Stats: 3,217,580 members, 8,034,730 topics. Date: Sunday, 22 December 2024 at 10:24 AM

Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? - Islam for Muslims (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Islam for Muslims / Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? (23654 Views)

Why Do Muslims Ask Their Women To Stay Behind During Prayer? / What Do Muslims Belief Concerning Jesus Son Of Mary (peace Be Upon Him) / Meaning Of Alhaji Or Alhaja In Arabic (2) (3) (4)

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Nobody: 9:57pm On Jul 06, 2016
So is "peace be unto you" your papa and mama's language Smh and FOH nigga

0rex:
A muslim visits you or is hosting a radio program and goes "Salam wa ilekum" when he/she can easily and more understandably say "peace be unto you". Why is this so?

Is it a religious tenet for Muslims to speak in Arabic?

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Nobody: 10:00pm On Jul 06, 2016
Reyginus:
Universal? But I don't understand Arabic. How best could I get the message?
If U have ever listened to an islamic programme be it audio, or audiovisual o.. The speaker translates what he says from Arabic to the language his/her target audience will understand, even some times translates the taslim(greeting). Yes, Arabic is universal!
'farmerforlife' has said it all..

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by folamee: 10:26pm On Jul 06, 2016
u see, I noticed that whenever Christians ask questions concerning islam, its not as if he or she wants to learn or understands Islam better, no matter how u try to explain there main aim is to bash/rubbish the religion. their hatred towards Islam is top notch. may the Almighty Allah forgive dem because dey dont what dey are doing.

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by jumzzy448: 10:36pm On Jul 06, 2016
Farmerforlife:

I dont know who they are preaching to, or what their intentions are, so I cannot venture to guess whether they are right or wrong. Islam prohibits disturbing one's neighbours, so much so that the prophet (ﷺ) said in a hadith that if you want to knock a nail in your own wall, you must take permission from your neighbour. Sadly, some Muslims follow the footsteps of christians, and take it as a personal duty to convert others. Personally, I would never approach a non muslim to talk to him about anything concerning Islam, unless he/she personally and deliberately asked me questions, as you are doing, or if I see someone say something wrong about Islam on a public forum, then I can correct it if I think it is worth correcting.

Wow wow wowww....brilliant responses. I am a Muslim myself but I think I have a lot to learn from you concerning Islam.

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Nobody: 11:13pm On Jul 06, 2016
maleeks:

May Almighty Allah bless you and strenghten your wisdom... Have been following your reply and i can categorically say, you are taking those words right from my mouth brother Jazakumulah khair

Wa iyyakum bro.
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by peacecoy: 11:18pm On Jul 06, 2016
jcross19:
Allah does not hear any other language than arabic.
where did you get this? ALLAH hears all languages and it is stated in the Qur'an.please can some one can help with references.
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by lanrock(m): 11:29pm On Jul 06, 2016
Jazakallahu khaera to all muslim brothers that gave perfect answers to all these questions. May Allah rewards you all. I really enjoy this thread.

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Nobody: 11:49pm On Jul 06, 2016
jcross19:
See dis IDIOT... Hmm no wonder! He wu no knw, he no go knw...
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Nobody: 11:49pm On Jul 06, 2016
jcross19:
See dis IDIOT... Hmm no wonder! He wu no knw, he no go knw... Hu told U dat
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Skipuru(m): 12:45am On Jul 07, 2016
jcross19:
you see why i called him fake god, Almighty God do hear all languages.
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Skipuru(m): 12:47am On Jul 07, 2016
engrjnr:
See dis IDIOT... Hmm no wonder! He wu no knw, he no go knw... Hu told U dat
bro no mind them jor , the only language their allah dey understand na to kill and go to stupid Paradise and flex with Muhammad.
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by ajibowo11(m): 4:48am On Jul 07, 2016
jcross19:
hmmm c lie where do u read ur own which surah or hadit say so
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by ajibowo11(m): 4:50am On Jul 07, 2016
Skipuru:
bro no mind them jor , the only language their allah dey understand na to kill and go to stupid Paradise and flex with Muhammad.
bro y is ur stupidy so high y has a muslim nt kill u till now (ime)

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by ajibowo11(m): 4:52am On Jul 07, 2016
Skipuru:
dont mind that one he just saying what he dont know
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by ajibowo11(m): 4:58am On Jul 07, 2016
Reyginus:
I'm talking of somebody greeting audience back home on a Radio Station. I listen to radio and I don't get the language so what's the point of the greeting to me? Or is the greeting not meant for me too?

It would have been better an intelligent if you answered my question like you did to the username above.
since u are christian or a non-believer u the message is not for u he salamo to his muslim bro and sis and they surely understand
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Mustapha111888(m): 5:29am On Jul 07, 2016
Reyginus:
I'm talking of somebody greeting audience back home on a Radio Station. I listen to radio and I don't get the language so what's the point of the greeting to me? Or is the greeting not meant for me too?

It would have been better an intelligent if you answered my question like you did to the username above.
But you understood the words bcuz even in your post u translated it! So what's the point ?

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by dvee2: 5:43am On Jul 07, 2016
kishimi8:

Using the language in which the holy book was revealed help to curb the loss of the message due to translation errors. Arabic is a language with so many nuances that translation or transliteration is hardly 100%correct.
So use of the language. Is encouraged but not compulsory. Only compulsory when praying salat. Not compulsory when you wanna talk to God directly, here a language you best understand is better.

Everything you said is correct with the exception of where you quoted " Only compulsory when praying salat". I can confidently tell you that praying salat in Arabic is highly recommended and its the best, but its not compulsory. one can perform salat in English and would be very well accepted by Allah. especially a revert who has not yet perfected his Arabic recitation. Thanks, Allah knows best.

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by sinceraconcept(m): 6:18am On Jul 07, 2016
0rex:
What I can deduce is that when Arabic is spoken, the message is only for the Muslims. That means other non-muslims are technically irrelevant and ignored.
Ok,the same way you feel non-christians are irrelevant when you say Alelluyah?
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by dantori(m): 6:28am On Jul 07, 2016
Reyginus:

the original bible came in Hebrew I will suggest you pick up the Hebrew version and get the present day Bible then read and compare subsequently do same with the Koran you'll be amazed at your findings Pls do so with an unbiased mind and if you need clarifications don't just ask any MUSLIM . the religion of Islam is perfect, Muslims are not
as for why they speak the language that's why knowledge is good am sure you were able to know the meaning now and its a prayer , one stops learning with his last breath shey you get me

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by kishimi8(m): 6:47am On Jul 07, 2016
dvee2:

Everything you said is correct with the exception of where you quoted " Only compulsory when praying salat". I can confidently tell you that praying salat in Arabic is highly recommended and its the best, but its not compulsory. one can perform salat in English and would be very well accepted by Allah. especially a revert who has not yet perfected his Arabic recitation. Thanks, Allah knows best.
Thanks for the correction.
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by babayinka77(m): 7:07am On Jul 07, 2016
Reyginus:
Is it the words that matter or what the word means? And what exactly is the point in greeting someone in a language they don't understand?
It's obvious you are not a muslim, the only reason why we do not have different versions of the Qur'an, if you check the other books that were revealed before it, they been altered by the translators which has affected the true meanings. Muslims are mandated to pray salaat in Arabic because the verses of the qur'an recited were revealed in Arabic but we can greet and say personal prayers in our different languages. This is understood by muslims and we are very ok with it. Non muslims should understand the fact that islam is a religion whose practice is with principles and not by societal dictates. May Allah (God) grant us wisdom to serve him well.

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by united101: 7:08am On Jul 07, 2016
Please how do i write a fellow Nairalander using his/her monicker?

Sometimes, i want to contact a fellow Nairalander in respect of their brilliant posts but dont know how.

If you are there 'farmerforlife' kindly drop your email so I can contact you.

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by ahmedox(m): 7:36am On Jul 07, 2016
Skipuru:
C'mon man what's d fuss abt Arabic language all about. In Nigeria, d official language is English. So, my questions are:
1. Does everyone in Nigeria understands English?
2. What would u say if a member of d house of reps or d Senate starts speaking in their native language at d house of assembly?
Speaking Arabic will unify all Muslims wherever they are. What abt d Iraqi Christians? How do they greet? And anywhere u hear a Muslim speaking Arabic language, his target audience are d Muslims and even in most cases, they still translate what they say into their audience's language for better understanding and comparison.
If u are not a hypocrite am sure u understand d meaning of "Salam alaykum" to be "peace be unto u". How do u expect d people dat goes to mecca for hajj to communicate if they don't understand each other's languages and they don't have a general language. Allah akbar! Surely Allah is d wisest for making us have a language all Muslims can easily relate to..... Alhamdulillah

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by bibiking7(m): 7:55am On Jul 07, 2016
Farmerforlife:

I dont know who they are preaching to, or what their intentions are, so I cannot venture to guess whether they are right or wrong. Islam prohibits disturbing one's neighbours, so much so that the prophet (ﷺ) said in a hadith that if you want to knock a nail in your own wall, you must take permission from your neighbour. Sadly, some Muslims follow the footsteps of christians, and take it as a personal duty to convert others. Personally, I would never approach a non muslim to talk to him about anything concerning Islam, unless he/she personally and deliberately asked me questions, as you are doing, or if I see someone say something wrong about Islam on a public forum, then I can correct it if I think it is worth correcting.

A thousand salutes. Your responses are calm and precise. smiley

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Jumat08(m): 7:55am On Jul 07, 2016
dvee2:

As-Salam Alaykum...... All praise be to Allah the lord of the worlds and he is the All knowing. You can supplicate to Allah in any other languages but the ritual prayer must be in Arabic,performing the ritual prayer in another language can not be equivalent to its original language and meanings, Allah's word does not lie, Quran 54 verse 17 says..."And we have made the quran easy to remember,then there is any one who will remember(or receive admonition)?" Secondly,Allah doesn't want to make things hard for us and he says in quran 2 verse 185..."Allah intends for you with ease,and he does not want to make things difficult for you". These verses i quoted signifies that Islam is ease and it was made easy to practice for us,for how long will one continue to pray in english? We should not see things as huge as mountains and not make things difficult for ourselves, Shaytan(the devil)takes advantage of these situations where people make islam difficult for theirselves, Seek for knowledge and you will get it.May Allah strengthen our Iman, Allak knows best.

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by ayoxelee(m): 8:05am On Jul 07, 2016
jcross19:
Mumu, Showing ur level of stupidity... ODEE
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Nobody: 8:26am On Jul 07, 2016
jcross19:
u are a big fool.
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Nobody: 8:28am On Jul 07, 2016
Reyginus:
Is it the words that matter or what the word means? And what exactly is the point in greeting someone in a language they don't understand?
tell me a muslim that those know it meaning
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by kishimi8(m): 8:48am On Jul 07, 2016
Jumat08:
As-Salam Alaykum...... All praise be to Allah the lord of the worlds and he is the All knowing. You can supplicate to Allah in any other languages but the ritual prayer must be in Arabic,performing the ritual prayer in another language can not be equivalent to its original language and meanings, Allah's word does not lie, Quran 54 verse 17 says..."And we have made the quran easy to remember,then there is any one who will remember(or receive admonition)?" Secondly,Allah doesn't want to make things hard for us and he says in quran 2 verse 185..."Allah intends for you with ease,and he does not want to make things difficult for you". These verses i quoted signifies that Islam is ease and it was made easy to practice for us,for how long will one continue to pray in english? We should not see things as huge as mountains and not make things difficult for ourselves, Shaytan(the devil)takes advantage of these situations where people make islam difficult for theirselves, Seek for knowledge and you will get it.May Allah strengthen our Iman, Allak knows best.
OK. Now you guys are getting me confused. Pls clarify this for me properly I almost took the other persons correction on what I posted and now what I was thought according to you is the right one. Kinda in da middle now. Any better explanation?
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Nobody: 9:04am On Jul 07, 2016
united101:
Please how do i write a fellow Nairalander using his/her monicker?

Sometimes, i want to contact a fellow Nairalander in respect of their brilliant posts but dont know how.

If you are there 'farmerforlife' kindly drop your email so I can contact you.

Appreciated bro. I really dont see anything brilliant about the posts. We just need to understand the principles of whatever faith we follow. If one does study his faith exhaustively, and his faith is instilling doubts and contradictions instead of giving him answers, then he needs to follow another faith. I have found Islam, it solves all problems and answers all questions, temporal and spiritual.

Btw, I think that the way to send someone a message is to go to his/her profile and click on "send ..... a message". I have not used it to pm anyone before though, so I am not really sure how it works.

Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by factwriter(m): 9:04am On Jul 07, 2016
Salaam Alykum.

Beautiful "Question & Answer" turned Debate.

Farmerforlife,
may Allah increase your knowledge.

If you don't mind people contacting you outside this forum (for Islamic related discussions) kindly drop us your email.

Ma'salaam
Re: Why Do Muslims Talk In Arabic? by Matican: 9:13am On Jul 07, 2016
kishimi8:
OK. Now you guys are getting me confused. Pls clarify this for me properly I almost took the other persons correction on what I posted and now what I was thought according to you is the right one. Kinda in da middle now. Any better explanation?

A new Muslim who has yet to learn to do Solaat in Arabic should join the congregation and simply follow the Imaam's lead. If he/she has time to learn to do Solaat in any other language, he/she sure has enough time to learn it in Arabic. If however he couldn't possibly learn except in some other language than Arabic- a situation which is farfetched, the permissibility to pray in any other language might be applicable on a case by case basis, fearing Allah as much as doable.

Sheikh Mustapha Zuglool Is Dead And Buried / What Is The Islamic View On Aje? / The True Meaning Of Jihad

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56