Stats: 3,191,219 members, 7,943,351 topics. Date: Sunday, 08 September 2024 at 12:51 PM

World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module (9405 Views)

UNESCO Seeks Osun’s Permission To Adopt, Reproduce Opon Imo / Unijos Receives $8m World Bank Grant For Research / 7 Nigerian Varsities Emerge For World Bank Sponsored Projects (2) (3) (4)

World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by 9inches(m): 4:41pm On Nov 13, 2013

World Bank officials from Abuja, led by the Country Director, Me Marie Francoais Marie-Nelly, arrived in Awka yesterday for the kick-off of the Anambra State Education  Programme Investment Project(SEPIP), which is part of his “Final Push,” towards the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).
  The project involves $150 million among Anambra, Ekiti and Bauchi states.
  Speaking on the project, the Senior Education Specialist for the World Bank, Prof. Tunde Adekola said Anambra State was selected for World Bank intervention because Governor Peter Obi demonstrated accountability by using available resources to deliver better education results.
  He said that the World Bank would adopt Obi’s direct disbursement of resources to end-users since it had evidently worked in the state
   Adekola said the criteria for selection was based among states that had demonstrated great support to education on their own, while the World Bank was working to encourage them.  
  “We shall from time to time evaluate what Anambra is doing. Once we see improvement as it is now, we shall offer more support.” 
  Part of the assistance will go in the area of special employment and training of teachers in core subjects of English, Mathematics and the Sciences.
  The delegation later visited Queen of the Rosary Secondary School, Onitsha, Dennis Memorial Secondary School, Onitsha; and Christ the King College, Onitsha witnessed the handing over of the cheques of N30 million to the three schools for continued infrastructural development and said that they were impressed by what they saw in the three schools. 
   The World Bank had to commission the team from Oxford University led by Prof. Collier to study what Anambra State is doing in the education sector that led to the noticeable improvement.
   Meanwhile, Obi has presented a cheque of N1.5 billion to the schools in the state as part of the continued efforts by his government toward their rehabilitation, assuring that he was committed to all levels of education.
   Marie-Nelly said she was overwhelmed by the level of infrastructure she witnessed in schools in the state and thanked the governor for that. 
  She advised students to work hard to enable them equip themselves adequately to compete with others anywhere across the world. She said with internet connectivity and computers in schools in Anambra State, she was confident the state was on the right path.
http://www.ngrguardiannews.com/index.php/news/national-news/137694-world-bank-to-adopt-anambra-s-education-module

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by levelszik(m): 4:57pm On Nov 13, 2013
Even though I hated that retard called O-bi(ngo),I can't help but applaud him on d education section in my state.after that,nothing else.once again,well done retard.

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by 9inches(m): 5:05pm On Nov 13, 2013
@levelszik:
Even though I hated that retard called O-bi(ngo),I can't help but applaud him on d education section in my state.after that,nothing else.once again,well done retard.

Lol. I like ur sincerity, but I don't think this is his strongest point anyways... Some people here would still argue he did little or nothing in education.
Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by gleaf: 7:29pm On Nov 13, 2013
Freeglobe will definitely avoid such threads!!! Anyway back to topic, Obi has always been a silent achiever , I believe that world bank team visited other states before taking this decision , it shows that its not all about building the most beautiful school but its also about the developmental policy in place to sustain it .Obi has shown that western world can actual take something out of Africa other than always imposing or importing western policies and way of life.

Kudos to the best Governor of Anambra state!!! I PRAY THAT WILLIE WILL DO BETTER!!

16 Likes

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by tawa89(f): 10:37pm On Nov 13, 2013
Why is this thread not on front page? Didn't it meet the criteria for FP materials?

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by 9inches(m): 8:48am On Nov 14, 2013
gleaf: Freeglobe will definitely avoid such threads!!! Anyway back to topic, Obi has always been a silent achiever , I believe that world bank team visited other states before taking this decision , it shows that its not all about building the most beautiful school but its also about the developmental policy in place to sustain it .Obi has shown that western world can actual take something out of Africa other than always imposing or importing western policies and way of life.

Kudos to the best Governor of Anambra state!!! I PRAY THAT WILLIE WILL DO BETTER!!

Truth there @ bolded... Imagine the boost it will give to his/our confidence. I believe more outstanding feats will follow in due time when some other sectors receive their own 'Final push', depending on how they are programmed though. My admiration of OKWUTE NDI IGBO in terms of strategic planning and fiscal mgt is unwavered... Little wonder why he is GEJ's Honorary Adviser on Finance, not minding Obi's political stance (being an APGA die-hard).
Anambra for Continuity!
Anambra for Completion!!
Anambra for Commissioning!!!
Anambra for Commencement!!!
Vote 4Cs.. Vote Willie Obiano

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by 9inches(m): 8:50am On Nov 14, 2013
tawa89: Why is this thread not on front page? Didn't it meet the criteria for FP materials?

Where them Mods at? Front page abeg... This is national news.

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Nobody: 8:55am On Nov 14, 2013
Anambra state is d best in everything(yes,even in crime). dey just got bad roads (which can be fixed in a year or so if need be). That state is the most powerful state in nigeria. Don't even call abuja or lagos, cos anambra was almost leveled during d war n den D capital awka, created created in 1996. They've gone a long way to me

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by owolabifunke14(f): 9:05am On Nov 14, 2013
[quote author=tawa89]Why is this thread not on front page? Didn't it meet the criteria for FP materials?[/quoteMust every thread be on front page?]Must every thread be on front page?
Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by owolabifunke14(f): 9:06am On Nov 14, 2013
tawa89: Why is this thread not on front page? Didn't it meet the criteria for FP materials?
must evry thread be on front page?
Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Nobody: 9:09am On Nov 14, 2013
owolabifunke14: must evry thread be on front page?
but every tonto dike's thread is on front page bah?

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by asha80(m): 9:56am On Nov 14, 2013
@levelszik:
for you a chronic obi hater to admit that education in anambra is experiencing change means something serious has happened or is happening in that sector.

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by 9inches(m): 10:58am On Nov 14, 2013
asha 80: for you a chronic obi hater to admit that education in anambra is experiencing change means something serious has happened or is happening in that sector.

ANIDS programme hasn't started showing itself, wait till some other sectors get to their final phase. Hope you soon dump APC ideologies and join the moving train (APGA)? You are welcome!

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Nobody: 11:54am On Nov 14, 2013
So Nairaland want this thread to die like that bah?. if it was lagos.....

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Slizbeat(m): 12:43pm On Nov 14, 2013
The MODs are really biased. If you like, Ban me. I will say it again.....MOD's are really BIASED.

I opened such thread over a week ago and it never made NL's front-page cos it never involved the O-..... policy or speaks bad of SE.

To topic, yes I love Obi in every aspect. The best thing I have learned from him is "Do not borrow to finance a project, if you don't have, continue the little you can till you have enough to start and finish rather than starting and finishing in a decade"

Obi is not a noise maker, he is an achiever even we agree he may have stolen from us but yet, it's better to steal(A little) and still deliver the dividend of democracy to the people than stealing without keeping to your promise/words.

Long live OBI
Long live APGA
Long live ANAMBRA
Long live NDIGBO
Long live IGBO SUPPORTERS.

13 Likes

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Zonacom(m): 12:55pm On Nov 14, 2013
Final push... I love the phrase
Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by lovat(m): 1:13pm On Nov 14, 2013
World Bank please there is a state called Rivers and the governor is Chibuike Amaechi, kindly go there and see schools now looking like Jehovah Witness and Latter Day saints buildings. Don't ask for teachers cos they are all dancing to the airport.

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by 9inches(m): 8:39pm On Nov 14, 2013
lovat: World Bank please there is a state called Rivers and the governor is Chibuike Amaechi, kindly go there and see schools now looking like Jehovah Witness and Latter Day saints buildings. Don't ask for teachers cos they are all dancing to the airport.

^^^ I'm suing you for the injuries sustained while ROTFL-ing to the above effort of yours grin

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by 9inches(m): 9:40pm On Nov 14, 2013
Slizbeat: The MODs are really biased. If you like, Ban me. I will say it again.....MOD's are really BIASED.

I opened such thread over a week ago and it never made NL's front-page cos it never involved the O-..... policy or speaks bad of SE

Don't mind them

Slizbeat: To topic, yes I love Obi in every aspect. The best thing I have learned from him is "Do not borrow to finance a project, if you don't have, continue the little you can till you have enough to start and finish rather than starting and finishing in a decade"

Though I have been living and breathing engr'g my life so far, I have learnt from Gov. Obi some vital tips that has been quite useful in my personal life and business (having keenly observed his antecedents since 2003 elections, as I'm yet to meet him in person) and I must confess they are really priceless. The man is truly an inspiration... like I'm now his student. Lol

Read his interview in June, 2011. This might get you to knowing his personality.
www.vanguardngr.com/2011/06/anambra-is-the-most-difficult-state-gov-obi/
Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Nobody: 8:05am On Nov 15, 2013
If its about pix of Aba roads, the mods will be updating it on FP every 3 months

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Nobody: 8:13am On Nov 15, 2013
My suspicion that Seun is now an APC chieftain gets stronger by the day. Anyway, 2015 elections will come and go.

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Nobody: 8:31am On Nov 15, 2013
Nairaland.com
Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by biafranqueen: 8:49am On Nov 15, 2013
gleaf: Freeglobe will definitely avoid such threads!!! Anyway back to topic, Obi has always been a silent achiever , I believe that world bank team visited other states before taking this decision , it shows that its not all about building the most beautiful school but its also about the developmental policy in place to sustain it .Obi has shown that western world can actual take something out of Africa other than always imposing or importing western policies and way of life.

on behalf of Freeglobe I would like to apologize for his absence, he is currently locked up with 179 APC supporters that were on the way to rig elections.

Back to topic wow this is great news, the commissioners he employed need to continue the good job the have been doing this last four years, they have been working very hard with small pay and benefits but churning out projects like they life depends on it. Good jobs commissioners of Anambra and good job Obi for listening to these guys well well even though you been paying them peanuts they are working they Nash off!

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by obayaya(m): 8:55am On Nov 15, 2013
@levelszik:

bros, his strongest point is the repositioning of anambra in commerce and investment.. with the Onitsha business park, the stock exchange Building. and using his private sector experience in luring investors in.

it's obviously working. most abandoned companies are reopening. sabmiller, orient, innoson.. Ppl are actually discovering that anambra is a gold mine for companies due to the availability of market.

FYI.. Main market Onitsha is the biggest market in west Africa

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by obayaya(m): 8:57am On Nov 15, 2013
9inches:

Truth there @ bolded... Imagine the boost it will give to his/our confidence. I believe more outstanding feats will follow in due time when some other sectors receive their own 'Final push', depending on how they are programmed though. My admiration of OKWUTE NDI IGBO in terms of strategic planning and fiscal mgt is unwavered... Little wonder why he is GEJ's Honorary Adviser on Finance, not minding Obi's political stance (being an APGA die-hard).
Anambra for Continuity!
Anambra for Completion!!
Anambra for Commissioning!!!
Anambra for Commencement!!!
Vote 4Cs.. Vote Willie Obiano

what do you expect from a seasoned banker and executive.. they think long and hard when making plans. you hardly see banks making loss.. it's just impossible

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by obayaya(m): 8:59am On Nov 15, 2013
9inches:

ANIDS programme hasn't started showing itself, wait till some other sectors get to their final phase. Hope you soon dump APC ideologies and join the moving train (APGA)? You are welcome!

that master plan for Onitsha, awka and nnewi designed in collaboration with UN habitat.. when they start implementing eh!!! Ppl go mad

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by drdams: 8:59am On Nov 15, 2013
The day this thread hits front page; tribal bigotry, ethnic chauvinism, pouring out diatribes and e-wars will be prevalent.

I shall be a living testimony.

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Seun(m): 9:02am On Nov 15, 2013
Sincere 9gerian: My suspicion that Seun is now an APC chieftain gets stronger by the day. Anyway, 2015 elections will come and go.
talk to the person who updates the home page.
Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by kingbang: 9:09am On Nov 15, 2013
Seun: talk to the person who updates the home page.

Is it not obvious to you that the "person who updates the home page" is biased? The joke is on you bro! Take this to the home page!!!! If it were to be an anti-Igbo thread or anti-Obi/APGA thread, it would have made FP a long time ago. Just have it at the back of your mind that we are not fooled one bit!!!!

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Brimmie(m): 9:10am On Nov 15, 2013
OK
Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by drdams: 9:24am On Nov 15, 2013
Shut up! If he is anti-igbo, how come a larger percentage (if not all) of the few Moderators in Politics section are Igbos / non Yorubas?
kingbang:

Is it not obvious to you that the "person who updates the home page" is biased? The joke is on you bro! Take this to the home page!!!! If it were to be an anti-Igbo thread or anti-Obi/APGA thread, it would have made FP a long time ago. Just have it at the back of your mind that we are not fooled one bit!!!!

Re: World Bank To Adopt Anambra's Education Module by Nobody: 9:28am On Nov 15, 2013
Eh eh, my state is reppin

Help! JAMB Is Not Sending My Profile Code (photo) / 61th Rugular Result Of N.d.a Kaduna Is Out. / BIMS Success Stories And Its Impact On Students At UNILORIN And UNILAG

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 47