Stats: 3,207,138 members, 7,997,964 topics. Date: Friday, 08 November 2024 at 10:34 PM

Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother - Literature - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother (882 Views)

Chronicles Of Tracy / The Romantic Chronicles Of Badoh / Marvel Chronicles 2 :executive Sanction (2) (3) (4)

Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by FreshestManny(m): 8:54am On Aug 13, 2016
Part 1
===========

==========

BONE SWORD
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by Nobody: 8:56am On Aug 13, 2016
oya na... no time..

Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by FreshestManny(m): 8:57am On Aug 13, 2016
This literary work is a figment of the writer's imagination. This work should not be reproduced in any form electronic or otherwise without prior permission from the author. I dey craze o.

©2016

=============>

First update dropping soon
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by FreshestManny(m): 10:05am On Aug 13, 2016
PROLOGUE:

IMERIENWE, IMO STATE, 1994

The fog was thick and choking, muffling sound and sight. Crickets screeching with careless abandon, excessive cold permeating the already saturated air. A passing vehicle's headlamps shone on the old, worn out sign which says "THE GOOD COUNSEL CEMETERY".

A dark figure noiselessly gliding among rows of library shelves in what happens to be an archive of forbidden literature; searching for something. Face covered with the hood of a dark robe, long bony fingers clutching the handle of an ancient lantern. He could pass for the grim reaper.

It should be here. He thought to himself as he kept gliding almost feeling frustrated with the seemingly endless search.

Suddenly, he felt a presence without turning around he spoke with his mind. Who is there?
It's I, brother Elijah said the voice in his head. What are you doing lurking around the forbidden archives?

He felt cold with that question. That is, if silent brothers could feel cold because they were emotionless apart from brother Zion who wasn't a complete silent brother yet. Yes, that is his name; the silent brother lurking in the shadows.
His parents were killed six years before by Asmodeus the greater demon. Two years after that his two siblings were killed by the same demon.
Now, why would the demon target only his family; the reason is very simple, brother Zion or Samuel as he was formerly known killed a warlock by the name of Francis Okpera and this warlock happened to be the prized son of Asmodeus and high warlock of Owerri as at 1988. Brother Zion or Samuel never stopped beating himself about the death of his family and swore vengeance on Asmodeus and has been looking for a way to bring his family back from.the dead.

Brother Elijah, I have been having a bad feeling lately and I feel like something sinister is about to happen. I decided to go through previous records to get the knowledge of how to remedy the situation before it gets out of hands.

you should not worry about such things we have able bodied shadowhunters. You should go and rest as your ritual to the brotherhood continues tomorrow and with that brother Elijah glided away noiselessly

The figure with the lamp continued his search with his lamp held up high. Finally, he found it; the paperback gem he had been looking for. Simply written on it's hardcover back was "THE BLACK BOOK"
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by FreshestManny(m): 5:09pm On Aug 13, 2016
EPISODE 1: IT BEGINS

Breakfast and Dinner were John Applehallow's favourite time of everyday. It was the time when everyone at the institute had time to be together at the same place-the dining room. Dinner could have been a more perfect affair if not for his usually boisterous younger brother Hector nicknamed "heat" because his loud outbursts and talkativeness can literally bring a person's temperature above that of boiling water.

"Dad, I have mastered the art of knife throwing. I threw three seraph blades simultaneously and they all hit the bullseye"!

"Aww, can't you talk in a low tone for once" complained Precious Applehallow who happened to be their elder sister.

"I wasn't talking to you. I was talking to dad"! Hector fired back

"Then turn down the pitch of your voice it's too loud" countered Precious

John sat quietly watching his siblings fire at each other from across the table an amused expression on his face. Hector can be a pain in the butt but he was always a welcome distraction from the everyday stress. John always felt a sense of pride whenever he was regarding his brother Hector. Hector was learning fast both in the shadowhunter classes with their instructor and about combat. And he was only ten years old and had mastered the art of knife throwing and use of the seraph blades.
One day John was watching Hector from the half opened doorway of the training room when Hector quickly climbed the rope in the room, jumped from there in a perfect back flip throwing the two daggers in his hands at the bullseye and the blades went straight to the middle of the bullseye. He was so marveled at the progress Hector was making and regarded him with a new sense of respect.
John was brought out of his reverie by a knock on the door. Their maid Christie hurried to open the door. Christie had the sight just like the cook Clara. Anyone human who was able to see the supernatural clearly was said to have "the sight" and they are sometimes employed by the shadowhunters who are sometimes called descendants of the Angel Raziel to work for them. There was story which actually happened of a maid Sophie by name; with the sight who later ascended to become a shadowhunter. That is a story for another day though.
After some seconds, Nadalion Wolftower who happened to be the inquisitor stepped into the dining room. "Good day everyone" he greeted then stepped forward to shake hands with Augustus Applehallow and kiss his wife Claire on both cheeks.

To be continued...
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by nadalion: 10:31pm On Aug 13, 2016
Booking space. I day come make i go buy Zobo n pop corn.
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by FreshestManny(m): 9:00am On Aug 14, 2016
nadalion:
Booking space. I day come make i go buy Zobo n pop corn.

Welcome on board. I go name one of the characters after u
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by FreshestManny(m): 9:01am On Aug 14, 2016
slyIsaac:
oya na... no time..
Welcome.on board

Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by Nobody: 2:03pm On Aug 14, 2016
FreshestManny:
Welcome.on board
Thnks boss cool
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by nadalion: 7:47pm On Aug 14, 2016
FreshestManny:

Welcome on board. I go name one of the characters after u
Lol, okay nah
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by encryptjay(m): 9:44pm On Aug 14, 2016
Ride on sir cheesy

Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by FreshestManny(m): 11:29pm On Aug 14, 2016
"Wow I met you guys at a beautiful time. What's for dinner"? He continued.
Hector answered quickly and loudly as was characteristic of him "spaghetti and macaroni with baked beans"!
"Shush" answered Precious who was easily irritated by her little brother.
Nadalion joined them at the table and asked after the welfare of each of the kids. Claire served him some dinner which he declined but he accepted the fresh pineapple fruit juice. While sipping he started talking. "There has been some unusual demon activity this past few days. Just yesterday I received Intel that some couple of mantid demons and three ravener demons were killed by Encryptjay Scartree and SlyIsaac Thrushtower and Christopher Lightpen. Those boys are actually turning out to be fine brave young gentlemen".

"Three Ravener demons?! Aren't Ravener demons those wierdly disgusting creatures that look like a cross between an alligator and a centipede with a flat snout?" Always boisterous, inquisitive Hector asked.
For the first time since they came down for dinner John spoke. "Yes they are. Now keep quiet will you? The adults are talking" and with that Hector fell silent. He listens to John sometimes. Nobody knows why but it always seems to be that he prefers to piss Precious off than he does John.

To be continued...

Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by FreshestManny(m): 11:30pm On Aug 14, 2016
encryptjay:
Ride on sir cheesy
Thank you. Welcome on board.
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by FreshestManny(m): 11:31pm On Aug 14, 2016
My people remember to spur me on with your comments. Thank you for your cooperation.
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by FreshestManny(m): 11:53pm On Aug 14, 2016
Finally everyone was silently listening to the adults talk about the "unusual" demon activity. Augustus Applehallow spoke up " this is really an unusual activity. Demons will usually not attack together not especially the mantid demon and the Ravener demon which means there is a stronger driving force behind this anomaly. Anyway it is our mandate as shadowhunters to rid this world of such scum thus making the world liveable for the shadowhunters and mundanes alike. As surely as the Angel lives I know we would carry out our mandate to the best of our ability".

Mundane is a term coined by shadowhunters to describe non-magic or non-supernatural folk. That is to say, normal humans. The magic or supernatural folk are called downworlders which include werewolves, warlocks, faeries and vampires. The shadowhunters rule over all these folks they are like the police of the supernatural world and they carry out their mandate with great zeal disciplining any erring downworlder and sending the demons back to their realm. Humans that have the ability to see the supernatural are called those with "the sight". How the shadowhunters came to exist is a story for another day.

To be continued...
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by encryptjay(m): 5:24am On Aug 24, 2016
FreshestManny...
Re: Shadowhunter Chronicles: Rogue Silentbrother by ashatoda: 7:05am On Aug 24, 2016
here now and its great

Rose / A collection of short stories. (Flash Fiction) / THE GRAIL:GENESIS. A Novel By Talented 2000

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35