like to study mathematics in graduate school,please what is the possibility of gaining admission considering I am studying computer science in school?
I also noticed most schools don't give Masters in mathematics only phd or masters on -the -way to phd that's why I am bothered.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by Tods(f): 5:17pm On Mar 28, 2016
Hello everyone, I just joined nairaland today and find it very interesting. Does anyone know about Lamar university, Texas and university of Texas at Arlington? How would you rate these schools?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)