Stats: 3,200,662 members, 7,975,490 topics. Date: Tuesday, 15 October 2024 at 07:17 AM

Shem Obafaiye Aka “my Oga At The Top”, Opens Up On The Issue - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Shem Obafaiye Aka “my Oga At The Top”, Opens Up On The Issue (644 Views)

Interview With Shem Obafaiye, "My Oga At The Top" After The Channels TV Saga / Oga At The Top: NSCDC Defends Obafaiye / Reasons Why "My Oga At The Top" Jokes Must Stop. (2) (3) (4)

Shem Obafaiye Aka “my Oga At The Top”, Opens Up On The Issue by Ipheyemmy01(m): 3:08pm On Aug 24, 2013
What is your opinion about the Channels
Television interview that brought you
instant fame?
I have nothing much to say other than
to bless God for everything. I thank God
for all that happened; I thank God for my
boss, his support and love. He is a good
boss and I appreciate him. As far as I am
concerned all things work well for those
who love God and in all things, the Bible
says we should praise God.
The people that thought they were
going to ruin me did not know that they
would end up in announcing my destiny.
In the history of humanity, there had
never been any human being that had
instant fame like I did especially in a case
that was meant to end negatively. My
brother-in-law in London is even so
excited about the incident that he
promised to assist me make big money
out of this supposed mess. He had
already handed the matter to an agency
over there to trade mark “Oga at the
Top.” But I just asked him to forget it.
There is no need for that.
Many of my class mates are in top
positions in Nigeria currently, yet, they
said I did not go to school. I can
mention a lot of them here, including the
Attorney General in Lagos State, Ipaye.
But why should I do all that. All the same,
I give all the praises to God. It was not
the first interview I would be having
with them (Channels Tv). After that
interview we shook hands and I even
gave them my complimentary card. I
could see that they were not really
cheerful. If there was any effect, it was
on them and not me. It was the same
day I met with Governor Fashola of
Lagos State.
Theirs took place in the morning and I
met Governor Fashola later in the day.
Some people believed they were up to
something, but I did not know. I was
only being careful with words as a
security officer. We apply caution in all
that we say and do. It was a live
programme, the whole world was
watching us, so, I did not want to be too
free.
But like I said, I thank God for
everything. I blame nobody for anything;
I see everything as an act of God. They
believe they would use it to destroy my
destiny but God turned everything
around for me, for the better.
How did your family take the
development?
The day of the interview, 16th of March,
2013, was the day my father was buried.
It was as if it was designed to destablise
me on the day of the burial of my father,
but it was not so. It was three or four
days after that they apologised and said
it was not meant to embarrass me.
Channels felt bad because it backfired.
Anybody that wants to go for an
interview in Channels will be very
skeptical now and henceforth. I just felt
it was my time for divine announcement,
so I did not take it the way they thought
I would take it.
In fact, when I saw the T-shirt, I wanted
to buy one. Some had thought that my
transfer to Ibadan was a demotion, but
they are wrong. It is not. They also
claimed that my wife went to Channels
over the issue. The question I asked
was, to do what? She did not. The whole
thing has only turned around to be
God’s glory in my life.
What is your philosophy of life and how
did it apply in the case of “My Oga At The
Top” case?
My philosophy of life is to impact
positively on this generation. I want to
leave a legacy, a good and worthwhile
legacy behind that will not make my
family live or walk in fear when I am
gone. I want to sustain my good name;
and that is what I preach to my staff
every day.
I tell them to be open-minded; be
determined; do what you will do with
your best ability whether people are
there or not. Note that there are people
watching you and your work will speak
for you when you are not there. This is
what I always tell them.
What is the lesson to be learnt in your
“Oga At The Top” issue?
Everyone should identify a lesson out of
the whole saga.
www.informationng.com/2013/08/shem-obafaiye-aka-my-oga-at-the-top-opens-up-on-the-issue.html
Re: Shem Obafaiye Aka “my Oga At The Top”, Opens Up On The Issue by Dubby6(m): 3:32pm On Aug 24, 2013
my oga i feel u jare.Haters go blow
Re: Shem Obafaiye Aka “my Oga At The Top”, Opens Up On The Issue by badmeat(m): 3:34pm On Aug 24, 2013
Ok!I was here,smiley
Re: Shem Obafaiye Aka “my Oga At The Top”, Opens Up On The Issue by jammani(m): 3:44pm On Aug 24, 2013
Re: Shem Obafaiye Aka “my Oga At The Top”, Opens Up On The Issue by sainty2k3(m): 3:45pm On Aug 24, 2013
I hope he has learnt his lessons, , don't try to be Mr smart,no body is an island of knowledge
Re: Shem Obafaiye Aka “my Oga At The Top”, Opens Up On The Issue by Konjour(m): 5:22pm On Aug 24, 2013
Whatever could have been the reason for his blunders on TV, he's been made much more popular than he was before the interview. Won't be surprised if one of these days, I see the same man interviewed and splashed upon the centrespread of one of Nigeria's best selling newspapers. Fate has a way of turning bad circumstances to good ones. However, the man should learn to speak in terms independent of his boss, his reference to his boss is becoming comical, lest one begins to wonder if there's more to their relationship than meets the eye.

Anambra Apc Primaries: A Case Of Three Against One / Jonathan And Pdp’s Abracadabra Convention / Us Think- Tank: New Pdp Highlights North, South Dichotomy

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 17