Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,190,458 members, 7,940,723 topics. Date: Thursday, 05 September 2024 at 11:15 AM

Tales Of Fate - Literature - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Tales Of Fate (592 Views)

Twist Of Fate. / Tales Of Abigail / TWIST OF FATE By Olanrewaju Mobolaji (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply)

Tales Of Fate by MegMich(m): 6:22pm On Aug 27, 2015
Am also a freelancer. I've written a lot of other stuffs but this is my first attempt at writing a fiction.
Repogirl, Vonn, Hazardous, Mattkent, D9Ty7, and mods much respect. I prostrate.

Five months gone and am no where close to leaving this tiny, dark and overcrowded death trap. The conditions here are squalid and disease is rife; thankfully, am still healthy or so it seems, who knows? Securing a blanket or a mat to sleep on is a luxury here. When was the last time I had a good night rest? Mtchewww! All thanks to those blood sucking little creatures. Which or what actually is the problem? Is it the mosquitoes or frank insomnia? How can a taunted mind, body and soul sleep anyway.

These and thoughts of what the future has in store for him worried his troubled mind. Lost in thoughts and oblivion of his surrounding, Chike lay aimlessly on the dirty and rough concrete floor at the far end of his new home. He intermittently was brought back to reality by the minor quibbles amongst his prison inmates, this time, they where flinging insults at each other.

'And who is Chike, these noisy idiots? Usman, the constable on duty screamed from the other end of room as tranquility reigned.

'Am here', he heard himself shouting as he drifted his gaze towards the caller.

'You get visitors, oya, get ready', he ordered.

'Visitors?, he thought aloud. It has been two months since someone visited.
'Am on it sir', he retorted, grabbing his torn singlet along as he pushed through his way, forcing other inmates to stir.