Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,176,231 members, 7,897,218 topics. Date: Monday, 22 July 2024 at 10:25 AM

Kotlin / JAVA For Android Development - Programming - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Programming / Kotlin / JAVA For Android Development (2505 Views)

Which One Sells In Nigeria: Java For Web Application Or Java For Android / Android + Java For Absolute Beginners -Video Tutorial [N500] / Kotlin For Android Developers By Antonio Leiva" Ebook(pdf). (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Kotlin / JAVA For Android Development by Nobody: 7:36am On Jul 29, 2017
Guys, this new kotlin development has been giving some of us serious concerns.

Yes, before you ask me, I can write kotlin at a beginners level. No, I will not use it yet for an android app (or any project).

I know it is a great development and all that, and it really rocks.

Okay, here is why - I code in many languages on demand, let us look at a scenario:

My life span in XCODE / IOS development is 3 years, and I will explain:
- 2014: I bought a MAC and started learning objective-c which was the main thing for writing IOS then, it was even the default language for XCODE.

- 2015: I had a project to do, and saw that the default was now swift, so I learn swift (cant remember version), and was happy. After that, no IOS till now

2017: I was ready for another IOS project, lo and behold the swift I knew was outdated, it is now swift 3, so I upgraded myself a bit painfully (because all the EBA I have chopped have made my head heavy), and finally kick-started the project,

BUT NO WAY, the team I was working with only knew OBJECTIVE-C which I have left since 2014, So I had to relearn it again for the project (and now I have not touched swift since o).