Stats: 3,169,726 members, 7,875,820 topics. Date: Saturday, 29 June 2024 at 10:17 PM

Usefulsense's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Usefulsense's Profile / Usefulsense's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Travel / Re: Japa: I Am Confused, Please Advise. by Usefulsense: 4:27pm On Sep 01, 2023
Pappij:

Age is not a barrier, your mindset could be.

I'm about your age and made a similar move earlier this year, although with a slightly larger family composition.

See, with your work experience; you are good to go. One or two certifications on the side will be the icing on the cake.

Just pray and concentrate on your craft, you will be fine. Jitters are fine but shouldn't deter you.

Currently studying day and night for Australian CPA examination.

Thank you so much sir. I'm motivated by your kind words.

28 Likes 1 Share

Travel / Re: Japa: I Am Confused, Please Advise. by Usefulsense: 4:25pm On Sep 01, 2023
gaby:
This is an opportunity to go get your life properly sorted and to secure your children's future.

Grab it like BAT would say and run away with it my friend.

Are you seriously asking this question considering the Nigeria that is starting you in the face?

My only advice for you will be to work on yourself as per our culture of "I am the head of the house in the African way" and you are good to go.

This is a lifetime opportunity on a platter, bro.

Run with it.

Thank you sir.

Even while we were together in Nigeria, I cook for the family, I wash my children cloths.
Wify does those too. It's actually nothing to me.

My children once told my wifey that I cook better than her.

112 Likes 10 Shares

Travel / Re: Japa: I Am Confused, Please Advise. by Usefulsense: 4:23pm On Sep 01, 2023
mokset123:
how much do you earn monthly, if is not in the range of 600 and above. Just kukuma join her. She is right oh, abroad is meant for 2 except you want to loose her

I earn a little less than, N1.1m monthly net.
I am a qualified accountant.

But you see, working for a private company in Nigeria, not easy bro.

29 Likes 6 Shares

Travel / Re: Japa: I Am Confused, Please Advise. by Usefulsense: 3:50pm On Sep 01, 2023
felixzo1:
If I may ask what was your motive for sending your wife for studies? Why do you think at 48 you change profession or starting a different Field. You are still young, Nigeria makes one feel too old

To be honest with you, the plan is for the entire family to migrate.

In fact, i did my ielts last year and made 7,7, 7.5, 7

As soon as our visa grant came out, I started developing cold feet on account of age.

She has advised that I go and learn forklift driving.
I will commence that this month.

290 Likes 13 Shares

Travel / Japa: I Am Confused, Please Advise. by Usefulsense: 3:27pm On Sep 01, 2023
This is my story. Please advice.

I sent my wife to Australia in 2021 on student visa.

She has invited us, myself and our children aged 12 and 9 and our visa is out. I have also paid like 6 months fees for my children school which was a requirement for the visa.

Owing to her performance at her work place, the company she works for has promised to sponsor for PR. Infact, the process just began and we are sure of having the PR.

I am currently 48 and won't be able to support my family working in Nigeria. Wify has encouraged me that we will be fine that abroad is meant for 2 people.

My only constraint is my age, hence my question. If you are in my shoe, will you travel?

By the way, I work for a private firm here in Nigeria and you know what it is working for a family company.

77 Likes 8 Shares

Travel / Re: Seeking Honest Advice: Considering Relocating Abroad - Need Your Thoughts by Usefulsense: 2:05pm On Aug 17, 2023
lastkingsman:

Please what's the proficient level for french speakers?
Travel / Re: Seeking Honest Advice: Considering Relocating Abroad - Need Your Thoughts by Usefulsense: 2:05pm On Aug 17, 2023
GloriousGbola:

You don miss am oo

Tensazangetsu20 don japa. Na applied research the guy do. Only thing is na Chile he go, not Brazil. Man would be knee deep in hot sexy big butt Brazilian chicks by now.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by Usefulsense: 11:56am On Aug 15, 2023
AussieJoan:

Then go for the masters in nursing practice. It's a 2 year degree and you'll get your license as a nurse in Australia.

I will advice she go for Masters of social work.

Moving from a non science related discipline to a science related one may not be that easy.

Politics / Re: Simon Ekpa: Biafra Will Back You If Nigerian Military Intervenes by Usefulsense: 2:54pm On Aug 07, 2023
Exmilitant:
Igbos are becoming toxic and a threat to our existence as a nation.
If nothing is done to curtail their excesses, I fear for what may become of our dear country in the nearest future.
Their hatred for Nigeria is beyond comprehension.

What they should understand is that, when the house is brought down, the ceiling don't remain standing.

Conduct referendum let the leave you and your Nigeria.

They have made it clear that Biafra is their country.

Just conduct referendum.
Career / Re: Update On How I Decided To Learn Handiwork At 45 by Usefulsense: 7:55am On Jul 31, 2023
Successonpoint:
Good afternoon Nairalanders, before I give an update on my decision to learn HANDIWORK at 45. I want to start by thanking everyone for their comments which I considered helpful and encouraging. Some people sent me emails but I couldn't access them, I guess my mail account was hacked. To God be the glory, I'm progressing in my learning and have been able to buy some of my tools. Like I said about my wife in my last post, that woman is not from this planet because of the way she has been supportive. Next week is her birthday, and I'm planning to use the little money I kept under our carpet to buy a shoe for her because the last time she bought a shoe for herself was early last year and when we were going to Church today I noticed that that shoe is already gone, she's just managing it due to situation of things in Nigeria.

The problem now is that, if I should use the money to buy shoe for her, she may not be happy due to the fact that we have several pressing needs. Another problem is that if I give her the money to buy the shoe for herself, she may take the little money to market to buy foodstuffs for our family. Please I need your advice my people on Nairaland, what should I do? I just want that woman to be happy with me, and to show her how much I appreciate and love her.

Another begging format.
Politics / Re: Justice Chima Centus Nweze Is Dead! Supreme Court Judge Dies at 64 by Usefulsense: 7:47am On Jul 31, 2023
I hope it's not what am thinking.

Hmmmmmmm

42 Likes

Travel / Re: Seeking Honest Advice: Considering Relocating Abroad - Need Your Thoughts by Usefulsense: 10:36pm On Jul 27, 2023
Usefulsense:
At OP,

I foresaw your predicament in my case 2 years ago. I am currently 48 and my wife is 39. 2 years ago I made a life changing decision.

I sent my wife to Australia on a student visa utilizing all my life's savings. Today, she has stabilized a little. Though she is still a student as she had to change her course of study from accounting to social work.

Currently, her employers are planning to sponsor her nomination for PR. All the necessary documentations have been completed.
She is doing pretty well and has progressed in her pursuit of CPA certification.

She has advised me to commence study for CPA immediately and that is what i am currently doing.

Hopefully, before the end of this year, I will be on my way to Aussie with my 2 children.

In addition to preparing for CPA, I will soon commence learning how to drive forklift.
Travel / Re: Seeking Honest Advice: Considering Relocating Abroad - Need Your Thoughts by Usefulsense: 1:03pm On Jul 27, 2023
At OP,

I foresaw your predicament in my case 2 years ago. I am currently 48 and my wife is 39. 2 years ago I made a life changing decision.

I sent my wife to Australia on a student visa utilizing all my life's savings. Today, she has stabilized a little. Though she is still a student as she had to change her course of study from accounting to social work.

Currently, her employers are planning to sponsor her nomination for PR. All the necessary documentations have been completed.
She is doing pretty well and has progressed in her pursuit of CPA certification.

She has advised me to commence study for CPA immediately and that is what i am currently doing.

Hopefully, before the end of this year, I will be on my way to Aussie with my 2 children.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by Usefulsense: 9:57am On May 30, 2023
Usefulsense:
please I need answer to my question.

I will be entering AU first week if December 2023.

My international passport will expire in July 2024 and those of my 2 children will expire September same year.

Is it wise that I renew my passport now or wait and do that in AU? Which is better in terms of cost and stress?

Please I need your answers
Travel / Re: Two Dead In Lagos-ibadan Expressway Truck Accident by Usefulsense: 12:53pm On May 26, 2023
theophorus:
Gbese, the Business woman/farmer wen get those Yams go dey think about the loss of money.

The families of the people wen go to the world beyond go dey mourn their ooo.

Well, all mallam to him kettle. All men to their own.

Make all of Us Sha remember say death no dey give Notice ooo, so prepare to meet thy God.

#RIP to the death

Your type is the reason why universities in Europe, Australia and even Ghana insist that Nigerians must write IELTs before obtaining admission.
Health / Re: Look At All The Sugar You're Consuming by Usefulsense: 9:53am On May 26, 2023
ajepako:
Thank God I stopped takig sugar 9 years ago when I clocked 40 and only drink water and use honey as sweetner

I havent looked back still

Just water at room temperature, maybe 3 sodas max in a whole year

And zobo drink once a while

And you think you will live longer than people who take those?

Health / Re: Look At All The Sugar You're Consuming by Usefulsense: 9:52am On May 26, 2023
angelEmade:
...the sugar in a plate of semo,amala, akpu, pounded yam, etc. Will amount to about a box of cube sugars. The irony here is that the glucose and other monosaccharides in these drinks are a form of carbohydrates just like the disaccharides in complex sugars like sucrose (normal sugar)
Although all carbohydrates are reduced to glucose and consequently glycogen which are stored in the liver in complex metabolism reactions in the body, you cannot exactly compare these simple sugars to normal sugars.
And ironically, the malt we so much prefer to soda drinks contain Maltose which are complex sugars. A molecule of maltose can comparatively yield two molecules of monosaccharides in these soda drinks.
My point is that starch and carbohydrates like corn syrups and the foods I mentioned up there are much worse than these drinks. And although their intake should be controlled...it would be a futile endeavour if you keep supplementing them with excess starchy foods.
Malt is not a saviour either.

If you think these things you mentioned will kill you fast, try hunger.
Everything we eat actually contains sugar apart from vegetables.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by Usefulsense: 9:28am On May 26, 2023
please I need answer to my question.

I will be entering AU first week if December 2023.

My international passport will expire in July 2024 and those of my 2 children will expire September same year.

Is it wise that I renew my passport now or wait and do that in AU? Which is better in terms of cost and stress?
Travel / Re: List Of Items You Need For Traveling by Usefulsense: 6:26am On Apr 30, 2023
Jahlivesforever:

[ ] Vitamin c and flu drugs (and any other drugs you'll need before your insurance kicks in)
[v] Padlocks
[v] Pictures
[v] Facecap
[ ] Print admission letter and others
[v] Collect driver's license
[v] Remove tooth
[v] Study leave docs
[v] Atm card
[v] Charger change
ArriveCAN app
[v] Jeans 5 pairs
[v] Turtle necks 4
[v] Tees 4
[v] Sneakers 3
[v] Underwear 6
[v] Corporate shirt
[v] Ankara 3
[v] Attachments 4packs and curl keeper
[v] Crochet 2
[v] Sanitary pad 2 double packs
[ ] Needle and thread
[v] Rubber band
[v] Cutting comb, comb and hair cream
[v] Hair products
[ ] Make your hair
[v] Hair Beads
[v] Hand beads
[v] Belts
Earrings
[v] PJs
Covid test
[v] Edge control
[v] Makeup
[v] Joggers
[v] Hair band
[v] Shorts
[ ] Ziplocks
[v] Shea butter, black soap
[v] Bed sheets and pillowcases
[v] Universal adaptor
[v] Nail polish
[ ] Documents

*Foodstuff*
Snacks
Dried fish
Pepper
Garri
Knor
Egusi
Ogbonno
Curry and thyme
Isam
Palm oil
Crayfish
Ofor/Achieve
Okazi
Olugbu

Those who still want ideas of what to write on their list can find inspiration here👇🏽

List of Items for my Trip

*Medications*
1. Malaria drug
2. Typhoid drug
3. Paracetamol
4. Felvin
5. Vitamin C
6. Vitamin D
7. Iron capsules
8. Omeperazole tablets
9. Hot balm

*Gadgets*
1. Laptop
2. Multi charger
3. EU plugs and extension

*Lady Needs*
1. Pads
2. Panty liners
3. Bathing soap
4. Cream
5. Body spray/deodorant
6. Perfume
7. Wig
8. Crotchet and crochet pin

*Clothings*

1. Jeans
2. polo
3. Long sleeved shirts
4. Hand gloves
5. Long socks
6. Ear muffs
7. Winter coat
8. Bathroom slippers
9. Moufler / scarves
10. Cardigan
11. Sneakers

*Food*
1. Palm oil (not allowed sometimes?)
2. Beans
3. Custard
4. Oats
5. Beverages (milk and Milo)
6. Golden morn
7. Dried Bitterleaf
8. Dried ukazi
9. Dried ugu
10. Egusi
11. Ogbono
12. Cameroon pepper
13. Red pepper
14. Pepper soup spices
15. Suya pepper
16. Groundnut
17. Dried ponmo
18. Dried Fish
19. Stock fish
20. Crayfish
21. Knorr
22. Dried periwinkle
23. Dried iru
24. Dried meat
25. Dried snail
26. Beans flour
27. Canned tomatoes
28. Curry and thyme

*Utensils*
1. Turning stick
2. Garri cutter
3. Scoop

*Others*
1. Big Echolac
2. Zip locs
3. Padlock
4. Needle and thread

To be updated as need arises

Career / Re: Human Resources Professionals, Please Answer This Question by Usefulsense: 9:24pm On Apr 24, 2023
Usefulsense:
Your contract of employment reads that either party will give three months notice of disengagement or pay three months salary in lieu of notice after confirmation.

You have been confirmed.

You want to leave and decides to give one month notice.

Now the question:

Are entitled to the balance of salary in the month of notice after deducting 2 months basic salary in lieu of 2 months notice?
Career / Human Resources Professionals, Please Answer This Question by Usefulsense: 4:21pm On Apr 24, 2023
Your contract of employment reads that either party will give three months notice of disengagement or pay three months salary in lieu of notice after confirmation.

You have been confirmed.

You want to leave and decides to give one month notice.

Now the question:

Are entitled to the balance of salary in the month of notice after deducting 2 months basic salary in lieu of 2 months notice?
Politics / Re: 25% Votes In 2/3 Of All The States And The FCT: What Is The Spirit Of The Law? by Usefulsense: 9:45pm On Feb 28, 2023
helinues:

You are the one confusing yourself proving nothing. See the way he turned Nigeria elections to school exams.

What's special about Abuja that a candidate must have 25% there?

Is Abuja a state?

Who is the governor of Abuja?

That is what the law spelt out in letters.

Every president of Nigeria since 1999 has always obtained at least 25% of votes cast in ABUJA.

To be declared president the law says you must have 25% of the votes cast in at least 2/3 of the states plus Abuja.

The law is clear.

Tinubu did not meet the Abuja requirement simple.
Politics / Re: Meaning Of 25% Of 2/3 States And FCT by Usefulsense: 9:19pm On Feb 28, 2023
gaby:
You will wait in vain for Buhari to hand over to the same ones who have boasted to undo his Naira redesign policy....lol

Make una dey use una head no matter who is involved.

This movie go end well, I promise.

Politics / Re: Meaning Of 25% Of 2/3 States And FCT by Usefulsense: 8:23pm On Feb 28, 2023
basilo102:

Haha good argument. Abuja is a state we agree but electoral law said you must get 25% from "Abuja state". Na so Obi gave new meaning to " four year tenure" and disrupted the election calendar. He will do it again
Politics / Re: Who Between Atiku And Obi Will Contest With Tinibu In The Rerun..? by Usefulsense: 8:04pm On Feb 28, 2023
ImmaculateJOE:
Now that we know that, Tinibu cannot be declared the winner, despite the massive rigging, voters suppression and suppression of votes because he didn't made 25% in FCT..

A rerun is inevitable... Look at the subsection 3b, who among Atiku and Obi will meet the criteria...?

I think Mr. Obi did..

He got Majority of votes in 5 SE states, plus Delta, Edo, and FCT... That's 8 states..
From my records, Atiku only manage that in Adamawa and Gombe..

N:B.. "Highest Votes" & Majority Votes" are two different things..

Highest votes simply means you scored more votes, even if it is by one vote..

But Majority votes mean 50%+1 votes..

#ObiIsComing

None of the candidates met the condition to be declared winner.

A run-off would have been possible if one candidate got the highest score and the other has the spread.

Now, Tinubu with all his rigging couldn't meet the spread, he has the highest score.

Between Atiku and Obi, none met any of the conditions. So a rerun involving the 3 main candidates will suffice.

13 Likes 1 Share

Politics / Meaning Of 25% Of 2/3 States And FCT by Usefulsense: 7:57pm On Feb 28, 2023
It beats my imagination on how majority of educated Nigerians failed to interprete the phrase
...25% of 2/3 of the states and Abuja..

Even a secondary school student who is good in English language will be able to interprete the meaning of this phrase.

In its simplest form, the phrase means 25% of 2/3 of 36 states plus 25% of Abuja.

While some lawyers have stated that section 299 of the 1999 constitution as amended made Abuja a state. This is fallacy.

Even if Abuja is made a state by section 299, the mere mention of FCT Abuja means that you must obtain 25% in the 'state' called Abuja.

APC should not rejoice yet as the third condition for being declared winner wad never met.

The conditions are:

A. You must have majority of the votes

B. You must have at least 25% in 2/3 of 36 States, and

C. You must obtain 25% of votes in the 'state' called FCT, Abuja.

Politics / Re: INEC RESULTS TABLE: The 35 States Announced So Far by Usefulsense: 7:20pm On Feb 28, 2023
None of the candidates have actually met the condition.

Tinubu failed in 25% of Abuja.

21 Likes 2 Shares

Politics / Re: To Be Honest We Don't Need To Thumb Print On Paper When We Can Do So On The BVAS by Usefulsense: 4:03pm On Feb 28, 2023
EDUECO:
INEC was or is still part of the structure of APC mafia organization
Politics / Re: To Be Honest We Don't Need To Thumb Print On Paper When We Can Do So On The BVAS by Usefulsense: 2:36pm On Feb 28, 2023
The good thing about this method, is that vote counting at the pooling unit will no longer be necessary.

Politics / Re: To Be Honest We Don't Need To Thumb Print On Paper When We Can Do So On The BVAS by Usefulsense: 2:22pm On Feb 28, 2023
AbdulMagaji:

Don't mind INEC chairman

Every individual has a unique print

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 55