Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / NewStats: 3,206,148 members, 7,994,915 topics. Date: Wednesday, 06 November 2024 at 01:21 AM |
Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour (14801 Views)
What's Happening In Anambra, All the Markets Closed. / Tinubu’s Daughter To Replace Abibatu Mogaji As New ‘iyaloja’? / Tinubu’s Mother, Abibat Mogaji Is Dead (2) (3) (4)
(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by omonnakoda: 5:58pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Dudu_Negro:That is your own account some people believe there are witches and wizards so you are entitled to your view.When that is different from others' or you seek to persuade them otherwise you need to present evidence. A very simple question for you ; What or who exactly is "Yoruba" and since when did they have identical customs. That is merely fantasy or conjecture. You add a lot of irrelevant packing(noise) to your verbiage that in no way buttresses your assertion of what relevance is it whether an Oba is deposed by his wife or whether they engage in felllatio to your claims is this to make you seem knowledgeable. My assertion is simple talking about Yoruba culture is no different from talking about Nigerian culture, The Ekiti are very different from the Ogbomosho and the Ijebus. Did all Yorubas cicumcise their male children or female children ?? Is that not a better measure of homogeneity than some spurious Iyaloja claim. Do Yorubas have the same deities ? 1 Like |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by DuduNegro: 6:07pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
thelastPope: What nonsense 11th century history or tradition is that? I thought you all want to modernise the SW? I thought you are building a mega city? So when you finish eko atlantic city and it becomes the new Dubai and people forn all over the world move there, you will ask them to close their shops because someone died? Why cant you make up your mind if you want to move into the future or return to the prehistoric flintstones? Oh yes, of course! You have a wrong understanding of what modernity is. Let me explain. When you move from village to city you are expected to acquire a new attitude, a city dweller swagger and ways. In other words, you drop the fetishes and na.ked.ness of village living and become urbane in your outlook and manners. Lagos is not village. Iyaloja and the culture are root elements of Lagos and as Lagos modernizes, they are further rooted into its growth. To illustrate we use Thanksgiving in America. A festival that celebrates the American past and relationship between indigenes and settlers. The whole nation shuts down on Thsnksgiving day. Would you ask America to depart from Thanksgiving, an 18th century culture, because we are in 21st century? |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Synthase(m): 6:13pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
I will say it is a market tradition, even when a member of a particular stall in a market dies, owners of the other stalls around will not open in mourning of that person... omonnakoda: |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by DuduNegro: 6:16pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
omonnakoda: That is your own account some people believe there are witches and wizards so you are entitled to your view.When that is different from others' or you seek to persuade them otherwise you need to present evidence. You are edgy because your claim of being a Yoruba is in question here. On the internet anyone can claim Yoruba and the proofing of identity in NL is impractical. However, if you do not want to loose your integrity here, given your past claims of Yoruba identity, it will benefit you to concile your Yoruba roots. Every respected Yoruba person here has agreed to the cultural relevance of Iyaloja. You are the lone wolf who maintains dissent. The burden of proof is on you. If you are Yoruba and you are not circumcised, i suggest you go see your head of family to start the rites for you immediately. 4 Likes |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Desola(f): 6:27pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Dudu_Negro: You get time to lecture that thing? |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by thelastPope(m): 6:31pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
take dat: Ogbeni, you get problem. Stay off drugs for good If you stop supplying, that might help! When do we meet for the next shot again? But you no say you be badt guy sha! |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by DuduNegro: 6:31pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
omonnakoda: I gave a historical background to dispell your lack of knowledge on a core Yoruba custom. What argument are you talking about, since when does instruction equate to argument? Beside, where did you see insult in my post? |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Nobody: 6:35pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Dudu_Negro: Some people are better ignore completely here... |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by DuduNegro: 6:41pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Desola: ilugunboy: True word! Thank you jare. |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by OAM4J: 6:46pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
omonnakoda: That is your own account some people believe there are witches and wizards so you are entitled to your view.When that is different from others' or you seek to persuade them otherwise you need to present evidence. That you are ignorant of the role, position, responsibilities and powers of market leaders called Iyaloja does not erase their existence. You only need to educate yourself. Every market in Yorubaland busy and disorganized as it might look has an administration that manages it beside the government and this market administration is headed by Iyaloja. They make and enforce the market bylaws. I have lived in at least in 4 Yoruba states to know this is a common scenario. If you doubt me, walk into any market in any Yorubaland and ask after the Iyaloja, if you are not shown one, come back here and give us the name and the location of the market. As per Yoruba history and common culture/heritage, pick for yourself a Yoruba history book or get an history teacher and stop assuming things. 5 Likes |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Nobody: 6:52pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Dudu_Negro:Would you then say a Scottish man, owing to modernism, should stop wearing skirts? |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Nobody: 6:57pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Ola Johnson: Some people are fast losing their culture all in the name of 'civilisation'...even their spoken language will go into extinct at the rate they are hating on their beliefs and traditions. To show how much they've distance themselves from their cultures...most of them even find it absurd to speak their language to their kids at home. |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by DuduNegro: 6:59pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Ola Johnson: Lmao.....i thought they call it "kilt". ....but i agree, modernism is not the same as urbanism. |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Afam4eva(m): 7:03pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
I just went outside and noticed that most markets were closed and i was wondering why until someone told me that Tinubu's mother was dead. How can markets in lagos be shot down because of a single human being. I don't think this is right. |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Nobody: 7:05pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Afam4eva: I just went outside and noticed that most markets were closed and i was wondering why until someone told me that Tinubu's mother was dead. How can markets in lagos be shot down because of a single human being. I don't think this is right. Afam...you've been in Yorubaland for long...so this your comment is very disappointing. |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Afam4eva(m): 7:07pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
ilugunboy:I don't know what bearing this has on the topic. That something has been going on for so long doesn't make it right. Is she like the head of market people or what? |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Desola(f): 7:08pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Afam4eva: I just went outside and noticed that most markets were closed and i was wondering why until someone told me that Tinubu's mother was dead. How can markets in lagos be shot down because of a single human being. I don't think this is right. Five pages down the line and something comes to ask a stup1d question?? Seun, you see yourself? See those whom you appointed as awodi? 1 Like |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Desola(f): 7:09pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Afam4eva: Oh no! It didn't just ask that question again! No it didn't! |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Nobody: 7:09pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Afam4eva: Yes she was the head of all markets here in Lagos...and it's a norm that markets should remain under lock for a day. |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Desola(f): 7:10pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
ilugunboy: I'm even disappointed that you thought it was disappointing. |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Afam4eva(m): 7:12pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
ilugunboy:If she was the head of the market then it may be understandable but i want to know if the market people were forced or they just chose to...For instance, if i sell tomato in a market and i choose to go to the market on that day, what will happen? |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Nobody: 7:13pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Desola: I want to give him the benefit of doubt that he genuinely didn't know and that he is not just trying some mischief |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Nobody: 7:14pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Afam4eva: I don't know what would happen... |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Desola(f): 7:19pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Afam4eva: Nothing much other than your family might be looking for hospital deposit to secure a bed and for treatment. As for your tomatoes, lasisi's wife would do it justice by making it into a nice fried fish ata didin to accompany the fluffy ofada rice he shall be treated to for dinner. A trial might convince you sha. |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by thelastPope(m): 7:20pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Desola: What is stup1d about the question? What is stup1d here is that in 2013, billions of naira of businesses will be shut down because one woman died! Even the queen of England will not be buried like that. Who is she? Most people in Lagos didnt even know she existed until one week ago! You come here to defend a barbaric and meaningless act just because you have to defend Tinubu yet you will quickly jump to other thread and criticize other people. Shame on your blatant hypocrisy! |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Afam4eva(m): 7:20pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Desola:This invariables means that people were forced to stay away from the markets which is not constitutional. |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Desola(f): 7:21pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
ilugunboy: Ok 0, give alayonbere a chance o. When it turns to snake oyo lo ma wa. |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by OAM4J: 7:21pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Afam4eva: She was not just the mother of Tinubu, long before Tinubu became known, joined NADECo, became a senator and later a governor, there was a powerful Iyaloja of Lagos, Alhaja Abibat Mogaji. You might need to read up on the functions and powers of an Iyaloja though. A lot of people think she became influential because she was Tinubu's mother whereas this woman had been dining with kings and head of states long before Tinubu became anything. 1 Like |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by Desola(f): 7:23pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
Afam4eva: Jesu olugbala! When did it become fashionable to think with the anus na? What has constitution got to do with tradition nitori oloun? |
Re: Lagos Markets Closed In Abibat Mogaji's Honour by thelastPope(m): 7:25pm On Jun 18, 2013 |
OAM4J: Who cares if she is Obama's mother? Is she bigger than society? What kind of argument is this? very funny!!! |
(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)
Flashback: Enugu Shoa Throws Out Gender Equality Bill / Fayose Pays N200m Compensation To Property Owners In Ado-ekiti (photos) / Ex-governor, 3 Gubernatorial Aspirants Defect From PDP To APC Read More
Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67 |