Stats: 3,183,942 members, 7,922,329 topics. Date: Friday, 16 August 2024 at 02:12 AM

Stock Market Tips For Nigerians - Investment (149) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Investment / Stock Market Tips For Nigerians (830023 Views)

Nigeria: Stock Market Rides On Elections Success, Gains N178 Billion / Stock Market: Questions And Answers / Nigerian Banks, Stockbrokers, And Services For Nigerians Abroad (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (146) (147) (148) (149) (150) (151) (152) ... (793) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by texas543(m): 4:29pm On Nov 15, 2007
@wanajo

What other options?
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by ferugio(m): 4:31pm On Nov 15, 2007
Here is the list of approved insurance companies.  Happy investing!

49 certified insurance companies.

Guardian Express Assurance Company Ltd
Cornerstone Insurance Plc
Niger Insurance Plc
STACO Assurance Plc
Leadway Assurance Company Ltd
WAPIC Insurance Plc
Guarantee Assurance Plc
Yankari Insurance Company Ltd
Oceanic Insurance Company Ltd
LASACO Assurance Plc
ADIC Insurance Company Ltd
Prestige Assurance Plc
International Energy Insurance Company Ltd
Zenith Insurance Company Ltd
Royal Exchange Assurance Plc
Equity Indemnity Insurance Plc
Union Assurance Company Ltd
UNIC Insurance Plc
Mutual Benefits Assurance Plc
Alliance & General Insurance Plc
Custodian & Allied Insurance Plc
Law Union & Rock Insurance Plc
Crusader Insurance Plc
Regency Alliance Insurance Plc
Standard Alliance Insurance Plc
Standard Life Assurance Plc
Anchor Insurance Company Ltd
Industrial & General Insurance Company
Goldlink Insurance Plc
Great Nigeria Insurance Plc
Guardian Trust Insurance Company Ltd
Heirs Life Assurance Company Ltd
Oasis Insurance Plc
Sovereign Trust Assurance Plc
Kapital Insurance Company Ltd
Sterling Assurance Nigeria Ltd
Capital Express Insurance Company Ltd
Linkage Assurance Plc
Equity Life Insurance Company Ltd
Consolidated Hallmark Plc
Unitrust Insurance Company Ltd
Universal Insurance Company Ltd
AIICO Insurance Plc
Investment & Allied Insurance Company Ltd
Continental Reinsurance Company Plc
Guinea Insurance Plc
NEM Insurance Plc
African Alliance Insurance Company Ltd
Nigeria Agricultural Insurance Corporation (NAIC)
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by pumping777(m): 4:31pm On Nov 15, 2007
Thanks Wanaj0. It's always great to have someone lift up the red flag in the midst of all the excitement.

For Fidelity, I can't think of any other reason for extension except that the target was not met and I'm also still very wary of their results.
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by noshaking2(m): 4:40pm On Nov 15, 2007
(Ta
yodiyokun:

@roughcut,
swap UNIC position with Law Union, thats according to me sha oo.

But those three are definitely good to go.

Seconded (technicals wise)!! Crusader, Unic then Law & Union for now. Crusader & Unic are yet to release their Q3 reports, whilst Law & Union already did. Short term traders can position themselves now b4 the release of these Q3 reports. For Law & Union, the FY 2007 (next report due) should take about 3 months after yr end b4 its release (around Apr 08).

So, first thing first, make u chop breakfast first, before eating lunch (if u get my drift) grin
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by aktopgun(m): 4:41pm On Nov 15, 2007
@wanajo
some would say u are a cool head in this frenzy
others would say a killjoy  cheesy

i would agree with the former

well done sir!!
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by yodiyokun(f): 4:44pm On Nov 15, 2007
The truth of the matter is that, @Wanaj0 is the voice in the wilderness - crying make the path straight grin grin grin

Seriously, your posts most times put things in perspective and I (speak for myself) appreciate it.

More grease to your elbow!!!
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by RoughCut(m): 4:46pm On Nov 15, 2007
no_shaking:

(Ta
Seconded (technicals wise)!! Crusader, Unic then Law & Union for now. Crusader & Unic are yet to release their Q3 reports, whilst Law & Union already did. Short term traders can position themselves now before the release of these Q3 reports. For Law & Union, the FY 2007 (next report due) should take about 3 months after yr end before its release (around Apr 08).

So, first thing first, make u chop breakfast first, before eating lunch (if u get my drift) grin

Mutual benefits was in pole-position all the while and all of a sudden it got shunted to the back burner

crusader,law union and rock and unic are top of the pops for mei dont have a reverse gear as far as these are concerned!
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by easimoni(m): 4:46pm On Nov 15, 2007
lawal,
Crusader is the Ins Coy to buy. Unic and Law Union and Rock are also good. Reading thru the last 20 pgs of this thread would do you a world of good.
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by noshaking2(m): 4:47pm On Nov 15, 2007
aktopgun:

@wanajo
some would say u are a cool head in this frenzy
others would say a killjoy  cheesy

i would agree with the former

well done sir!!

'cool head' if your are long term investor, 'killjoy' if short term trader/momentum investor
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by Nobody: 4:48pm On Nov 15, 2007
Anyone with useful info on international energy insurance, know they have about 12 billion out. shares but with shareholders funds in excess of 11 billion too. Is the money among those released today by CBN?
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by pumping777(m): 4:50pm On Nov 15, 2007
no_shaking:

(Ta
Seconded (technicals wise)!! Crusader, Unic then Law & Union for now. Crusader & Unic are yet to release their Q3 reports, whilst Law & Union already did. Short term traders can position themselves now before the release of these Q3 reports. For Law & Union, the FY 2007 (next report due) should take about 3 months after yr end before its release (around Apr 08).

UNIC just released results this week or last so we have something fresh from them. As at yesterday Unic's forward PE is over 15.

I bought Unic about 3 weeks ago at N2.40 and then I can agree that it was hotter than Lawunion. But now the price is N3.15 so I'm not so convinced.

I have a projected PAT of 720M for Lawunion and 500M for Unic. If my numbers are right, the projected PE for Lawunion as at yesterday was less than 14. Only Crusader beats this at the moment.
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by aktopgun(m): 4:51pm On Nov 15, 2007
@ no shaking,

na u talk am o no be me!!

beware the wrath of the guru!!

bros wanajo, forgive him for he knoweth not what he sayeth cheesy cheesy
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by aktopgun(m): 4:55pm On Nov 15, 2007
@ pumping

i've got 805M for lawunion and 409M for unic

where is ur data from, mine is nig sec.com, is theirs wrong do u think?

do u do your projections urself?
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by yodiyokun(f): 4:56pm On Nov 15, 2007
@at all,

We need to  have a rule on new comers not reading the whole thread before asking questions.

Seriously, I have re-read this thread about 3-4 times already - why can't newbies do the same. There is a wealth of information on this thread, and learning about this game takes time and effort.

Now I understand what P.E , EPS is and how  to claculate them and make sense of it all. Not too long ago I was a JJC as well.

Stop asking what is P.E bla bla , READ THE THREAD FIRST shocked shocked , then ask clarifying questions.

Doing some work yourself shows some committment.

Nuff said lipsrsealed

My exam went o.k (thanks for asking) cheesy cheesy
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by RoughCut(m): 4:58pm On Nov 15, 2007
yodiyokun:

@at all,

We need to have a rule on new comers not reading the whole thread before asking questions.

Seriously, I have re-read this thread about 3-4 times already - why can't newbies do the same. There is a wealth of information on this thread, and learning about this game takes time and effort.

Now I understand what P.E , EPS is and how to claculate them and make sense of it all. Not too long ago I was a JJC as well.

Stop asking what is P.E bla bla , READ THE THREAD FIRST shocked shocked , then ask clarifying questions.

Doing some work yourself shows some committment.

Nuff said lipsrsealed

My exam went o.k (thanks for asking) cheesy cheesy
all the best!
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by aktopgun(m): 5:00pm On Nov 15, 2007
@ yodiyokun

thats a bit inhospitable of u don't u think?

people ask cuz they don't know.
they may read the threads and still not understand tech terms

pls be more accommodating

it doesn't hurt
honest grin
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by yodiyokun(f): 5:01pm On Nov 15, 2007
@Pumping what is your basis for Lawunions Full yr PAT, I used the 3rd quater and multiplied by 1.25, that gives around 671.2 and I have  3.5B has outstanding shares?

Let me know your own figures.

At UNIC's current price, it may not be better, I am tired of updating my spreadsheet at new prices,  cheesy lets crunch away
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by FatherOF2: 5:03pm On Nov 15, 2007
Guys,just officially joined this thread.I've been silently following it for months.
Decided to show my face.Thanks a million all gurus.
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by pumping777(m): 5:05pm On Nov 15, 2007
aktopgun:

@ pumping

where is your data from, mine is Nigeria sec.com, is theirs wrong do u think?

do u do your projections yourself?

Yes, I do my projections myself based on the latest released result. I will not say their data is wrong. It depends on the basis they are using. In many cases we are in agreement. What I noticed about Nigeriansecurities also is that it sometimes takes time to update the information. As an example they have not updated the projection for Evans Medical after the poor Q-2 results.
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by yodiyokun(f): 5:05pm On Nov 15, 2007
@atkogun,

When I came here, I did not know jack.

Honestly I asked questions, lots of them.  But I read the thread.

My questions showed that I had read the thread but I was still soo clueless and people came to my aid. @easimoni and @Wanaj0 et all.

I have been devoted to this thread since and I have learnt a lot.

Most of this new guys, just come in for a quick fix and thats it------- I do not like that no siree.

But anyway, since the likes of the gurus are so very gracious to keep repeating themselves , we are grateful.

Honestly, I am accomodating if I do say so meself! grin
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by noshaking2(m): 5:06pm On Nov 15, 2007
pumping777:

UNIC just released results this week or last so we have something fresh from them. As at yesterday Unic's forward PE is over 15.

I bought Unic about 3 weeks ago at N2.40 and then I can agree that it was hotter than Lawunion. But now the price is N3.15 so I'm not so convinced.

I have a projected PAT of 720M for Lawunion and 500M for Unic. If my numbers are right, the projected PE for Lawunion as at yesterday was less than 14. Only Crusader beats this at the moment.

UNIC only released their H2 Report, so expect their Q3 report by december, or at least long before Law & Union releases their FY 2007 report. Note both companies have dec as their yr end!
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by pumping777(m): 5:06pm On Nov 15, 2007
aktopgun:

@ pumping

where is your data from, mine is Nigeria sec.com, is theirs wrong do u think?

do u do your projections yourself?

Yes, I do my projections myself based on the latest released result. I will not say their data is wrong. It depends on the basis they are using. In many cases we are in agreement. What I noticed about Nigeriansecurities also is that it sometimes takes time to update the information. As an example they have not updated the projection for Evans Medical after the poor Q-2 results.
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by pumping777(m): 5:08pm On Nov 15, 2007
no_shaking:

UNIC only released their H2 Report, so expect their Q3 report by december, or at least long before Law & Union releases their FY 2007 report. Note both companies have dec as their yr end!

The point is that a company that has released a Q-3 result is more likely to meet my projection for the full year. The closer to the end of the year the better.
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by whitelexi(m): 5:11pm On Nov 15, 2007
Hey, does anyone know if AIICO is on TS? because i've noticed its not moving in any direction. I do know they're soon going to try and consolidate soon, but just dont know if they're already doing that.
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by pumping777(m): 5:14pm On Nov 15, 2007
yodiyokun:

@Pumping what is your basis for Lawunions Full yr PAT, I used the 3rd quater and multiplied by 1.25, that gives around 671.2 and I have  3.5B has outstanding shares?

Let me know your own figures.

At UNIC's current price, it may not be better, I am tired of updating my spreadsheet at new prices,  cheesy lets crunch away

Normally, you should multipley Q-3 by 4 and divide by 3. What you have done in effect is to multiply by 5 and divide by 4. Of course this can be correct if you think they make less in the last quarter.

I have 3.1B outstanding for Lawunion. I could be wrong on that one but I hope I'm not!!! I included the oversubscribed shares for the last PO.

Let me tell you how I update my spreadsheet by just copying and pasting one colunmn. I use the spreadsheet from one of the brokers that you get and then on a daily basis I just copy the entire column of daily prices to my own spreadsheet. Since I have exactly the same order everything just falls into place. Less than 30 seconds!
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by pumping777(m): 5:15pm On Nov 15, 2007
Yes, Aiico is on TS. You will find the details in this thread somewhere regarding the PO price.
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by easimoni(m): 5:15pm On Nov 15, 2007
@Whitelexi,
AIICO is on TS. It's on the proshare front page. They r planning a PO to add 2.5B shares. shocked
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by aktopgun(m): 5:15pm On Nov 15, 2007
AIICO are on TS

SO PUMPING,

is there a formula of some sort for these calculations? i look at their results as well but projections? i'm as green as they come, hence why i'm a medic! grin

help a novice brother out!
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by onuku: 5:17pm On Nov 15, 2007
Guys,
Where do I get the BAGCO IPO form?
Thanks.
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by easimoni(m): 5:18pm On Nov 15, 2007
pumping777:

I have 3.1B outstanding for Lawunion. I could be wrong on that one but I hope I'm not!!! I included the oversubscribed shares for the last PO.

Notes from my S. Sheet regarding Law Union Shares:
1.8B shares PO was oversubscribed to 135.4% =2.437 B shares. Previously 1B. Total now 3.437B. NSE listed 0.637B supplementary allotment for oversubscription on Oct 3 07
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by ololufemi: 5:19pm On Nov 15, 2007
Guys  based on technicality and Fundamentals, I think that Crusader is a better buy.

Divide the Average PE of the industry by Crusader's forward PE and multiply it by the current price.

Also remember, they own a PFA pension Fund Administrator which would bring in more cash for them. N100 charge per account holder and 2% charge on pension funds assets being managed.

I'm riding crusader's speedboat on full throttle cruise,

grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
Re: Stock Market Tips For Nigerians by aktopgun(m): 5:20pm On Nov 15, 2007
spreadsheets, columns, multiply by 4 divide by 3  

heeeeeeeeeeeeeelllllllllllpppppppppppppp, my brain is on the fritz!!

not really, only joking
but it does sound a bit tech really

so i get a list of all the securities on an excel worksheet manually ? and then what columns do i include

hope this isn't stressing u out

(1) (2) (3) ... (146) (147) (148) (149) (150) (151) (152) ... (793) (Reply)

Mutual Funds / MBA Investors Forum / Crypto Currency Investors Thread

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51