Stats: 3,174,316 members, 7,891,432 topics. Date: Tuesday, 16 July 2024 at 01:02 PM

What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? - Food (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? (21574 Views)

What Food Aroma Can't You Resist? / What Food Makes You Purge? / What Food Do You Never Get Tired Of Eating (2) (3) (4)

Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by wisestfool: 2:11pm On Sep 04, 2012
Omolofa mojo, Aba isu je oruka, Anomo lonje ofa,
Who can tell me what ANOMO is called in Lagos

Very sweet

Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by laughinggal(f): 2:13pm On Sep 04, 2012
Afang Soup and Fufu
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by lekzy01(m): 2:13pm On Sep 04, 2012
chipmunkey: [size=20pt]Iyan! Can somebody guess where?[/size]
IJESHA

Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by Nobody: 2:16pm On Sep 04, 2012
afam4eva: [size=14pt]Enugu state [/size]

OKpa

Abacha(african salad)

Achicha

Nkwöbi

less peculiar ones:
ofe akwu

Ogbono soup,egusi soup,uziza soup,okro soup,bitter leaf soup

Akpu,pounded yam,

Yam wit fiofio,yam with akidi and vegetable,roasted yam and oil stew.

Ñkwocha(palm wine)

Lol...Etc
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by Nobody: 2:23pm On Sep 04, 2012
Martini101: Enugu state. 1} Agbugbu{fio fio} and yam. 2}Abacha and akidi{cowpea} 3} Okpa{4rm Nkanu or udi etc}. If u chop opi nsukka own, na u sabi lol. 4} Garri and numerous soups{mpoto, ewa etc}. Guys. Enugu get foods oh! Let me nt make people to salivate here cos we can all still afford GARRI. lol.
very correct! grin
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by Nobody: 2:28pm On Sep 04, 2012
jay2smart19: Benue state {oju}: pounded yam and beneseed or egusi or ogbonor with dried fish and chicken nt forgeting the opehe{local spice}. Fufu{akpo} and beneseed or egusi, ogbonor or bitter leaf soup{ejuju}. Casava starch and ogbonor or atrukpa. Men there many more. I love some fast localy prepared soup too. Food basket.
really!! Similar to menu one gets in enugu...
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by rhymz(m): 2:35pm On Sep 04, 2012
nagoma: Sokoto -Fura (dawo)
kano. - gurasa
katsina - Kilishi
Bauchi - masa and kilishi
Borno - Brabusko
Jos - Gweten Accha
Makurdi - Pounded Yam
Minna. - Tuwon Toka
Hadeja(Jigawa) -Miyar Kukah
Argungu( Kebbi). Dambun kifi
I am presently in Sokoto state now. To be honest, I find it difficult to reconcile the kind of food they eat here.
I wont touch Fura with a hundred metre, thesame bowl that is used in preparing it is were they drink it from, they donlt even bother to garnish it with milk, sugar and other beverages, they just sell and drink it like that. Masala looks like shit to me. It seems to me that maize food constitute a large size of the Hausa diet.
Like serioisly, them no get food one can comfortably sit down and eat without feeling like one is making an attempt on something difficult.
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by slimyem: 2:36pm On Sep 04, 2012
sigmundfreud:
Pls where is that frm? State/Town. I love it.
Ondo state...
Ondo town..
We make the best asun in the world!cheesycheesy
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by AyaSammy(f): 3:01pm On Sep 04, 2012
Ifokore (Water yam, Smoked fish or Agbod fish, Cray fish and Ponmo cut into pieces) so yummmmmmmmmyyyyy, ofocs from IJEBU.
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by FOREXMART(m): 3:09pm On Sep 04, 2012
Nni iji (pounded yam) and seriously spiced ofe nsala soup with fresh fish. I must be fresh water fish not salt water and must be thickened with the pounded yam. Very good after a busy day.
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by kcreal(f): 3:11pm On Sep 04, 2012
OFE OWERRE.
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by nitrogen(m): 3:16pm On Sep 04, 2012
slimyem: Ondo state...
Ondo town..
We make the best asun in the world!cheesycheesy
With human meat
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by seunny4lif(m): 3:20pm On Sep 04, 2012
Frm ondo state.Pupuru with any soup and enough bush meat,flesh fish(eje oso)pepper soup,dog meat(i dey miss),pounded yam wit egusi and efo riro soup,palm wine,eba,amala,ewa ati abado,dodo ati ewa,bush meats and garri.

Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by nitrogen(m): 3:23pm On Sep 04, 2012
We are well known for amala and eko yangan, also we are identified with mangoes and akara egbe. Please dont ask me where am from.
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by edakedkay: 3:24pm On Sep 04, 2012
Iwuk edesi ikong ubong, afia efere ebot (with ekporoko, nsat iyak) ye usung abia, abak atama, abak etiyung, ayan ekpang ye efere otong, efere afang, ekoki, edesi isip, ekpang nkukwo ikon, ekpang nkukwo, edikang ikon (not my fave), efere mmansang, efere ndek iyak, fisherman stew, ukang ukom ye nsat iyak ye cow leg, bust meat and plantain, dog meat & plantain or rice (yuck, never to be eaten by me and my children if possible). Mehn, I can go on and on. Come And Live And Be At Rest in my CALABAR
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by Nobody: 3:25pm On Sep 04, 2012
kcreal: OFE OWERRE.
lol cool
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by younglawya(m): 3:25pm On Sep 04, 2012
my very own wafi is known for ukodo ( a bit like chicken peppersoup with yam boiled within) and starch
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by slimyem: 3:41pm On Sep 04, 2012
nitrogen:
With human meat
with goat meat..
Naturally and locally bred goats!!!
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by Kolade9(m): 3:54pm On Sep 04, 2012
We the egun/ogu people: Apran
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by mobf: 3:57pm On Sep 04, 2012
Banga soup with starch.must be fish head. Kai kai to wash it down cool
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by dayokanu(m): 3:59pm On Sep 04, 2012
nitrogen: We are well known for amala and eko yangan, also we are identified with mangoes and akara egbe. Please dont ask me where am from.

We are from the same place

OGBOMOSO Ajilete.

Amala and Gbegiri

Akara egbe. (Dried Akara)
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by franca30(f): 4:49pm On Sep 04, 2012
White soup nd fufu (Asaba)
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by yemidot1(f): 4:55pm On Sep 04, 2012
Ibadan is Abula I.e,amala,gbegiri n ewedu
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by Clairette(f): 6:01pm On Sep 04, 2012
Fhemmmy:

Pounded yam is nothing but yamayama . . . cos if you wanna eat yam you eat yam, and if you wanna drink water, drink water, why mixing water and yam and mashing it together saying you dey chop pounded yam? That is nothing but yama yama . . . . . tongue

It appears you've never had someone prepare it nicely for u. I'm from Akwa Ibom n I can pound it gud n serve u right.It's not an everyday/week/month food. We have a special soup to go with it. Yamayama ke?
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by nitrogen(m): 6:27pm On Sep 04, 2012
dayokanu:

We are from the same place

OGBOMOSO Ajilete.

Amala and Gbegiri

Akara egbe. (Dried Akara)
Yes oh! Awa ti ogbomosoland ni faaaa. God bless us
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by Leboska(m): 7:29pm On Sep 04, 2012
Garri
kulikuli
milk
2 sachet of pure water
sugar
gues were i'm from
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by mobf: 7:55pm On Sep 04, 2012
^^ Bakassi undecided
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by yoged(m): 7:56pm On Sep 04, 2012
If you see Ijesha lady, make una give am iyan( pounded yam), coz if u no give am iyan ooo she go run away. .... We Ijesha are known for Pounded Yam.

Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by Leyelyzo: 8:42pm On Sep 04, 2012
wisestfool: Omolofa mojo, Aba isu je oruka, Anomo lonje ofa,
Who can tell me what ANOMO is called in Lagos

Very sweet

God bless you awe with an opposing username. ANOMO is ANOMO everywhere. That's our pride, our renown food at Offa.
Offa the home of sweet potatoes, Iyeruokin Anomo mbe

Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by nagoma(m): 9:10pm On Sep 04, 2012
rhymz: I am presently in Sokoto state now. To be honest, I find it difficult to reconcile the kind of food they eat here.
I wont touch Fura with a hundred metre, thesame bowl that is used in preparing it is were they drink it from, they donlt even bother to garnish it with milk, sugar and other beverages, they just sell and drink it like that. Masala looks like shit to me. It seems to me that maize food constitute a large size of the Hausa diet.
Like serioisly, them no get food one can comfortably sit down and eat without feeling like one is making an attempt on something difficult.

I think Sokoto has one of the widest selection of foods and snacks in the country. Where are you in sokoto? In the prison ?

Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by shobroy(m): 10:48pm On Sep 04, 2012
We are name after our own food (HOME OF SWEET POTATOES) that Offa in Kwara state
Re: What Food Is Your Town Or State Known For? by shobroy(m): 10:54pm On Sep 04, 2012
Leyelyzo:

God bless you awe with an opposing username. ANOMO is ANOMO everywhere. That's our pride, our renown food at Offa.
Offa the home of sweet potatoes, Iyeruokin Anomo mbe
. U really make my day

Amazing Uses Of Coca-cola / What Is The Nutritional Difference Between Butter And Margarine? / Times Are Really Hard For Most People

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 28