Stats: 3,172,528 members, 7,885,190 topics. Date: Wednesday, 10 July 2024 at 04:21 AM

Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines - Science/Technology (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines (24078 Views)

The Lion Killed In Jos Was Used As Meat (see Pic Of Men Cutting It) / Jos Wildlife Park Lion Killed {picture} / Woman Kisses Two Lions In South Africa (VIDEO And Pictures) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by sexymoma(f): 1:07pm On Sep 23, 2013
34 Lions, 1,000,000 Rats, 1,000,000,000 efon... SMH
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by Iaz93: 1:07pm On Sep 23, 2013
hon.Tim:
Who cares whether or not lion exist? We have more pressing issues 2 think about in Nigeria. D existence of too much lions in 9ja only endangers d life of Nigerians
angry You dey reason at all??

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by abatajjvii: 1:08pm On Sep 23, 2013
na lie lion still plenty for my backyard

Caracta:

Now, this is funny. Lmao...

@topic, the lions should be forced to mate so we can have more grin
xharlzciprani: Snakes should go extinct not lions
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by stephy10(f): 1:08pm On Sep 23, 2013
My peeps, this is a serious issue. Look at it from this point of view; will our kids have to travel abroad to see lions in their generation? or only view it from movies shot from decades ago? For those who mention the lions in the zoo, its not thesame and those are not counted by conservationists. Such a pity!

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by wrench: 1:10pm On Sep 23, 2013
34!? If i'm to go by counting Jos (Plateau) has a high number of them.
The Jos wild Life park has about 2 Lions (Male and Female)
The Jos Zoological Garden Has about 3 Lions. Total=5.

But it's such a shame Nigerians dont cherish the wild. That's the more reason i do watch Natgeo Wild Often to give me a sense of what the wild looks like.
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by solomon111(m): 1:11pm On Sep 23, 2013
ECOWAS should start paying more attention to endangered animals.
I see no reason why they can't create a "wild-life and endangered species" conservation programme in atleast 3 west-african states where artificial habitats and parks are created for such animals.
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by Segadem(m): 1:12pm On Sep 23, 2013
I Think the ministry of tourism and culture should answer these questions
(1)Reproduction no dey for your dictionary?
(2)How many people God Created?

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by Nobody: 1:12pm On Sep 23, 2013
This is so SAD angry

Lemme go report it to the god_of_animals!

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by PStacks(m): 1:13pm On Sep 23, 2013
On a long enough timeline, everything and everybody tends to zero!
Everything must come to an end and that's why Life is Vanity.
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by PECO4KING(m): 1:15pm On Sep 23, 2013
Nigeria government self no get time for us not to talk of lion. Mr Lion u beta travel go beta country wey dem go take care of u. Like South Africa or Kenya.

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by fuckluv(f): 1:15pm On Sep 23, 2013
runzlord: 34? Re u kidding? The last tyme i checked we have 36 states so that mean 2 states dont have a lion. Hmmmm i suspect enugu and kogi
grin cheesy grin grin grin grin
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by SamyPrince: 1:15pm On Sep 23, 2013
You are not serious o, we de tok of hw human being go tak survive 4 this country, and u de there de talk of lion.

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by ladeski: 1:16pm On Sep 23, 2013
WHO COUNTED THEM?
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by BlackHuman(m): 1:16pm On Sep 23, 2013
I don't know if I should call this good news or bad news...though, I would've really loved it if it were snakes going extinct . snakes are dangerous animals. lions are dangerous too, but atleast they won't crawl inside your compound.
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by diokoloy(m): 1:19pm On Sep 23, 2013
Nah wa ooooooo 34 never dooo abi unah want make lion come D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ chop people, abeg ooo

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by nacotic(m): 1:20pm On Sep 23, 2013
4 many pple out thr dis news represents little or no meaning to them but personally dis is one of d saddest news av heard dis year, I tot Lions wia extinct in Nigeria though I read of unconfirmed sightings in d north once in a while, its heart breaking 2read dia r 34 of dis enigmas of nature still left in d wild n little or nothing is been done 2protect dem, many peeps on here dnt seem 2 understand wot facing EXTINCTION means. Ask d dinosaurs, my heart bleeds.

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by Nobody: 1:22pm On Sep 23, 2013
Oo please spare us what's their utility? Do you know how many people die daily in Tanzania because of those beasts?
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by solomon111(m): 1:22pm On Sep 23, 2013
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by adekanbai: 1:22pm On Sep 23, 2013
LWKMD, is this a gud news or sad. ;LWKMD, is this a gud news or sad.
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by solomon111(m): 1:22pm On Sep 23, 2013
Black Human: I don't know if I should call this good news or bad news...though, I would've really loved it if it were snakes going extinct . snakes are dangerous animals. lions are dangerous too, but atleast they won't crawl inside your compound.

why should snakes go extinct,you selfish man.
Are humans the only ones to inhabit the world.?
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by Nobody: 1:22pm On Sep 23, 2013
No no no i bluntly disagree as Nigeria is neva right with statistics. 34 isnt a large number so Yohanna Saidu cld as well have listed out the reservs where these lions are. 6-8 in UI, 3-4 in Unilorin that i knw of plus those in other Universities zoo plus those in Borgu, Yankari, Obudu, Jos & in the wild. I dare say we have over a hundred lions though its a worrisome trend that they are fast going extinct
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by Nobody: 1:23pm On Sep 23, 2013
oyin01: Lol... African Hunters don kill them finish... Maybe we should blame GEJ again. 

Blame it on your poor hunter father.
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by Sweetapple007(f): 1:23pm On Sep 23, 2013
Praise God! Our lion don dey finish

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by adekanbai: 1:23pm On Sep 23, 2013
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by scholes23(m): 1:24pm On Sep 23, 2013
End Time For The Lions
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by Vincent41(m): 1:24pm On Sep 23, 2013
Pastor Kun: The West African lion is on the verge of extinction, according to experts after a marked decline in recent years.

It is estimated that there are just 645 genetically distinct wild lions left in western and central Africa, with as few as 34 remaining in the whole of Nigeria.

Now experts from conservation group LionAid say they are ‘in real danger of extinction’.

According to the group, there are no lions left in 25 African countries and populations are barely surviving in ten.

Clusters of lions remain in Burkina Faso, Niger, the Central African Republic, Cameroon and Chad but are already extinct in countries such as Ghana, The Ivory Coast and Togo.

Thirty years ago there were 200,000 lions roaming wild across the continent – but now there are only between 15,000 and 32,000 left.

West African lions have been largely forgotten due to political apathy to conservation.

Dr Pieter Kat, trustee of LionAid, told The Guardian: ‘There has been a catastrophic decline in the populations of lions in Africa, and particularly west Africa.

‘These lions have been neglected for a very long time and do not have adequate protection programs.’

He said the west of the continent is often ignored in favour of eastern Africa, leading to a decline in species.

The lion is threatened by a range of factors, including loss of habitat, loss of natural prey due to poaching, ‘unsustainable levels of trophy hunting’ and human conflict.

A new threat is also on the rise as lion bones are being used to supply the demands of Asian traditional medicine and tiger bones become scarce.

In Nigeria, a government wildlife official told The Guardian that the number of lions in the country had dropped from 44 in 2009 to a meager of 34.

Yohanna Saidu from Nigeria’s interior ministry told the newspaper, they are trying to protect the lions but admitted to being ‘very concerned’.

Dr Kat said it would now be impossible to build up a population of lions in Nigeria and therefore the species should be classed as extinct as well.

The picture is similar in other countries. In Senegal, the LionAid said there are just 40 lions left.

The charity said there are only five ‘viable’ populations – those of 1,000 or more – lions left in the continent.

Three of those are found in Tanzania and Kenya, with the remaining populations surviving in South Africa and Botswana and Zimbabwe.

Recent studies on African lion populations’ show that about three-quarters of Africa’s savannah has disappeared over the past 50 years.

Conservationists say it is not possible to individually count every lion in the continent, so estimates on remaining population numbers vary.

However experts do agree the plight of the African lion is ‘very serious’ and want the animal to be included on the convention on international trade in endangered species list.

Inclusion would mean tight protection on hunting and trade, especially important as more than 5,600 wild African lions were hunted and exported as trophies between 1999 and 2008.

However, conservationists say they face strong opposition from the pro-hunting lobby.

Dr Kat said: ‘We are currently paying lip service to the conservation needs of a specie which is so greatly important to our cultures, history, and indeed the health of wildlife biodiversity in Africa.

‘Lions are not only an iconic species important to very many people all over the world, but they are also a vital component of African ecosystems.’

Culled from Dailymail.co.uk

source: http://www.channelstv.com/home/2013/01/10/just-34-lions-are-left-in-nigeria-as-west-african-lion-population-declines/

plus Akpos = 35 lions...hahahahahhaha
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by Nobody: 1:25pm On Sep 23, 2013
Wolves are almost extinct in the west no one talk about that , free African jore is Africa a zoo or what. Useless animals like lions have no reason to live they are dangerous , wild and dislike/eat humans.
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by solomon111(m): 1:26pm On Sep 23, 2013
CAMEROONPRIDE: Oo please spare us what's their utility? Do you know how many people die daily in Tanzania because of those beasts?
Do you know that some east-african countries sustain their economy on tourism?
guess which animal people want to see the most.
LIONS.
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by fuckluv(f): 1:27pm On Sep 23, 2013
hon.Tim:
Who cares whether or not lion exist? We have more pressing issues 2 think about in Nigeria. D existence of too much lions in 9ja only endangers d life of Nigerians
No dey take things too seriously jor. Lions live in d bush and doesn't wander on d road abi u don come across one before? So let the reproduction of lion begin grin grin
Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by PastorKun(m): 1:27pm On Sep 23, 2013
I watch Natgeo Wild a lot, it surprises me that despite the numerous countries across Africa they showcase wild life from, I have not for once seen any documentary on wild life in Nigeria.

Re: Just 34 Lions Are Left In Nigeria As West African Lion Population Declines by banky222: 1:27pm On Sep 23, 2013
runzlord: 34? Re u kidding? The last tyme i checked we have 36 states so that mean 2 states dont have a lion. Hmmmm i suspect enugu and kogi
no lagos and ogun due to massive development. Lol

Bitcoiner Implants Lightning Chip To Make BTC Payments By Hand (Pix) / Magician Dynamo Levitates From The Roof Of A London Bus / Scientists Reveal Brain Of 233-Million-Year-Old Dinosaur (Pictures)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38