Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / NewStats: 3,208,441 members, 8,002,630 topics. Date: Thursday, 14 November 2024 at 02:20 PM |
Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike (3085 Views)
Militants Angry With Osinbajo, Threaten To Resume Attacks / Militants Threaten To Attack Niger-Delta Governors / Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike (2) (3) (4)
Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 5:44pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
At least 2,000 prostitutes in southern Anambra state threatened to go on strike Wednesday after local government officials demolished their brothels where they lived next to a cattle market in the state capital Awka. The commercial sex workers accused the officials of destroying their business without notice, local Nigerian newspapers reported. The Anambra State Urban Development Board allegedly stormed the brothels Monday afternoon near the border community of Amansea with more than 50 armed police officers on the suspicion that the structures were being used as hideouts for kidnappers and other criminals. Shortly after authorities demolished their homes, the angry prostitutes set the cattle market ablaze. “We are decent people. We do our business and go our way. We don’t harbor criminals. After all, most of the people that visit us are government officials. They want me to expose them?” the leader of the prostitutes, who gave her name as Rachel, said during an interview with Punch newspaper. “They destroyed our center and left behind other huts, kiosks and canteens that belong to the Hausa cattle traders. Is that justice? Don’t those one harbor kidnappers and criminals?” The prostitutes said they would also go on a four-day strike starting Wednesday to protest the local government’s actions. “We want to tell them they are the people patronizing us,” Rachel told Punch. Demolishing the brothels was part of an overall effort to drive out crime from the southern state, said the general manager of the Anambra State Urban Development Board. The brothels were illegal buildings in Amansea that have allegedly become safe havens for kidnappers and armed robbers, said Nathan Enemuo, who led the operation at the cattle market. The operation will extend to other urban areas within the Nigerian state, where prostitutes run their businesses in illegal structures, Enemuo said. “A lot of prostitutes live around Amansea cattle market, spoiling our children and constituting nuisance in the area and you know that anywhere there is brothel, criminals and kidnappers hover around there,” Enemuo told Vanguard Newspapers Tuesday. “In my capacity as the [Anambra State Urban Development Board] general manager, I will ensure that this does not exist anymore in the state and our activities are in line with our amiable governor’s policy on zero tolerance to crime and kidnapping in the state.” Cc lalasticala http://sunnewsonline.com/new/anambra-prostitutes-threaten-to-go-on-strike/ |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 5:45pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
not go on strike they better quit 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Fillam: 5:45pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
hahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahaahahahahahahaaahahahaahaahaaahaha 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by INTROVERT(f): 5:47pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
i Don die.... 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Cutehector(m): 5:47pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Lmao.. Na who go suffer am.. Mumu ashawos 2 Likes |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 5:49pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
1 Like 1 Share |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 5:50pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Lol @ strike Nothing we no go see 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Beremx(f): 5:51pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
kossyablaze,what sayest thou about this? |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 5:52pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Cutehector:Hmmm |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by babadem2much(m): 5:59pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
THE GUYS WILL BE LIKE WAHALA DE SLEEP TROUBLE GO WAKE AM KONJI GO ARREST SOME GUYS |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by kestolove95(m): 6:00pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Ibos and ashawo work...God4bid 3 Likes |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by prof17(m): 6:02pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
INTROVERT:die now! |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by dangote7510(m): 6:03pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Owerri and Anambra, next will be, Portharcourt, Lagos, and...... 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 6:07pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Onijagidijagan:Sure |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 6:08pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Fillam:Lol |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 6:18pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
the topic tho see levels 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Bern1992(m): 6:18pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
soon Boko Haram will threaten to go on strike too Some pple are lyk........ pls ooo i will giv u pple ma abandoned hotel............. Conji pple. |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 6:25pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Bern1992:Haba |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by drey076(m): 6:28pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
abeg make den no go on strike ooo
rape issue go many ooo |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 6:46pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
drey076:Hmmmm |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by stinggy(m): 6:57pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Bad news from the other side of Niger 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by cybertyrant(m): 6:59pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
kestolove95:stop the tribal sentiments, are u telling me that 2000 prostitutes in anambra reach quarter of lagos which is the hq of prostitutes in africa,yorubas and akwuna or is it abuja the sex hub of africa 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by hinwazaka: 8:01pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
kestolove95:Shut up fool. The prostitution malaise is a global one, its not secluded to one region alone 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by PointB: 8:06pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
kestolove95: hehehehe See who dey call another person ashawo. Kettle to pot... 3 Likes
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 8:31pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
PointB:Serious |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Yeske2(m): 8:35pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
PointB:Bia nwokem, are you serious? No wonder..... |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Utchgirl(f): 8:40pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
kestolove95: A mad man is usually d 1st person to call a SANE man a LUNATIC. Hop u can decode d msg i'm passing 2 u ? U r suffering 4rm IGBOPHOBIA ! Ndo ! 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Utchgirl(f): 8:52pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
kestolove95: Hv seen ur DP ! U r nt evn ashamed of urself 2 open dt ur gutter mouth 2 say Igbos and Ashawo work ? Keep on displaying ur Tribalistic stupidity on line. I knw u must nt escape 2 be an onye ofemman'u. Dnt 4get dt those who live in glass house shld nt throw stone ! 1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 9:08pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Utchgirl:No tribalism |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Utchgirl(f): 9:10pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
1 Like |
Re: Anambra Prostitutes Threaten To Go On Strike by Nobody: 9:12pm On Aug 19, 2015 |
Utchgirl:hmmm |
"Shut Up" Kwankwaso Tells Yoruba Elders / Fuel Hike: ASUU Declares Nationwide Strike / Abia Roads Much Better Under Okezie Ikpeazu
Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 32 |