Stats: 3,200,365 members, 7,974,516 topics. Date: Monday, 14 October 2024 at 06:44 AM

Nigerians Lash Out @ Mtv Base....funny - Nairaland / General - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Nigerians Lash Out @ Mtv Base....funny (657 Views)

Http://www.nationalhealthadvisor.com/lash-renew / A Great Way To Intensify Top Of The Lash Line / Angry Fans Lash Out On Maheeda, Beverly And Others For X-rated Xmas Cards (2) (3) (4)

Nigerians Lash Out @ Mtv Base....funny by tomiobj(m): 4:22pm On Oct 03, 2014
Music and entertainment channel, MTV Base Africa have just released a list of the Top 20 Naija Songs of All Time. You guessed it! This one obviously will join the record of controversial lists we’ve had in the industry, as it will get us talking quite an awful lot about it. Here it is below!

1. 2FACE – AFRICAN QUEEN
2. 9ICE – GONGO ASO
3. D’BANJ – OLIVER TWIST
4. P SQUARE FT. WAJE – DO ME
5.WIZKID – HOLLA AT YOUR BOY
6.DAVIDO – DAMI DURO
7. ICE PRINCE – OLEKU
8.D’BANJ – WHY ME
9. M.I – SAFE
10. OLU MAINTAIN – YAHOOZE
11. NAETO C – KINI BIG DEAL
12. DAVIDO – SKELEWU
13. BANKY W – LAGOS PARTY
14. WIZKID – PAKURUMO
15. ASA – JAILER
16. P -SQUARE – CHOP MY MONEY
17. WANDE COAL – BUMPER TO BUMPER
18. DR SID – SURULERE
19. FLAVOUR – NWA BABY REMIX
20. KCEE – LIMPOPO

Jimmy King strongly believes Dr Sid’s Surulere shouldn’t be classified as one of Naija’s Top 20 songs of all time… may be just not yet. But instead The Mavins Dorobucci would have been best suited in it’s place. Yahooze as a matter of fact should be in the first six songs displacing either of Davido or Wizkid’s.

aL Yhusuff thinks Mo’ Hits Booty Call should have made it on the list and that 2face Idibia’s If Love Is A Crime should equally merit a spot on the list.

Jim Donnett is of the verge that the list features majority of the industry’s millennial acts. There are songs from artistes that have phased into oblivion whose songs can very well pass for evergreen. Also, Iyanya’s Kukere was a revolutionary single in the afro pop genre from the Nigerian shores but yet it was omitted, erroneously may be. Banky W’s Lagos Party wasn’t that much a hit like his Strong Thing, which should have replaced it and in like manner, Flavour’s Ashawo is the song for this list instead of Nwa Baby.

What do you think about the list? Which songs do not deserve to be on the list and which other songs can you think of that should merit the list but did not? Share your thoughts!

Posted by Tyler on October 3, 2014.

31 Comments
Anonymous says:
October 3, 2014 at 2:31 pm
Rubbish list were ni e oooo ibeg wat about dagrin notin,God go fire u all @mtvbase.
Youngb says:
October 3, 2014 at 2:45 pm
No insult…they said “share ur thought”
Anonymous says:
October 3, 2014 at 2:45 pm
No insult…they said “share ur thought”
SIR says:
October 3, 2014 at 2:21 pm
D list, nah nah nah where’s faze alone, or kolomental, or olufumi by style plus?
Anonymous says:
October 3, 2014 at 2:18 pm
From the directors of research mtv naija u are all stupid. Foolish and bias may GOD stroke your fettish stupod. Desecion . Its obvious you know nothing about evergreen songs in nigeria so I will advice your stupid company to appologise. To nigerians for the stupid fake selections you guys made. Where is eedris mr lecturer where is eeedris jagajaga where is remedies where is african china … Na GOD go punish all of una at mtv offices…
Anonymous says:
October 3, 2014 at 2:25 pm
No mind dem joooooor, dem just select some kind song way I no even ma understand.abeg d list no make sense atolllllllllllll#new list
Youngb says:
October 3, 2014 at 2:49 pm
Some of u guy lack manner why are you insulting then..i can see you hav got mad…they said”share ur thought” simple english…olodo
Anonymous says:
October 3, 2014 at 3:12 pm
It amaze me how u guyz comment on stuff, u should add ur thought to it not being insultive.
Anonymous says:
October 3, 2014 at 2:13 pm
Dat list is for d trash can. Certainly not a music listener dat drafted it!
passy says:
Why is kukere not there?,I dnt like this list cos I didn’t see songs that are surposed to be there.
Anonymous says:
Why is kukere not there?,I dnt like this list cos I didn’t see songs that are surposed to be there.
Fejiro says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:50 pm
Booty Call is missing. What business does Lagos party has to do there. Eedris’s Jagajaga is missing too
sGk says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:50 pm
Yahoozee shud be on top5..kolomental missing…my car by tony tetula missing…
Anonymous says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:47 pm
Styl plus nko o
Lokobiggie says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:47 pm
There is a lot of bias in this list. I don’t know what kcee’s limpopo is doing there, and I think only one of psquare’s ‘get squared’ or ‘busybody’ should be on the list. I also think dban’j’s ‘tongolo’ should be there instead of any of his songs. Banky w’s ‘ebute metta’ should be there instead of ‘lagos party’. What of african china’s ‘crises’ and danfo drivers’ ‘I am a danfo driver’ (even though the song is not too meaningful). Davido and whizkid’s songs were just rave of the moment in their time and do not qualify as evergreen in my own opinion. What of sound sultan’s ‘jangbajantis’ of those days?
Youngb says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:59 pm
Yes bro!u ar right
Tolu j says:
October 3, 2014 at 2:14 pm
I strongly agree with you
sleekwalsh says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:45 pm
Of All Times?. Really!!!? This is absolute nonsense. Wt of joromi, suffering and smiling- fela. Omo mi se rere, send down the rain- majek fashek. Caro (yellow sisi) and osondi owendu and Co. Are you kidding. That generation is naija music. Not all this copy cats. Asa and 2face deserve to be on the list. But Davido, Wizkid, m.i and Co. KCEE!!!?? Those pple that made the ranking needs to b sacked. They know nothing abt music or Nigeria sef.
ayo says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:42 pm
Lagos party its a NO NO….yahoozee should av secure a place in d first 5 displacing holla@your boy…n frm dat list up dia Dr Sid Surulere appeared 2twice I hop is nt d d remix n d 1 wit donjazy…it shouldn’t av feature@all n by d way wia is terryG freemadness n no track mak d list from timaya den mama album….n d last 1 dat I will finally mak me rubbish diz list is KUKERE haba una no try@all see una cheat cheat face oya lie say ur pikin for auz no dance kukere abi ur siblings for wia den dey no dance kukere d only dance wey ma pastor wife sabi dance well well….abeg mak una reverse d list MTV abi wetin be una name…
babynice says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:41 pm
Absolute Rubbish”. U call it songs of all time and d oldest of dem all is 13yrs old. Does it mean we dnt listen to local songs bfor den? Dem no get sense” Where Idrees “mr Lecturer, Tetuila “You don hit my car,Weird MC “Ijo ya, Remedees “omode meta” etc Rasquie, Benita, Nigga Raw, Lord of Ajasa, Da grin. Whose songs had kept us all on our feet in d past. “Na dem knw” RUBBISH
sleekwalsh says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:48 pm
U tried. But dat generation sef can’t be rated all times. U don’t see Americans rating Asap rocky or drake or lilwayne as part of some all times. We talking evergreen songs not all dis ones dat their track can’t even last for 4 weeks.
Anonymous says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:39 pm
Kolomental and kukere is missing? Bumper 2 bumper should be in top 10, oleku should go above dami duro. Surulere? Mayb top 100
Mr Jay says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:38 pm
Styl Plus – Olufunmi
babynice says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:43 pm
U too mch broda
jalabiya says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:46 pm
I would prefer imagine dat or iyabasira. wer does guy dey self
Anonymous says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:46 pm
I would prefer imagine dat or iyabasira. wer does guy dey self.
OBD says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:35 pm
Where iz faze koLomentaL,,or Originality,,and d likes,,diz iz not about d artist status in d music industry but Evergreen naija songs…song lyk Lagos party by banky W shouldn’t b on d list,,instead it shld b replaced with strong thing…
Jomelex says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:26 pm
Well the list is queit ok! But like jim donnet said kukere is one hit dat has to be on dat list and the legendary busy body from p square!!!
finbars says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:25 pm
Davido’s n wizkid shouldn’t be on that list,
Yahoo should b top5, M.I ‘s Safe should be top 3..Surulere is absolutely not suppose to be dere
Fbi says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:25 pm
Shit
Anonymous says:
October 3, 2014 at 1:23 pm
Rubbish
First to comment

VIDEO: Olamide Confirms Album With Phyno “2 Kings” For 2015″ / Agony Of 13-year-old Nigerian Fighting Brain Cancer In US Hospitals / Fans Blast Kemi Olunloyo For Calling Herself GOD With The Ability To Control Men

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 45